God of War Saga PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
God of War Saga Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The God of War Saga is a compilation containing God of War, God of War II, God of War III, and the God of War Origins Collection all remastered for HD.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    Amazing collection. I am a big fan of GOD. Graphics, story line everything is spectacular. By the way shahid you can download the other 2Amazing collection. I am a big fan of GOD. Graphics, story line everything is spectacular. By the way shahid you can download the other 2 games if you will create a US account and change afterwords :-) Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    Thanks Salman, Nice to know :) Now 10/10 from my side toooooooooooooThanks Salman, Nice to know :) Now 10/10 from my side tooooooooooooo .................................................................................... Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    Great Collection with triple A games abound. A must buy for any fan of the series that doesn't have all the games or a collector!! There'sGreat Collection with triple A games abound. A must buy for any fan of the series that doesn't have all the games or a collector!! There's no reason not to own all of these masterpieces and at this price its a steal!!! Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2015
    9
    I just bought this game from Ebay. First of all, not to worry. The expiration date for the two downloads was extended to 3/31/16 so you'llI just bought this game from Ebay. First of all, not to worry. The expiration date for the two downloads was extended to 3/31/16 so you'll still get the PSP games if you buy it new. Wouldn't count on that if the game's used though. Onward. If you like fantasy/mythology stuff with a dark, gritty story then the value in this game is amazing. I only bought it for God of War 3 and for the PSP games because I've never played them but I still own the PS2 versions of God of War 1 and 2. However, even though I own them I'm still glad I have them for PS3 because they're ported in HD and as any gamer knows, games that weren't made in HD look pretty poopy on an HD display. Even if they used to look great(like the Onimusha games). If you DON'T like the premise of the game's plot or theme then these games may not be for you. The combat system, while good; is pretty basic. While it DID revolutionize the melee focused action genre(you see God of War's influence in everything from the Ninja Gaiden remake for Xbox all the way up to Darksiders and... well, pretty much every melee action game nowadays) now it's nothing you haven't seen before. But keep in mind that that's because God of War's fighting mechanics have been aped a billion times in other games. But the story is top notch if it's the kind of thing you're into. I did experience some broken audio while trying to play God of War III but I was downloading the two PSP games at the time and I'm thinking/hoping that may have affected my system's ability to read the disc. If you like the God of War games or like the what you see of the style and setting then for how much you can get this set nowadays it's a total steal. I own an xbox one now and I'm STILL loving this(although I'm a gamer and I still play my PS1 games). Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    5 games for $40 thats the best deal ever. I only played through the first game but I can tell its going to get better and better. Havent had5 games for $40 thats the best deal ever. I only played through the first game but I can tell its going to get better and better. Havent had much time to play because im focusing on some other games but imma play it tonight and enjoy it. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    I bought this in the extra controller bundle. For what I got it was definitely a bargain deal. This was my first time playing a God of WarI bought this in the extra controller bundle. For what I got it was definitely a bargain deal. This was my first time playing a God of War game. I completed the first 3 full games. I haven't played the two psn games since you have to download them. Which is quite misleading given what the box tells you. You get 3 games on disc....you have to download the other 2. So please note this review will not include those two games. Right, first off make sure this isn't the first playstation game you ever play. I made that mistake. I ended up having stopped playing it after finishing the first 'level' in gow1. Then the next couple months I played other games on the ps3....got used to the controller...knew what the buttons were etc. Then finally I decide to give it another chance and holy hell there was a huge difference. Lets start by saying God of war 1 and 2 both look absolutely stunning in this hd remake. This is how all HD remakes should be made. It felt like I was playing a ps3 game through both experiences. It was only during the 'movie cutscenes' that you are reminded that this was a ps2 game. The in-game cutscenes are all in hd, which is great, so you hardly notice most of the time. God of war 1. A good game make no mistake. It consists of the formula: fight, puzzle, cutscene etc....with the occasional boss battle tossed into the mix. The gameplay becomes pretty predictable halfway through. You do some fighting and then you have to do a puzzle....do more fighting....then its another puzzle....then a boss.....then it repeats. What will drive you through this is the story. Kratos is such a great character. He has such an interesting past....I played the game and went through the fighting and puzzles just for the sake of progressing the story. The puzzles here are ruthless though. Most have 0 margin for error and have to be done in 1 specific way. Other issues: invisible walls almost everywhere you go, falling deaths especially near the end of the game are a little bit too cruel for comfort. Right, God of War 2....this is where we hit the main problems. God of War 2 is essentially God of War 1....you do exactly the same things...you are driven by the exact same goals. It feels like you are playing the same game over again. Then comes God of War 3. Which opens with some amazing cinematics and epic fights and gets you all hyped up and......guess what? it is exactly like the other two god of war games! It literally became a grind fest...where I just wanted to progress the story. I hated the ending to the third game....it was a terrible ending. Basically starting at the last quarter of Gow2...alot of the plot twists...they seemed stupid. They made no sense. Alot of the story in general seems to be designed to facilitate 1 on 1 fight sequences. Which isn't always a bad thing...but when it never strays far from the basic fighting formula it becomes boring. Will I buy the new GOW? If it goes on sale for really cheap...maybe. I highly doubt that the game mechanics have changed enough to make it any different from the first 3. And Playing God of war 3 or 1 or 2 all over again just doesn't appeal to me especially when I have to dish out cash to do it. This was written as a spoiler free review. So the main reason I'm not backing up my comments with facts from the game is it would spoil things. But everyone has a different perspective. Kratos is an interesting character. He is a ruthless killer to the point where he becomes a complete through alot of the games. Yet there is some humanity left in him, and it's interesting to see it manifest itself however slowly...and then it wilts away and were back in the suicidal kind of void of despair in the back of his mind. The puzzles in gow2 and 3 are easier because they are more predictable...since they are similar to gow1's. gow 1's puzzles will leave you thinking a bit since they require a very precise and specific way of doing things that isn't always apparent. 8/10 for value, solid gameplay, and interesting and worthwhile story (through at least half the experience anyways). Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2015
    1
    Gameplay: 1 (Unplayable)
    Fun: 1 (You can't Have Fun)
    Story: 7 (Story is set during Era 5000BC to 500BC) Cast: 7 (Great) Score: 1/10
    Gameplay: 1 (Unplayable)
    Fun: 1 (You can't Have Fun)
    Story: 7 (Story is set during Era 5000BC to 500BC)
    Cast: 7 (Great)
    Score: 1/10

    Overrated By All should got less then 7.8s
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews