Homefront PlayStation 3

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    86
    Maybe the tasks are familiar, but the gritty concept of the game and its great multiplayer experience makes Kaos Studio's battlefield a great one. Fans of team-based online shooters will want to spend a lot of time on Homefront.
  2. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    77
    Homefront is a pretty short shooter with an unique setting and a great story. The game is original in most aspects, but way too short and the graphics are a bit poor. There are also a lot of annoying bugs that's making the game impossible to play.
  4. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Ultimately, Homefront a mixed bag. There's a lot of good in the single player game, weighed down by older mechanics and events that pull the player out of the excellent story. Meanwhile, the multiplayer is fairly terrific, but would have been served well by going a little further with the Battle Commander.
  5. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Homefront's campaign misfires all revolve around poor pacing and a lack of identity. It's not as polished or as fast-paced as Call of Duty: Black Ops or Bulletstorm, but it's also not as tactical or true-to-life as Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising. Its multiplayer, where those issues aren't a problem, is worth a look, even if you have to pony up for $10 when renting it without an online pass code.
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    78
    Homefront is a strong multiplayer game with a weak single-player campaign trying to drag it down. So if you like your FPS online then you'll have a great time, otherwise you might want to pass despite all the hype.
  7. Mar 24, 2011
    75
    It's a solid enough game that has its flaws. There have been better on the market in terms of technical prowess and overall well thought out gameplay options, however it's certainly worth experiencing.
  8. Mar 21, 2011
    82
    Homefront manages to deliver a decent FPS experience with a strong multiplayer experience and an interesting story arc.
  9. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    It's one of those instances where if you go in with high expectations, you're bound to be left feeling a tad empty, but if you're more moderated in your anticipation, you'll be better off. The campaign is worth playing; there's no doubt about that...But there are extenuating circumstances…
  10. Mar 19, 2011
    80
    A huge surprise. Whilst we went into it hopefully, we didn't quite expect such excellent gameplay in such a detailed world, and we certainly didn't expect to find revolutionary multiplayer concepts.
  11. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    A decent title game a campaign that doesn't meet expectations, but with a great and unique multiplayer mode.
  12. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    I'll say it right now: if you're considering buying Homefront today, it needs to be for the multiplayer. The campaign should only serve as a small distraction that you might want to goof around in if you're bored and have already gotten your money's worth out of the multiplayer.
  13. Mar 17, 2011
    85
    The Multiplayer is fine how it is, the way I see it. As long as it maintains a healthy community of active players, it'll be around for a while.
  14. Mar 16, 2011
    85
    Homefront is shocking, realistic and atmospheric. Unfortunately, your fight for freedom ends quickly. Good thing there is a sweet multiplayer mode.
  15. Mar 16, 2011
    83
    Taken by itself, Homefront's campaign is just plain disappointing. A promising concept ultimately falls flat in the fast-paced, "I don't have time for reading" first-person shooter genre. Once you've accomplished all of the objectives in single-player, the game just "ends". Someone obviously wanted to leave room for a sequel. That person is saved by Homefront's well-designed multiplayer.
  16. Mar 15, 2011
    81
    The singleplayer-campaign may have nice story ideas and its iconic moments, but with only three to four hours of playtime and its disappointing and confusing ending, Homefront is certainly not worth your money, if that's what you are mainly interested in. If you are into multiplayer, it's a completely different story though! Nice Maps and Modes, exciting battles and a motivating XP-system make Homefront a worthy diversion until the release of BF3.
  17. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    It is not without some minor freshman bumps, but the overall package is one of the more compelling so far in 2011.
  18. Mar 15, 2011
    84
    If you've been looking forward to Homefront since last year's E3 like we have, you'll be glad to know that Kaos has delivered a truly fantastic shooter. And if you're the kind of gamer that values quality over quantity, then you'll definitely want to check it out.
  19. 80
    Homefront, with its gripping premise and well-orchestrated battles, is all about ambiance and emotion. This is a great starting point for a new series, and if Kaos Studios can fix some of the minor issues, Homefront could potentially topple its well-established competition.
  20. Mar 14, 2011
    77
    In the end, Homefront is a solid experience even if it doesn't quite deliver what it promised. As a FPS, it's competent. As a story device, it does tells a tale, just not quite the way it was billed out. The issues Homefront has are not terrible individually, though some may think twice once they are all lined up side by side.
  21. Mar 12, 2011
    83
    As a five-hour solo-player game, it's clearly rental only. For online players the value is far greater - a solid, varied, Call of Duty rival, with fresher weapon load outs, plus vehicles and drones... Shocking but short, this is an intense shooter with a lack of finesse. [Apr 2011, p.66]
  22. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    Homefront doesn't provide a long single player campaign, and the good narrative doesn't feel fully developed. On the other hand, multiplayer is interesting and funny.
  23. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Apr 15, 2011
    80
    We came to Homefront for its front lines and its heart, and it's here the war is won. [May 2011, p.80]
  24. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 12, 2011
    80
    Great multiplayer. Quality, yet anorexic single-player. Knock [20] points off this score if you're an offline-only gamer. [April 2011, p.68]
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 77
  2. Negative: 29 out of 77
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    2
    I have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamersI have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamers of this atrocity. Firstly, Single player campaign, to put bluntly, GASH, too short, poor graphics, dialogue, lack of originality, empty, cliche ridden characters, just poorly designed really. It's glitch ridden, full of invisible walls, and at times i've had to reboot my ps3 because my character freezes in one fixed position and i'm unable to shoot or run, if i look around there is nothing obstructing me, i'm just locked. Oh, and the game has frozen on 3 separate occasions too. Online i was hoping for more, but again it's a mess. Having on countless occasions emptied entire magazines into enemy opposition, only for them to turn round and kill me with ONE SHOT, i have no other course of action other than to trade in this piece of **** Again online i have experienced being unable to move, thus being gunned down whilst i'm wide open, getting killed by, er ........... NOBODY!, literally, respawn in a building, walk a few feet then crumple in a bloody mess, no killcam, no, YOU WERE KILLED BY MR SO AND SO, just dead. What the **** up with that? So please, save your money, buy something else, KZ3, Black Ops, whatever, just not this, people knock COD, yes it has flaws, few don't, but compared to this steaming pile of ****e it's a **** masterpiece. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    i didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if thei didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if the online play was any good. i was looking forward to another shooter game that could rival CoD and Bad co but this is not going to be the game that changes how ppl feel about CoD and i hate to say it but stick to CoD and maybe just give this game a rental try Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    First impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression isFirst impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression is predictable- somewhere between the movie 2012 and a late night infomercial. If you like either, you might not mind. The plot has all the basics: a hot chick, a tough guy, and certain promise of driving a vehicle, flying some kind of aerial combat mission, and a sniper level... then of course, the predictable story hook: getting you angry and in search of revenge, and feeding you some immediate action... But overall the game falls short of carving a new niche for a FPS. As far as the gameplay mechanics- Maybe I'm de-sensitized from some exciting recent shooters which offer unique tools like cover and team tactics... But in playing the first few levels, it feels like the game has gone back a few years in gameplay development, borrowing from games like Half Life or Rainbow 6... but overall it feels like some OG Doom game or something similar. Nothing comparable to Modern Warfare 2 or Medal of Honor (though I'm sure each have their critics too). Overall it feels like "just another shooter" with a cheesy, predictable story, B-side dialog script and acting, and poor gameplay mechanics. I guess THQ thinks we will be satisfied by giving us a new setting and decent graphics to shoot in to tie us over until the next shooter comes out... they got my $50 that I wish I didn't spend, so I guess I'll play it until the next game comes out. But I won't be waiting on pins and needles for the next offering from THQ. This one's a dud. Full Review »