FIFA Soccer 09 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 103
  2. Negative: 18 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nijinski1
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    Playing 10 v 10 is the big selling point here. playing against random people online is ok but the real deal is when you join/create a club. get used to playing with the same group of guys and the team performance gets better and better. Add interactive leagues adn Fifa world cup and you've got really rich online play. i was a PES08 owner(haven't bought FIFA since PS1) and Playing 10 v 10 is the big selling point here. playing against random people online is ok but the real deal is when you join/create a club. get used to playing with the same group of guys and the team performance gets better and better. Add interactive leagues adn Fifa world cup and you've got really rich online play. i was a PES08 owner(haven't bought FIFA since PS1) and haven't yet played PES09 except on demo. FIFA feels liek yoiu've less control of the ball than PES but you'll quickly become accustomed to it. if you're a player who like to play possession football on PES then you'll transfer you skills quickly to FIFA09. not so much if you're a pick barca and run with messi and ronaldinho type of player. my main criticism of FIFA is that the players feel a little generic. playing as Man U you pass the bal forward and think is this Berba or Ronaldo i'm controlling. on PES there is no mistaking because the players response is so distinct. However the practically lag free(and no ball teleporting) online features makes FIFA09 a football groundbreaker. Bottom line is: if your like me and play mostly online it's time to switch to the FIFA dark side. if you get more enjoyment from single player or just 1v1 games you should probably stick with PES. Expand
  2. BenR.
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    I last played a FIFA game for myself in 2005, so this one has clearly moved on graphically and in terms of how smart the computer is. I think the best thing is how you can't score easy goals anymore. You feel for your team when a golden play ends in the keepers hands and when you face tougher opposition it gets harder. My few complaints are there are a few bugs like passing back to I last played a FIFA game for myself in 2005, so this one has clearly moved on graphically and in terms of how smart the computer is. I think the best thing is how you can't score easy goals anymore. You feel for your team when a golden play ends in the keepers hands and when you face tougher opposition it gets harder. My few complaints are there are a few bugs like passing back to the throw in taker and absent or generally annoying players on 10v10 BAP mode, but yeah. Near awesome game. Expand
  3. ChrisC
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    best football game in the series so far. much improved over FIFA 08, but it still has a few hiccups like a lack of certain weather effects promised(snow) and a rare glitch where late subs come on invisible. Online play is Perfect. The only downfall I can find is the other players, may they be bad captains in Be A Pro who kick you for no reason or people with slow connections giving best football game in the series so far. much improved over FIFA 08, but it still has a few hiccups like a lack of certain weather effects promised(snow) and a rare glitch where late subs come on invisible. Online play is Perfect. The only downfall I can find is the other players, may they be bad captains in Be A Pro who kick you for no reason or people with slow connections giving terrible lag. As long as you avoid playing quick ranked matches you should not have a problem playing online, and there are many other better ways to get into a ranked than the quick one. Expand
  4. charliec
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    this game is the best representation of an actual game ive ever seen.
    those who claim pes 2009 looks more real are deluding themselves.
    i admit that pes 2009 is initially gratifying to play with its easy crosses and passing but it does not feel as real as fifa 09. Also the be a pro mode and online play of fifa outweighs all the other modes on pes. the only good thing i can
    this game is the best representation of an actual game ive ever seen.
    those who claim pes 2009 looks more real are deluding themselves.

    i admit that pes 2009 is initially gratifying to play with its easy crosses and passing but it does not feel as real as fifa 09.
    Also the be a pro mode and online play of fifa outweighs all the other modes on pes.
    the only good thing i can see pes beating fifa this year is the create the player with a picture from ure actual camera (yes i kno it was in 08 as well but...).
    Expand
  5. SteveV.
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    This game actually got me interested in soccer! It is a ton of fun to play, and pretty easy to get into, even if you have never played a soccer game before. It becomes really enjoyable to play with and against other people. The live season updates could work better, but otherwise its a fantastic game!
  6. ColinD
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    I used to play FIFA on the PC. But since the time I started playing the game on the Playstation 3, I have to admit that FIFA 09 is a really great game. The controls are much better with FIFA 09 than with any of the earlier versions. I like the Be A Pro mode which lets you take your own player through a season and really improve your play. The graphics are also more improved compared to I used to play FIFA on the PC. But since the time I started playing the game on the Playstation 3, I have to admit that FIFA 09 is a really great game. The controls are much better with FIFA 09 than with any of the earlier versions. I like the Be A Pro mode which lets you take your own player through a season and really improve your play. The graphics are also more improved compared to the previous versions. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    FIFA Soccer 09 and FIFA Soccer 07 were my itnroduction to the FIFA series and I played them both around the same time, there were some obvious things in which 09 was superior, graphics, passing, and general controls, but the games are still very similar. Both are amazing sports game, and soon after playing 09 I realized that FIFA has to be hands down the best of the well known sports gamesFIFA Soccer 09 and FIFA Soccer 07 were my itnroduction to the FIFA series and I played them both around the same time, there were some obvious things in which 09 was superior, graphics, passing, and general controls, but the games are still very similar. Both are amazing sports game, and soon after playing 09 I realized that FIFA has to be hands down the best of the well known sports games franchises. Instead of focusing on adding new features and becoming clunky, which plagues some other sports titles, it seems to me that every year FIFA improves on any shortcomings of previous installments with the occasional cool new features. Considering how cheaply you can find FIFA 09 now, there's no reason not to have this game, or some FIFA title in your collection. Even if you dislike sports games, you and your friends can have loads of fun playing this game. Expand
  8. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    A great back to the past FIFA game. The gameplay and graphics really make this a great football game. If you sold the game, it's worth buying it and revisiting it
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. This is a brilliantly presented, fluidly playable game of football overflowing with new features. Over to you, Pro Evo. [Oct 2008, p.82]
  2. 89
    FIFA 09 returns to the pitch full of swagger, and it does it’s very best to deliver on EA Sport’s promise of creating the definitive football title. An exacting game on the pitch and an overwhelmingly comprehensive one off of it.
  3. The best FIFA yet, but EA are still a few goals short of the title. [Nov 2008, p.80]