Gran Turismo 5 Prologue PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 120
  2. Negative: 25 out of 120
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GP
    Aug 6, 2008
    3
    This gets a 3 because I had to pay for it. It could have been a 10 if it was Free. It's just not worth the AU$60. With the limited, and expensive cars, and VERY limited tracks, you'll find that this game is nothing but a big grind sandwich. Do race after race on the same tracks in one car, to get enough money to do race after race on the same tracks again in a different car and This gets a 3 because I had to pay for it. It could have been a 10 if it was Free. It's just not worth the AU$60. With the limited, and expensive cars, and VERY limited tracks, you'll find that this game is nothing but a big grind sandwich. Do race after race on the same tracks in one car, to get enough money to do race after race on the same tracks again in a different car and repeat. Theres no variety, theres no fun. If you're a fan of the series, and still have your copy of GT4 lying around, play that instead. It is a far better game. This is rubbish. AU$60 for a poor demo. Very dissapointed. Expand
  2. Youcef
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I drive with my Logitech Driving Force GT steering wheel and it's quite realistic providing hours of fun but if I did not have the the steering wheel I would rate it 5, using it without the steering wheel is just plain boring.
  3. NickS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    This racing sim continues to strengthen its legacy by focusing on how the cars perform. Each setting in the game could mean a one inch difference between taking home silver or gold. Even though the cars don't get visibly damaged they still get worn down and rugged if you don't keep it in top shape. Remember that racing isn't about crashes, scratches, or any of that This racing sim continues to strengthen its legacy by focusing on how the cars perform. Each setting in the game could mean a one inch difference between taking home silver or gold. Even though the cars don't get visibly damaged they still get worn down and rugged if you don't keep it in top shape. Remember that racing isn't about crashes, scratches, or any of that wreckless stuff. Its about respect and honor; You lose, too bad. You win, congrats. The detail of the cars are nicely rendered and seeing the glare of the sun from every car as they whiz by just makes it more immersive. No one can do it like Polyphony Digital. Can't wait for the full game! Considering its only 40 bux for the prologue it deserves a 9. Expand
  4. jggj
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    bLAH....this is an expansion pack 5 courses? umm...no thanks...
  5. ColinD
    Dec 30, 2009
    5
    You really have to be into Gran Turismo to enjoy this limited game, it's definately nothing for casual racers. There are no difficulty settings and only perfect driving will let you win some challenges, which is rather tedious and repetitive than enjoyable.
  6. ZiggyP.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Although lacking what some other racers can offer, the amount of content and sheer quality for a game less than £20 cannot be ignored. If this is just a small glimpse of things to come then we shouldn't be worried if GT5 will delivery, we should be worried about our eyes popping out of our heads.
  7. MOQ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! I haven't stopped playing since I opened it. Its as much fun as you can have with a serious racer. Graphics are ace. Sell your car and buy this game!
  8. Drac;)
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Great game, especially for the price.
  9. MasJ.
    Mar 30, 2008
    1
    The cars a pretty and thats why it gets one point. Otherwise its a zero imo. The cars handle so badly even at low speeds its silly, spinouts for no reason, no damage modelling, no physics or feel to the cars, no sense of speed, a technical racer that's not fun to play and limiting tracks with no interaction to the environment. Burnout Paradise is a masterpiece, Motorstorm is great The cars a pretty and thats why it gets one point. Otherwise its a zero imo. The cars handle so badly even at low speeds its silly, spinouts for no reason, no damage modelling, no physics or feel to the cars, no sense of speed, a technical racer that's not fun to play and limiting tracks with no interaction to the environment. Burnout Paradise is a masterpiece, Motorstorm is great fun and neither have pretentions to being a realistic racer despite their cars having perfect feel and handling, this is a mere Ridgeracer clone imo with overly sensitive controls. Rent before you buy. Expand
  10. DanW.
    Apr 19, 2008
    5
    Beautiful looking game, amazing car models and the inclusion of an in car cockpit is almost worth the entry fee alone. However, the physics are still left wanting, it's still leagues behind the current console market leader, Forza 2, and I can't see it exceeding it in the future. Sound is typically poor, quite why PD insist on having crappy jazz style music in the menus is Beautiful looking game, amazing car models and the inclusion of an in car cockpit is almost worth the entry fee alone. However, the physics are still left wanting, it's still leagues behind the current console market leader, Forza 2, and I can't see it exceeding it in the future. Sound is typically poor, quite why PD insist on having crappy jazz style music in the menus is beyond me, and the tyre squeal is straight ou of the 90's. Next up, the content, well, we all knew it was a "demo", so we can't really complain about the lack of content, and the single player "career" is sorely lacking, there is nothing to play for, other than the draw of buying new cars, and unlocking the QTS (Quick tune system) which becomes available after clearing C,B & A events. Online is marred by the typical "console kid" racers, no etiquette, just a lot of banging and crashing. In summary, if you want an exceptional looking console racer and not much else, go for it, however if you want something that is deeper than a puddle, look elsewhere. Ultimately disappointing. Expand
  11. ColossiS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    Very exhilarating during the later/faster races, and online. oh man you don't know competition till you race 15 other people in GT style racing.
  12. RavenS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    The best racing game yet in the GT series!
  13. LeeW.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    Excellent, Beautiful. Fun.
  14. MichaelD.
    Apr 3, 2008
    2
    Why pay $70AUD for a glorified demo??? its been the case with pretty much every GT game, and the graphics don't do enough to justify the price when the driving aids are retarded and the online mode is half-finished. PS3 fans wait for the full thing, dont be tricked by Sony's grab at your hard-earned cash. in the meantime, ill just fire up Forza 2 and PGR4... they've kept me Why pay $70AUD for a glorified demo??? its been the case with pretty much every GT game, and the graphics don't do enough to justify the price when the driving aids are retarded and the online mode is half-finished. PS3 fans wait for the full thing, dont be tricked by Sony's grab at your hard-earned cash. in the meantime, ill just fire up Forza 2 and PGR4... they've kept me going all year :-) Expand
  15. AndrewP
    May 8, 2008
    8
    Stunning graphics and realistic physics make this game shine. It is nothing more then a large demo, but an excellent and large one at that. All though the on-line play is lacking, this is just a taste of things to come. All of the people claiming that the game is short or not worth money are probably not car enthusiasts or GT freaks. All of us die hard GT guys have been begging for Stunning graphics and realistic physics make this game shine. It is nothing more then a large demo, but an excellent and large one at that. All though the on-line play is lacking, this is just a taste of things to come. All of the people claiming that the game is short or not worth money are probably not car enthusiasts or GT freaks. All of us die hard GT guys have been begging for prologue for years and finally have it. I can't wait for the full version of GT5 to be released. I will lose many hours of my life to this game once again. This is a must have for all GT fans and auto enthusiasts. If you are a casual GT fan or car fan, it may be worth a rent until the full game is released. Expand
  16. AlanB
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This game is AWESOME. The cars look and sound super real. When racing, it feels like you're really driving the car, you can feel the weight and quality of the car, you can feel every little detail about the car.. kinda creepy with this level of detail in a video game. If you like cars, GET THIS GAME.. if you don't care much about cars, but just like fun games with lots of replay This game is AWESOME. The cars look and sound super real. When racing, it feels like you're really driving the car, you can feel the weight and quality of the car, you can feel every little detail about the car.. kinda creepy with this level of detail in a video game. If you like cars, GET THIS GAME.. if you don't care much about cars, but just like fun games with lots of replay value.. GET THIS GAME. Expand
  17. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    5
    Strictly for fans that are still getting over the first one. If you aren't, you will see through the pretty graphics and realise that games like PGR4 are miles ahead of this. If you are and are willing to defend this piece of garbage's limited cars and tracks, go ahead and buy it. Prepare to be dissapointed.
  18. MichaelD
    May 10, 2009
    8
    Gran Turismo 5 Prologue may be just a huge demo but at 40 bucks its still worth it and fun the only bad thing about it is that it is just too short
  19. FilS
    Nov 8, 2008
    2
    Graphics is beautiful and the game is fun. yet 5 tracks are not enough. It is disappointing that you can not use any kind of strategy while playing and that, if you get stuck with a single race to win, no help is available and the game can not continue in any way. The game is over for me. I use PS3 to relax myself, not to get more and more stressed. Don't buy it !
  20. Antti
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    Awesome racing simulation. GT5 will so be out of this world when it comes next year.
  21. JohnT.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Simply breathtaking, especially considering it is only £18.
  22. Ben
    Mar 28, 2008
    9
    An excellent game, more than a prologue and no, thanks to the new update is complete. Great graphics and sound, elegant menus.. well there's no doubt that Sony made a great game!
  23. ChrisW.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Gorgeous. Anyone who has ever had any interest in cars or driving should try this, it is sublime, The attention to detail is astounding, one of the prettiest interfaces I've ever seen. Awesome
  24. ChristopherS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    8
    Very beautiful game. The cockpit view is one of the best I've seen and overall everything looks close to photo-realistic. The implementation of light and shadow is truly wonderful. Arguably the finest looking racing game ever made and for that alone it is worth the purchase price. The cardboard cutout grandstand spectators is one of the games few graphical shortcomings. The reflected Very beautiful game. The cockpit view is one of the best I've seen and overall everything looks close to photo-realistic. The implementation of light and shadow is truly wonderful. Arguably the finest looking racing game ever made and for that alone it is worth the purchase price. The cardboard cutout grandstand spectators is one of the games few graphical shortcomings. The reflected images in the driver and passenger side-view mirrors are identical and need to be fixed. The physics also need work. The steering is slow and the overall handling is sluggish, unresponsive and imprecise. Does a Mini Cooper really handle like a '73 Cadillac? Also the decision not to include a rally stage is unforgivable. Despite these problems this is still a great piece of work and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Expand
  25. MarkW.
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Simply put; stunning. There is little point in discussing the graphics as they are groundbreaking and put every other driving/racing sim ever created on the PC or console to shame. This is a true next generation title. Nothing even comes close. What is not getting enough praise is the physics which surpass games like GTR, the best from Papyrus and every Gran Turismo that has came before. Simply put; stunning. There is little point in discussing the graphics as they are groundbreaking and put every other driving/racing sim ever created on the PC or console to shame. This is a true next generation title. Nothing even comes close. What is not getting enough praise is the physics which surpass games like GTR, the best from Papyrus and every Gran Turismo that has came before. Tires chattering under heavy braking, weight transfer that is shockingly realistic, real world acceleration and momentum and so, so much more. To top it off, the presentation stands alone in it's maturity and sophistication. No adult would be embarrassed to have this game running on their television. GT5 Prologue is an uncompromising, adult sim with more than enough content to keep you busy until the full game comes out. An absolute must have. Expand
  26. LenH.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    What can I say, I love this game.....buy it now!
  27. [anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Not one driving game can get close to how real this game is, visually and gameplay wise.
  28. AlexG.
    May 5, 2008
    1
    This is the worst game I have ever played. You get bored after 1 hour of playing and it is the most frustrating game in the history of the world. My only advice is DON'T GET IT.
  29. AndrewR
    May 7, 2008
    8
    I am a huge fan of the Gran Turismo series. This prologue is a nice taste of what's to come.
  30. chico
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    This is the sexual game wit naked men with huge penises who are willing too play.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    70
    The game's relentlessly narrow focus frustrates as much as the repetitious grind of the racing. [May 2008, p.98]
  2. The attention to detail is staggering and it handles like a dream. A true technical showcase. [May 2008, p.74]
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    70
    Needs to make serious progress if 'Gran' isn't to become an indication of age. [June 2008, p.87]