User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3235 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2014
    5
    I just paid for a megladon shark card and It didn't give the money to me so I think it is **** and a scam I want my money you **** so give it to me!!!
  2. Sep 17, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best series in gaming history and this journey really deserved to be a part of it! I really enjoyed all characters and the activity this game has to offer. 10/10, it really deserved. Peace, dog! :) Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2014
    8
    For all its hype and anticipation, GTAV plays exactly like every other GTA game I played before it, this is both a good and bad thing. Traffic/NPC AI seems to be the same as it was fifteen years ago, activities are still boring/tedious and exist on a scale of escalating frustration. Controls are a little rigid and clunky, characters get stuck on bannisters/objects and will take cover behind the wrong thing. In most every other aspect, GTA excels. I loved the characters (well, Trevor), the heists were excellent fun and truth be told I couldn't put the game down until I finished story mode. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2014
    7
    grand theft auto 5 is a great game the open world is large and there is an always endless list of things to do, however 3 characters although good meant each character wasn't able to develop as strongly as Niko & CJ from previous installments, the online mode is good but has problems. the irony is of course it gets marked down not because it is bad but because partly of the quality of the rest of the series and also because after being delayed multiple times my expectations had grown to a level that the game couldn't reach, Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    i see some **** copy and paste the same bad review and give it a 0/10 purposely to reduce the user scores for this game. this is easily the best game in ps3. the graphics are awesome. 0% glitch. big world with no glitch is something very rare we see in games. some **** games like skyrim are getting better reviews than this great game which i cannot bear. this game definitely deserves a way better user score. i give it a perfect 10. Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2014
    5
    As I've played this game a year ago and did the 100% restarted to drive around a bit. And I'm still waiting for this special immersing GTA-experience and can't grasp the hype. I'm happy with every gamer who can enjoy GTA V. But what I've missed most is the fun to cruise. In GTA SA; VC and even IV and EfLC I always liked to just drive around and listen to the music. GTA SA K-Rose was best radio station ever. Much later I started the missions because I was happy just

    driving around..

    In GTA V the map feels artificial in a bad sense. Lifeless, anemic, map limited, uninspired, humorless. Sorry, having to say that as I always was an

    addicted fan. In GTA SA I always had the feeling of an endless journey. IN GTA V the streets are edged by heaps of interfering stuff which hinders a

    nice game flow: road signs, piles and garbage cans which is very competing in races.

    The controls of cars and bikes where very good in GTA IV: It was great for MP races. GTA V car mechanics are strange. Whenever I want to go left or

    right the stick is overreacting. Same with bikes where often the bike jumps to the opposite lane.
    Maybe this disappointing game feeling will change while progressing in the story missions I've thought but it didn't happen. And yes, I've really

    tried to like GTA V. Hopefully the PC Edition will iron out some of the unpleasant issues.
    Most annoying is the sound of the car when collisions happen with the surrounding. I wonder why R* did not fixed that cheap sound until now.

    The characters have nothing to identify with. They lack the human touch. I still dislike all of them.
    What is getting on ones nerves is this endless driving and driving. As soon as you own the villa uphill you always have to drive to the opposite side of the town. Exhausting!

    And sorry, but the map is way too small... It took me 15 minute to drive around the entire map with a bike! Los Santos is small compared to GTA San

    Andreas. The problem is that you know half of Los Santos already from GTA SA. The car handling is as feared over reactive.
    I miss San Fierro. I miss Las Venturas. Or other cities. Driving faster causing nausea because the resolution is dropping dramatically (PS3). So I'd

    to stop gaming after an hour. I hope the special GTA feeling will re-appear some day hopefully in fall 2014.
    GTA V is a PC game, consoles are limited always by outdated hardware.
    Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    What to say? Rockstar is probably the best gaming developer there is. I mean, when you play a game like this you immediately take conscience that you're in front of something special and perfect in every way.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: I admit that i was sceptical with the fact of an alternating gameplay between three characters. Forget it it only enhances the experience and My God Trevor...

    PRESENTATION: Los Santos is alive in every sense of the word. You have to love it. Period.
    GAMEPLAY: GTA at it's finest.
    ONLINE: Did not played that much but i believe to be an extension of the campaign.
    A masterpiece.
    Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2014
    0
    Game is nothing short of disappointing.The main characters were dull as a rock.The game has no replay value after u finish it.It's the same game 10 years ago.It's just mindless killing prostitutes,stealing cars and that's it.Very generic and bland story.GTAIV and San Andreas blow this game
  9. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    This game rocks! GTA 4 sucked. This game is every thing GTA should have been. Characters are great story is awesome and the gun fights are like modern warfare. I love this game and have played it several times all the way through. From being able to choose your close to the color of your ride this game gives you the freedom that was denied in GTA 4. Controls and game play are perfect. I can't wait for the next one. Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2014
    8
    The gameplay is phenomenal, they really improved it (Especially after GTA IV), the world is amazingly detailed and massive, the replay value is out of this world but the story is trash.You can see that it was rushed and that they didn't give two ***** about it and they only cared about the gameplay aspect which is what failed in GTA IV. The game is really good but they could have developed a better story and characters. Expand
  11. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    This game is just awesome! It is like Read Dead Redemption in many ways, but for me it is more funny, there are so many things to do, map is so huge and so varied. All three characters are fine. Ok, I hate Trevor!
  12. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This GTA 5 is the best GTA ever!
    That graphic, gameplay, interface....actually EVERYTHING is perfect!
    And of course, that 3 characters is great idea, respect for R*
    Expand
  13. Aug 1, 2014
    6
    Now let me start off by saying why my review is mixed (even though probably no one cares.) GTA 5 Is there, but not quite. I play GTA 5 fresh from playing GTA 4 on Xbox 360 and PC and I have to say that was superb. The graphics reflecting the gritty tone of the game and the great conclusion, while some hitches were here and there, it was close. GTA 5 is a mixed bag. I feel as of having the 3 main protagonists is a bit messy to write around and more or less a cynical choice to make RockStar seem adventurous. There are some fun lines and quirks from the characters but it only seems to be coming from a few of the writers. More or less there're more than enough writers to found a small micro-nation.

    But the game also doesn't as enough depth to it as I'd like, I wish to see even more interactivity and more places to explore but I guess that's our lot. The driving is fairly good and is no minor part there. I swear I can notice parts and places were I was driving in the "Cinematic Camera," and I noticed some cars in-front of me, that I would've have crashed into, disappeared before I could, though the pop-out isn't noticeable I still appreciated the little nifty coding there.

    I guess what I'm getting at is that the depth of GTA 5 is in-consist because of the overwhelming large amount of people working on it. I know it speeds up production but It seems like that played a downfall to rockstar somewhat.
    Expand
  14. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    I'm going to make this as simple as I can. The campaign is lots of fun, but there is really no reason to play it again once you've completed it. On the other hand, the Online is fun with friends, but if your friends are off doing something else, the online is atrocious. RockStar has increased prices for items drastically from the singleplayer, and they expect you to do these "missions" that in the end are tedious and hardly put any amount of money into your wallet. R* further screws you over by offering in-game money for real-life money. Just let that soak in. So either you pay out the ass for in game money you will spend in a matter of minutes, or you can decide you don't care about your social life and spend hours upon hours trying to get enough money in missions to buy that one cool car you wanted. Furthermore, the leveling system is completely broken, as you level up extremely slowly, and your character is defenseless up until about level 30, and even then you will get destroyed by the many higher ranking players. This leads me to my next point. The online "community" is full of douchebags and other **** that will shoot you and run you over for little to no reason, which is extremely irritating when you start trying to actually level up and get cash. The online in general is just one big cluster **** of anger-inducing garbage. But this garbage can be fun with friends who won't murder you over and over and over and over again. Bottom line: The campaign is plenty of fun but lacks replay value. The online is god-awful without friends to play with and I find it ironic that the developers make fun of the state that the video game industry is in, but then they go and try to get rich from your money even though you've already paid $60 for the game. If not for the online this game would be a 9/10. Expand
  15. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto Five is the best video game I have ever played!! It's full of realism which makes it an incredible video game.
  16. Jul 16, 2014
    7
    Great game, but better than Half Life? Counter Strike? no. Better than GTA IV? Just Cause 2? Saints Row IV? Yes. This is by far the best of it's category and most other games. Is it better than GTA San Andreas? I think so, I think others are too attached to old memories of it, GTA San Andreas.
  17. Jul 12, 2014
    5
    Overrated game. The world is fine, but then it remains. The story is mediocre. Multiplayer sucks.

    In fact, I pulled the story to force through. Since then, I have not touched the game.
  18. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Думаю не нужно слов.
    эту игру нельзя пропустить!
    Касательно онлайн режима - он просто шикарен,мало подобных игр.С каждым обновлением игра просто растет на глазах!
    Бесспорно 10 из 10.
  19. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    El juego se merece el 10 sí o sí. Las críticas negativas se deben al hype desmesurado que muchos tenían. GTA V es sobresaliente. Es todo un gustazo para cualquier fan de los sandbox jugar este juego. Yo el primer dia estuve 4 horas seguidas sin poder parar de jugar...
    La historia promete desde el principio pero es cuando Michael o Trevor están en pantalla cuando la cosa funciona. Franklin
    es algo mas simple (como ocurría con CJ en SA). El hecho de tener tres personajes me asustaba un poco al principio pero ha sido una gran idea, cambiar entre ellos es rápido y satisfactorio.
    Llaman la atención muchas cosas desde que cojemos el mando. Visualmente el juego parece de otra galaxia. Ver en PS3 una ciudad así de viva y un entorno tan grande y bien definido es un placer para la vista. La iluminación ha mejorado, los modelados de la gente están logrados, los coches lucen mejor y se manejan con mas facilidad, sobretodo para los iniciados en este tipo de juegos. También los vehículos acuáticos y aéreos se manejan mejor. El multijugador es bastante bueno. Tiene unos cuantos fallos, pero engancha y está compensado (aunque luego hayan algunos hackers que estropeen la experiencia). Me gusta mucho el creador de partidas aunque debería ser mas sencillo que la gente juegue a las que creas tú.

    Sin duda es un juego tan bueno que se hace corto, cuando lo terminas al 100% quieres mas y realmente no hay tanto que hacer como prometían. Menos mal que jugar con trucos es bastante distraído porque si no...

    Resumiendo, cualquiera que tenga PS3 o Xbox 360 debe tener este juego. Quien sabe cuando volveremos a ver algo así.
    Expand
  20. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    I'm going to say this right now. Grand Theft Auto V is the best video game I've ever played. I really went nuts for this game. I couldn't even stop playing it. Not one bit. This is actually so much better than Grand Theft Auto IV. The best part is that if you are having trouble passing a mission, you can literally skip to the next scene of the mission. And I loved playing golf in that game and same with Tennis. Though, there is one house that is tough purchasing (which is the Los Santos Country Club). But however, I am really hoping Rockstar Games makes more Grand Theft Auto games. So my suggestion is to buy that game. Expand
  21. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    Best game ever: Amazing campaign + Cool graphics + Awesome online = perfect game

    If you are a True-Gamer you must play this game, if not, too. GTA Five keep essence of grand theft auto series, an Open-World game with a lot of possibilities. The map is very detailed, interactive. alive and big. A lot of secrets behind it. It's very addictive, I have played it more than one hundred hours
    and i didn't completed the hole game. When you are driving, killing people, scuba diving or whatever you are doing you can find hidden mission and secrets that expand the game-time. Online it's the funniest multiplayer when you play with friends. I think is a good game to close the seventh generation. I'm really waiting to play it on PS4 or PC.

    If I could choose between the best game and GTA V, I'll choose GTA V.
    Expand
  22. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    Okay, I spent my time thinking about this. I had come to terms that GTA 5 in fact all Gta's aren't me to be realistic. No it's not, it's meant to be an exaggeration. Of Rockstars opinion of modern day life. They give stereotypes the depth they need, too feel familiar but interesting. Here is my review of Grand Theft Auto V.

    Story.
    Well I'm not going to describe the story, everyone's
    herd of it already. But I'm going to tell you if it's any good. Well it's well written, in depth, lengthy and rich. Personally Michael is my favourite protagonist in gta 5. His touch of thievery expertise is great. His family troubles are realistic. His skill is great. Trevor is okay, but he's too crazy. The writers wanted to make Trevor a statement. I like how he gets the job done and tries to run his own business. Franklin, is not deepest, I don't really care about him. He's not a main character even though he's meant to be as important as the other 2. He's just not. A guy trying to get out of the hood but just shuts up and listens to Michael and Trevor for guidance isn't doing him any good. Overall the story is great, Michael is the real seller here. It has 3 endings but the one dubbed 'death wish' is the best one honestly, don't want to spoil it so I won't say no more.

    Graphics.
    Graphics are great, colours are amazing, draw distance, traffic count. Etc

    Gameplay
    Pretty much the same as every other gta. Unfountantly. While it isn't bad, it's not very different. Couple of tweaks. Like the driving, nice and arcadey, special abilities like slow mo. but the stealth doesn't work, suppressors and such. You can't crouch. But has hilarious physics that make driving off the cliff of my chilliard a blast.

    Sound.
    Cars sound great, with variation. Guns sound great and feel good. Nature sounds good. Radio tracks are as good as ever, with hilarious talk shows. Music for in game missions or cop chases, new addition in gta finally. Sound great and the radio list is as good as ever. Voice acting is well done.

    Animations.
    Very well done, crash physics are great.

    Content.
    Lots of cars, guns, outfits, to buy. Activities to do like golf, tennis, hiking etc. side missions have a lot of work, like breaking 46 signs only to get like 10 bucks? It's frustrating. I have all these contacts in my phone, but I call and only goes to the voice mail. Hanging out with characters isn't good as 4 because there is a shortage of dialogue. And 4 had abilities unlocked after hanging out with them. So you get to know the characters better and you used to unlock discounted guns or free helicopter rides. But none of that here. Hunting is bad. Why can I skin? And sell pelts. Why in one location only? Why only 4 street races when I can mod my car and stuff. They have all these elements. But feels unfinished or un cared for. But the map is expansive. And it's amazing. Too bad the side missions aren't as useful. Side missions to freak into homes are rob specific stores for a 30 grand payout would be great.

    Things I didn't like worth mentioning.
    - no difficulty setting, needs to harder.
    - recycled gameplay
    - stealth doesn't work.
    - side missions are unrewarding.
    - no skinning of animals.

    Things I really liked.
    - graphics
    - Map
    - Michael
    - content.
    - music.

    Not a bad game. It's a great game for all out carnage. But lacks rewarding side missions like other games (skyrim) and has good elements but great. Or the ones id like.

    8/10.
    Expand
  23. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    I have nothing to say. Great game. Great story. Great online. Free dlc's. Own creator. Races. Music and city is realistic. Huge open world. What else gamer needs? Idk, but everyone have to got. 10/10 masterpiece and best game of 2013 :)
  24. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Rockstar's Magnum Opus. GTA 5 is the crowning glory of the PS3 generation, it is the open world game to which all others must be compared. I loved the story, the charaters and the setting. The heist missions are monumental and very well scripted, there are so many jaw-dropping moments in the game there are too many to list. Character-wise, Trevor is probably the best video game character ever created. Michael is the perfect cliche old timer ex-hood who needs to get back in the game and Franklin, the first time ever GTA:SA, CJ I'm looking at you) I've been remotely interested in a character from the ghetto, he's got a soul and a personality which CJ does not. The way the stories intertwine is excellent, the way the chararcter switch works is perfect. Honestly I can't fault this game. I've put in around 115hrs and have 100%'d it. I've tinkered with multiplayer but its not a priority for me, what I did play was alright but I really struggled finding team mates online. As far as a single player game, GTA5 is easily one of the best! 10/10 Expand
  25. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    Biggest entertainment launch of any medium? Check. Most expensive video game ever produced, with each dollar being showcased to the player at every turn? Check. A ultra-violent, and unforgettable action-adventure game that will be enjoyed by almost any mature gamer for endless hours? ABSOLUTELY!

    I fully recommend this game to GTA lovers and mature gamers who enjoy tongue-in-cheek
    humour, and are willing to explore and experience the biggest and most fully-detailed sandbox ever created. This was the biggest gaming event of 2013, and that is no secret. Expand
  26. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    Best game I've ever played. The vast amount of bugs is only to be expected with such a huge, complex and detailed game. I'm only buying a PS4 so I can continue playing this game nearly everyday on a better OS.
  27. Jun 26, 2014
    1
    Does Rockstar send someone to your house to beat you up if you give their game a low rating? Admittedly, the game shows some technical excellence in graphics and sound. But the characters are drab and lifeless, the "storylines" are cliche, and it's so chock-full of juvenile subject matter, it's a depressing commentary on the state of gaming.
  28. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    I have considered that playing essentially the same game over and over has worn thin, or maybe it just isn't fun at all. We'll see how I feel when it comes out on PC.
  29. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Wow, standards are slipping...fast.

    First let me say I Loved Almost all previous iterations of this once great series, but GTA V is by far an away the most disappointing. The graphics are average at best ( cutscenes are even worse ) and the map while large isn't very dense, in terms of both mini games and Easter eggs which made exploring enjoyable, now we're left with few mediocre side
    missions and virtually no reward for completing them. The story while enjoyable is short lived and certain characters aren't haven't had personalities developed for them, namely Franklin and Michael. Driving is fun but able to flip vehicles and control in the air makes no sense and shooting is bad, GTA 4 Shooting was much better, hand to hand combat is garbage and rockstar have no excuse for this since rock star made the warriors ( PS2/PSP ) which had fantastic combat and good stealth mechanics as well. The ocean area which makes up a FIFTH of the map is a waste of memory space, but would make for a good dynamic background. The single player was very underwhelming but the online makes its look like a masterpiece by comparison. Only 16 player on such a large map is stupid, and is poorly developed, hence the bad scores for gta online, and the fact pay outs are so low, most players get bored quickly, and activities vary from average to rubbish, and rockstars clear focus on online over single player is frustrating for long time fans. The euphoria physics, yep you guessed it are worse than Gta 4.

    Let's Hope rockstars next installment in the GTA Series is Fantastic like previous gta games.
    Expand
  30. Jun 24, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've played almost every iteration of grand theft auto, along with most other Rockstar games, so I get what they are supposed to be like. Open-world, gang drama, drugs, alcohol, prostitutes and humour are what I consider these games to be about. This game had all that, but in a weird way.

    Now I'll just say I loved the first third of this game, but after that it just got annoying and repetitive. As soon as you start working with what is supposed to be the CIA or FBI, it all goes to **** I wanted to be pulling heists and bringing in cash a lot, which you do a few times, but then you have to do missions for this organization for the bulk of the game and the story gets lost in something else.

    The ending was pretty fun though and I liked how there was some selection as to how you would like it to go, even if I thought Michael was the main character the whole time and it should of been his decision.

    Now on to what there is to do and see. Everyone said this map was the biggest ever and was going to be amazing. I will agree there is a lot to see and do, but it's not really that impressive when a lot of it is just mountains and grass. I mean If you weren't gonna make the city a little bigger at least make the other side cities larger or make another city the size of the original one on the opposite end of the map. Just Cause 2 has a map that's likely four times larger than this, and the tiny city in that game is likely as big as the city portion of this game.

    All of the side quests are fun to do, but kind of take you out of the reality of the game. All of the hobbies are boring after you play them once or twice. I think Rockstar wanted this to be the be all, end all open-world game and they added a lot, but forgot in other areas. I believe this game should of been just single-player with the online coming out at a different date and being made by another studio.

    The graphics are sub-par, there's tons of frame rate issues and the line of sight is so small and extremely noticeable while flying. The best thing this game has going for it is the voice acting and how the vehicles drive.

    I'll recommend this game to people who are fans of the series, but if you are new to open-world games or this series just get San Andreas, Vice City or Red Dead Redemption!
    Expand
  31. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    Probably the only 10 I will ever give to a game. Everything is perfect. The storyline is better than most action movies, the humour is fun, the characters are really well chosen, the city is huge, the graphics are unbelievable for the PS3, you can spend hours on this game just doing anything.

    You want to go to that mission using a Titan and parachuting on a truck, or maybe steal a
    bicycle and take 20 minutes to reach the other side of the city ? Well you can, and that's what it is all about.

    Haters will always find that the sky is not blue enough, but who cares, if you can't enjoy this game, then you should consider selling your ps3. I mean you can even not play the missions at all and still have a good time doing races on-line, cause chaos and steal a jet.

    Conclusion : This is a perfect game, enjoy it as much as you can !
    Expand
  32. Jun 21, 2014
    7
    I wanted to like this game more than I did. The open world setting is excellent, and the characters are well written and actually well thought out. But the story isn't great and Grand Theft Auto V suffers from that. Rockstar has made so many fantastic games with a good story like L.A. Noire, Red Dead Redemption and even the past GTA games, Vice City had a fantastic story! I wish they would do more of that. Expand
  33. Jun 20, 2014
    7
    This Gta have the best story mode and the best online play of all.Great characters,awesome graphics this is one of the best video game ever.The online play is full off mission cars and others.I highly recommend it.
  34. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    I`ve played the PS3 version at a friend`s house,which made me want to buy a console just for that game.But,when i heard it comes to the glorious PC,i`ll raise some money for the Collector`s Edition.So,Rockstar North,shut up and take my money.
    P.S.: I wonder why they did not launch the game on the PC last year...Lucky console gamers...
  35. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    It's like the perfect game, huge world to be explored, long and funny campaign, the gameplay is perfect, the voice acting is excellent, and the graphics are impressive even for a last-gen console they are better than any game. I always was a fan of GTA but Grand Theft Auto V is a magnificent game, garanted pre-order for PC/XONE/PS4. Thanks for the attention and sorry for my bad english, hope this review helped you. Expand
  36. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    Great game! You can only put 10/10! Definitely a masterpiece! It's no wonder this game took many awards! And most importantly, this game will be released on PC this fall;)
  37. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    This is by far the best GTA game so far. Playing different characters is enjoyable. Open world, driving, missions, and all the regular demented GTA content, you gotta love it.
  38. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    This game is huge, and you don't just get one story as in the previous games, but you get to follow a total of three different characters and their side stories, the main story/misson has many hours of game-play, and this title is a must have for this generation.
  39. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    I'll simply start off by saying that GTA5 is the best videogame I have ever played and for a lot of reasons.First I'd like to praise its original implementation of multiple playable characters based gameplay which brilliantly compliments the jaw dropping level design, most of which put to shame the best action sequences in most Hollywood movies these days.From epic set piece shootouts to the over the top action chase sequences and a variety of special missions which I don't want to spoil.Let me also give a huge nod to the heist missions, mixed up in the middle of these regular missions, they come along every now and then and add to the lighting pace of GTA5 with a mission design that is nothing short of epic at its ultimate definition.From setting them up..to finalising the crew and the plan and to the actual execution, everything in these heist missions are extremely fun and all of the missions also play out to the fun character switch mechanic, which is a perfect balance with scripted switches and giving you the ability to switch at your will.Apart from that there's this GTA usual list of very entertaining cut scenes filled with cool dialogues and humor which opens each mission and the missions are also accompanied by catchy original scores which further adds to the immersion.
    For the narrative, I'd once again like to praise the original and mature story of struggle it tells.Michael, Franklin and Trevor are all very engaging and interesting characters and they're perhaps equally supported with a big list of entertaining support cast, a personal favorite of mine being "Nervous Ron" who is the unfortunate right hand of Trevor.All the characters are well voiced as well.
    For graphics GTA5 in quiet an achievement on hardwares that are more than half a dozen years old.The super huge Los Santos is detailed to the level of the insanity, take the water for e.g..The water in Alamo sea is oily black while the water near the shores of industrial area in muddy orange, go to a small pond and it's green while the beaches have a blue colored water.The detail extents to the level where all of these different colored waters make a seamless transaction in the areas where they meet, ride a boat from an industrial area to a beach and see how slowly and seamlessly it changes from orange to blue(yes, R* is that obsessed with detail).The same level of detail extends to a lot of other aspects of the game of course.
    For sound the game has a great list OST and almost each of the tracks picked for the radio is very good and it features something for each taste.
    I can go on for another few paragraphs(quiet frankly, I haven't touched on most other important aspects all all) on why it's it's the best game I've ever played but I think I've highlighted most of the important aspects.
    Even people who have issues should admit that GTA5 has set a new bar for the entire industry and it'll be a real challenge for games to reach such a scale.
    Expand
  40. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    Why did I give this game an 9, whilst others give it a 10? Because I did greatly enjoy the game, with a decent story and good writing, combined with a massive open world with a lot of mini-games. However, this game did have it's problems, like all games. Online was a mess at launch, for a while it did not even work, but is playable now. The graphics are good, but the characters kind of draw me out of giving this a ten. While I did like some of the characters, others were a bit bland and static (i.e. Michael's son Jimmy). I was a fan of Grand Theft Auto 4's characters, namely Roman and Niko. Here, there are still good characters, just not as interesting as GTA 4's. Getting past that, and that the uniteresting characters where minor, is the fact that the game is very good. If a okay storyline and decent characters with a few bland characters is enough to keep you interested in open world mayhem with tons of side actvities (hunting, rampage, and more) then by all means purchase this game. My final verdict is exactly what the average critic's verdict is, a 9.7/10. Expand
  41. Jun 7, 2014
    1
    PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!!PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! PC version now !!!!! Expand
  42. Jun 3, 2014
    3
    This game is terrible, the worst characters ever made for a gta game, worst gta ever made, no much improves, too agressive and ugly characters, poor storyline, i have the disgrace to play this game for the ps3, and the driving mechanics are a disaster, if you want to go hunt, you can't, you want a race, you can't, you can't do nothing in this trash of game. I think rockstar is destroying his franchises like max payne 3.
    Just one of the worst titles for the ps3.
    Expand
  43. Jun 1, 2014
    6
    Now im not trying to be an **** on this site, but let me give you the experience of a guy that wasn´t overhyping/overrating things here.
    GTA is a really great game.. After 1 month, it isn´t anymore. The story didn´t feel like anything special though, but i must say that the characters in this game has a really interesting experience. GTA Wouldn´t have got a so big score, if it wasn´t
    because it was so extremely popular as it is. The series are legend, the games are always not extremely disappointing us, but giving it 90, 90, 100, 95, 95, 100.. ETC. is really making me thinking "You´re kidding me." And why do i think like this? Because it´s like Justin Bieber, girls are **** crazy with him, some don´t care about he´s music, they care about HIM. He can be an **** but still some people loves him, like many girls do, but the boys are just hating on him most of the time. Think about what i mean. Now to be honest, when i first played this game, i was seriously pissing my pants, even starting my Xbox 360 got me to think "Holy **** I´m going to play this game!" (i was borrowing it on the library), and i must say, that the Design, and Technology in this game was incredibly good balanced, even though that the PS3, and X360 Couldn´t even run this game, but that one little thing that probably pissed me most off, was that i WASNT on Next-Gen, it WASNT on PC, and GTA Earned around 1 Billion dollars on this game (so far from now), but you know what? They could´ve **** earned 1.5 Billion dollars if it was on PC, and maybe if we take the next-gen following 1.7 Billion dollars, then they had alot more profit to a new, perfect art of a game. The history feels like: "KILL, STEAL, ROBBERY, **** SHOOOOOT!!", but it doesn´t have that little thing that makes me cry (as i´ve done to alot of ends in some games). I feel too, that this game is not even for kids, or 18+ Years old people, its more for people around 16 Years old. The physics in this game is one thing i like about this game, and the different vehicles you can drive/fly/dive with.

    One thing GTA Was about the whoole time in this game, was to make a Realistic, bloody, ****-the-world, kind of game, and i think that GTA Offered alot of details in the entire game, and it was damn fun playing in 1 week, but hey, let me give you an example here: "You´re playing GTA At summer, you just got the game, and you´re that kind of nerd that doesn´t have anything to do at home, so you´re going to nerd this game EVERYDAY in one straight week, and you´ll keep going, but you know what? The game is slowly getting boring, and it feels like the way it´s slowly killing your fun, because you´re beginning to play online now. You dont have any friends to play with, and the game feels a bit more boring time after time."

    GTA Online (Stand-Alone review):
    When you start GTA Online, you can make you character, which i think many people love about video games when you´re playing online. The little problem about GTA Online When you´re making a character, is the way it´s getting you to think "Soo... This is how i can make my character? Well.. Ok." Because first of all, it´s almost impossible to make a really ugly character, and it´s too almost impossible to make a character looking cool, and good. The most funny thing is, that you for some reason just NEEDS to looks really damn ugly around the eyes, and if you´re making a girl character, you can´t extend her boobs.

    The main online free-roam is **** annoying. People are trying to kill you EVERYTIME they see you, so if you´re trying to be a friendly guy, they´ll just react like they were the biggest ****s of all time. The little problem about GTA Online was they sweared to every single fan, that you could be able to earn mon ey through being shares/companies, but we got completely nothing. The first thing i checked, was all the they promised us, but not many of the things was there. After some time, they told us too we could rob banks like in single-player. But still this day nothing happened. Now i dont want to be evil through the community, but mother of lord, please stop giving children access to these kind of games, even the main director (this is TRUE words) said that people that gave their childs access to Rockstar games were psychopaths.

    In GTA V There´s too many bugs too, not the glitches are bad, but the bugs. Rockstar vs GTA Community was like World War II. People are finding more and more to bomb Rockstar with, even money was beginning to be send illegally to each other. The thing i didn´t get about Rockstar, was WHY they´ve maked so many spots in the game, that people got in because of glitching, and bugging, but they didn´t open it to the game? It was like they said "Hehe! Lets get people to glitching through this **** so they can experience the game another way". It was a waste of time making it like that, even through they had ideas with these spots, why not unlock them?

    Final Quote: Dont make things you cant handle
    Expand
  44. May 31, 2014
    1
    My god, this game is just as boring as it gets. Not to talk about the completely lifeless city full of NPCs that react the same way to everything and have nothing to offer whatsoever, not to talk about the horrible multiplayer and community full of 10 year old kids that yell at you for everything, not to talk about the worst gun mechanics ever, this game is just not to talk, and not to play.
  45. May 29, 2014
    9
    The story. The game starts ten years before the present day. Micheal and Trever are two of the three characters in THIS mission. after that its present day and you play as Franklin whose current job is a Repo man. about two missions after the prologue the game gives you total FREEDOM. to run around to kill people. to drive cars! all fun and good GTA style! it slowly introduces the other two main characters Micheal and Trever. its difficult at times. and the checkpoints are amazing! i never got frustrated with dieing over and over. the total time of the story missions alone is...well for me it took around 55+ hours. That's not counting the stunt jumps! the race's! the rampages! and just messing around with cheats! now Ps3 VS Xbox360 the only real difference is Ps3 has slightly better graphics. the voice acting is amazing! the gameplay is amazing! all around it's just fun to play! not that many glitches since recent updates. we need some single player DLC. cause after all the side missions and everything there's only the online portion to play! which is so freaking clunky. it keeps disconnecting! rock* needs to fix this! the game has been out for 6 to 7 months already! its so annoying cause i love the online. but besides the fact. overall this is one of the best games ever!!! Expand
  46. May 29, 2014
    10
    there is no topping a flawless* rockstar game , gta 5 is the most perfect sandbox ever , and a perfect final chapter to the 7th generation of gaming and an intro into the 8th . No words can describe how great the games is , 10/10 !
  47. May 28, 2014
    9
    Let me start off by saying that I don't believe that any game, no matter how good it may be, deserves a 10/10. Every game has its flaws and GTA V is one of them, mainly in it's tri-tiered ending that had many gamers a little disappointed despite the notion that there was an aspect of 'choice' throughout that would dictate where the game would end up. While the endings are not awful, the two non-canon options just seem a little anti climatic after everything you've been through. That being said, GTA V is another home run for Rockstar and fans of the open world game that is celebrating it's fifth entry (depending on how you count) into the series. Complete with x-rated sex and toilet humor that you've come to expect from these games, GTA is ripe with violent sociopaths, humorless women, side splitting social commentary, and just good ol' fashioned chaotic fun. The graphics have been upgraded since its last entry and looks great on both 360 and PS3, with a stunning interpretation of modern day Los Angeles and its surrounding country and marinas. With a myriad of side quests, adventures and activities that will be sure to keep you occupied for hours, GTA always has something to keep coming back to. Multiplayer is a lot of fun as well, and with a handful of friends, buyable properties, vehicles, clothing and free updates every so often, is another sure fire reason to buy this game. Most certainly another tremendous entry into the Rockstar catalogue, if you haven't played it yet I strongly encourage you to go out and buy it immediately. Expand
  48. May 28, 2014
    1
    Terrible graphics, but it is on consoles so thats why, but still why the f''k is it not on pc???? the game is pretty boring to be honest, it doesen't deserve a 0 but im just darging down the overall from all the noobs who things bad games are cool like Call of Duty: Ghost for PC
  49. May 28, 2014
    10
    This game is almost too good. The entire game is just epic. The story was great not as good as the last of us. The shooting felt great , and the driving excellent. Characters are awesome especially Trevor ;). there is almost too much to do and any one who as got 100% completion has played all day every day. side missions are fun and almost as cool as the main story line. online is great i rarely bug and honestly is sometimes more fun then story mode. the best game in along time. Expand
  50. May 27, 2014
    10
    Einfach nur großartig, was R* da abliefert. Detaillierte spielwelt, gute Protagonisten, und einen Umfangreichen Multiplayer, der aber von der Community, ziemlich versaut wird.
  51. May 22, 2014
    10
    SOOO GOOD!!!!! ooohhh ya in need 150 characters so nhgrethrihnbugyvftcdrsxeawzesxcdrgtvbyhnujhbgyftvcdrscftvgybhunbftvcdrftvbgyhunbgyfvtcdrftvg and by
  52. May 20, 2014
    9
    after spending what feels like months on this game i can say i really like this game if i could i would have given it 8.5 for a few reasons one the story is a little bit meh i thought there was going to be more heists and a lot of the other missions feel like its just build up to a heist and two im sorry but online is just boring and crap but some positives the heists that do happen are awsome trevor is awsome the driving, view soundtrack and the list goes on so gta v a million times better than 4 its just a little over hyped thats all Expand
  53. May 18, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just your average over hyped pile of sh*t. A complete failure compared to Grand Theft Auto 4. Plot? There is no f*cking plot in this waste of 60 bucks. Gameplay? The gameplay is a joke. Everything has either been dumbed down or made for casual sh*ts that will play the game for a month and then go back to Battlefield 3.5. The melee system has been completely dumbed down and is also broken as f*ck(This is completely true in the Online) All the characters are either unoriginal and unlikable. The only characters I actually enjoyed were Floyd(who got killed by the worse character), Wade, Micheal and his family. Franklin is just your typical black character that just wants money. The only thing special about him is that he doesn't wanna be a gang banger and his slow-mo driving. Trevor is hands down the worse character in this pile of sh*t. Just your typical rapist, cannibal, psychopath that of course won COTY because the gaming community today is retarded. I gladly took the chance I got and killed him in Ending A. This game has 0 f*cking plot. You just do a bunch of missions and thats it. The only plot is how Micheal's family leaves him and than comes back and the whole Brad bullsh*t. The driving in this game is terrible. Not to mention that the car physics have been completely ruined and made casual. Every f*cking car is a god damn tank now. The funniest feature from GTA4 that Rockstar returned was flying out the car window. AND THEY COMPLETELY BROKE IT SINCE YOU DIE 7/10 TIMES IT HAPPENS NOW. At least it when came to doing extra things in Grand Theft Auto 4, you actually had to FIND them and they were actually pretty HARD. In this overrated pile of casual sh*t, they just mark everything on the map. The random events are nice, I will give them that. Its also nice to mention how much they BROKE this games cops. Actually no, they ain't cops. The LSPD is actually a massive army of super soldier robo cops with owl senses and the aim of f*cking highly trained Spetsnaz. I LOVE how this game talked and talked and TALKED about how there were gonna be so mainly f*cking heists. And what did we get? 6 heists. Oh, I am completely sorry, I mean 4. Since the other two gives you F*CKING NOTHING. HOW DO YOU GO FROM MAKING SUCH GREAT GAMES LIKE GRAND THEFT AUTO 4, RED DEAD REDEMPTION AND MAX PAYNE 3, WHICH ALL DESERVED TO HAVE 9/10 AND 10/10, TO THIS PILE OF SH*T THAT DESERVES NOTHING!? This game is nothing but a overhyped pile of a*s and it can easily be seen that Rockstar payed out the f*cking retards that reviewed this and gave it 9/10 and 10/10. F*ck this game, F*ck the reviewers, and F*ck the fanboys. Expand
  54. May 12, 2014
    8
    I really did like the story, but I thought the story was way too short. The online was amazing and makes up for the short story easily. You get a lot more customization than Grand Theft Auto 4 offered.
  55. May 11, 2014
    9
    Story:
    What's unique about GTA 5 compared to any other open world action game is having 3 main protagonist come together in this engaging and branching storyline. You start off as Michael, a retired bank robber whose life is now miserable thanks to his family. Then there's Franklin, a former street hustler who's trying to escape the hood and make some good cash, but his friends keep
    bringing him back into trouble. Finally, there's Trevor, Michael's old Canadian friend and a guaranteed psychopath. You never know what he'll do next thanks to his explosive personality. All the other supporting characters (Lester, Lamar, Michael's family, etc.) are also interesting with their own stories as well. Thanks to some excellent dialogue and voice acting, all these characters really come to life, especially Trevor's character. Steven Ogg does an incredible job as Trevor. As for the plot, Rockstar does a great job branching the plot between these 3 characters. There are some twist here and there, there is an interesting backstory with Michael and Trevor, and it's cool seeing how all 3 protagonist meet up and get forced into all these missions. This is by far some of Rockstar's best storytelling yet. 10/10

    Gameplay:
    It's your classic GTA gameplay with the added feature of special abilities for all 3 characters. Michael can slow down time while shooting, Franklin can slow down time while driving, and Trevor can go into "rampage" mode and deal double damage while taking half damage. The biggest highlight of the SP is definitely the heist missions which reminded me a lot of Payday 2. The new in-game stock market is a nice way of earning some extra money on the side. The driving here is significantly better than GTA 4's realistic driving. Now it's back to the classic driving that's fast and sometimes out of control (in a good way). The shooting is still the same as in GTA 4, There are more weapons this time around to play with, San Andreas's skill system returns, and the map is way larger than liberty city. The only complaint I had was that the cops were too annoying at times. Overall, Rockstar did a great job improving on the classic GTA gameplay while adding some new things in as well. Also, the strip club here is vastly superior to any other video game strip club ever made ;). 9/10

    Graphics:
    The game looks good on consoles (could look way better on PC), but I noticed some pop-ins that happened at times, and the frame rate also occasionally dropped when the action was heating up fast. Oh if only there was a PC version. 7/10

    Sound:
    All the gunshots, car sounds, and city sounds are really good, but the biggest shocker to me was how good the soundtrack was compared to GTA 4. The radio soundtrack contains rock, punk, pop, old school rap, hip-hop, techno, and other varieties of genres to choose from. I personally really like the rock, techno, pop, rap, and hip-hop stations (beats Russian stuff). Great job Rockstar on getting better music this time around. 9/10

    Multiplayer:
    This is where everything falls apart. The Online was not only broken at launch (R* should've prepared for the high amount of traffic on their servers better), but the Online gets repetitive fast. after the tutorial, you're off to do missions, races, deathmatches, parachuting, and capture (CTF) jobs to make $ and rank up (level cap is technically 1000, but you stop unlocking items at 120). You can also try to interact with the other 15 players on the map, but most of them will just shoot you on sight for no reason (luckily, passive mode will help you as it makes you ignore player fire). Besides jobs, there's not much to do in GTA online. But there are some REALLY frustrating things about the multiplayer: The cops are more annoying here than in SP (their search times can take up to 1 MINUTE), most of the missions are fetch missions, the auto-aim makes shooting others more easier than in Call of Duty, and all the exploits (money and RP glitches) and hackers broke the game's economy and competitive circuit even more. To top it all off, R* SEVERELY reduced the amount of $ and RP you get from missions, making the game a chore to level up if you're an "all legit" type of player. This is still better than GTA 4's multiplayer, but because of the way R* marketed this, GTA Online is a MASSIVE disappointment. 5/10

    Verdict: GTA 5 has an amazing single player mode with a disappointing multiplayer mode. The graphics are good, the soundtrack is great, and the mission variety is large (with most of them being entertaining to play). If not for the mediocre Online mode, GTA 5 could've been a perfect 10. But just like with Far Cry 3 and the Tomb Raider reboot, a weak multiplayer is what ruins the whole package.

    Rating: 9/10.
    Expand
  56. May 9, 2014
    3
    Worst Grand Theft Auto game in a long time! There's nothing new to it. The map is way too small. The characters are basically more mainstream versions of the great characters of the previous games. Don't buy it, at least before it comes on the PC!
  57. May 6, 2014
    9
    Ok I doubted the idea of having 3 main characters to play as but after playing it when it came out it seemed to work perfectly. The gameplay is very good, the graphics are great, Attention to Detail is just breathtaking and GTA Online is fairly good now as well. This is definitely a lot better than GTA 4 in my opinion and was certainly one of the best games of 2013
  58. May 3, 2014
    10
    One of the best game I've ever played, with a huge world which offers days of gametime. The story is good and the character design is fantastic. Only issue is the Multiplayer, which is chaotic and at times difficult to navigate. Worth getting solely for single player though.
  59. May 1, 2014
    9
    This game is amazing, they fixed most of the problems we had with GTA IV. What I liked about GTA V 1.Rockstar added some of features from the previous GTA's, and other games created 2. Even though they brought back the arcadish driving, it seems better because the car physics aren't boaty like GTA Iv's. I mean the driving GTA V may not be realistic as IV's but it's feels better. 3. Being able to control Franklin, Michael, Trevor at once was incredible. It was something I haven't seen Rockstar games do before.
    4. The cinematic game play was something I also never seen Rockstar do with GTA. There really any loading screens on the single player, after it loads up, and the cinematic gameplay make mission awesome.
    5. The NPC's, and the characters, are very responsive.
    6. The interactions.
    7. The customizations with the cars.
    8. The weapons being customizable.
    9. The online, was finally something could enjoy without role playing without police crew. Unlike GTA IV where you just drive around in a freemode bored, you actually get stuff done.
    10. The new LS looks amazing, and the whole entire map is huge and beautiful .
    11. The updates

    There are few things I didn't like about GTA V.
    1. Not being able to enter buildings.
    2. Maybe I liked GTA V more than San Andreas including the map, but they could of added SF LV.
    3. The launch of the online, even though it wasn't as bad as battlefield 4's, they should of seen this coming.

    My conclusion:
    GTA V has become my favorite GTA. I really hope rockstar, keeps up the good work. I know little bit of San Andreas fanboys wanted a San Andreas clone, (As usual) but this rules. I still like SA, but I like V more.
    Expand
  60. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    Terrible handling (esp. helicopters and planes), can make money only by playing story missions, no fast travel, optional objectives are shown after you complete the mission and you must unlock weapons by completing missions!! And a lot of the missions are very boring.
  61. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    Wow. Just Wow. Rockstar Games continues it's legacy with Grand Theft Auto V. It shows us that Rockstar has not lost it's touch in making incredible games. This is by far the best GTA to date and passes up Red Dead Redemption as Rockstar's best game. I don't even need to get into the story or the gameplay. 10/10. Game of the generation. A must buy.
  62. Apr 26, 2014
    7
    This game is so overrated. The single player mode and story I must admit is top notch, but GTA online is literally worthless if you have no friends to play it with. This decreases the replayability a tonne. GTA online is full of pre pubescent 12 year olds that constantly kill you because they must get this game confused with Call of Duty. The map is also a lot more boring in my opinion compared to GTA IV which then again makes the game get boring rather quickly. Saying that, I did pump in about 80 hours into the game in the first two weeks of release, but haven't really played it an awful lot since. Looking forward to a PC release sometime soon so I can play with all my friends on that. Expand
  63. Apr 25, 2014
    1
    I got this game because of the positive reviews. I played Grand Theft Auto: Vice City and Grand Theft Auto 3 and those were good so I was excited to play 5. Playing the campaign was fun with all the cool characters, but there were two things that killed it for me. The first thing were the freezes and bugs I got. The second thing was the auto aim in multiplayer. The auto aim makes the game-play feel shallow and boring. It's also annoying that the reticule is hard to see when you shoot out your vehicle. (For me at least.) Expand
  64. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    grand theft auto games get an instant 8 out of 10 just for all the fun you can have from messing around in them, but characters and story of this game are awesome. Trevor, Michael and Franklin are some of my favorite video game characters especially Trevor. the missions are a lot of fun for the most part and I actually wanted to play through the story unlike grand theft auto 4 where I just wanted to cause havoc to the city. there is more than meets the eye with this game that's for sure and is in my opinion the best game in the series. Expand
  65. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    great game, i wonder how to play this game, i have 2 bluray disk, why? i dont want to missed this game until die, so i bought two, just make sure that one is broken i can play another one...
  66. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    This is the best sandbox game ever made !! lots of vehicles , great story , the possibility to use three characters . After you finish the story there is still lots of things to do in the game . A great game for this generation .
  67. Apr 9, 2014
    6
    After you finish the extremely short campaign, you're stuck with the very boring grind multiplayer where the game expects you to pay real money for the in game money. This game was a big let down to me, but it's not a horrible game. If you can find it somewhere for around 30 dollars, I'd say it's worth that.
  68. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    This is the best game ever created. Rockstar have completely outdone themselves with GTA V the attention to detail with the story mode is exquisite and a stunning idea that you have the choice to change between three exceptionally thought up characters. The story mode includes variety of realistic occurrences within it. Also Rockstar have not stooped there as they have added online mode which allows you to enjoy the experience of Grand Theft Auto V with your friends and others around the world. This game includes anything you could ever want for a game and is definitely the best game I have personally ever played and a highly recommend you purchase this game. Expand
  69. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Story: 8.5 out of 10 Graphics: 9.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 9 out of 10 Fun: 8.5 out of 10 Controls: 10 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 7 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 9 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: barely any
  70. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    Im a huge grand theft auto fan but this is a huge disappointment in every way, they just spent all the money on the ads?!! how crazy is that?? Overall its not very good and doesn't live up to the hype...

    EDIT: Ok guys, the check from Rockstar finally came in. The game is actually a solid 9/10, please disregard the previous score. Thank you. - EyeOfTheTiger69
  71. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alright, so this game sucks monkey balls. I mean, you don't even have any super powers! I own all of the possible Superman and Spiderman comic books, so I totally know my comic book heroes, so don't argue with me! Rockstar isn't very clever for releasing this title. I mean, this is just a remastered edition of Call of Duty for the Nintendo Gamecube. I don't know why this is labeled as a PS3 game. I mean, that system is so ancient. I have a PS9, and I'm totally telling the truth. For every person that rates this game helpful, I'll give you a Lamborghini. FREE OF CHARGE! With limited entry. I'm totally someone you can trust. Thank you boo's. Good night. Expand
  72. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    This game is great... for about a month. Sure, jumping out of airplanes and stealing fancy cars is fun, but it gets old after a while. The story was amazing, but after you finish it, the game loses all of it's challenges. I found most of the side missions to be quite boring as well. I bought this game the day it was released and I have to say that I was expecting more. GTA online is okay, but it could have been done better. I just wish this game was like San Andreas or GTA 4. I definitely recommend it though. Expand
  73. Mar 28, 2014
    8
    Good game, felt a bit short for its own good especially compared to the previous titles (San Andreas, being my favorite). It almost felt easy too, outside of the final mission there was really no difficult missions like there was in the previous installments. Game play is solid, characters are good but the story is lacking compared if you compare it to the previous titles but it gets alot better once you get toward the end and more into Trevor and Michael's "complex" friendship. I liked Franklin, I liked the idea of him as sort of a "protege" to Michael and Trevor. Overall, it was a good game not as good as I expected but still a good game. Expand
  74. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto V is an improvement over its predecessor in almost every possible way! I believe that this entry in the series will go down as the instant classic that IV was supposed to be! By far the most remarkable thing about this game is its presentation, every single thing all the way down to the smallest detail is rendered with the utmost quality and care. The gameplay is also tuned to perfection, you can see elements of both L.A. Noire as well as Red Dead Redemption in it. The only two things that really took me out of the experience were one the story, which has its moments but ultimately falls flat compared to Red Dead or L.A. Noire. It's not the story was bad or that the missions weren't fun, it just failed to hit me on the emotional level that those two games did. Secondly, is GTA Online. Again, it's not bad it just got really boring really fast and didn't keep me addicted and coming back the way that Red Dead's online did. Still GTA V is an absolutely phenomenal game when looked at as a whole and will definitely will be remembered for years to come! Expand
  75. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    I have always been a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series and this is a good addition. Unfortunately, it lacks in some parts. For instance, Grand Theft Auto IV had amazing and realistic car physics. GTA V on the other hand downgrades them. That's right, one of the biggest things in a Grand Theft Auto game, was ruined in this game.
    My second point is that the single player is a bit lacking.
    The characters are not relatable or interesting, the loading times on switching characters takes WAY too long, the story is short, the single player gets boring after you complete the short story, and the story isn't even that great!
    The final reason this gets an 8 instead of a 10 is the online portion. In the past, it was just free roam, but with other people. Now, it's an unbalanced online RPG. I join a game with 5 people in it 100 levels a head of me. This makes the online portion unfair. New players are greeted with a singular semi-auto pistol and a crappy sports car; and they have to go up against a guy wearing nothing but underwear and a pig mask who also happen to have 3 miniguns shoved up their arse, an infinite supply of the most expensive sports cars in the game, a money supply that could buy the country of Germany, and the worst of all, sticky bombs. The online portion is just completely unbalanced, especially the newer players.
    Those reasons and probably more to come are why this game gets an 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  76. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Grand Theft Auto V. Exactly how a open world experience should be. Cars, Boats, Jets, Helicopters, Strip Clubs, Hookers Cultists, Gang bangers and a crazy Zombie that wants to eat your brain. The game improves its predecessors on a grand scale. More could of been doing to increase the difficulty in the game it was rather easy to get Gold Medals throughout every mission. The Heists were fun, but there just wasn't enough! GTA Online is great, but the lag is unbearable at times and even worse when you try to play Tennis. Trophy Hunters, the game is a grind to get Platinum but manageable. Great game. Expand
  77. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Perfection in a game is hard to come by an Rockstar have achieved this with GTA5.
    Worth every cent i spent on it and recomend a 11/10gfdsddhgfggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
  78. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    The engine feels ancient and clumsy. The graphics are uninspiring, as is the music and audio quality. The game itself glitches, freezes, and crashes on an almost regular basis. The controls are so clumsy and non responsive that I've had to quit playing several times solely because the controls were so irritatingly clumsy and non-responsive.

    The solo gameplay is great for a couple of
    days. Once you beat it, there's really nothing left to do. Rockstar seems to have invested less of its time with fun gameplay content and more of its time with activities like golfing and tennis, arm-wrestling, and harassing your in-game cell phone with useless calls from equally useless NPCs.

    The online game is exactly the same, except without the day or two of storyline and mission content. It's basically just a sprawling plaza of uninspired mini games of "team deathmatch" and "Capture the briefcase" lazily laid out over the same world map. Playing GTA V Online gives you three choices: 1) Drive around the city and PVP 2) Do the same missions and quests over and over again for cash, or 3) play a better video game.

    I'm gonna go with 3 from now on.
    Expand
  79. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    Where do we start with you Grand Theft Auto five. Well. This is an very good game, To say the least, Its not one of those games you ever want to get off and then you anticipate getting back onto each and every weekend, Its just a game you don't want to get away from. Honestly. Lets get raw with this. Lets go for a list with this one, As there is so much more to talk about.
    Graphics: Some
    of the best I've seen on PS3. Gripping.
    Story: Great, Puts games to shame on its own.
    Shooting: Good. You can flick from Left hand and Right hand, Great for everyone.
    Weapons Wheel: Nice variety, Easy to flick to.
    Driving: Great, LS Customs actually makes a visible difference.
    Clothing: Yes clothing, Good variety.
    Map: Large and fun to explore.
    AI: Best I've seen.
    Cheats and Secrets: Tons and fun. Skyfall and Invincibility are my two favourites, As I literally become an indestructible human missile.
    Voice Acting: Up to par.
    Multiplayer: For me, The best part. Playing GTA as my own character with my mates, Extraordinary.
    Everyone, Please, Look up to this game as your role model. This is THE perfect free roaming game.
    Gentleman.
    Expand
  80. Mar 13, 2014
    6
    This is a great game and I would otherwise give it a 10 but remind me why a game that started out on the PC now is released 6 months later for the platform it started on...
  81. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    If you want a game where you're unbound by the rules of the society with a sh*t load of money, guns, fast cars, planes and boats, this is the best you're going to get at the moment. You're literally thrown into one of the biggest video game maps and given the freedom to do whatever you want. The story itself is really interesting and the missions are just pure gold. The only complaint I have is that I could play through the game quite fast, but there are lot of side missions to do after that. The controls are almost perfect, responsive and make the gameplay fast, smooth and thrilling at times. Even though the consoles are really old, GTA V somehow manages to pull out power to make this game really beautiful. The only thing I have to complain is that once you've done pretty much everything, you have to make your own fun because the game doesn't offer anything interesting.

    Overall, it's one of the best games of this generation but don't expect the fun to last after you've done everything there's to do.
    Expand
  82. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    Grand theft auto took a leap into a different type of story and character development, playing 3 different characters kind of took me out of the story all together, and after I started playing online, I never felt the need to go back, even after 3 months. Still, awesome gameplay, and environment, nothing can touch rock star in that regard.
  83. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    So close to being one of the best games ever IMO, if only another Rockstar game didn't already have that title (Red Dead Redemption). I missed out on playing GTA 4 when it came out, but was a big fan of GTA San Andreas, and was looking forward to GTA V. As many people have already mentioned, despite the massive hype for this game, it not only delivers, but generally exceeds it in many cases.

    The game has all the elements of brilliance, from the fantastic heist setups, voice acting, driving, action/gun mechanics, cut scenes etc, it continues to deliver awesomeness from start to finish. But despite all that, the one thing which constantly stood out beyond all that, was Los Santos/San Andreas itself....essentially - mammoth! And most critically, mammothly detailed and unique! Going on 70hrs+ playing the game, I was still discovering brand new areas. Little nooks in the hills with houses, vineyards, factories, crazy people etc. There is just so much depth to the "GTA 5 World", it surpasses anything any game has ever tried to do beforehand. And it's a step above other big map games (ala Just Cause 2), because it isn't just copy+paste landscapes....every location is unique and it's clear the game designers have spent a lot of time making this right.

    If I had to choose any downside to the game, it's probably only that some side missions are insanely time-consuming for little benefit (aside from trophies) - i.e. Spaceship Parts, Letter Scraps etc. But even then, they give you an opportunity to do some more exploring.

    I'll be sad to leave Michael, Franklin and Trevor behind...
    Expand
  84. Mar 9, 2014
    8
    I think the critics exaggerated with the praises for this game. It is a good game, but that's it. I don't find it ground-breaking, I don't find it incredible, I find it just good.

    The fact that they made 3 characters is a great change from the other GTA titles. You get to see every character's story and how they interact with one another. Good move here.

    The gameplay is good, but not
    very. They improved the fighting/moving a bit, but they regressed at driving if you ask me (the cars moved better in GTA 4). Still, a lot of activities around the city, and the map is fairly big so there are a lot of things to try, but then again, nothing really, really impressive.

    The graphics are the low-point if you ask me. It looks like a slightly improved GTA4. Which is understandable, because otherwise it probably wouldn't have worked on PS3/Xbox 360, but still, why praise it for something that in the end is mediocre.

    Good game overall, had fun playing it. But not near the masterpiece that people are trying to make it seem.
    Expand
  85. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    I love grand theft auto V it improves on every aspect of Grand theft auto IV. Shooting mechanics are better than before, the shooting is somewhat improved. My favorite part of grand theft auto V is the story they have great characters some are Trevor, Lamar, Franklin have different personalitys and great in their own ways. You will probably never get bored Los Santos have many things to do like watching a movie or bike riding or getting a five star rampage with the cops. The online in my opinion is not very fun and i get really bored but if you play with your friends it could be fun for a while. The graphics has improved so much making Los santos fell alive more than Liberty City. I really like this game even though to me it is not game of the year it has a lot of things to do and it's fun Expand
  86. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    2014 and still playing GTA 5.This is R* Head dude now,Online is a blast with friends espicially the jerking move.Campaign is 40-50+ and side is 20-25+.In a nutshell this is a must own game for people who are a fan of gangsters and virtually doing heists.
  87. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Fun in all Senses, this masterpiece guide you to the life of 3 different kind of people to accomplish something together, is really funny how the interact with everything in this gorgeous world, tons os things to do, excellent main missions and a really good on-line companion to add more fun, perfect 10 for me
  88. Mar 5, 2014
    7
    The most over rated game ever! The whole game was made strictly for people who just want to goof off. The developers gives you an absurdly large open world city that allows you to do what you want just for the sake of doing it. Nothing in this game stands out as bing great. The driving in this game is good, but not great. The shooting in this game is good, but not great. The characters in this game are good, but not great. Because their is so muc stuff to do in this game you would expect that this game would provide endless fun. But you soon start to get bored and begin to wonder why you're not having as much fun as should. Another huge problem I have with GTA is the fact that it completely glorifys the three things people love most: sex, drugs and alcohol. The problem is that it attracts some of the worst, most immature gamers around. Overral GTA is good game that suffers from focusing too much on trying to give quantity rather than quality in some of most explicit ways possible (you can even golf). Thus keeping it from being a great game. The only reason it gained as much popularity as it did in the past was beacause it helped popularize mature games (and for no other reason but that). Expand
  89. Mar 4, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is such a disappointment, the game makes everything pretty easy, just a few simple missions before the first heist, I never got into the story, it was really boring, I barely completed the game only for the trophies, which was a pain because of the boring missions, the gameplay is not as funny as previous game, even Grand Theft Auto IV is better than this game, I tried the online, and it's really really boring, bad servers and very glitchy with all those cheaters around, but all because of bugs of the game to get so many RP and Money, just makes the game so annoying to play, but playing with friends is a bit funny for a moment, but gets boring really really fast. It's just the hype. Expand
  90. Mar 4, 2014
    0
    A sh*tty a** game that is so bad and the graphics suck and the story is terrible.aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  91. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    GTA rarely makes appearances with it's releases, but when it does, it's sure to make itself viewable. While a masterpiece, GTA V is not perfect. It has it's share of flaws, and people expected way to much from this game. This game gives a gamer everything it wants; from the gameplay, to the beautiful visuals and it's realistic surroundings, this is simply the best Grand Theft Auto game to date. Whatever you may have found boring or you simply hated in GTA IV, it's not here any longer. The driving is fun, the world is more beautiful, and there's a lot more to it.

    1 - Missions
    A mechanic that made GTA what it is today was it's originality; unlike linear games, the player is free to do whatever is possible in this world. But eventually, you will have to complete the game's missions to complete the game. I feel that with this game, the missions were also better, and worse. Why? The variety offered is simply astonishing. Even through you'll find yourself in a firefight quite often, the scenario is always different, and it always makes a difference between the gunfights. The missions are structured well, and the difficulty is just for the average gamer. Sometimes way too easy, and sometimes just challenging enough that you won't throw the controller out the window. Hardcore GTA fans (including myself) will not find the frustration in missions that is present in GTA: San Andreas. But - the missions are way too scripted. Unlike the prequels, where just like in-between missions, you are offered freedom in missions as well, you won't find that same level of freedom in GTA V. During missions, the game will hold your hand, and if you dare let go; mission failed. There is choice offered; where you can change between characters in missions, and sometimes the character's roles are quite different. But even with that, you won't help but feel that despite such a huge world is offered, you're locked between walls. And let's not forget about the dynamic soundtracks.

    2 - Gameplay
    This is what GTA is all about. From stealing a car, to breaking out a gunfight against the cops, the choices are almost limitless. And every one of them is fun... almost. GTA V gets to be the most satisfying experience when it comes to gameplay, and it has it's share of side-missions, unlike GTA IV, which many people complained about. But some of the side-missions are plain pointless, or don't offer fun. An example of this is tennis, or golf. I've found it to be fun for a while, but I don't understand how did it get a place in GTA. Or there's yoga; which is simply put, plain stupid. Nevertheless, you will always find something to do.

    3 - Graphics/Map
    It's not a graphical marvel, and I have to say, despite Rockstar giving their best, I still think that their best looking game up to date is Max Payne 3. But that's not to say it's not beautiful. GTA IV was considered a beauty, and when I saw how huge and detailed the map is, I was wondering how Rockstar pulled this off. Despite some areas of the game feeling empty, Los Santos is beautiful, varied, full with different people, and the random events, that can go from a man being robbed of it's money, up to biker gangs kidnapping women, just make the game feel even more lively.

    4 - Story
    While certainly not an award-winning story, I personally liked it. The protagonists certainly don't show new, original personalities, but with a game like GTA, it's not needed in my opinion. While GTA IV had a serious, impressive story to follow, GTA V returns to the old times, where it's cheesy, fun, and over the top. And that's exactly how I like my GTA. Without spoiling too much, even if you don't like the story and/or the characters, I have to admit that the story is presented beautifully.

    I believe no game is perfect, and that is true, every game has it's faults, but a score given to a game can be perfect. And I think this is one of those games. GTA V gets a 10/10 from me.
    Expand
  92. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Okay now that I finished the game I will give my review on it. This is 10 times better than GTA 4. I felt like Rockstar learned their lesson and they made this game turned out to be really awesome. I loved the idea of switching characters and each of them having their own story. But here are my downsides. The ending was a little rubbish. Could've been better but its still a good ending and I don't want to spoil it. Also you couldn't buy any safe houses. I mean each character has their own house but come on I wanted them to get better homes. But overall this is the best game I've played so far. I give it a 9.5/10 Expand
  93. Mar 3, 2014
    8
    While the game didn't live up to it's hype, it still turned out to be a pretty good game overall. Nice graphics, good voice acting and the GTA gameplay we all know. Violent, gruesome and over the top, of course, but it wouldn't be GTA without it. If you are a fan of the series I don't think you will be let down, just don't expect the greatest game of all time. Worth your time and money.
  94. Mar 2, 2014
    6
    It was okay. My problem was with the seemingly ruined driving mechanics. I'm not sure if it was just me, but it feels like they dumbed down the driving a LOT, leading to a rather boring experience in what used to be the centerpiece of the game. Even just going around and blowing things up became rather boring, especially without tons of money to buy the higher-tier items. In reality, it's a ton of different things all done in a rather mediocre fashion. Also, it just felt... empty. It's an odd thing to feel in a GTA game but I felt closer to others playing DayZ than I did playing this game. They tried too much and due to the hideous technological constraints of such old and dated hardware they couldn't do what they should have been able to.

    As for multiplayer, you can get considerably more fun on a scale that is literally exponentially larger (2000+ players on a map that's several times larger) for under $10 with the Just Cause 2 multiplayer mod.

    Frankly I played it on the last gen consoles and I don't care to see it come to PC, and I feel like not many others will, either. GTA IV was the best, hands down. Was just okay at best. Who knows, though, if they do more than port the game and decide to exploit the power of the PC platform maybe the game will live up to its full potential.
    Expand
  95. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    By now everybody knows what's so great about this game, and I do believe this is one of the best games I've ever played. However, it does not deserve unadulterated praise. I'll give reasons for this.

    (1) a sandbox should allow you much more freedom than this. For instance, why on earth can't you just rob a store, a feature which previous GTA games had?!?! Why can't you kill just
    anybody?

    (2) getting and losing a couple of wanted stars is too easy, and the police can spawn literally in the middle of nowhere; there's no point in going in the middle of the forest and/or to use a suppressor. This is actually quite unrealistic.

    (3) they should never have released GTA online before it could work properly. This is a shame for such a hyped product.

    That said, it is a great game, and it is most definitely worth its price!! But Rockstar SHOULD take into consideration these things when designing the next title in the franchise.
    Expand
  96. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    i give this game a 6/10. for me it is overrated. sure the city is big and the graphics are awesome but the gameplay is where it lacks. you dont fell anymore like an unstoppable badass like in vice city or san andreas. but its decent.
  97. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    This game was simply amazing in almost every way possible. The missions were awesome and highly entertaining. The story takes about 18 hours to beat. Also there is so much you can do after you beat the game that you can easily spend 100 hours playing it. Online is also pretty cool even though I thought it would be horrible. Overall, I am amazed by how much you can do in this game!
  98. Feb 21, 2014
    5
    GTA V is OKAY. Its not terrible its not amazing. after playing it i feel so bored of just going around and killing people, the game-play is just so slow compared to older games. I do play this game from time to time, but for no longer then MAYBE 5 or 10 minutes. I honestly have more fun playing San Andreas, A game released 10 years ago then playing this game. Overall GTA V isn't the worst game ever, but its certainly not as amazing as it is thought to be.

    Gameplay-4/10
    Graphics-9/10
    Sound-7/10
    Presentation-3/10
    Lasting Appeal- 6.5/10

    OVERALL RATING- 5.9/10
    Expand
  99. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Rockstar yet again proves its excellence in making the optimal game in this generation. While GTA IV was a big tech test, GTA V does everything you couldn't do in the previous game. Every detail, programming, mechanic, everything was build with utmost caution and dedication.

    The story is by far one of the best, if not the best, in the series. You control three totally different
    characters, but still you can't hate them and get really attached to them. A perfect satire of the modern California, explored in various perspectives. The cost of fame, futility, friendship, dubious government's actions... and Trevor Philips.

    Rockstar reached the top of this generation, and makes a daring challenge to other companies throughout the next generations: make it better.
    Expand
  100. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    This is an instant 10 / 10 from me. This is the best PS3 game I have played in current gen
    I hope R* are proud of themselves because I am. The game features 3 main characters: Michael, Franklin and Trevor. They all have their own personalities which I like. The story is epic - I won't spoil it don't worry :D

    Don't get me started on Online! It's amazing! I can already think of 1,000
    words to describe it: awesome, endless, fun, exciting, free, open, realistic and a lot, lot more. Online is what most people crave for when they get GTA V, but I see why. It's just so fun! It's addictive, but in a good way, not repetitive at least. But there is only 1 thing I don't like about online: people who just troll. It may seem too much to ask them to stop, it may be funny at first, but gets frustrating over time, most servers you can hear young children playing this game. It's not bad, but it's really awkward. People drive into you for no reason? Sniping you and killing you even if you don't have a bounty on your head? It's not like they are going to get rewarded for that! But that's not going to stop me from scoring 10 / 10 because it's just THE BEST.

    It's pretty much better than Call Of Duty by over 9,000 miles. Recommended for anyone WHO ARE OVER 12
    Expand
  101. Sep 17, 2013
    0
    It's a big impressive game but when it comes down to it it simply isn't that fun. Grand Theft Auto fans will likely be pleased but it didn't convert me.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    The best way to bid farewell to the retiring consoles is to spend dozens of hours having fun in Los Santos: robbing, abusing illegal substances, breaking all laws and enjoying everything else that GTA V has to offer. And after we finish the game, we should all say loudly: ‘okay, Rockstar girls and boys, it’s high time to make a truly new GTA, not just a gigantic DLC’. [12/2013, p.36]
  2. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    97
    Gigantic and stupidly detailed, GTA V is everything we hoped it would be. Individual components could be a touch better, but when a game does literally everything, nobody can expect perfection across the board. That it even comes close is incredible. [Issue#236, p.62]