FIFA Street PlayStation 3

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
Buy On
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    73
    This series hasn't diverged wildly from its roots, but at least it's finally fashioned itself into the creative, trick-filled game it was always supposed to be, but never really achieved.
  2. 70
    FIFA Street might have worked better as a DLC expansion for the main series, as you could harshly label it as "just" being FIFA 12 with smaller pitches and more dribbles and tricks. That doesn't change the fact that we were well entertained throughout, and the sheer amount of game modes add to the overall impression.
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    FIFA Street is a complete reboot of the series. Unlike its predecessors it offers a more realistic approach to street football. Still, it's all about having fun while performing acrobatic tricks. Even though the game tends to be extremely frustrating playing with egocentric teammates in netplay, it's quite fun when controlling the team completely by yourself. All in all the nice career mode and plenty of variety make this a solid step forward.
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    70
    And there isn't even any beach soccer in here, disappointingly.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    I'm aware I've probably come across as being overly negative in this review, but I think it's just because I'm such a huge football nut. It's not that FIFA Street is a bad game per say, but I don't think it works nearly as well as it should. The fact is that FIFA Street was designed specifically for a small percentage of gamers; namely those with the same fanaticism I have. I don't see this appealing to anyone who isn't a diehard footy fan, but then I can't see anyone who isn't a diehard footy fan buying this in the first place. So consider this a warning to temper your expectations football fanatics: FIFA Street is worth playing if you can get past a slew of minor annoyances and some sore thumbs.
  6. Apr 29, 2012
    60
    FIFA Street is a fun game and will keep you entertained, but the overbearing problems it brings with it prevent it from taking its place alongside its 11-a-side cousin.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    60
    Critically the balance from FIFA 12 has been exaggerated and attackers now have emphatic control when set. So aggressive defence is out, replaced instead by ad nauseam jockeying that slows the action to a grind while attackers dangle the ball with footloose poetry. It's fist-in-thetelevision frustrating at times, and at one point we perused the pause menu looking for the "Hire cartel sniper to take out dribbler" option. [April 2012, p68]
  8. Mar 21, 2012
    60
    FIFA Street's Fifty-Fifty. On one hand, its animations and sound are convincing, but the street soccer sim draws upsides and downsides from FIFA 12's engine, that is less convenient for the numerous contacts of this urban sport. It's not that pretty, but still a good first step for a good series.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Mar 17, 2012
    3
    This game is pretty poor, it's quite obvious it's been rushed out just in time to get people acquainted with these features before the fullThis game is pretty poor, it's quite obvious it's been rushed out just in time to get people acquainted with these features before the full Street experience is released as part of the FIFA proper series. The gameplay is extremely tedious, the AI will literally outright refuse to relinquish possession even if you tackle it multiple times, this happens repeatedly, and yet when the situation is reversed it never takes them more than one tackle to get the ball from you. The defending in this game is a joke as well. I get that the whole idea of this game is street tricks but your players will act outright retarded rather than take the simple option to play a clean through ball or slot a shot into the bottom corner with no fuss, just to make a point of doing some tricks. I have only played about 20 games so far but I've already conceded several own goals through my players doing unbelievably stupid stuff out of my control.

    At first I thought maybe I was just playing it wrong, but this is a recurring theme throughout all the people I've talked to. The game is poor. There are so many disappointingly missing features, maybe some of this will be addressed in updates but ultimately it is a weak product and I wouldn't waste my money on it.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 29, 2012
    0
    This game is just boring.Simple.You do the same thing all the time(stupid skills)and nothing but stupid skills.FIFA 12 is a much betterThis game is just boring.Simple.You do the same thing all the time(stupid skills)and nothing but stupid skills.FIFA 12 is a much better investment and YOU should go get that now. Full Review »
  3. Apr 14, 2012
    7
    FIFA Street may be criticized by many, many feints and tricks interrupt the match, having no real equips ect.
    But this game is not meant to be
    FIFA Street may be criticized by many, many feints and tricks interrupt the match, having no real equips ect.
    But this game is not meant to be realistic or organized, is meant to be fun, and could achieve its objective, provides good moments of fun and entertainment and allows us to burn many hours.
    It can be very worked, however it seems to me that a game is recommended to all who proucuram play with the ball and have a getaway from FIFA normal.
    Full Review »