Grand Theft Auto Online Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grand Theft Auto Online is a dynamic and persistent online world for SIXTEEN players that begins by sharing gameplay features, geography and mechanics with Grand Theft Auto V, but continues to expand and evolve with new content created by Rockstar Games and the Grand Theft Auto community. Grand Theft Auto Online takes the fundamental Grand Theft Auto concepts of freedom, ambient activity and mission-based gameplay and makes them available to multiple players in a detailed and responsive online world. In GTA Online, players have the freedom to explore alone or with friends, work cooperatively to complete missions, come together to participate in activities and ambient events, or compete in traditional game modes with the larger community, all with the personality and refined mechanics of Grand Theft Auto V. Players can invest in their character through customizing their appearance, improving their stats, owning customized vehicles, purchasing personal property, and taking part in missions, jobs and activities to earn reputation and cash to open up new opportunities to rise through the criminal ranks. The world of Grand Theft Auto Online will constantly grow and change as new content is added, creating the first ever persistent and dynamic Grand Theft Auto game world. Access to Grand Theft Auto Online is free with every retail copy of Grand Theft Auto V. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    95
    An ambitious project that delivers one of the most compelling and enjoyable online experiences ever. GTA Online is an amusement park at your disposal where the player decides what to do and how to do it. Amazing.
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    91
    Grand Theft Auto Online is very entertaining and it has a lot of variation. Perhaps more than any online action game before. The player collecting routines could be better, though. [Nov 2013]
  3. 76
    A plethora of content plagued by a buggy release that can be ridiculously frustrating.
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    75
    When everything works, it can be a really fun experience. But the character lost bug is inexcusable in a permanent online experience and the stability problems show this was not ready for prime time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    everything is up and running compared to the problems at launch. very very addicting and fun. putting bounties on people and putting out hits are only a couple of the things that make gta online so much fun. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    GTA Online has had a very rocky start. With entire servers being down the first day and characters being deleted it's easy to see how the fanbase could be upset,but GTA Online is now up and running and it is a absolute blast to play....if you are a social gamer.

    GTA Online is just as Massive and exciting as the campaign is,no longer must you have to deal with a sub-par world. You have the freedom to do whatever you want, be it buy a house,customize your car,be a gangster and rob stores,attend movies,or even become a Hitman. The multiplayer freedom of this game is stunning. If you don't feel like exploring the streets with others you can always play a mission,participate in a Race, a deathmatch, a Survival mode and more,all accessible in an almost seamless transition.

    Another feature which deserves mention is the Good/Bad Sport system. Being a Good sport means being you are a player who doesn't quit,who doesn't break other players possessions, and so on. Being a bad sport means you often leave game's before they are over,break other players property and just generally troll.Good sports receive occasional rewards and are allowed to play with other good sports Basically everyone while Bad sports are permitted from playing with GS and must play with other Bad sports.

    Make no mistake, this game is an MMO,and it shares the problems that most MMO's do. For one the PvP Player vs. Player environment is very competitive,most players are extremely experienced in these games and have a "way with words" if you catch my drift.This is not a problem if you are also competitive,if you are you may even have fun proving your superiority against others but for those of you who learn slowly or just want to have fun will find it difficult to enjoy their gaming session when they've been called a for the 18th time for making a mistake. Friends like to play in tight sessions so when you join co-op lobbies with friends and begin talking,you'll either be muted,threatened,or straight up kicked. it prefers that you have either a Clan, a Group of friends,or a Mic to fully enjoy. The game pushes you to be social and interact with other players and if you don't have any way of communicating with others you are gonna have a hard time getting by. It is also not recommended to play with anything but top quality internet connection as those with slightly laggy connections will find themselves often joining lobbies with very small amounts of people, signing out mid-mission which is a very bad thing,and i'll explain why soon ),or negating kills and XP altogether. Leaving mid-mission is a particularly bad thing because you are in risk of becoming a Bad sport due to no fault of your own. Character creation is very shallow and dissapointing as you will not be allowed to create the exact person you want,and odds are you will have to settle with whatever is closest to what you desired.Like an MMO,you need money to do,or get anything worthwhile from good guns and fast cars, to nice clothes and to pay for that team of mercenaries you secretly hired to hunt down your friend. Without money you'll often find yourself bored and grinding on throwaway missions and races to get a decent amount and resume having fun. This also doesn't help when you are murdered be it car bomb,sniper round to the heart,or just punched in the face and robbed for your hard earned money. You could turn on Passive mode to become invincible to other players weapons but you are no longer allowed to fight yourself,and other players can still kill you via explosions or running into you with there car.

    All in all, GTAO is a great game and great addition to an already fantastic game. GTAO is worth the price tag for GTA V alone and should not be missed by social/competitive gamers.
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    Grand theft auto online is the best, online component that was ever aded to online sanbox console game of this generation, Online mode basiclly have most of single player components, and ads it own, biggest problem ofo nline besides bugs, is the fact that a lot of content was not presented to us, with lead to beliving that online is empty, however a lot of people seems to forget that online is going to be improved over the singleplayer. For now game deserves 8/10 and possibly 10/10 in the future. If you are not happy with online at the moment, i reccoment to dont play and come back in lets say half a year and see if you like it now. Collapse
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    Grand Theft Auto Online is a fun game to start, but gets seriously repetitive and boring over time.

    Character Creation in GTA Online is
    very weak. You are asked to pick two grand-parents, which will then create the look of your character, based on their look. Not really any customization involved, which lets it down. However, I did manage to make a character that I could stick with, but it did take some time after the awful issues at launch.

    When I finally got into the game, after a few days of trying, I have to admit, it was pretty fun. Crashing into stores taking money, playing cool missions with your friends, maybe stealing cars or drugs, and of course, travelling around the huge map. You can also do races, death-matches or team based games, buy all sorts of things like cars and guns then customize them to your liking, and many other activities and even sports that you can do in the single-player.

    Now, I barely play GTA Online. All that great sounding stuff introduced at the start quickly becomes dreadful. You start to realise the stores are all the same, and the money you get from them is almost useless. Missions become awfully repetitive. I must have collected a huge amount of cars for Simeon, and a ton of drugs for Gerald, it just gets boring doing almost the same thing in every mission! Of course, there are different missions, but again, they become painful after some time. I think you'll get the picture now. Everything available to you in GTA Online isn't fun to play again and again and again.

    The most disappointing thing of all in GTA Online, is the absence of Heists. I few weeks before it launched, I asked a few people online, 'Will there be heists available to play, similar to the single player, where you can jump in a bank, use tactics like stealth or loud and dumb, and take all its money? Maybe something similar to Payday, but, with A GTA twist.' People laughed, thought I was being stupid, they even thought I was trolling. They said 'Of course, why wouldn't they include it?'. Well to this day, there are no heists in GTA Online. Who's laughing now? However, I won't lower the score because of this, as I have heard they are coming, but just later on. I still would like to play them now to be honest.

    This game can be fun, at times. Hopefully you find the right thing for you which makes it enjoyable. For me, like said before, it's simply travelling around the huge world, interacting with other players, and being on the run. But overall, I am shocked by the lack of creativity from Rockstar, the makers of awesome games like Red Dead Redemption, how did they come to this? So much could have made this amazing, and it's quite funny how poor this is compared to GTA V.
    Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    3
    Grand Theft Auto Online is the single-player activities of Grand Theft Auto V transplanted into the multiplayer format of Red Dead Redemption.

    It seems to be reasonably well-conceived but very poorly implemented as it's loaded with both bugs and oversights. What remains to be seen is whether it's also poorly executed if and when it finally does work as intended. For now, it's plagued by underwhelming (and at times incompetent) performance, incomplete content, and player abuse of game mechanics.

    It's a shame that this comes in the same packaging as GTA V.
    Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    1
    Sorry Rockstar even Cod and Activision games servers work on day one and you don't lose your character details and progression after a few hours with those games.

    Also the character creations a joke as well, what did you research for inspiration when you made that? The Sims?
    Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2014
    0
    I would have to agree with Rockstar - GTA:O is a seperate game that comes with GTA V disc. That means I will review this title independently from the thoughts I've had on GTA V which I already gave a review for (review with a lot of praise included).

    I did feel hyped when I started playing GTA Online, just like every child that gets excited by first impressions. Everything looked really promising and entertaining, even though it didn't look ambitious enough at the beginning. Not long after it made me completely bored without a warning.

    Problems:
    -whole game is pretty glitchy and sometimes "holes" in the game are so intense that they can cause immense annoyance
    -making money is pain in the butt. Mission count is rather small and the fact that most pay as little as few thousand $ does not help at all. This is the main reason why players were doing these money glitches and altogether the importance of money seems to be neglected frequently
    -grinding is going slow... very slow. It took me 3 months to reach level 25 so imagine how much more it will take to reach level 120.
    -lots of great single player stuff is missing in Online - animals, heists, properties, etc.
    -I didn't get my stimulus package, especially after not playing for so many months and I guess there are more people like me
    -community is horrible. Chances are, certain players will want to f**k me up for various reasons, e.g. to troll and grief, because I'm a girl, because they don't like my car or simply because my character is inferior to theirs so they can show how powerful they are.

    I know that you shouldn't judge the book by its cover and GTA:O is still not a finished title. However I can only promise that I'll track GTA:O news to the very end. If the game will change for better, I will redo a review, suggesting that "GTA Online Sucks" era should be over. However in current situation, I can't do it.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews