Final Fantasy XIII PlayStation 3

Final Fantasy XIII Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2372 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolvedIn Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny? Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. Final Fantasy XIII isn't just a game you merely enjoy. You fall in love with it. It's gorgeous worlds have you stopping to admire them in complete awe, while a graceful soundtrack massages your brain (despite the unfortunate replacement of the original Japanese theme with a song from Leona Lewis).
  3. 90
    Square Enix has brought some RPG elements to the forefront, while putting some away in the back. This might offend some gamers, but with a mix of tactics, a deep battle system and action-filled battles Final Fantasy XIII will entice plenty of players. The interaction between the characters and the gradual revelations within the story are placed within a wonderful audio-visual jacket and manage to grab the gamer without letting them go. The linear aspect shouldn’t bother anyone in this thirteenth step of one of the most popular franchises out there.
  4. A game that impresses easily – merely looking at this game will have eyes popping and jaws dropping. However, get beyond that and there is a very linear game with many prototypical J-RPG elements in place. While there is some latitude for how battles are fought, for the most part, the game holds the player’s hand and escorts them through this fantastical land that is part fantasy and part sci-fi.
  5. PSM3 Magazine UK
    81
    Linear and needs patience, but tells an epic, emotive story with rare polish. [Apr 2010, p.92]
  6. Yes this game is very linear and you can wonder why you’ve paid £40 to wander in pretty much a straight line. But don’t forget what you’re playing Final Fantasy for; the story and battles. And Final Fantasy XIII delivers big time.
  7. It takes more than graphics to make a game, and Final Fantasy XIII offers very little else other than eye candy. Ultimately, this latest addition to the Final Fantasy series is a pompous and masturbatory affair, created seemingly to promote the developer's ego first, and the player's enjoyment second.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    While still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will findWhile still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will find everything a game should have: Great story, well-developed and compelling characters, stunning enviroments, one of the best musical scores of the series, entertaining battle system, and DIFFICULTY. Every role is vital, and strategies are key for some battles. For those who like to compare FFXIII to other FFS just remember how great were FFVIII & FFVII, but how easy they were as well. I found that FFXIII is the oppossite of FFXII. Whereas FFXII gave you the freedom you 'need', tons of quests, it offered, IMO, the weakest story and character development of the series. In contrast, FFXIII is brilliantly developed, as characters and story is concerned. Sure, some things can be improved, some towns and quest can be added, but I, for one, cannot complain, as this game exceeded my expectations and I can't wait for its sequel. It's not a 10, as I gave. I would probably rate it as a 9.5, but hey, some put 0s and 1s so I wanted to raise the user score. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2015
    10
    I understand a lot of people were dissapointed wtih Final Fantasy XIII. Though a lot of the hate shouldn't have been there since it was moreI understand a lot of people were dissapointed wtih Final Fantasy XIII. Though a lot of the hate shouldn't have been there since it was more of a meme by this point to hate on it. Final Fantasy XIII for me though is easily one of the greatest RPGs, heck one of the greatest games i've played. Not gonna praise it because I could be here all day, but simply put its one of my favoriute games Expand
  3. ShawnF
    Mar 17, 2010
    9
    Honestly people, Square is never going to make another "old-school" RPG like VII-IX again, might as well accept that and move on. Catering to Honestly people, Square is never going to make another "old-school" RPG like VII-IX again, might as well accept that and move on. Catering to a wider audience makes more money and they probably won Expand
  4. Fix
    Oct 24, 2012
    7
    I honestly could not tell you what the story was about. Why is it so complicated? I played it till the end because of the fun gameplay andI honestly could not tell you what the story was about. Why is it so complicated? I played it till the end because of the fun gameplay and nice graphics, but I was kind of bummed that I never really felt a connection to the story. Hopefully they will come up with something better in the future. Overall, I'd recommend it. However, don't plan on being emotionally driven at all during that time. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    5
    This review isn't much of an opinion, that's why I'll just give it 5, mediocre. I'm just going to ask what the makes this a FF game? SoThis review isn't much of an opinion, that's why I'll just give it 5, mediocre. I'm just going to ask what the makes this a FF game? So here's a bit of a rant and facts.

    XIII doesn't have FF music, no iconic victory theme, iconic prelude, iconic main theme. It has classic magic like fire etc. but you just keep pressing A/X because there's just no point in manually choosing the magic and because the actions are so quick they just fly by, I don't remember what fire looks like because it's just a fart among the other magics the automated attack chooses, but I do remember what fire looks like in IX because I use it with Vivi so many times in that game and it always has that animation. Potions just became useless because your health just comes back after every fight, same thing with phoenix downs, antidotes, echo screens(did it even have those?) etc. It barely had iconic monsters, behemoth was there and cactuar... yeah, moving on. There were no towns, no NPC's, no ultra hard boss fights(Ozma, Ruby/Emerald Weapon, Ultima Weapon, Dark Aeons etc.) not even airship even if it would've been just for fast travel like in X and XII. Summons are mostly pointless and there's just 1 for each, no finding extra summons and you can't even call them in a battle when you want like you could in every single numbered FF before it(except XI which is MMO, and the first games on NES that didn't have summons yet). You don't need to find best weapons for everyone, I completed the game with the frigging default weapons I found without upgrading once! I just didn't need to upgrade, and that's just broken. There's no limit break/trance etc. What exactly does make this game a Final Fantasy? It just looks like Square-Enix doesn't want to make Final Fantasy games anymore, but they do like the money the franchise name is giving them. You can like XIII series all you want, I don't care, story was decent and battle system fairly enjoyable, but overall I just hated it because I wanted FF game. These things I've given are just facts of things that the franchise had up until XIII. XIII is not a Final Fantasy game, nothing about this game is Final Fantasy. I want a Final Fantasy game, I don't want FF VII or IX which are my favorites, I want a new FF with upgraded mechanics, VII and IX are old and wouldn't hold up today, that's why they should make those things better, not abandon them completely like they did with XIII, just throwing things out isn't the answer.
    Expand
  6. JoshB
    Apr 26, 2010
    3
    Do you want to see what Final Fantasy would be if it was one of the most frustrating, boring, and underachieving games of all time. Look no Do you want to see what Final Fantasy would be if it was one of the most frustrating, boring, and underachieving games of all time. Look no further than Final Fantasy XIII. Sure the graphics are fantastic but that does not mean squat if you change everything else about the franchise that is great and make it all inferior. Thank you for ruining Final Fantasy and making me waste my money on what I thought was going to be a quality product. Opening up the exploration at Chapter 11 is pathetic and I am just glad I could sell this back before I waste any more time getting to that point. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2016
    0
    i am a very final fantasy fan. but this game is just **** **** i dont know why the people like this game. is just a rect line, a very badi am a very final fantasy fan. but this game is just **** **** i dont know why the people like this game. is just a rect line, a very bad story, very bad characters and a very bad game sistem. dont buy this game please Expand

See all 399 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?