Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. 90
    Pure, beautiful genius, and the kind of game that despite its simplicity manages to surprise and wow at every turn. As relaxing as it is gorgeous, no one can dislike this. [Issue #151, p.66]
  2. 85
    Conventional review breakdowns can't do this game justice but the overall product is something you have to experience.
  3. Mesmerising and beautiful. Just excellent. [May 2007, p.77]
  4. A mesmerizing, gorgeous achievement in interactive art, and should be experienced by anyone willing to open their minds as to what video games can be.
  5. It may not have any longevity beyond the times you boot it up to show off to friends as a curio of you new PS3, but at a budget price it is an undeniably unique and enchanting piece of software.
  6. While the $7.99 asking price feels excessive for a game that offers little content versus other downloadable games, flOw deserves to be experienced, thanks to its dreamy visuals, angelic soundtrack and addictive play.
  7. This is utterly unique. [May 2007, p.116]
  8. One of the coolest things about flow is its simplicity. You never feel harried or rushed. Even when you pause the game, it doesn’t actually stop, it just raises your creature to a level where nothing can attack it, waiting for you to pick the controller back up and continue on.
  9. 76
    flOw is an extremely interesting game for multiple reasons. The only goal is to evolve and see what's next, and its presentation couldn't be any better. The downside is that that's about all there is to the game.
  10. You can only take so much away from FLOW before the effect wears off, but until then, it's a treat that hopefully will inspire more for the future. [Apr 2007, p.47]
  11. There's not an awful lot of game here, but flOw still makes for an attractive and soothing showpiece.
  12. FlOw is what it is - download it in the full knowledge that you're participating in an experiment of sorts and I think you'll get good value from your £3.49. If you're looking for something more like a conventional game, I'd lop off a mark or two from the final score.
  13. Easily the most distinctive and unusual title exclusively available via the PS Store. For £3.49 you receive 128MB of something rather unique and eye opening but others will thoroughly hate the lack of structure and goals, as many play to win or obtain the highest score.
  14. While part of the beauty and pure artistry is that it doesn’t hold your hand the whole way, I can’t help but feel that it does lack direction, but it shows off the PS2’s Sixaxis in a more than appealing way, and gives the PS3 an edge of experimentation and originality that could sway the odd savvy gamer.
  15. It will provide you with a relaxing and somewhat strange experience that no other game offers. It looks great on the PS3 and will impress (and maybe hypnotize) your visitors when they come over.
  16. 70
    The sense of purpose and accomplishment comes from making your creature grow -- to be king of the primordial soup. And while there are levels, enemies, power moves, et cetera, flOw is more of an entertaining diversion than what we're used to calling a "game."
  17. 70
    A very calming and intriguing experience, but unfortunately nothing substantial to keep you coming back for more.
  18. It could be viewed as either mind-numbing or hypnotic. The game is simple enough to learn and time will flutter past as you play. Still, this is not a game that is overly complex and may not appeal to everyone.
  19. 60
    flOw has all the makings of a great game, with one major exception. There is almost no point. Just the same, for $8 PlayStation 3 owners will find a truly distinctive, Zen-like gaming experience.
  20. 50
    It's cheap, it's easy, there’s no death, severed limbs or even blood, it's great for wowing hammered friends with a motion sensitive controller. In fact, it's simply ornamental.
  21. While flOw does offer some different gaming experiences and the implementation of the Sixaxis is smooth, it does just feel like a demo of the controller and not exactly a fully rounded game. [May 2007, p.67]
  22. As-is, it's a very, very pretty demo of what the SIXAXIS can do. [May 2007, p.69]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    Unless you happen to be a huge fan of Snake-like games, flOw has little to offer. Beautiful flowing graphics are its main draw, but watching gameplay videos on YouTube is almost the same as playing the game. After spending the 40-odd minutes it takes to complete the game, most players will likely tire of plodding through what Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    I remember playing the demo back when I got my phat PS3 and I recall being interested but not eager to play it. I can say that I got the same feeling here too. The motion control was somewhat neat and the visuals were good as well as the audio. So from a technical stand point it was actually a great game. As for the content/premise I didn't really dig it all that much. It was fun for a while to each creatures but then after a while it got to feeling the same. I appreciated the brevity of the game and that it was fast paced to a degree. I'm happy I played it but will likely return to it for the trophies only if I'm bored. That said, it really was nice to look at. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Beautiful game, about evolution of species. Lovely and easy gameplay, you cannot die - at least, I didn't. It has a wonderful meditative quality, relaxing. I didn't want it to stop Full Review »