User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 103
  2. Negative: 15 out of 103
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    6
    F.E.A.R 1 was clunky but brilliant. its graphics and level design lacked a certain polish, but people (including me) enjoyed it immensely because of its genuinely spooky atmospherics and storyline. F.E.A.R. 2 was good too, but in exactly the opposite way: its graphics and level design were INCREDIBLY sleek and polished, and the whole experience bristled with a delicious sense of knowing,F.E.A.R 1 was clunky but brilliant. its graphics and level design lacked a certain polish, but people (including me) enjoyed it immensely because of its genuinely spooky atmospherics and storyline. F.E.A.R. 2 was good too, but in exactly the opposite way: its graphics and level design were INCREDIBLY sleek and polished, and the whole experience bristled with a delicious sense of knowing, black comedy. . . but it wasn't scary at all. The designers of F.E.A.R. 3 were clearly attempting to bring back the raw-edged creepiness of F.E.A.R. 1 without losing the high production values and sophistication of F.E.A.R. 2. . .oh, and making the franchise into a co-op game. Unfortunately, these objectives all got in each others' way, creating a result that -while by no means a disaster- will be a disappointment to the franchise's fans. A lot of the fear that made F.E.A.R 1 great came from the fact that -aside from terrifying psychic visions of the creepiest little girl this side of The Ring- your character is almost always *alone.* It would seem impossible to feel alone in a story that provides you with a teammate, but the designers did their best to preserve the sense of isolation. . .by providing you with a teammate who you don't care about and don't trust. This holds true, by the way, whether you play as The Point Man or Paxton Fettel. Both characters were probably written to come off as tough anti-heroes, but they're both so loathsome that you find yourself rooting for the monsters to come and kill them both. The problem, of course, is that hating your character (and you will) makes it pretty much impossible to be afraid. The polish of F.E.A.R. 2, unfortunately, was another casualty. Although there are still some elements of dark humor, and there's still some decent eye candy, the designers seem to have always opted for what they thought might look *scary* whenever it came in tension with what might look *cool.* In practice, that means a lot fewer 'mechs, superweapons, and brightly lit kill-fests, and a lot more dark, twisty, claustrophobic, mazes filled with enemies who hit you from behind. . . which you'll be grateful for, since a) it takes them so long to find you that you get bored; and b) that's the only way for you to find them.

    In all, a disappointing near-miss.
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    I simply couldn't get immersed in this game. By far, it is beyond your average FPS title, but what it delivers has been executed so many times, and shows all too noticeable in the gameplay. From what I can tell, the story is superb, and graphics are on par for the gruesome visuals, but again, the impression of what I got from the gameplay kept pushing me away. Decent, but not standout.
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    6
    Not at all scary, Eff dot Eee dot Ay dot Arr dot space Three is still a decent game. There are some challenges which give the campaign replay value, kinda like an arcade mode. There are leaderboards too. In terms of multiplayer, all modes are very different. Gone are the competitive deathmatches and base capturing. There is also a co-operative survival mode in Contractions. What separatesNot at all scary, Eff dot Eee dot Ay dot Arr dot space Three is still a decent game. There are some challenges which give the campaign replay value, kinda like an arcade mode. There are leaderboards too. In terms of multiplayer, all modes are very different. Gone are the competitive deathmatches and base capturing. There is also a co-operative survival mode in Contractions. What separates this from other Nazi Zombies copycats is that you have to collect crates and drop them off at safehouses in order to get weapons and ammo, but pistol ammo is infinite. There are 20 waves, and each of the 3 maps provides a different challenge. The campaign is EXTREMELY short even on the highest difficulty. If you are thinking of playing this game, be sure to have a co-op buddy otherwise you will be left dissapointed and feeling robbed of your time and money. The campaign allows your co-op partner to play as Fettel, who can possess enemies (take control of them) but can't use weapons while not inside a body. This is something very unique and satisfying, but also very useful in some circumstances. Played in co-op, the campaign is very fun. The controls- being on a console, of course- continue the F.E.A.R. tradition of feeling awkward, but they work pretty well in Fear 3. Having been made by a different developer, it does feel different to the previous games in that the game engine is different and the slight RPG element of unlocking upgrades for leveling up your player by completing challenges and generally playing the game. In all aspects, F3AR is a co-op heavy game. The story is very poor, not to mention short. Graphics and voice acting aren't much better either. But the game does make for some fun times when played co-operatively. Just don't expect a masterpiece. This game was clearly rushed and on a tight budget, as evident by the glitchy trophies for both consoles. Certainly don't expect a complete package. Think of it as a good version Terminator Salvation and you're pretty much there. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    I liked the first two games. Fear was original for its time, it was scary, atmosferic and the slow-mo effect was very enjoyable. The second game, although not as good as the first, was decent and interesting. I was expecting at least the same from the third iteration but I was very dissapointed. Unfortunately the game feels just generic. There is absolutely no immersion, no atmosphere, noI liked the first two games. Fear was original for its time, it was scary, atmosferic and the slow-mo effect was very enjoyable. The second game, although not as good as the first, was decent and interesting. I was expecting at least the same from the third iteration but I was very dissapointed. Unfortunately the game feels just generic. There is absolutely no immersion, no atmosphere, no fear at all. As an fps the game is very dissapointing compared to the bulk of good fps games out there. It is just a constant fight of respawning enemies until you get bored. I can't even finish it because it is just too boring. Now I am sure that other people will appreciate the gameplay with fettel, the co-op and the multiplayer aspects but if you are in just for the solo shooting I recommend you to stay away. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    The F.E.A.R. series started out as a scary game that would have things jumping out at you and scaring the pants off you. Now it seems that the series has done what Resident Evil 5 did, made a horror series co-op and suck the scary right out of the game. I think I was more scared of Pokemon than this game to be honest. That was a disappointing feature to the game along with the soundtrack.The F.E.A.R. series started out as a scary game that would have things jumping out at you and scaring the pants off you. Now it seems that the series has done what Resident Evil 5 did, made a horror series co-op and suck the scary right out of the game. I think I was more scared of Pokemon than this game to be honest. That was a disappointing feature to the game along with the soundtrack. In the first two games of the series, the music really gave the games an eerie feeling. In this one, not so much. Don't get me wrong this game is a lot of fun. With its good cover system (Very similar to Killzone's), ability to play as Paxton Fettel or Pointman, co-op campaign play, and unique multiplayer games, this game does have a lot to offer. But if you are looking for something to actually spook you a bit, play the first F.E.A.R. over again or F.E.A.R. Files. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2011
    6
    The field of view is too narrow, which makes some people nauseous, and everything seems to have been treated with a brown/grey filter to reduce contrast. So if you don't mind playing an FPS with your head stuck in a box with a bloody crap smeared screen, it's all good. The actual game-play seems fine. To be fair, it's kinda hard to screw up an FPS. You point at generic security guysThe field of view is too narrow, which makes some people nauseous, and everything seems to have been treated with a brown/grey filter to reduce contrast. So if you don't mind playing an FPS with your head stuck in a box with a bloody crap smeared screen, it's all good. The actual game-play seems fine. To be fair, it's kinda hard to screw up an FPS. You point at generic security guys and bullets come out of your guns. What's not to love. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This being one of the first major games of 2011, I decide to rent it out and see how good it was. I'm afraid to say that if you are a fan of the series then it has probably ruined it for you. The plot of the game is that you play the role of Pointman who is the second born of Alma. At the beginning of the game, Pointman is about to be executed until Alma's first child (Fittel) comes to the aid and kills the guards. The player finds out that Fittel is a spirit who is in the real world due to his psychic link with his brother. The player also finds out that Pointman had shot his brother through the brain. The player then has to go through missions to try and get the characters Pointman and Fittel closer to Alma. On the way, the player will find out that Micheal Becket (the main character from F.E.A.R 2) was raped by Alma and that the child is on its way. After that Fittel basically just kills Micheal for no reason. Pointman and Fittel then travel to see Alma and witness the birth of the child. However, before the player is able to witness the birth of the baby, you have to fight Harlan Wade who is apparently a beast from Silent Hill (also he is meant to be dead which makes little sense). After the very easy fight even on hard mode, the player will witness the birth of the baby and will have to different endings depending on how well the player did throughout the game.

    Positives
    I like the idea that however well you do throughout the game will depend on which son lives or dies
    Good controls
    I like that it is a two player because there is a lack of two player games in the game market like the different modes. For example: - **** run

    Negatives
    Story makes no sense as you will be in one place and then be in a completely different place
    Boring as a one player game

    The Rating
    I would give F.E.A.R 3 a rating of 5 out of 10
    --
    Mr Hannigan
    Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    My reviews go like this. A 10 means you should get this fast. A 7 means get it if your interested, but not for everyone. A 5 means you should rent. A 2 means screw this game. Fear 3 is awesome, but it's a first person shooter, so that means it will have the same elements as all first person shooters. But fear 3 does something differently, that thing is called fear. This game instillsMy reviews go like this. A 10 means you should get this fast. A 7 means get it if your interested, but not for everyone. A 5 means you should rent. A 2 means screw this game. Fear 3 is awesome, but it's a first person shooter, so that means it will have the same elements as all first person shooters. But fear 3 does something differently, that thing is called fear. This game instills something into your soul. You have a feeling that moves you but also freaks you out. The fear world is messed up and every character is unique and pushes me o look up the past games, yes, I haven't played the other games, but the story of fear 3 makes me go back to the old games and makes me want to play them.I ran into little problems so this game is awesome. Also it is beautIful and it also makes me enjoy the horror. The multiplayer and coop are awesome, this is unique and drifts far away from COD island into the deserted mainland with new modes and an amazing story and coop story. The reson I give it a seven is because COD and other modern shooters will hate this because it is differently and because this is for experienced players, I played this with my Black ops friend and he sucked, he didn't understand anything, so this is for hardcore or experienced players

    Final: buy this game if you want something different from black ops
    Expand
  9. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    the first 2 fear games are decent FPS game and the 3rd is the same . its improved in some ways and disappointing in others. for starters fear tries not only to be a FPS game but a horror game as well and failed at it in the first one and got better in the second and now its pretty much about as scary as the first one again. which is a shame because this game series has alot of potential tothe first 2 fear games are decent FPS game and the 3rd is the same . its improved in some ways and disappointing in others. for starters fear tries not only to be a FPS game but a horror game as well and failed at it in the first one and got better in the second and now its pretty much about as scary as the first one again. which is a shame because this game series has alot of potential to be a great horror FPS franchise but never does get it right. that not to ay FEAR 3 is a bad FPS game because it is fun and the addition of co-op play is great . the missions though very scripted are pretty fun and the game is a fair challange and enimy AI is pretty good. the slow-mo shooting is still fun to do and you can now level up which will unlock new things like a slide attack ,more ammo , more health , ect. . i wouldnt want to have paid $60 for this game and thankfully i didnt i manage to get it on sale on amazon for $18 new. id say any thing around $20 for this game is worth a purchase or atleast a rental. Expand
  10. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    Great sequel in a fantastic franchise, a little less scary, but makes up for it in action and a great co op experience, with unbelievable replay value.
  11. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    My third review and i must say i am excited to review f.e.a.r. 3 i have got my hand's on it beat the campaign in just a few hour's and also did a replay of the whole campaign again just to make sure i didn't miss anything crucial.I have some positive's and some negative's well i guess we will start with the positive's a welcome edition to the fear franchise is cooperative play which willMy third review and i must say i am excited to review f.e.a.r. 3 i have got my hand's on it beat the campaign in just a few hour's and also did a replay of the whole campaign again just to make sure i didn't miss anything crucial.I have some positive's and some negative's well i guess we will start with the positive's a welcome edition to the fear franchise is cooperative play which will allow you to play one of two character's.The first being pointman and the second being paxton fettel his deceased brother. You basically play as a super natural being.I have played pointman in the first fear he work's the same you have the ability to sharpen you reflexes (slowing down time) and you are able to fill all the enemy's in the room with your bullet's.Paxton fettel i felt was a lot funner you could hold the enemies in the air with a physic beam and then shoot physic blast at them.Or of you wanna be like your brother you have the ability to posses and enemy.So if you are not familiar with the fear storyline do some research cause i am not going to explain the whole series.Anyway the story is decent not really worth a second play through.The series is know to have a freighting mood but with the edition of coop nothing is scary really anymore.But enough about that where the game really shine's is the multiplayer with four very unique mode's which i enjoy playing.But even now it's not worth it because barley anyone play's it and that is why i am giving f.e.a.r.3 a shockingly low score 5/10 Expand
  12. May 26, 2013
    7
    The F.E.A.R. series has a nack for scaring the sh** out of everybody that plays, F.E.A.R. 3 is, while not as successful, a good addition to the series. The single-player campaign is scary and can be played with a friend. However, on the PS3 version, I couldn't play any of the mp modes 'cause there was no one playing the MP and I could only find one co-op campaign match, WTF?! Either way,The F.E.A.R. series has a nack for scaring the sh** out of everybody that plays, F.E.A.R. 3 is, while not as successful, a good addition to the series. The single-player campaign is scary and can be played with a friend. However, on the PS3 version, I couldn't play any of the mp modes 'cause there was no one playing the MP and I could only find one co-op campaign match, WTF?! Either way, its fun, even on co-op. Expand
  13. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    This game is actually a ton of fun... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE: This is NOT CallThis game is actually a ton of fun... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE: This is NOT Call Of Duty nor is it trying to be COD (which I think is refreshing)... Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    75
    Nice multimedia as expected, but the AI has taken a dip. Fortunately, the multiplayer elements and Challenges keep things fresh.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 6, 2011
    60
    Despite a few rays of fun, F.E.A.R. 3 is a production that offers gloom, minus any impending sense of doom. As an action-based first-person shooter it's solid enough to stand alongside is contemporaries in the faceless, grey-brown ranks of the FPS genre, but it does nothing to stand out from the status quo. [September 2011 p71]
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    81
    It may not be the most epic shooter experience out there, but F.E.A.R. 3 eloquently satisfies its niche by giving us a refreshing alternative to the played out machismo theme in most of the shooters out there.