• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 12, 2013
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    91
    Although it's far from innovative, God of War: Ascension is a truly epic tale of violence that will tell the origins of its well-known spartan. Aside from an unremarkable multiplayer side, Kratos' new adventure is an amazing production that will not disappoint.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    90
    God of War has never looked or played better than this. Kratos has never been as deep or interesting as this. They've set the bar so high that I have no idea how they'll be able to follow this one up. Sony Santa Monica should be proud. Series fans should be proud.
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    96
    Ascension is another 'instant classic' entry into the amazing God of War series.
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    90
    God of War Ascension is one of the most beautiful, brutal and funny action games you can play these days. This prequel definitely lives up to its predecessor, proposing an astounding adventure, and a climax of action and brutality with no equals. On the top of that there is a new multiplayer mode that brings over the character of the series.
  5. 90
    God of War: Ascension offers a gaming experience that is at the level of the best in this generation of consoles.
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    90
    God of War Ascension is not just the best action game of the moment, it's the new technical yardstick on home consoles, and the perfect example of how to rejuvenate a series working with care and attention on the gameplay dynamics.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    89
    God of War: Ascension isn’t a bad game by any stretch of the imagination, but considering it’s lineage, it feels like a step back rather than a step forward.
  8. Apr 1, 2013
    90
    Overall, God of War Ascension is another good game in a good game series.
  9. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    With Sony so laser-focused on the multiplayer component since Ascension was announced, we were understandably worried that the single-player side of things may end up a rote retread of old ground. But we’ve never been so happy to be proven wrong, and from its gorgeous visual and evolved combat to its lavish presentation and tight pacing, this is arguably the best God Of War yet.
  10. Mar 14, 2013
    90
    Full of verve, Kratos returns and wounds everyone and everything like in his past years. Do not worry about its multiplayer game, and enjoy the exceptional mythical opus written in the golden age of PS3. For the PlayStation 3 owners this is a must, for the others this is a very good reason to buy SONY's gaming machine.
  11. Mar 25, 2013
    91
    Beyond one particularly challenging battle which takes place towards the very end of the game, Ascension is action-packed though not especially difficult. The boss encounters are definitely as epic as expected, even if they seem more few and far between in comparison to other God of War games.
  12. Mar 26, 2013
    88
    Exactly what one would expect from one of Kratos’ adventures. It’s gritty, action packed, super-violent, and feels as epic as ever. As fun as it is, one can’t help but feel like we have played this game before...perhaps a major change of scenery is needed before this patented formula wears out its welcome.
  13. Mar 7, 2013
    90
    Ascension is not content to rest on past success, giving players new combat options, a fresh approach to magic and rage, an even larger sense of scale, and some small but meaningful mechanical changes that improve the overall polish to the game.
  14. Mar 20, 2013
    88
    Ascension might be a prequel but it's far from a step behind in the relevance of God of War. Instead it is a necessary evolution that builds a better future for the franchise. Its half baked multiplayer could benefit with further balance and better objectives but putting that aside, the story is as tradition dictates an epic tale of vengeance, blood and loads of action. Despite the glorious combat and top-notch graphics, we can avoid feeling disenchanted with a toned down Kratos, but after all it comes with the logic of this being the beginnings.
  15. Mar 7, 2013
    87
    Bloodier than ever, the god of Sony's IPs come back with a title than focuses on the beginning of the tragedy. Reluctant to remember what happened, Kratos only wants to break the pact he made once with Ares. God of War: Ascension bring us a visual spectacle that pushes PlayStation 3 to its limits, carrying new elements for the gameplay and even a Multiplayer mode that helps to extend the life of this spartan odyssey. A great Good-bye to the character until the Next Generation.
  16. Mar 8, 2013
    93
    Ok, you can say that God of War: Ascension is less epic than the previous chapters and it lacks somewhere in terms of narrative and news ideas, but if you dig further you can find a much improved gameplay, a compelling adventure and some of the most incredible boss fights you can ever face in a videogame.
  17. Ascension shows a warrior who is miles away from being the ultimate and flawless killing machine we all know and love. He is more like an unguided projectile here, trying to cope with all the injustice delivered unto him. [April 2013, p.62]
  18. Mar 21, 2013
    90
    A supremely spectacular trip back into ancient Greece, with reworked combat, more puzzles and superb pacing. [Issue#229, p.64]
  19. 90
    While not quite the high-point of the God Of War series, Ascension delivers an action-packed, gloriously-produced, freak-bashing extravaganza with an addictive multiplayer component to boot.
  20. Mar 7, 2013
    92
    There's plenty of blood, stunning action, fun and a few puzzles in this game. It's Kratos losing his family, losing his mind and annihilating massive creatures. It's a God of War, and there's little we can say apart from that. You already knew if this game was meant for you or not.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 783 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 215
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    While Ascension is fun, it is nowhere near to Gow3. A weaker story and less satisfying combat. On hard mode, enemies are too much making itWhile Ascension is fun, it is nowhere near to Gow3. A weaker story and less satisfying combat. On hard mode, enemies are too much making it sometimes a chore to clear out all the spawns. Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    So i wasn't expecting too much out of this game as it wasn't getting the best "pre-release" feedback, which did have me worried. But afterSo i wasn't expecting too much out of this game as it wasn't getting the best "pre-release" feedback, which did have me worried. But after playing through the story mode, (i got an early copy) i came to realize that the ONLY thing this game does wrong, is that it has to be compared to god of war 3. Thats it. The multiplayer is original (for the most part) and fun to play, and the story mode offers a new side of kratos which i'm very happy to see. This game in my opinion though is the second best in the series, with GOW3 still being the best. Ascension was screwed right from the beginning for being a prequel about the furies... That will, no matter what, ALWAYS be less entertaining than scaling mt. Olympus in order to kill zeus an the other gods, which is the only reason i can't/won't score this game any higher than it's well deserved 9/10. Very well done *clapping* Full Review »
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This game is everything I have expected for it to be; Brutal and Spectacular! This is the most refined GOW game yet (YES EVEN BETTER THANThis game is everything I have expected for it to be; Brutal and Spectacular! This is the most refined GOW game yet (YES EVEN BETTER THAN GOW3), with great combat additions, great variaty on the scenery, nice puzzles and great pacing. I know that it is not as Epic as GOW3, but that is because of it being a prequel, so Kratos cant fight a Titan or other things like that, but still it is freaking epic and ultra fun to play. The weapons system in Ascension is better than in GOW3, because of instead getting different kinds of the same blades (that are not as useful as the original), you alter the original blades with elemental power and thus enabling you to some really crazy stuff, and also you have the ability of using weapons dropped in the stage an complement your combos with lots of great stuff, or if you dont feel like picking them up, there is a new melee system that is also really sweet. You can also use some gadgets in combat and stop time. really really sweet!!

    The grapple here is changed. Now you grab opponents with R1 instead of circle, and now you can do a lot more stuff while you have grabbed them. You can either hit the one you grabbed, throw him against other enemies, or even while grabbing him fight other dudes. The combat is freaking awesome as you may be already expecting.

    Another addition to combat is that when a monster is about to die, and you trigger the killing minigame, there are some enemies, that offer a QTE-less minigame, and now you are the one to dodge and hit him when having the chance. There are also the other minigames with QTEs, but they are done really good too, so they dont take the action out of the game

    The soundtrack is the best of any GOW game yet. Even though it has at times music featured in other GOW games, they have been changed and tweaked, making the experience even more epic.

    How the story unfolds, is really nice. You get a much deeper story experience than in any other previous GOW game. The acting the motion capture is top-notch!!!! I wont spoil the story for you so I will stop right there :D.

    The now features a new game plus option, which is really nice, because it adds even more replayability than before.

    If this game only had the single player portion it would be still the best GOW game out there, with a SP longer than GOW3!! BUT there is more in the package wohoo!!

    The multiplayer is really cool, I have not played much yet, because I also have some responsibilities, but so far it is really entertaining. I picked up ARES as the olympian I would fight for, so that I can also be some sort of Kratos in the MP lol XD. Each Olympian gives to his champions different abilities, so it is really cool to play against and with other people that have different kind of sets of moves, and looked in awe they great attacks even if they are killing you! :P The game is well balanced, and even though it is based on MP modes we have already played in other games, the fact that this is GOW, makes them really fun and visceral to play.

    As you already noticed I am having an spectacular, and fun time playing this. If you are a GOW fan, dont let you to be convinced by reviewers who have not even bothered in exploring all the things the developers have added in this game. This game is quite amazing if play and explore it just like you did the previous GOW games. And if you are not a fan, and you just want to play a great action adventure game, if you play this game, and let it flow you will have an amazing experience with it.

    For me, this is the best action/adventure/hack n slash game I have ever played. the action, the music, the story, the graphics, are amazing, and together bring to life an outstanding package you can not miss.
    Full Review »