• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 101 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2199 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game which allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who have betrayed him. Armed with double-chained blades, and an array of new weapons and magic for this iteration of the trilogy, Kratos must take on mythology’s darkest creatures while solving intricate puzzles throughout his merciless quest to destroy Olympus. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101
  1. While not a huge leap forward for the franchise, God of War III refines its already-fun gameplay to near-perfection while delivering the clever puzzles, high production values and pure, rage-fueled brutality fans expect. Add a memorable cast of characters and buckets of gore, and Kratos's last adventure is also his best yet.
  2. Kratos is given a wonderfully epic farewell that would truly be a shame to miss, and every aspect of the game, from the controls, to the combat, to the presentation, is as close to perfect as perfect can be. Even if you've never played a single game in this series before, God of War III is a game you must play if you have the opportunity. You owe it to yourself, and the team at Santa Monica Studios, to play this game.
  3. A fantastic game that should be played by anybody with a PS3 that has a craving for some brutal combat and plenty of vengeance.
  4. Familiar but thrilling - sits easily among PS3's gods, if shy of the throne. [Apr 2010, p.94]
  5. The game is probably the most balanced of the three, but excitement wise it never quite reaches the heights of it's predecessors.
  6. God of War III is not only a high definition upgrade on what is an already fantastic series; it is a game that improves on what it has done so well in the past
  7. The strength of the game's opening sequences and some of the bosses really stuck with me, but some of the later levels just felt kind of...bleh. As far as being the show-stopper that blows the rest of the series away, it falls short.

See all 101 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 219
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    God Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smooth gameplay,gore,violence,EPIC opening.All you need in an action game.This might be the Game Of The Year for the PS3 System.If you have been following God Of War franchise since the 1st God Of War.There is no point in saying "pass" to this game. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    o jogo traz tudo que o god 1 e 2 trouce e melhora infinitamente adicionando alguns poucos elementos novos os graficos sao impressionantes para o ano lançado e ate hoje impressiona a historia e excelente talvez em exceção pelo seu final mas ae vem do gosto de cada pessoa a jogabilidade continua extremamente parecida ,alias um ponto um pouco negativo no game sao 3 armas secundarias que se parecem muito com a arma principal nao alterando muito nos combos durante a jogatina vai ter momentos especiais que a jogabilidade vai se modificar ao situação durante um pequeno tempo mas o destaque realmente e as lutas contra os chefes que são impressionantes Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    There isn't much more I can say about this game that hasn't already been said. The graphics are phenomenal, the sense of scale is staggering. There are so many moments where you just sit and say "That is the coolest thing I've ever done in a video game". The gameplay is nothing new compared to God of War I and II, but it is refined so well here that it is perfectly smooth and flawless. This was definitely my favourite game of the series because I think that it got the pacing best. This game will go down as one of the showpieces of this console generation. It is a thrilling game, very entertaining to play, and definitely worthy of a perfect 10 score. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    God of War III the name itself has great meaning inside that how it would be from inside. I bought my play station 3 recently, about one month ago and this is my first game. I have no words for this it is extremely good. I didn't feel anything wrong. Game play, graphics, story line, camera views, dialogs, characters, expressions while talking, fighting..... every thing is just perfect. I cant give more than 10 least I would give it 100 out of 10. This is my most favorite games. Top of the list. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Incredibly powerful, starting with the story, is fantastic and fascinating. The outstanding combat is good, but i thing they could have given more combos and more brutal attacks. The graphics are beautiful, the remarkable environments. The control plays smooth, you need to to yell to your controller to respond. Fighting to the gods makes you feel unstoppable. This is a most own tittle for the PS3 as for inFamous 2 and probably Uncharted. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    this game hands down has the best graphics I have ever seen on the ps3 everything looks stunning the combat is fun but on harder difficulties its tough as nails Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2014
    4
    Before I start I have to say that God of War and God of War 2 were and probably still are action games of their time. They had just the right mix of simplistic action thrown into a great setting. If God of War 3 would have came out in PS2 days instead of 2010 while I probably would be more likely to overlook glaring issues that are present in this game. The first and foremost of them is that apart from graphics the game has not evolved from previous titles and even may have been simplified further in GoW3. The combat itself feel very unresponsive when comparing it with other hack and slash games even not of AAA category like Conan, Sengoku Basara Samurai heroes and Afro Samurai. Not only is it unresponsive but its flow is constantly interrupted by quicklime connected to finishers, counter moves and all the bosses are littered with them instead just letting player fight bosses with weapons of their choice. Since this is a boss heavy title lets talk about bosses. Depending on the difficulty level you can just button mash through all of their attacks or on higher difficulty levels due to inability to cancel combos you can only do 1-2 hits and then wait for boss to do its thing and hope bad camera angle doesn't make you take a hit. Neither of the approaches is very fun. Apart from combat there is platforming and it is terribly executed with atrocious camera angles and jumping technique.
    This GoW game also lacks a story or interesting characters that in some way enhance the experience.
    To me it feels like this game was all about graphic and no substance.
    Expand

See all 219 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. God of War III: Inside the Reviews

    God of War III: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: March 16, 2010
    The third installment in the "God of War" series is one of the best-looking games ever released, and the year's top title for the PS3. Here's why.