Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 21 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    65
    The biggest problem with the game is the camera which unfortunately becomes frustrating at certain stages in the game which generally involve combat. Oh well, if you enjoyed the previous Harry Potter games, you might enjoy these but maybe a rent first.
  2. Nov 25, 2010
    63
    The newest installment of the series steps away from the open world approach of the last games and narrows itself to dull, repetitive rail shooter missions. The graphics are not even noteworthy while music and sound are superb as ever. Overall, the game feels extremely simplified due to the restrictions of Microsofts Kinect technology.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    60
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 is not convincing as an action adventure, but as a pure-bred action game it's entertaining.
  4. Nov 16, 2010
    55
    Like a Quidditch player falling from a broomstick mid-match, this installment loses all forward momentum and goes plummeting toward a faceplant at top speed.
  5. Nov 19, 2010
    50
    The game is full of good ideas tethered to a slop of bugs, but more significantly it's never much of anything. It's never varied enough to have interesting combat; it's never open enough to let you explore; it's linear but never driven enough by its narrative to be an enthralling, story-driven title.
  6. Nov 18, 2010
    50
    While the third-person shooter aspect of Harry's latest adventure can be fun, the game's story elements fail to live up to those of its literary namesake.
User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    2
    This game is a very big insult to every Harry Potter's loyal fan. The gameplay is so lame. Some missions are just frustrating (putting a cloakThis game is a very big insult to every Harry Potter's loyal fan. The gameplay is so lame. Some missions are just frustrating (putting a cloak on and checking if one is a Death Eater). The graphic is just better than previous games but is outdated in compared to current game market. The game is not recommended, even for hardcore Potter's fans. The better the movie is, the worse this scrap is. Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2016
    0
    Very boren nothing like the other games with fun. Finished the game in a day and a half and it was all shooting them. Worst game i ever playedVery boren nothing like the other games with fun. Finished the game in a day and a half and it was all shooting them. Worst game i ever played in my life. I rather the other games for harry potter Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    I guess I was immune to all of the bad aspects of this game because I didn't see anything wrong with it when I played it. I pretty much usedI guess I was immune to all of the bad aspects of this game because I didn't see anything wrong with it when I played it. I pretty much used stupefy most of the time and the spell wheel was weird. I'm pretty sure everyone hates this game because it is a movie tie-in. If you're a Harry Potter fan that wants to fight a hundred death eaters, then play this game. Full Review »