Heavy Rain PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2800 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2017
    8
    Veio com uma proposta inovadora..fugindo dos padrões da maioria dos jogos...um jogo com cara de filme..gostei bastante da ideia e com certeza a historia criada em volta dos personagens é bem marcante...um suspense de ótima qualidade.
  2. Jan 4, 2017
    8
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden?
    Dann sind hier meine Punkte.

    Mein persönlicher Score = 82/100
    Mein User Score = 8/10
    Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    Ilyen csodálatos történetű játékot csak nagyon nehezen lehetett akkoriban találni. A szereplők, a történet, az, hogy ki kell találni, hogy ki a gyilkos, mind-mind egy játéktörténeti remekművé tették.
  4. Dec 22, 2016
    9
    Лучшая игра Quantic Dream на сегодня (2016). Одна из лучших игр на Playstation 3. Игра представляет собой адвенчурную интерактивную драму, в которой ваш выбор определит исход истории. Если вы еще не поиграли в Heavy Rain, то немедленно сделайте это. Самое лучшее впечатление вы получите при первом прохождении. Игра имеет 18 эпилогов, и какие вы получите - зависит только от вас.Лучшая игра Quantic Dream на сегодня (2016). Одна из лучших игр на Playstation 3. Игра представляет собой адвенчурную интерактивную драму, в которой ваш выбор определит исход истории. Если вы еще не поиграли в Heavy Rain, то немедленно сделайте это. Самое лучшее впечатление вы получите при первом прохождении. Игра имеет 18 эпилогов, и какие вы получите - зависит только от вас.
  5. Aug 1, 2016
    8
    All right , i finished this game today after having it for 5 or 7 year ro so in my libary. i am not the biggest fan off interactive movies , and while this one does it great wit h ag great story ( a little better then tlou, but tlou again has a far better narrative and character development), good characters and character development , great music. The gameplay is simple , following a lotAll right , i finished this game today after having it for 5 or 7 year ro so in my libary. i am not the biggest fan off interactive movies , and while this one does it great wit h ag great story ( a little better then tlou, but tlou again has a far better narrative and character development), good characters and character development , great music. The gameplay is simple , following a lot qte. What is good is that there a different endings, and you choices will affect who survives or not. Good game recommended

    PS: i am pretty stuck if this is an 8 or a 9. I am at 8.5 the question just is i am i closer to the 8 or to the 9 either way a game that is still recommended to play
    Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2016
    10
    Heavy Rain starts off slowly, but then gets to amazing sequences. Story is all that matters, and it's done perfectly. Ethan Mars loses his passion for life after a tragic episode, but he's truly taken to his limits when the Origami killer, a mysterious serial killer, kidnaps his Shaun, his son. Besides Ethan, there's Madison Paige, an insomniac photojournalist, who gets involved with EthanHeavy Rain starts off slowly, but then gets to amazing sequences. Story is all that matters, and it's done perfectly. Ethan Mars loses his passion for life after a tragic episode, but he's truly taken to his limits when the Origami killer, a mysterious serial killer, kidnaps his Shaun, his son. Besides Ethan, there's Madison Paige, an insomniac photojournalist, who gets involved with Ethan and decides to help him find Shaun; Norman Jayden, a FBI agent investigating the case and Scott Shelby, a private investigator hired by the parents of the Origami killer's victims. These four protagonists are affected by this mysterious figure. And it's all under your control. There are dozens of different endings, just waiting to be played. Go on. Make your choice. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    A beautifully designed game with a very engaging narrative, carefully crafted characters, a heartbreaking story, heart-beating moments, amazing story telling, intense action and thought-stimulating events. It's been six years since this game was released and no other game has yet managed to deliver all that. Highly recommended, not to be missed!
  8. Feb 16, 2016
    8
    I would call Heavy Rain an interactive experience. Far more similar to point and click games than anything else you've experienced. The storyline is compelling and the decisions you make are crucial. Sometimes failing to press a button on time will result in the death of a character. You need to pay attention to details and you can always go back and try to find the different endings. AtI would call Heavy Rain an interactive experience. Far more similar to point and click games than anything else you've experienced. The storyline is compelling and the decisions you make are crucial. Sometimes failing to press a button on time will result in the death of a character. You need to pay attention to details and you can always go back and try to find the different endings. At the time of its release, I would say this game was groundbreaking. As of now, I think it's still worth it if you haven't played it yet. Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2016
    10
    (English and Italian review)
    I'm an old gamer and this product finally give me something different. And that alone is a good reason to try it.
    It is a outstanding adventure, mature theme, really good character design and fast paced (for an adventure game of course). Buy it!!. Be warned thoug that the game contains scenes that some viewers may find disturbing. Come giocatore di vecchia
    (English and Italian review)
    I'm an old gamer and this product finally give me something different. And that alone is a good reason to try it.
    It is a outstanding adventure, mature theme, really good character design and fast paced (for an adventure game of course). Buy it!!. Be warned thoug that the game contains scenes that some viewers may find disturbing.

    Come giocatore di vecchia data sono stato piacevolmente sorpreso dal trovare una ventata di novità in una avventura grafica. Il sistema che i programmatori hanno usato per far progredire il giocatore è originale ed evita i periodi di stanca che possono capitare in una avventura grafica tradizionale.
    Il gioco contiene scene forti, temi maturi, bei dialoghi, una cerca rigiocabilità, tensione.
    Sembra la sceneggiatura di un film. Compratelo non ve ne pentirete!!! Attenzione però perchè contiene scene piuttosto forti ed è sconsigliato a giocatori molto giovani o facilmente impressionabili.
    Expand
  10. Dec 10, 2015
    8
    I really enjoyed Heavy Rain. It is a great game because of the way that the story sucks you in and doesn't stop being entertaining until the very end. There are many choices that affect your path of progression and it gives you a reason to play it a second time. The story is very mature but for adults it shouldn't be missed. I would recommend this game to just about anyone looking for moreI really enjoyed Heavy Rain. It is a great game because of the way that the story sucks you in and doesn't stop being entertaining until the very end. There are many choices that affect your path of progression and it gives you a reason to play it a second time. The story is very mature but for adults it shouldn't be missed. I would recommend this game to just about anyone looking for more narrative in their games. There really isn't a lot that isn't in your control when playing. Don't expect mindless action then cut scenes because this game isn't that. Now I love games and I won't say that most games are mindless but this game is engaging you until the very end to participate in every one of your characters actions. You can hear your characters thoughts and chose what they say and do or at least that is the feeling the developer trys to convey to me personally. I'm not sure they succeed 100% because I actually just beat the game and I probably won't play it a second time. At least not yet. I'm going to move on to other games for now. It's not really a short game either because it took me about 16 hours to beat it. It does sort of have that interactive movie/cut scene feel to it and that works because it's not an action game. It reminds me of telltales games the way that your choices affect the story. Now about the story which is very good and keeps you in suspense until the very end. I personally never guessed who the killer was or what his motives were but I was like wow what a good game when the credits rolled. The graphics were pretty good but I noticed that characters would walk through each other in one scene but it wasn't really a big deal.The voice acting was good and I had no complaints. so yeah it was a good game in my opinion and it deserves the 8 I give it. Expand
  11. Nov 26, 2015
    9
    Heavy Rain

    Game-Play:The game-play is very special because this is an interactive movie.But I rally loved how the game plays. Story:This is the best part of the game the story is amazing and you can really feel the drama this game wants you to feel the story evolves great and you take control of the 4 main protagonists in the game I beat the game in one sit down the first time
    Heavy Rain

    Game-Play:The game-play is very special because this is an interactive movie.But I rally loved how the game plays.

    Story:This is the best part of the game the story is amazing and you can really feel the drama this game wants you to feel the story evolves great and you take control of the 4 main protagonists in the game I beat the game in one sit down the first time because I was really into that awesome story and it took me around 11 hours.Also the game have multiple ending and turning of events based on your choices so it is really worth to revisit the game.

    Graphics:The game looks amazing and really realistic.

    Notes:This is not a game that will please everyone but I think most of people who like I great story and a good crime drama movie will enjoy it very much.This game is a masterpiece and worth the full price.
    Expand
  12. Nov 3, 2015
    10
    OH MY GOD heavy rain is very good
    good story
    good graphic
    good music
    good voice acting
    good game play
    good end
    good start
    and more and more goods
  13. Nov 2, 2015
    9
    Best role-play interactive game on the PS3 that is a must-play for all types of gamers.
    Great characters, good quality voice acting, chilling music and innovative gameplay makes this a one of kind and pioneer for other games (I.e. LA Noire)
    Story is quite in-depth and intriguing, albeit containing a few plot-holes that are never quite explained, but this doesn't detract from the overall
    Best role-play interactive game on the PS3 that is a must-play for all types of gamers.
    Great characters, good quality voice acting, chilling music and innovative gameplay makes this a one of kind and pioneer for other games (I.e. LA Noire)
    Story is quite in-depth and intriguing, albeit containing a few plot-holes that are never quite explained, but this doesn't detract from the overall good quality product from the folks at Quantic Dreams.
    Expand
  14. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    A great game with great graphics and story. Some parts are pretty boring, but after the game you know you played one of these rare masterpieces. For me, the game was much better than the telltale-games showing up these days.
  15. Oct 4, 2015
    10
    One of the best experiences in video gaming. I totally recommend the game, specially to those who are tired of generic FPS or sandbox games. We already have enough of them, this is fresh which I really appreciate. Unfortunately it's only on PS3 (coming to PS4 too as a remaster).
  16. Aug 24, 2015
    10
    best storyline
    awesome
    best storyline
    awesome graphicshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    Expand
  17. Aug 15, 2015
    10
    Amazing game with so many endings. I definitely would recommend to people to see them all. The story is one of mystery and it shows just how strong parental love can be, and the flip side of those who go without it and how they turn out.
  18. Aug 5, 2015
    9
    David Cage's Heavy rain is one of his best works of Quantic Dreams after Omikron: The Nomad Soul and Fahrenheit (Indigo prophecy). The game has amazing story line, great actors, voice actors, unique features, realistic (kind of) actions and a great atmosphere that could catch your attention to the game on its own.
  19. Aug 5, 2015
    10
    One of the best games of the century . A paradise for people who like the intricacies of the plot . Those who say that this is just a game nonsense - beat them in the face.
  20. Jul 31, 2015
    10
    The low scores for this game baffle me completely. Heavy Rain IS one of the most innovative and ambitious games of the 21st century, if not all time. Its infusion of heart-wrenching drama and enigmatic mystery makes that of a perfect combination as the player controls four protagonists in the midst of the reign of an ingenious serial killer. The voice acting is brilliant and real emotionThe low scores for this game baffle me completely. Heavy Rain IS one of the most innovative and ambitious games of the 21st century, if not all time. Its infusion of heart-wrenching drama and enigmatic mystery makes that of a perfect combination as the player controls four protagonists in the midst of the reign of an ingenious serial killer. The voice acting is brilliant and real emotion can be felt through the character's words. The graphics are state of the art and - 5 years later - are as dazzling as ever. The narrative is innovative and it slowly unfolds in perfect manner as the player learns more about the characters as the narrative progresses. The main concern for a lot of players (and its source for many bad reviews) is the gameplay. Many people complained that they found it awkward and difficult but I couldn't disagree more. There has never been anything quite like Heavy Rain's gameplay since Quantic Dream's previous game Fahrenheit. Undeniably clever and smooth controls add to the game's realism. The soundtrack is beautiful, and it really captures the emotion that is pumped through the narrative.
    Overall, this game is a revolutionary work of art that I advise anyone to play.
    Expand
  21. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    In the to 25 games of all time. Beats movies like The Shawshank Redemption which is my favorite movie of all time. Heavy Rain is my favorite game of all time.
  22. Jul 4, 2015
    9
    Gameplay:
    Gameplay consists heavily of quick-time events. If you aren't a fan of them, you should stay away from this game. The game is split by chapters and you take the roles of various characters throughout the story. An interesting aspect of the gameplay is that there is no "game over," allowing you to shape the plot in any manner you wish! You decide who lives or dies, and that will
    Gameplay:
    Gameplay consists heavily of quick-time events. If you aren't a fan of them, you should stay away from this game. The game is split by chapters and you take the roles of various characters throughout the story. An interesting aspect of the gameplay is that there is no "game over," allowing you to shape the plot in any manner you wish! You decide who lives or dies, and that will ultimately impact the ending of the story.

    Story:
    This is definitely Heavy Rain's greatest asset. The story is amazing and is the epitome of an emotional storyline. Ethan Mars' son has been kidnapped and you must find him before time runs out. Along the way, you'll meet various characters and will try to figure out who the Origami Killer is. It's well-written, has great pacing, and interesting characters.

    Graphics:
    I'm impressed with the graphics since we can actually see emotions, wrinkles, and even scars on the character's faces. These are things that are uncommon in most games. The technology used to capture these expressions are impressive and should lauded for the attention to detail it brings to certain scenes. What impresses me the most is the fact that cutscenes are identical to the actual gameplay. However, screen tearing is prevalent throughout the game and can ruin the immersion while playing. It's unfortunate, but it is a big deal since this is a game in which the visuals are a focal point.

    Verdict:
    In order to get the full potential of this game, I believe that you must beat it a minimum of at least three times. You won't be able to see the game's beauty within one playthrough. If you aren't a fan of quick-time events, then this game isn't for you. However, I believe that you would do yourself a disservice by missing out on this game! I highly recommend it!
    Expand
  23. May 25, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  24. May 4, 2015
    9
    Fantastic game. Everything I expected from Quantic Dreams, especially after Fahrenheit: Indigo Prophecy which was very good. It is an experience which you have to try out for yourself.
  25. Apr 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of my PS3 favourites. The atmosphere is really captive; I was truly sweating when the car slipped down from the bridge. The game forced to make more / immoral decisions and touched one's emotions. I think you could not ask for more. Expand
  26. Mar 27, 2015
    8
    Couldn't compete at full retail price (sixty bucks) with games like the Life is Strange and all the Telltale series. The game itself is good and well worth the twenty bucks or less price it goes for now. I do look forward to see what David Cage will do next!
  27. Mar 1, 2015
    10
    If you are looking for a game, don't play it because it's an interactive movie, not like Call of Duty games etc. But that doesn't make this game bad because it has amazingly good and shocking story.
  28. Feb 1, 2015
    9
    I wouldn't really class this as a game, more as a story that you interact with - and indeed, influence. It reminded me of the old Fighting Fantasy books that I used to read as a kid! I became more emotionally attached to the characters than with any other game I've played, and was genuinely upset by the ending that I created! Can appreciate that this won't appeal to all gamers, and I doubtI wouldn't really class this as a game, more as a story that you interact with - and indeed, influence. It reminded me of the old Fighting Fantasy books that I used to read as a kid! I became more emotionally attached to the characters than with any other game I've played, and was genuinely upset by the ending that I created! Can appreciate that this won't appeal to all gamers, and I doubt that I'll ever play this through again, but it was sure enjoyable whilst it lasted. Expand
  29. Jan 31, 2015
    9
    This game is amazing. A story-driven game which is essentially a long movie filled with quick-time events (but much better than sounds). My main problem is it does have a few plot-holes. Very emotionally intense; your decisions will really get to you.
  30. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    Such a great game. Nice graphics, epic story, epic great soundtrack and epic final episode ! I love this game I owe this game. And also I will play Beyond : Two Souls!
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]