Gran Turismo 5 Prologue PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 119
  2. Negative: 25 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    Prologue barely touched on all the content which made the full 5 great. But the cheap price, fun which can be had and the fact that it still has that solid driving which made the Gran Turismo series great comes together to make a decent game.
  2. DanW.
    Apr 19, 2008
    5
    Beautiful looking game, amazing car models and the inclusion of an in car cockpit is almost worth the entry fee alone. However, the physics are still left wanting, it's still leagues behind the current console market leader, Forza 2, and I can't see it exceeding it in the future. Sound is typically poor, quite why PD insist on having crappy jazz style music in the menus is Beautiful looking game, amazing car models and the inclusion of an in car cockpit is almost worth the entry fee alone. However, the physics are still left wanting, it's still leagues behind the current console market leader, Forza 2, and I can't see it exceeding it in the future. Sound is typically poor, quite why PD insist on having crappy jazz style music in the menus is beyond me, and the tyre squeal is straight ou of the 90's. Next up, the content, well, we all knew it was a "demo", so we can't really complain about the lack of content, and the single player "career" is sorely lacking, there is nothing to play for, other than the draw of buying new cars, and unlocking the QTS (Quick tune system) which becomes available after clearing C,B & A events. Online is marred by the typical "console kid" racers, no etiquette, just a lot of banging and crashing. In summary, if you want an exceptional looking console racer and not much else, go for it, however if you want something that is deeper than a puddle, look elsewhere. Ultimately disappointing. Expand
  3. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    5
    Strictly for fans that are still getting over the first one. If you aren't, you will see through the pretty graphics and realise that games like PGR4 are miles ahead of this. If you are and are willing to defend this piece of garbage's limited cars and tracks, go ahead and buy it. Prepare to be dissapointed.
  4. ColinD
    Dec 30, 2009
    5
    You really have to be into Gran Turismo to enjoy this limited game, it's definately nothing for casual racers. There are no difficulty settings and only perfect driving will let you win some challenges, which is rather tedious and repetitive than enjoyable.
  5. Oct 12, 2010
    0
    a fantastic racing game that in this version though is just a over priced demo that is not worth $40 new . im glad i waited and got this off amazon for $10 used which is about what is should have been when it was released . i mean i love Gran Turismo it is my favorite racing game but this was a scam for $40 . you only get less then 1/10th of the cars in GT5P then you will get in the fulla fantastic racing game that in this version though is just a over priced demo that is not worth $40 new . im glad i waited and got this off amazon for $10 used which is about what is should have been when it was released . i mean i love Gran Turismo it is my favorite racing game but this was a scam for $40 . you only get less then 1/10th of the cars in GT5P then you will get in the full game and only 6 tracks to race on , and no car tuning . if i paid $40 this would get a 5 but since i didnt and paid what i felt it was worth, it gets a 8. this game is best played with a steering wheel . a controllor works fine but a logitech steering wheel makes it feel and play so much better. the nice thing in to owning this game in advance is your save file with your cars and cash will carry over to the full game in GT5 . so if you want to get a head start in your GT5 game its worth picking this up as long as you get it cheap. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    70
    The game's relentlessly narrow focus frustrates as much as the repetitious grind of the racing. [May 2008, p.98]
  2. The attention to detail is staggering and it handles like a dream. A true technical showcase. [May 2008, p.74]
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    70
    Needs to make serious progress if 'Gran' isn't to become an indication of age. [June 2008, p.87]