Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3280 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    The missions are varied and highly entertaining. They aren't all just repetitive shooting missions like in GTA 4. And there are some really cool heist missions.

    The driving is fluid and fun, more like the driving in the PS2 games.
    The side activities like tennis, golf, shooting range are all very fun. Tennis is my favourite.
    There are many weapons and cars, and both are customizable.
    There is a huge world to explore, with submarine, planes, bicycles and much more.
    Money is useful in this game, and it is fun to work your way up to millionaire status

    GTA V is more like GTA San Andreas than GTA 4, I personally found GTA 4 disappointing but this game brought back the "fun factor". Everything is just excellent, whether your playing missions or just messing around, its super fun.

    10 out of 10
    Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Great game... a "must have".
    You allways have something to do in this game, the scores are great.
    Having several playable characters is very
    funny, specially when you change and the new character is in a funny situation. Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Seriously though, stop reading this and go buy the game right now. The next generation of gaming is here. I have to add more characters however, since it must be 150 long. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto is by far my favourite series type of game but, I have to say Grand Theft Auto V has really made an improvement! from driving or just walking around free-roaming, ect The single player of this game is really great, it has alot of potential and it is alot of fun and I loved it! Although, the online is not the best but, it's alright in my opinion, reason being is that random people randomly kill you for no reason, it takes too long to get an upgrade and in my opinion it's just too hard, and really? 16 player maximum in a huge fricken map? the only thing I really do in GTA Online is do Survival games, I do it mainly for fun when i'm bored and it actually is entertaining for me! and don't mean to alarm anyone but, I just don't know why people think that this game is really bad???? maybe it's because they never really give it a chance, they were just like yeah screw this game and left it at that, yeah that's real mature, I am just ashamed on how people can be so negative these days. Anyways, there should really be heists pretty soon tho, not next year, I just think that's ridiculous! The only reason I wanted to play GTA Online in the first place was to play heists in it but, since it hasn't even been released yet I guess I can't. plus I don't even play this game all that much anymore, some may say that it has got boring and it may be too good to be true but, it is in fact true.

    The reason being that I give this a 9 is that I love GTA for life, I will never hate on it. but it was a bit disappointing, but if you knew me you would know that I am absolutely abscessed with GTA, I have been playing GTA ever since I was 4 years old, and that was when the very first GTA game was out at that time and I have been playing GTA ever since. I have played all GTA games and beat pretty well all of them.
    The activities in this game are, meh some are fun some are not as fun but, that's just my own opinion. Now when I play GTA V, the only thing I do is either beat people up or kill people, just for the heck of it. Sometimes I do an activity if I'm bored of killing people.
    Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    The same gta puts you a lot of of mini games and side and you get bored of them in 10 minutes the campign is kinda good but some say its godd the replay but it is not i even found more fun the new game plus of tlou the driving is normal and shooting mechanics sticky and annoying this game is perfect to play with your friends but this game is far from perfect Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2014
    0
    Game is nothing short of disappointing.The main characters were dull as a rock.The game has no replay value after u finish it.It's the same game 10 years ago.It's just mindless killing prostitutes,stealing cars and that's it.Very generic and bland story.GTAIV and San Andreas blow this game Expand

See all 710 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: September 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.