User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2543 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShaneJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    sweet the all time best gta
  2. NickG
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!! The visuals are stunning especially in the cut scenes, the little things are what make this game so good such as the cars are magnificantly mirrored to the real thing such as mercedes benz, hummers, corvettes and ferraris, the shadows on everything, the fact you dont have to load to walk into a building, a nice touch is if you hijack a car and the THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!! The visuals are stunning especially in the cut scenes, the little things are what make this game so good such as the cars are magnificantly mirrored to the real thing such as mercedes benz, hummers, corvettes and ferraris, the shadows on everything, the fact you dont have to load to walk into a building, a nice touch is if you hijack a car and the person tries to get back and you speed off as they have their hand on the door they hang on for dear life unless you swerve or go to fast which i though was wiked, the new combat system is the best i have seen yet, the handling on cars isnt that sharp which can be realistic, the city is absolutely giganormous lol flying at night to get a view of the city is a loads of fun, multiplayer is extremely addictive, you play the game and half way through you see something awesome the you havent seen before, some of the cutscenes have some moving moments and the voice acting is great to. all in all best game ever made Graphics 10/10, gameplay 10/10, sounds 10/10, anything else you can think of 10/10. Expand
  3. NathanD
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Quality, no doubt about it. Controls are different, but easy to get used to, and I enjoy them more. Definitely ah must get
  4. AndersO.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Simply a marvelous game. The voice-acting is thoroughly and extremely well done, and so are the rest of the game, from graphics to the online part.
  5. M.Caparelli
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    After buying this game last night, I truly agree with the critics - its the best game so far this year(and even the best PS3 game ever!). The graphics are stunning, where facial expressions are reflected. Dialogue is great, very original with classic quotes. Gameplay is very realistic - with the new cover system, it makes shooting much easier and realistic. Multiplayer I played briefly, After buying this game last night, I truly agree with the critics - its the best game so far this year(and even the best PS3 game ever!). The graphics are stunning, where facial expressions are reflected. Dialogue is great, very original with classic quotes. Gameplay is very realistic - with the new cover system, it makes shooting much easier and realistic. Multiplayer I played briefly, very addictive. Expand
  6. JamesK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  7. DJM
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Truly spectacular, haven't tried multiplayer yet, due to PSN's errors, but I'm sure it'll be as addictive as the whole single player campaign. Thanks for this game, Rockstar.
  8. ConradS
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    There was a lot hype surrounding this game and I believe it was rightfully so. I received my copy today, went home during my lunch hour (I live close to my workplace), when I looked at my watch again 2 hours had passed and I got into a lot of trouble at work - it was worth it. I hope MGS4 is just as succesful as this game as I believe a lot of effort has gone into that as well.
  9. JeffY.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This is the first time I played a GTA game. I have tried the others before, but for some reason, they never appealed to me. GTA4 however, captured me like no game has ever captured me before in the recent years. It's very refreshing and I feel like a total bad ass in new york city. Helps that I live here I guess. This is up there with Zelda Windwaker and God of War as the 3 most This is the first time I played a GTA game. I have tried the others before, but for some reason, they never appealed to me. GTA4 however, captured me like no game has ever captured me before in the recent years. It's very refreshing and I feel like a total bad ass in new york city. Helps that I live here I guess. This is up there with Zelda Windwaker and God of War as the 3 most revolutionary and enjoyable (addictive) games I've played since the new millenium. Expand
  10. RafaelP
    May 2, 2008
    10
    It's every great NYC movie made into a game. Everything just hits 10's!
  11. MarcV.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    One step closer to making gaming the entertainment medium!
  12. MattWix
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best game this year, last year, pretty much the last miilenium. Some kind of Holy Being will have to craft the perfect game out of his own frozen brilliance to even come close to the quality of this epic masterpiece. The gra[hics are brilliant, the gameplay damn near perfect and the immersion total. Miss tihs game at your peril, for you will surely die of your own stupidity.Absolutely the best game this year, last year, pretty much the last miilenium. Some kind of Holy Being will have to craft the perfect game out of his own frozen brilliance to even come close to the quality of this epic masterpiece. The gra[hics are brilliant, the gameplay damn near perfect and the immersion total. Miss tihs game at your peril, for you will surely die of your own stupidity. Frankly, it's quality surpasses the level that your brain can comprehend, and in 10000 years we'll have evolved and we'll go 'Wow!' all over again... Expand
  13. LukeF.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Quite possibly the best next-generation game so far.
  14. MorganC.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Perfect, with only a few minor flaws that still don't detract from the game itself.
  15. JamesK.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  16. RobertJ.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    World's best game!!
  17. FrankV.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Great single payer! online mode is the best! Races are amazingly good!
  18. BobW.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    It's been done to death, but never before on such a scale as this. Incredible, really.
  19. PatrickB.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. So what if it's not perfect? People just give it low scores because they're afraid poor little children may be corrupted by it or because they think they're smarter than other reviewers. All of the websites and magazines give it perfect scores because it's perfect despite its few flaws. It is utterly amazing and totally realistic.
  20. JackyJ.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    This game is one of, if not the best, game I have played in my whole life. The car textures are great, there are a large variety of weapons, and can do whatever you want to do in the city of Liberty City.
  21. mikes
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    I'm seeing a lot of dumb comments about people claiming to know "the truth" about gta4...because obviously this is just some big conspiracy by all the game reviewers to trick you into buying a bad game! no, artards gta4 is a great game and you are just incapable of seeing it. even worse though is your attitude that the reviews, all 64 reviews from different magazines websites and I'm seeing a lot of dumb comments about people claiming to know "the truth" about gta4...because obviously this is just some big conspiracy by all the game reviewers to trick you into buying a bad game! no, artards gta4 is a great game and you are just incapable of seeing it. even worse though is your attitude that the reviews, all 64 reviews from different magazines websites and newspapers, are somehow rigged. Maybe they all got together and thought as a laugh they would give gta4 great ratings to trick you into buying it. idiots, this game got great ratings cause it deserved it. GTA4 is an amazing game, don't listen to those noobs who downrated it cause they sucked to hard to beat the campaign. Expand
  22. JaredS.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    There is a reason why critics give this game an average of a 9.8 and the gamers gave it around an 8, and it's the same reason the movies that win Academy awards don't always gross the highest. This game is a triumph of entertainment on every level, not just an introduction of newer and better game mechanics and minigames. The story and characters surpass anything the GTA series There is a reason why critics give this game an average of a 9.8 and the gamers gave it around an 8, and it's the same reason the movies that win Academy awards don't always gross the highest. This game is a triumph of entertainment on every level, not just an introduction of newer and better game mechanics and minigames. The story and characters surpass anything the GTA series has to offer, and stands among other masterpieces of video game storytelling such as Final Fantasy X. But, some gamers just want "bigger, faster, better, more" and the fact that the number of weapons and other gameplay options has been peeled back in favor of a more immersive and cohesive experience leave these fans wanting more. That doesn't mean that GTA: San Andreas is a better game - it's not - but there are more game-y things to do in it. The GTA series has finally come into its own as a game made specifically for adults, both in the maturity of its content and in the depth of character and storytelling. Kids looking for cheap thrills will find more entertainment elsewhere. Expand
  23. AllanM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Quite simply,.... Rockstar have done it again. Just as they did when GTAIII first came onto the scene for the PlayStation 2 to re-invent the sandbox videogame genre, GTA 4 sets the bar up once again as to what videogame excellence is represents! From the totally believable characters, to the absolutely magnificent graphics, o the improvement to practically every single aspect of the GTA Quite simply,.... Rockstar have done it again. Just as they did when GTAIII first came onto the scene for the PlayStation 2 to re-invent the sandbox videogame genre, GTA 4 sets the bar up once again as to what videogame excellence is represents! From the totally believable characters, to the absolutely magnificent graphics, o the improvement to practically every single aspect of the GTA formula that we all love.... This is simply breathtaking entertainment! 11 out of 10!! Expand
  24. JamesK.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  25. JamesFrank
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played in my life.
  26. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  27. AronS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Wow! I can't stop playing this game I will probably call in sick tomorrow. This is my life now!
  28. KyleN.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    The best game in the history of video games.
  29. JamesK.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  30. EdenH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best game of this decade and that's all there is to it.
  31. ClaudiaS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    My addiction level is at "The Weekend has Landed" and I can't put it down. This game blows everything that's come before it out of the water. It's like the culmination of the last 10 years of Rockstar's work. Everything is refined, everything works. Also, Niko Bellic is the best game protagonist in the history of gaming, just thought I'd mention that...
  32. ShaunC
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    By far, the best game for the PS3, and an aboslute joy to play....the flaws (there are few, as were mentioned in some of the reviews) are so small, few and far-between that GTA iv may be the best game ever made.
  33. JeffA.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The words spectacular, jaw dropping, fantastic and breathtaking don't do justice to how great a game GTA IV is. GTA IV was make by 1,000 people at the cost of approximately $100,000,000 and the time, effort and attention to detail bleeds from this game. This is one game that will be spoken of in 20 years from now.
  34. FrankW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The sheer amount of detail is stunning. The city looks really lived in. The dialog is sharp, witty and any minor flaws can easily be overlooked when considering all of the options available to the player. Easily the greatest game this generation and most likely the greatest game I have ever played PERIOD.
  35. JimmyP
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Beyond what I was expecting. I expected a great script, they include an incredible script. I expected awesome game play, they broke my legs and looked at me like I was an idiot. I expected a fantastic sense of humor, and was hit with a brilliantly insightful satire of American life. It truly rises above the notoriety of being an ultra violent cesspool of immorality that wants nothing but Beyond what I was expecting. I expected a great script, they include an incredible script. I expected awesome game play, they broke my legs and looked at me like I was an idiot. I expected a fantastic sense of humor, and was hit with a brilliantly insightful satire of American life. It truly rises above the notoriety of being an ultra violent cesspool of immorality that wants nothing but to corrupt the youth, and stands as a truly remarkable piece of digital art. 10 out of 10. Expand
  36. ChorneeF.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This definitely the most anticipated game in 2008!
  37. BryanS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I'm loving the gameplay, the story, and the amazing "feel" of the city. They hit this one out of the park!
  38. MattW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Ive been playing GTA ever since it was came out from the very start. GTA IV is truelly amazing. Yeah there is a few flaws but no game is totally perfect, but this is just amazing! The graphics, the animations everything it amazing!!!
  39. CraigP.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    It's awesome ... literally awesome.
  40. MarkR.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    It's hard to fault this game - it simply rocks!
  41. SalG.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    having played all the games, even the original ones from ps1, this one definitely takes the cake.
  42. DillonB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Greatest game I've ever played. Great job Rockstar Games and Take-Two Interactive.
  43. IssaJ.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The best. That's all I can say.
  44. SimonB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    A truly amazing experience,very addictive
  45. artist5280lucas38
    May 1, 2008
    10
    I am a 42 year old father of three and this game is definitely not for the kiddies! That said, Grand Theft Auto IV will have its detractors; it wouldn
  46. AndrDT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome. This is truly a must have game if you own a PS3. Its totally different from their predecessors, and its a good thing too.
  47. LukeR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Absolutely a masterpiece, this pulled me from WoW! and that's an accomplishment.
  48. MikeG
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Quit your whining! This game is awesome.
  49. JamesT
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game! Just go and buy it! You won't regret it!
  50. C.M.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    The brutalest game ever.
  51. JackT.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Truly worthy of the 10. This game defines the generation and what it is possible to achieve with current technology. Enormous draw distances, euphoria physics / AI, lighting, HDR.. etc. The works. At lets not forget that the gameplay is second to none Amazing!
  52. MatB.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Not perfect, but better than any other game I've ever played.
  53. BillyM.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    I think that GTA4 will definitely be long remembered and is an instant classic. It is incredible and no 2 times playing it are the same.It's way better than GTA San Andreas, graphics, engine, sound, characters, story, excellent game must-have. Also, multiplayer is incredible, no 2 times are the same and more than a few multiplayer modes which all suit any type of player.
  54. SebastianK.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Hold on ocarina of time, here comes gta4!! the best game ever.
  55. SebasS.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever.
  56. LoganM.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    The best GTA ever great graphics,best storyline,very fun multiplayer.
  57. SixS.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! One of the best games of all time. I can't wait for the PC version.
  58. Shadowdancer
    May 5, 2008
    10
    An awesome game that simply everyone should play. The scale on which this game has been designed is simply marvelous. It can't be helped while playing to, at more than one point, give great respect to the creators for making such a pure diamond of a game.
  59. AlanA.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    One of the best games ever made....EVER.
  60. JeffP.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Everything is just incredible, a true sense of realism is brought out within the game.
  61. js
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Gameplay graphics everything speaks perfection
  62. JosephM.Stewart
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    A must buy. Period. It's fun. It's really fun, and stays that way for a long time. You'll want to play it more than you have too. It will take up a lot your time. Most annoying parts (such as outing calls) can be skipped with little negative consequences. Though cars drive very realistically (no more on-a-dime turns at 80mph) it actually is pretty cool, and it doesn'tA must buy. Period. It's fun. It's really fun, and stays that way for a long time. You'll want to play it more than you have too. It will take up a lot your time. Most annoying parts (such as outing calls) can be skipped with little negative consequences. Though cars drive very realistically (no more on-a-dime turns at 80mph) it actually is pretty cool, and it doesn't take much to get used to. Hitting people on the side of the road... priceless. Physics are a pluss and will have you murdering many rude drivers who don't respect pedestrians. Graphics are crazy good for a GTA game, and the cities skyline and bridges look amazing, especially at night. Fun Fact: you can shimmy. Sadly, no airplanes, though the helicopter... yea, it's fun, especially online. Which is fun, in a sort of "Oh no he di'int!" kind of way. Heres a piece advise from me: IGNORE all scores, just buy the game. Yes, it is not perfect, but what game will ever be perfect. This game is perfect enough that if you do not buy it, you better be playing it at your friends house. One of the few new release games that is worth its price. System Wise: I have it on PS3, and my friends have it on XBOX; Both kick butt (except I get free internet XD) If you have a XBOX360, buy it for Xbox, and if PS3, get PS3 version. Seriously, just buy it, you will totally be like, "That guy Joseph was totally right, I wish I could give him a high five." Expand
  63. DavidT.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    I'm very impressed with GTA IV. It seems RockStar has a good formula for making a Grand Theft Auto game and instead of changing it completely they tweak it and add more features. Now I imagine when you go from engine to engine some elements are lost, like physics. The car physics are difficult at first, but once you get the hang of it they become easy. Map is huge, lots of missions, I'm very impressed with GTA IV. It seems RockStar has a good formula for making a Grand Theft Auto game and instead of changing it completely they tweak it and add more features. Now I imagine when you go from engine to engine some elements are lost, like physics. The car physics are difficult at first, but once you get the hang of it they become easy. Map is huge, lots of missions, good characters and voice actors. I don't have a whole lot to complain about. For those who have been playing GTA from the beginning, you will find this addition to the series polished nicely. Expand
  64. ArashR.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    This game had a great story and gameplay, but after it is done there really isn't much to do. You could do the side missions but lets face it they are there just to make getting 100% harder. This game got a 10 because of the online play. It has some issues on the ps3 version but when it works it is one of the best online games ever made.
  65. Anthony
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    An incredible game, I don't see how you can bash the graphics, they are not great, but have the series graphics always been great, other than that incredible, a must buy.
  66. PranilT
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    The best GTA game ever withe great graphics & more than expectedly good gameplay.
  67. AndyE.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    At no point did I become bored with this game. The entire engine is fantastic with every single thing thought into it. If you want a chain link fence out of the way, or run down a park bench, or chuck a grenade under a car, the engine is prepared for any instance you can think of. The story is a bit questionable and the framerate was very confusing to me given the sixth-gen graphics At no point did I become bored with this game. The entire engine is fantastic with every single thing thought into it. If you want a chain link fence out of the way, or run down a park bench, or chuck a grenade under a car, the engine is prepared for any instance you can think of. The story is a bit questionable and the framerate was very confusing to me given the sixth-gen graphics instead of seventh-gen graphics, but every other aspect blew me away on this game. I did spend most of the time on multiplayer as that was quite a great inclusion. This was my first GTA game ever, and I'm glad I picked it up. I don't care who you are, if you are 17 or older, this game is beyond manditory. Expand
  68. Kjell-andersM.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    This game is the most realistic game i have ever played or seen before :D
  69. ENOUGH!!
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    It's GTA with shiny new graphics, hilarious ragdoll physics (Crash your car at sixty miles per hour on the free way towards oncoming traffic; priceless), and a gripping new storyline filled with the usual GTA nutjobs and ingenious voice acting. That, and the radio stations are as sarcastic and satirical as ever. Go buy it; it has tons of mileage for your money.
  70. JoeH.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games ever made. The driving is REALISTIC, and the combat is incredibly refined. If you don't drive like a madman then you won't be smashing into stuff, although that can be pretty fun too. And as for the storyline, it's the most engaging plot I have ever seen in a game. I cared about the characters, and the plot twists really caught me offQuite simply one of the best games ever made. The driving is REALISTIC, and the combat is incredibly refined. If you don't drive like a madman then you won't be smashing into stuff, although that can be pretty fun too. And as for the storyline, it's the most engaging plot I have ever seen in a game. I cared about the characters, and the plot twists really caught me off guard. The decisions you make are also brilliant, because you don't really know which way is the right way to go. They leave it up to you. Just a truly fantastic game overall. Expand
  71. ArsenKovalevskiy
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    People who have a negative value to this game, compare it with the big games for consoles, graphics, worse, New York is like, the mission did not like ... Dear, this is DS, and this is the best game on the DS! And the gameplay here because of the more arcade where varied and interesting. Score 10 out of 10.
  72. GaryG.
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    It would appear that the other reviewers have given this game a 0 because they are more interested in silly games like saints row 2 were you throw dog poo. any way this game is incredible. there are so many little details and liberty city is packed full of suprises. I waited for along time for this game and i was not dissapointed at all. i bought this game on the release day and i still It would appear that the other reviewers have given this game a 0 because they are more interested in silly games like saints row 2 were you throw dog poo. any way this game is incredible. there are so many little details and liberty city is packed full of suprises. I waited for along time for this game and i was not dissapointed at all. i bought this game on the release day and i still go back to it over a year later. awsome brilliant and massive.. Expand
  73. AnonymousMC
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I don't know why people have to bash on this game. Can't you guys accept a game which deserves the high scores it gets? Totally loved this game. Bought a PS3 just for this game and I have to say I'm not disappointed. Repetetive? No. What do you think Rockstar should do? They can't come up with new types of crime all of a sudden! Every mission is awesome. When theI don't know why people have to bash on this game. Can't you guys accept a game which deserves the high scores it gets? Totally loved this game. Bought a PS3 just for this game and I have to say I'm not disappointed. Repetetive? No. What do you think Rockstar should do? They can't come up with new types of crime all of a sudden! Every mission is awesome. When the credits started rolling after the last mission I got goosebumps. Such an epic game. And the multiplayer is great too, it will keep me busy for a while. Collapse
  74. RobB
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    this is the best game ever.being a gamer since the days of the bbc electron and owning almost every platform released on the market trust me when i say it is that good.to the kids that complain it is to serious this is a mature game for a mature audience if you want to do purile things like spray a trailer park with waste go play saints row 2 (i own,its ok,but no gta4)gameplay 10 graphicsthis is the best game ever.being a gamer since the days of the bbc electron and owning almost every platform released on the market trust me when i say it is that good.to the kids that complain it is to serious this is a mature game for a mature audience if you want to do purile things like spray a trailer park with waste go play saints row 2 (i own,its ok,but no gta4)gameplay 10 graphics 10 lifespan 10 whole packagen 10.buy this work of art you wont regret it!!! Expand
  75. WilliamS
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    I love this game and can't find a fault, a great storyline, good missions although people may find it repetitive i think every mission is unique in its own way. Trophy system works well to keep people playing.
  76. JamesK.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  77. JamesK.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  78. EricPousard
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    I can't see why this game has a low score when it is not even out yet. I have played every GTA game since number one, and they have all been great. So for all those little girls that give it a bad score, go and play your stupid wii with your grandmother.
  79. JamesK.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  80. JamesK.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  81. [anonymous]
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I ever played. Wow.
  82. JamesK.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  83. JamesK.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  84. MSteinsson
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Never saw a game like this before!
  85. BekhanB.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    The best game ever made in the PS consoles! Perfect!
  86. DimaK.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Simply put, best game of the last 10 years.
  87. Richard
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game I have EVER played!
  88. MarkK.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    The game itself is phenomenal at best. Possibly, the best GTA game of the next gen.
  89. SydneyK.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    What else can I say that hasn't already been said. Rockstar deserves a gold star for not having disappointed its loyal fan of the series. It lives up to my expectation and a whole lot more. The plot if funny, whimsical, bizarre, and genuinely Soprano-licious. Simply stated, the game to play on both the XBOX 360 and the PS3 consoles thus far! Bravo, Rockstar.
  90. ChristianG.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Simply, amazing.
  91. JamieC
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    An epic videogame, surpassed by none so far. Rockstar has created the most sophisticated and entertaining masterpiece I've ever seen or played. A truly amazing experience; every gamer (of age) should have this game. From the opening mission, the game grips with its intriguing story and unrelenting action. An instant classic.
  92. AndyJ.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Ooo look at Fred and Joel trying to be controversial - a '4' and a '1'?! Talk about attention seeking! Anyways for the rest of you, for once in your life, listen to the hype. No game will ever be perfect, but this game comes pretty damn close.
  93. TonyG.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Greatest game I've ever played its better than Halo 3. PERIOD.
  94. ChrisB.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I was able to get my game at a local store on Monday afternoon. My only regret is having to go to work Tuesday morning to separate me from this epic masterpiece. This game is the future for the virtual reality medium. Every game developer that tries to create a living virtual world should only hope to capture half of what Rockstar has accomplished in this game. Truly, and unbelievably, I was able to get my game at a local store on Monday afternoon. My only regret is having to go to work Tuesday morning to separate me from this epic masterpiece. This game is the future for the virtual reality medium. Every game developer that tries to create a living virtual world should only hope to capture half of what Rockstar has accomplished in this game. Truly, and unbelievably, has lived up to the massive hype that was placed upon its shoulders. 10/10 and nothing less, nothing compares to this experiece. Cannot wait to get home this afternoon ). Expand
  95. BronsonM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    How long it has been that I can truly say I've gotten every single penny's worth out of a game, especially an expensive PS3 game! The gameplay is huge, but never overwhelming. Kudos to R* for delivering the best GTA-game yet!
  96. JamesK.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  97. AlexB.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    The plot was interesting I thought, i cared more about this character than the other GTA characters. The graphics are not the same as you would find shooter with a linear path that you are supposed to follow, but that is to be expected. The game really shines when you get into the relationships with other characters and the feeling that the world is real. It's much more immersive The plot was interesting I thought, i cared more about this character than the other GTA characters. The graphics are not the same as you would find shooter with a linear path that you are supposed to follow, but that is to be expected. The game really shines when you get into the relationships with other characters and the feeling that the world is real. It's much more immersive than previous GTAs, even the people on the street. The way they react to situations is much more realistic, stopping getting out of their car, going around you if you stopped as a few examples. The vehicle controls, to me at least, are great. They represent the control of each individual car and what it's capable of. Overall, this was probably one of the best games i've purchased for my PS3 and will remain in my system for a very long time. The replay value is enormous, with different dialogue even for each mission if you replay it. Expand
  98. Herbuin
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Superb graphics, twisted stories, fun environments, control easy to use. A must have, the best GTA of the series. Very addictive.
  99. DanG-ham
    May 12, 2008
    10
    best game I have ever played graphics are awesome story line is great. I have this game and I strongly recommend it.
  100. JasonH.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    Sure, another 10, who'd have thunk it. After recently completing the SP story and spending a good chunk of time in the MP, I truly think this game deserves it. Let's face it, it isn't without flaws, but at this stage in the game GTA4 is THE MOST IMPORTANT game right now. Halo3, Bioshock, CoD4... they've all had they're day in the sun, but its time for the old Sure, another 10, who'd have thunk it. After recently completing the SP story and spending a good chunk of time in the MP, I truly think this game deserves it. Let's face it, it isn't without flaws, but at this stage in the game GTA4 is THE MOST IMPORTANT game right now. Halo3, Bioshock, CoD4... they've all had they're day in the sun, but its time for the old kings to recognize the new ruler. There will always be haters out there, citing everything from "more of the same" to "the cars are too hard to drive". I think gamers indeed wanted more of the same, thats why they bought a sequel (you didn't see the "IV" on the box?) and if you have problems taking corners at 75 mph, i suggest you try it in real life and get back to me. Good game, great buy and its worth ten times its weight in entertainment value. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]