• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 110
  2. Negative: 22 out of 110

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ColinD
    Dec 30, 2009
    5
    You really have to be into Gran Turismo to enjoy this limited game, it's definately nothing for casual racers. There are no difficulty settings and only perfect driving will let you win some challenges, which is rather tedious and repetitive than enjoyable.
  2. AnonymousMC
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    I was honestly suprised how much they packed into this not-quite-full-game. The blueline, new ai, and more difficult physics options are all very welcome, and a much larger leap forward than any of the previous games. I bought the Driving Force GT wheel to go with it, and decided to learn to play with a manual gearshift, and have been faced with a much much deeper and more engagingI was honestly suprised how much they packed into this not-quite-full-game. The blueline, new ai, and more difficult physics options are all very welcome, and a much larger leap forward than any of the previous games. I bought the Driving Force GT wheel to go with it, and decided to learn to play with a manual gearshift, and have been faced with a much much deeper and more engaging experience. Unfortunatly I have yet to try out the online racing portion. Expand
  3. ZiggyP.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Although lacking what some other racers can offer, the amount of content and sheer quality for a game less than £20 cannot be ignored. If this is just a small glimpse of things to come then we shouldn't be worried if GT5 will delivery, we should be worried about our eyes popping out of our heads.
  4. Antti
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    Awesome racing simulation. GT5 will so be out of this world when it comes next year.
  5. JohnT.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Simply breathtaking, especially considering it is only £18.
  6. Ben
    Mar 28, 2008
    9
    An excellent game, more than a prologue and no, thanks to the new update is complete. Great graphics and sound, elegant menus.. well there's no doubt that Sony made a great game!
  7. MasJ.
    Mar 30, 2008
    1
    The cars a pretty and thats why it gets one point. Otherwise its a zero imo. The cars handle so badly even at low speeds its silly, spinouts for no reason, no damage modelling, no physics or feel to the cars, no sense of speed, a technical racer that's not fun to play and limiting tracks with no interaction to the environment. Burnout Paradise is a masterpiece, Motorstorm is great The cars a pretty and thats why it gets one point. Otherwise its a zero imo. The cars handle so badly even at low speeds its silly, spinouts for no reason, no damage modelling, no physics or feel to the cars, no sense of speed, a technical racer that's not fun to play and limiting tracks with no interaction to the environment. Burnout Paradise is a masterpiece, Motorstorm is great fun and neither have pretentions to being a realistic racer despite their cars having perfect feel and handling, this is a mere Ridgeracer clone imo with overly sensitive controls. Rent before you buy. Expand
  8. jggj
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    bLAH....this is an expansion pack 5 courses? umm...no thanks...
  9. NickS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    This racing sim continues to strengthen its legacy by focusing on how the cars perform. Each setting in the game could mean a one inch difference between taking home silver or gold. Even though the cars don't get visibly damaged they still get worn down and rugged if you don't keep it in top shape. Remember that racing isn't about crashes, scratches, or any of that This racing sim continues to strengthen its legacy by focusing on how the cars perform. Each setting in the game could mean a one inch difference between taking home silver or gold. Even though the cars don't get visibly damaged they still get worn down and rugged if you don't keep it in top shape. Remember that racing isn't about crashes, scratches, or any of that wreckless stuff. Its about respect and honor; You lose, too bad. You win, congrats. The detail of the cars are nicely rendered and seeing the glare of the sun from every car as they whiz by just makes it more immersive. No one can do it like Polyphony Digital. Can't wait for the full game! Considering its only 40 bux for the prologue it deserves a 9. Expand
  10. ChrisW.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Gorgeous. Anyone who has ever had any interest in cars or driving should try this, it is sublime, The attention to detail is astounding, one of the prettiest interfaces I've ever seen. Awesome
  11. MOQ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! I haven't stopped playing since I opened it. Its as much fun as you can have with a serious racer. Graphics are ace. Sell your car and buy this game!
  12. kilik21YouTube
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Brilliant glimpse of what is to come. It gets better and better and the online play with up to 16 players will keep you playing for ages, probably until the full GT5 comes out. I would have given this game a 10 if there were more cars and a lot more tracks.
  13. Drac;)
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Great game, especially for the price.
  14. MichaelD.
    Apr 3, 2008
    2
    Why pay $70AUD for a glorified demo??? its been the case with pretty much every GT game, and the graphics don't do enough to justify the price when the driving aids are retarded and the online mode is half-finished. PS3 fans wait for the full thing, dont be tricked by Sony's grab at your hard-earned cash. in the meantime, ill just fire up Forza 2 and PGR4... they've kept me Why pay $70AUD for a glorified demo??? its been the case with pretty much every GT game, and the graphics don't do enough to justify the price when the driving aids are retarded and the online mode is half-finished. PS3 fans wait for the full thing, dont be tricked by Sony's grab at your hard-earned cash. in the meantime, ill just fire up Forza 2 and PGR4... they've kept me going all year :-) Expand
  15. LeeW.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    Excellent, Beautiful. Fun.
  16. [anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Not one driving game can get close to how real this game is, visually and gameplay wise.
  17. ChristopherS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    8
    Very beautiful game. The cockpit view is one of the best I've seen and overall everything looks close to photo-realistic. The implementation of light and shadow is truly wonderful. Arguably the finest looking racing game ever made and for that alone it is worth the purchase price. The cardboard cutout grandstand spectators is one of the games few graphical shortcomings. The reflected Very beautiful game. The cockpit view is one of the best I've seen and overall everything looks close to photo-realistic. The implementation of light and shadow is truly wonderful. Arguably the finest looking racing game ever made and for that alone it is worth the purchase price. The cardboard cutout grandstand spectators is one of the games few graphical shortcomings. The reflected images in the driver and passenger side-view mirrors are identical and need to be fixed. The physics also need work. The steering is slow and the overall handling is sluggish, unresponsive and imprecise. Does a Mini Cooper really handle like a '73 Cadillac? Also the decision not to include a rally stage is unforgivable. Despite these problems this is still a great piece of work and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Expand
  18. DanW.
    Apr 19, 2008
    5
    Beautiful looking game, amazing car models and the inclusion of an in car cockpit is almost worth the entry fee alone. However, the physics are still left wanting, it's still leagues behind the current console market leader, Forza 2, and I can't see it exceeding it in the future. Sound is typically poor, quite why PD insist on having crappy jazz style music in the menus is Beautiful looking game, amazing car models and the inclusion of an in car cockpit is almost worth the entry fee alone. However, the physics are still left wanting, it's still leagues behind the current console market leader, Forza 2, and I can't see it exceeding it in the future. Sound is typically poor, quite why PD insist on having crappy jazz style music in the menus is beyond me, and the tyre squeal is straight ou of the 90's. Next up, the content, well, we all knew it was a "demo", so we can't really complain about the lack of content, and the single player "career" is sorely lacking, there is nothing to play for, other than the draw of buying new cars, and unlocking the QTS (Quick tune system) which becomes available after clearing C,B & A events. Online is marred by the typical "console kid" racers, no etiquette, just a lot of banging and crashing. In summary, if you want an exceptional looking console racer and not much else, go for it, however if you want something that is deeper than a puddle, look elsewhere. Ultimately disappointing. Expand
  19. ColossiS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    Very exhilarating during the later/faster races, and online. oh man you don't know competition till you race 15 other people in GT style racing.
  20. RavenS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    The best racing game yet in the GT series!
  21. MarkW.
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Simply put; stunning. There is little point in discussing the graphics as they are groundbreaking and put every other driving/racing sim ever created on the PC or console to shame. This is a true next generation title. Nothing even comes close. What is not getting enough praise is the physics which surpass games like GTR, the best from Papyrus and every Gran Turismo that has came before. Simply put; stunning. There is little point in discussing the graphics as they are groundbreaking and put every other driving/racing sim ever created on the PC or console to shame. This is a true next generation title. Nothing even comes close. What is not getting enough praise is the physics which surpass games like GTR, the best from Papyrus and every Gran Turismo that has came before. Tires chattering under heavy braking, weight transfer that is shockingly realistic, real world acceleration and momentum and so, so much more. To top it off, the presentation stands alone in it's maturity and sophistication. No adult would be embarrassed to have this game running on their television. GT5 Prologue is an uncompromising, adult sim with more than enough content to keep you busy until the full game comes out. An absolute must have. Expand
  22. LenH.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    What can I say, I love this game.....buy it now!
  23. Cenobia
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    An extremely fun game for GT fans, and racing fans in general. Extreme realism and beautiful graphics really draw you in, and the new inside-the-car view makes you believe that you're there. The multiplayer is very fun. It removes the predictability of AI opponents and throws in aggression. My second race ended in a horrific spin out that blew half the field off the track (triggered An extremely fun game for GT fans, and racing fans in general. Extreme realism and beautiful graphics really draw you in, and the new inside-the-car view makes you believe that you're there. The multiplayer is very fun. It removes the predictability of AI opponents and throws in aggression. My second race ended in a horrific spin out that blew half the field off the track (triggered by a less than friendly tap by an opponent). It is intense, and although human players can sometimes send you into walls and ruin your ranking at the last second, it is a welcome addition to the GT series. You even win money in online matches, which removes the monotony of re-playing challenges to get extra cash. All in all I think this is definitley worth the purchase. It isn't as big an evolution as I would have liked, but damage is coming in a future update which should add even more depth. This will definitely keep me satisfied until GT5 comes out. Expand
  24. AlexG.
    May 5, 2008
    1
    This is the worst game I have ever played. You get bored after 1 hour of playing and it is the most frustrating game in the history of the world. My only advice is DON'T GET IT.
  25. AndrewR
    May 7, 2008
    8
    I am a huge fan of the Gran Turismo series. This prologue is a nice taste of what's to come.
  26. AndrewP
    May 8, 2008
    8
    Stunning graphics and realistic physics make this game shine. It is nothing more then a large demo, but an excellent and large one at that. All though the on-line play is lacking, this is just a taste of things to come. All of the people claiming that the game is short or not worth money are probably not car enthusiasts or GT freaks. All of us die hard GT guys have been begging for Stunning graphics and realistic physics make this game shine. It is nothing more then a large demo, but an excellent and large one at that. All though the on-line play is lacking, this is just a taste of things to come. All of the people claiming that the game is short or not worth money are probably not car enthusiasts or GT freaks. All of us die hard GT guys have been begging for prologue for years and finally have it. I can't wait for the full version of GT5 to be released. I will lose many hours of my life to this game once again. This is a must have for all GT fans and auto enthusiasts. If you are a casual GT fan or car fan, it may be worth a rent until the full game is released. Expand
  27. ShamusM.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Easily the best and most realistic racing game out there today it makes you feel as if you were in the game driving this is a must have for all the ps3 owners and racing fans.
  28. JordanM
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Fast fun realistic sweet is how this game can be described.
  29. AlanB
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This game is AWESOME. The cars look and sound super real. When racing, it feels like you're really driving the car, you can feel the weight and quality of the car, you can feel every little detail about the car.. kinda creepy with this level of detail in a video game. If you like cars, GET THIS GAME.. if you don't care much about cars, but just like fun games with lots of replay This game is AWESOME. The cars look and sound super real. When racing, it feels like you're really driving the car, you can feel the weight and quality of the car, you can feel every little detail about the car.. kinda creepy with this level of detail in a video game. If you like cars, GET THIS GAME.. if you don't care much about cars, but just like fun games with lots of replay value.. GET THIS GAME. Collapse
  30. HalS.
    Jun 4, 2008
    0
    First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to purchase a car. I purchased the Mazda and was happy with it. But it is not fast enough to win a race, the turning is sloppy on this game. I am not going to return it because I will play it again and try to become better, but for now it totally sucks. They First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to purchase a car. I purchased the Mazda and was happy with it. But it is not fast enough to win a race, the turning is sloppy on this game. I am not going to return it because I will play it again and try to become better, but for now it totally sucks. They don't even give you a option to customize it! Gran Turismo 2 was much better then 3 and 4. GRAN TURISMO 5 PROLOGUE SUCKS! Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. The game's relentlessly narrow focus frustrates as much as the repetitious grind of the racing. [May 2008, p.98]
  2. The attention to detail is staggering and it handles like a dream. A true technical showcase. [May 2008, p.74]
  3. Needs to make serious progress if 'Gran' isn't to become an indication of age. [June 2008, p.87]