Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3605 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, threeLos Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto has definitely gone back to some of it's roots with this addition. I never thought the day would come when we would have thisGrand Theft Auto has definitely gone back to some of it's roots with this addition. I never thought the day would come when we would have this game in our hands, but my it's finally here.

    R* are the sole developers I trust and have blind faith in to make a good game and Grand Theft Auto V is exceptional. The more you play, the deeper you get into the story, the more features you unlock, the more you realize just how much time and effort R* put into it. And it paid off. The world feels alive, the characters are very enjoyable and will make you laugh over and over again.

    And this isn't even it, when Grand Theft Auto: Online launches on October 1st, it will push boundaries even more. The more I play single player, the more I want to play GTA: Online, which I never thought would happen as I am more of a single player type of guy and enjoy making my own fun.

    R* have hit it out of the park with this game and it's sad that PC gamers come into this thread and give the game a negative review just because it's not on PC yet. It will come, I game mainly on PC and I definitely want it on PC. The fact that people come on here just to write a negative review because it isn't on a platform is exactly what proves just how badly you want this game.

    R* I bow before you. Grand Theft Auto V lived up the hype and even exceeded it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Another Rockstar game and yet another masterpiece. For a game of this magnitude Rockstar have really pushed the boat out on this one,Another Rockstar game and yet another masterpiece. For a game of this magnitude Rockstar have really pushed the boat out on this one, considering we are now around the 7 year console life cycle you will be amazed in how far they have come not only for a GTA title in itself but for also how amazing it looks and feels on an 7 year old piece of hardware.

    Despite the phenomenal graphical technical achievements, the game play has also vastly improved over it's predecessors; Thanks to Max Payne 3 they were able to implement the gun mechanics and now the gun shooting is so fluid and responsive which makes a big deal in a big open world crime game. The driving has also been vastly improved; now I know there is a lot of complaints regarding the driving but in my opinion it's definitely a lot tighter and is a lot more enjoyable and fun to drive compared to GTA IV. The activities are more diverse this time, (respectfully because of the huge diverse open world) ranging from parachuting to jet skiing, playing golf to hunting. There is so much to do, you will easily clock a 100hrs maybe even more you will just have to let your imagination run wild.

    However as with any GTA title the story is what the core of the game is all about and I gotta say this is by far the best story/plot in any GTA game ever produced. The missions are so enjoyable to play and they actually make sense now as oppose to some of the mindless pointless missions in GTA IV. There was not a single mission where I was bored and it's very cool to see a lot of references to films of what the missions were based on. The story length might be a little shorter compared to previous GTA titles but I take quality over quantity any day.

    All we can wait for now is GTA: Online and I have no doubt that will also be equally as awesome if not better.

    So what you all waiting for, if you haven't picked up this title go frigging do it no!
    Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    People whats wrong with you? Which game if it not gta v deserve 10 points? Look wider..please)

    Dont look at future and past games.. You
    People whats wrong with you? Which game if it not gta v deserve 10 points? Look wider..please)

    Dont look at future and past games.. You should just pkay this staff
    Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    What a game. The plot is captivating, the gameplay is perfect.

    GTA V was massively hyped, and it's definitely lived up to everyone's
    What a game. The plot is captivating, the gameplay is perfect.

    GTA V was massively hyped, and it's definitely lived up to everyone's expectation. From the first mission to the end, I couldn't fault the execution of both the storyline and the game itself. Switching between the three characters is flawless. The shooting mechanics are vastly improved from GTA IV. The graphics are beautiful. Los Santos is massive. You will not get bored playing this game. For a game this ambitious there are very few glitches, which is amazing considering the seven year old hardware it is running on.

    The only reason I haven't scored this game a perfect ten is because of the online mode. The missions are great, but they become quite repetitive after a while. With many online experiences, it is ruined by the poor servers. The online experience is better now than it was at launch, but it is still difficult to connect to a server a lot of the time.

    However, the offline mode is full of things to do. Main story missions, side missions, tennis, darts, golf, flying lessons, street races - quite simply, the game is packed with great activities. Making Trevor Phillips look as much of a hobo as possible is quite fun too!

    You can get this game at a good price now so if you haven't played it yet, what are you waiting for? I can't wait for a potential PS4 version - it'll look ace.
    Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    This game is breathtakingly fun but it gets drawn out and a bit repetitive, but still worth the money to have this game in your collection.This game is breathtakingly fun but it gets drawn out and a bit repetitive, but still worth the money to have this game in your collection. That being said i loved the fact that rockstar incorporated three playable characters with their own stats, weapons, money and a stock market where you can plan which stocks to buy, with any of the three characters you get to play as. After playing my favorite game this gen, the last of us, i realized that Gta v's story is very predictable and seemed oddly put together (with the number of heists and over exaggerated drama). The story that rockstar had with Gta v felt new but soon declined and made you lose that little bit of accomplishment you had playing through the start of the game. I still think that the lifeinvader mission to be this games' most memorable mission. The ending portion of the game seemed to be much more serious then the rest.. You have three outcomes to choose from for the ending (i won't spoil it) and all three endings felt very lackluster and made me say... Really? All of them felt like put together cliches and it felt really rushed compared to the whole premise of the story. Even the "good ending" tries to make light of the whole situation by making some hard advances on really uncanny and unfunny jokes to take away from the seriousness of the atmosphere, which i didn't like. Don't get me wrong i loved the humor in gta v and found myself laughing my ass off but the endings struck a nerve for me. Honestly take a minute and ask yourselves. Is the fifth installment to GTA, a better or on par storyline, with San Andreas (which is still my favourite GTA)? Of course not. San Andreas wasn't cliche, repetitive and drawn out. San andreas had some extraordinary twists that made you excited, the twists were extraordinary and unpredictable and it actually pulled you into the heart of the characters in it. This game really didn't capture and mesmerize me that much and the characters seemed to be unlikable. That being said the characters personified what GTA was really about, so i looked past my views on the characters. Great game overall, disappointed with the climax and execution of the storyline. I find that gta v is a respectable 8 or a 9. Good job rockstar! Expand
  7. May 18, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just your average over hyped pile of sh*t. A complete failure compared to Grand Theft Auto 4. Plot? There is no f*cking plot in this waste of 60 bucks. Gameplay? The gameplay is a joke. Everything has either been dumbed down or made for casual sh*ts that will play the game for a month and then go back to Battlefield 3.5. The melee system has been completely dumbed down and is also broken as f*ck(This is completely true in the Online) All the characters are either unoriginal and unlikable. The only characters I actually enjoyed were Floyd(who got killed by the worse character), Wade, Micheal and his family. Franklin is just your typical black character that just wants money. The only thing special about him is that he doesn't wanna be a gang banger and his slow-mo driving. Trevor is hands down the worse character in this pile of sh*t. Just your typical rapist, cannibal, psychopath that of course won COTY because the gaming community today is retarded. I gladly took the chance I got and killed him in Ending A. This game has 0 f*cking plot. You just do a bunch of missions and thats it. The only plot is how Micheal's family leaves him and than comes back and the whole Brad bullsh*t. The driving in this game is terrible. Not to mention that the car physics have been completely ruined and made casual. Every f*cking car is a god damn tank now. The funniest feature from GTA4 that Rockstar returned was flying out the car window. AND THEY COMPLETELY BROKE IT SINCE YOU DIE 7/10 TIMES IT HAPPENS NOW. At least it when came to doing extra things in Grand Theft Auto 4, you actually had to FIND them and they were actually pretty HARD. In this overrated pile of casual sh*t, they just mark everything on the map. The random events are nice, I will give them that. Its also nice to mention how much they BROKE this games cops. Actually no, they ain't cops. The LSPD is actually a massive army of super soldier robo cops with owl senses and the aim of f*cking highly trained Spetsnaz. I LOVE how this game talked and talked and TALKED about how there were gonna be so mainly f*cking heists. And what did we get? 6 heists. Oh, I am completely sorry, I mean 4. Since the other two gives you F*CKING NOTHING. HOW DO YOU GO FROM MAKING SUCH GREAT GAMES LIKE GRAND THEFT AUTO 4, RED DEAD REDEMPTION AND MAX PAYNE 3, WHICH ALL DESERVED TO HAVE 9/10 AND 10/10, TO THIS PILE OF SH*T THAT DESERVES NOTHING!? This game is nothing but a overhyped pile of a*s and it can easily be seen that Rockstar payed out the f*cking retards that reviewed this and gave it 9/10 and 10/10. F*ck this game, F*ck the reviewers, and F*ck the fanboys. Expand

See all 738 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: March 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.