• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2490 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as theHow Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as the Origami Killer - named after his macabre calling card of leaving behind folded paper shapes at crime scenes. Four characters, each following their own leads and with their own motives, must take part in a desperate attempt to prevent the killer from claiming a new victim. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.
  3. The presentation for Heavy Rain is nearly flawless with some stunning mo-cap work, not only for overall character movement and subtle character traits and idle animations, but also in the detailed facial capture and lip-synch.
  4. The excitement and emotion the experience playing Heavy Rain conveys is nothing short of remarkable making it a game that you definitely should pick up for your PS3.
  5. Quantic Dream again brings its unique vision of videogames with Heavy Rain, its latest gem. Maybe it’s not a perfect game, but if you want a deep and engaging history and believable and touching characters this is your game. It’s an incredibly original videogame.
  6. In spite of the negative aspects of the game, I highly recommend the interesting and unique experience that is Heavy Rain.
  7. The controls and interaction with the game world are suspect at best and downright awful at worst. And even looking past that I still come away disappointed. The script is weak, the characters' interactions/motivations are often left unexplained, and the voice acting is mediocre in some places and bad in others. The only thing Heavy Rain really has going for it is the composition of some of the individual scenes, and that's not nearly enough to carry the whole game on its own. So in the end we don't have much of anything except the spectre of what might have been.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 400
  1. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most goodI got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most good looking games I have ever played. Since it provides move support, the game drags you into the story line and make you feel like that you are really the character you are playing, every action of our results in different cons, so the game is moreover a suspense that is never broken by having a look at any walk-through on youtube, some of our action may even result in killing the in-game character, the only bad thing you will notice about this game is that there is not much of a replay value to the game and the game lacks muliplayer mode.
    But most games aim at removing any stress or tension which they fail to do, lets take god of war for example, it is more of a nightmare to me in which you have to tap the bloody button and swing some **** i really feels like **** on the other hand heavy rain is a very pleasant game and I recommend this game to every PS3 owner because I think, it is one of the ps3 titles which can dominate the 360 and the move support gives it a nice reason for why you should buy it
    Expand
  3. RandyB
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Heavy rain is...,well perfect! i bought this expecting a different way of storytelling and what i got was so much more, this game goes above Heavy rain is...,well perfect! i bought this expecting a different way of storytelling and what i got was so much more, this game goes above and beyond and achieves what few games have, the wolrd and its characters are are so rich that you will want to play this game for ages to come. I didnt expect to like this more then bioshock 2 and mass effect 2 but after playing through multiple times i just have too say, this is the best game i have ever played! Expand
  4. JordanA.
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    This was one of the most creative games i've ever played. Without spoiling anything, it's a fairly short game (7-8 hours), with This was one of the most creative games i've ever played. Without spoiling anything, it's a fairly short game (7-8 hours), with lots of unexpected plot twists, and good story telling. It's very addicting, and even after the credits roll, I was still hungry for more. I gave it a 9/10, because there are a fair amount of unanswered questions and potholes in the story, and because i beat it in less than 2 days. for sure worth playing, if not buying Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    I've seen and heard people sh*t all over this game because its a because it is not really a game...its more a movie.A f*cking good one atI've seen and heard people sh*t all over this game because its a because it is not really a game...its more a movie.A f*cking good one at that,I cant tell you how good this game is how interesting the characters are and how awesome it is to see each ending.I loved the fact that one choice could change the whole game like my first play through I was not quick enough and a character died, instead of giving me a restart screen that was it.That character was gone for the rest of the game and that is pretty awesome,the game really cheap now if your a ps3 owner GET IT!. Expand
  6. RubenK
    Mar 6, 2010
    8
    Er werd aan dit spel toch heel wat ruchtbaarheid gegeven en Sony zelf beweert dat dit hun beste spel ooit is. Eerlijk gezegd kan ik dit Er werd aan dit spel toch heel wat ruchtbaarheid gegeven en Sony zelf beweert dat dit hun beste spel ooit is. Eerlijk gezegd kan ik dit slechts tot op een bepaald hoogte volgen. Grafisch en game-technisch gesproken is dit inderdaad een game van de bovenste plank en boeit de story line tot op de laatste seconde. Bovendien wordt er toch op de emoties van de gamer gespeeld. Ik heb zelf het spel 2 keer gespeeld om even te testen of de intelligente story line ook werkt en inderdaad de tweede keer lag de uitkomst van het verhaal toch helemaal anders. Naargelang je keuzes speel je ook meer of minder verschillende scènes. Los van dit alles zijn er toch een aantal minpunten die het vermelden waard zijn. De game komt in het begin nogal verwarrend over, het verhaal op zich is niet helemaal duidelijk en het helpt dus zeker niet dat je met 4 totaal onafhankelijke personages speelt. Verder duurt de overgang van één speldeel naar een ander (lees van één spelkarakter naar een ander) toch wel soms tot 1 à 2 minuten wat een beetje de atmosfeer breekt. Ook werd er reeds bij andere gamers vastgesteld dat het spel crasht, iets wat toch niet zou mogen bij dit soort hoogstandjes. Persoonlijk heb ik dit een 4-tal keer voorgehad, niet zo leuk dus als je net midden in een spannende scène zit. Ook de manier hoe de controller gebruikt moet worden in deze game, bracht hier en daar wel wat ergernis. De manier hoe je je personages moet laten lopen is verre van handig. Ook het feit dat je hele toetsencombinaties moet gaan gebruiken (al dan niet vasthoudend) om je personage bepaalde activiteiten te laten uitvoeren maken deze game niet erg gebruiksvriendelijk. Als laatste punt toch ook even aanhalen dat indien je een paar foute beslissingen maakt of één van je personages sterft, tja dan heb je echt wel pech want dan speel je dit speel op een regenachtige namiddag in één ruk uit. Je kan er natuurlijk voor opteren om het spel opnieuw te spelen en proberen beter te doen of andere beslissingen te nemen, maar dan nog speel je het spel in een mum van tijd uit. Ik had toch verwacht dat dit spel langer zou meegaan, zeker voor het prijskaartje wat er aan vasthangt. Besluit: al bij al zeker geen slechte game als je van adventures houdt, maar toch nog heel wat ruimte voor verbetering. Expand
  7. ChrisC
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & story is what matters! And the gameplay is just a series of quick time events, the prologue is incredibly dull & the story doesn't start getting interesting until near the middle & overall this game is just boring. I mean Heavy Rain tries its hardest to be a video game & movie at the same time & ends up failing miserably! Now I know everyone is going to claim I'm a 360 fanboy, but I'm not! I'm just someone who is voicing his opinion on this overrated & dull game! Expand

See all 400 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews

    Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 23, 2010
    The year's most talked-about Playstation 3 title is part game, part interactive fiction. We go deeper inside the reviews to find out what all the buzz is about.