• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 626 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gran Turismo 6 is a comprehensive racing simulator that allows fans to drive a prolific collection of cars on the world's most legendary racetracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    100
    As ever, the depth of the game is truly breathtaking.
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    Gran Turismo 6 is a beautiful racing simulator that values the art and science of the race over the drama and theatrics that often make racing so appealing. While the game lacks in certain areas, namely in their complete lack of real collision dynamics, the overall racing experience is one of sublime enjoyment.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    It remains a mammoth achievement because fans can tell, within seconds, just how much TLC has been put into this production. Into every GT production, in truth. That’s what separates this franchise from any other and if you know cars and racing, you’ve been saying this for years. And I’ve got your back.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    Playing it after experiencing Forza Motorsport 5 makes it feel like, well, going back a console generation. The mechanics and features are as impressive as ever, but now that we’ve seen what cars can look like on the current generation of consoles, it’s hard going back. Still, it’s hard to fault the game for being released too late and it remains another thoughtful, expertly crafted racing experience. - See more at: http://www.hardcoregamer.com/2013/12/06/review-gran-turismo-6/64753/#sthash.bsOa86kF.dpuf
  5. 80
    THE racing package for every PS3 owner. Although there are dips in overall quality, it still offers tons of content and is simply fun to drive. [Issue#238]
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Polyphony's latest may be burdened by familiar shortcomings, but Gran Turismo 6 reaches its greatest heights yet as a driving simulator.
  7. 50
    Gran Turismo 6 feels like a relic of the past and the gameplay hasn't evolved to today's standards. There really isn't anything real about the so called 'real driving simulator', just an old fashioned Japanese game that isn't all that fun to play.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 141
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    A very good racing simulator with a huge number of cars (about 1200), good racing mechanics, weather system, proper career mode and a real selection of tracks! this is in stark contrast to the meagre forza 5 which which only has 200 cars, no weather system, no night racing, a very small number of tracks and is an arcade racer. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    GT6 Is an amazing game. The new physics engine is really polished and even though there is a learning curve, anyone that has played at least a few racing games before will learn it without any trouble. Nice to see previously 'standard' cars have been touched up to make them more attractive and pleasing to use in racing. The Premium vehicles look outstanding and looking at your glittering car on a sunset light race track is pretty close to gaming euphoria. I highly recommend this game to anyone faithful to the GT series or looking for a fresh racing game that is about a lot more than 'simulation' Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    GT6 it's the best racing game in consoles by far. Faster menus, new tyre and suspension physics, more and more content... Forza was a disappointment with the lack of content and abusive dlc (first day dlc and you must to pay for drive a veyron, really?). So if you own a ps3 and you like racing games, this is for you. A lot of improvements since gt5, great job giving us this game at the end of ps3. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    GT6 best racing game in consoles 2013 year. This Is Game best!!!!!!! And Good Graphics, Good Soundtrack, but unfortunately does not have a 3D mode. Best Exclusive for PS3 Expand
  5. Shi
    Dec 6, 2013
    8
    For those giving a bad review, have you actually played the game and aren't just fanboying over Forza 5?
    I've now played both games, and GT6
    improves upon GT5 in almost every aspect. Only thing that disappoints me is the sound. Cars don't sound realistic, even Need for Speed Most Wanted 2012 made the cars sound like they do in real life, yet GT6 still hasn't improved that.
    As for the micro-transactions, both games have it, but GT6 never prompts you to buy anything with cash, meaning the game progresses the same way as GT5, the microtransactions are those who aren't willing to grind through the game, but it still doesn't change the way the game is played. If you enjoy cars and racing, GT6 is an excellent game to add to your collection.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    Gran Turismo is easily the best racing series on consoles, however GT6 is a definite step down from GT5. Things start off positively enough with over 1200 cars (a larger percentage are recycled from Gran Turismo 5, which is fine), far snappier load times (a drag on GT5, let me tell ya), quicker car changes in the garage and even an easier, almost mobile-like layout. The controls are what you would expect from a Gran Turismo title, namely top notch, tight and no surprises. Throw in the amazing tuning options, and you really can tweak out any car to your liking (here's to you Escudo Pikes Peak).
    The differences between GT5 and GT6 range from silly to irksome. While licenses were a sideshow in GT5, they have once again become requisite to pass to move on to the higher ranked races. Seriously, if I just blazed through the Gran Turismo All Stars Championship, must I now go prove that I can corner and corner some more over and over again? Removed from GT6 is the B Driver series of races. While this may come as a welcome change to some, the ability to have my B Driver on auto pilot, and have him win overnight races for me was a sure way to build up cash. In GT6, it's back to the cash grind, however, you can now by credits directly from the PlayStation Store with real money. And frankly I disagree with it costing upwards of $150 to buy a 20-million credit car (of which there were a handful in GT5, namely the Red Bull car). Finally, it seems like less of a focus on racing, and more gimmicky things. Purists aside, the pull of Gran Turismo was to be able to tune your car to mammoth proportions, and use raw power to win more challenging races against sharper AI. In GT6, all races have a PP cap, so it is possible to out-tune the competition, but it is limited. And while I don't want the game to be flat out easy, I do think that the PP limitations are better served in Online and Seasonal Events...like GT5.

    Final Rundown: Despite the too much grind, too much gimmick, GT6 is an expected addition to the best racing series around. However, it is a measurable step down from GT5. I certainly wouldn't advise spending the full $60 on the game (which I did), but I would gladly go purchase GT5: XL Edition for its now $20 new price tag.
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    Jogo muito ruim...nunca vi nada tão escroto, ainda parece playstation 2 .
    Jogo nunca melhora em nada, fisica zoada...não sei pq esse game
    ainda existe! Expand

See all 141 User Reviews