Heavy Rain PlayStation 3

Heavy Rain Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2754 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as theHow Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as the Origami Killer - named after his macabre calling card of leaving behind folded paper shapes at crime scenes. Four characters, each following their own leads and with their own motives, must take part in a desperate attempt to prevent the killer from claiming a new victim. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.
  3. The presentation for Heavy Rain is nearly flawless with some stunning mo-cap work, not only for overall character movement and subtle character traits and idle animations, but also in the detailed facial capture and lip-synch.
  4. The excitement and emotion the experience playing Heavy Rain conveys is nothing short of remarkable making it a game that you definitely should pick up for your PS3.
  5. Quantic Dream again brings its unique vision of videogames with Heavy Rain, its latest gem. Maybe it’s not a perfect game, but if you want a deep and engaging history and believable and touching characters this is your game. It’s an incredibly original videogame.
  6. In spite of the negative aspects of the game, I highly recommend the interesting and unique experience that is Heavy Rain.
  7. The controls and interaction with the game world are suspect at best and downright awful at worst. And even looking past that I still come away disappointed. The script is weak, the characters' interactions/motivations are often left unexplained, and the voice acting is mediocre in some places and bad in others. The only thing Heavy Rain really has going for it is the composition of some of the individual scenes, and that's not nearly enough to carry the whole game on its own. So in the end we don't have much of anything except the spectre of what might have been.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 421
  1. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This game alone is a reason to go out and buy a PS3, no other console has a game like Heavy Rain.
  3. PaulS
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    I don't normally vote, but I am truly wondering if any of the people who are trashing this game have actually played it for any length I don't normally vote, but I am truly wondering if any of the people who are trashing this game have actually played it for any length of time. I'm about 60% of the way through the game, and I have been on the edge of my seat the entire time. Without giving any spoilers, the story is fantastic, and you are often forced to make split-second decisions that have lasting repercussions throughout the remainder of the game. This game is action-packed, albeit interactively, so there is no Halo-style shooting or God of War-esque button-mashing. The action contained in these scenes, though is frantic and fast-paced, and the story will continue on if you fail and your character dies. Lastly, the voice acting (which seems to be a major complaint) does sound a little strange, but you have to consider the fact that these are not American actors. Overall, a fantastic game with a thrilling and tense story. Well worth the price of admission. Expand
  4. DylanR
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    When I see all these '0's I'm actually ashamed. Ashamed that these people are involved in the same gaming community as When I see all these '0's I'm actually ashamed. Ashamed that these people are involved in the same gaming community as me..albeit with their heads stuck up their butts. But none the less this game deserves at least a 9; the Metacritic score does do it justice. The main thing you need to keep in mind when approaching this type of game is maturity. The story is intriguing and even more so are the characters...love the P.I. btw. Sure the tone on the voice acting can seem a little out of place sometimes but what do you expect from some low payed 'extra' sitting in a room with cameras surrounding them while they read from a script. Though much of the voice acting is spot on (see Scott Shelby) And as for the presentation, it can be choppy at times but for a game this ambitious it is easily permissible. Let me leave it at this...If you like Adventure games, then you should absolutely check this game out. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Its a really good game with a solid story and multiple endings, the only thing wrong with it is the controls, there is nothing really standIts a really good game with a solid story and multiple endings, the only thing wrong with it is the controls, there is nothing really stand out about this game but if you're looking for a game with a good story and decent graphic for the PS3 anyways then i would definitely recommend this game. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To make it clear, Heavy Rain is more a incredible thrilling movie than a videogame. It has a lot of very intense scenes and quiet a few choices to change the story line. The only downside for me is, that after the first playthrough it loses a bit of his "magic" and it took my several months to play it again - but still I play it since release. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2016
    0
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control is your
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control is your game.
    2) You like bad movies that make no sense with ridiculous plot holes. Maybe Troll 2 is a movie you'd love.
    3) Your mental development was stunted in some way before birth or sometime after. In which case, I'm sorry. I just would've thought that professional publications would hire more capable people. Weird. VERY weird.
    Expand

See all 421 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews

    Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 23, 2010
    The year's most talked-about Playstation 3 title is part game, part interactive fiction. We go deeper inside the reviews to find out what all the buzz is about.