User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 163
  2. Negative: 53 out of 163

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2011
    7
    Let's get straight to the point, Homefront is not a "0" game. Any reviewer who has awarded this game a "0" is clearly under the influence every FPS title should be Battlefield, COD or Killzone. However, if you paid the full RRP price for Homefront then its perfectly understandable for you to be feeling robbed, espeically if you purchased the game for its single player because there's notLet's get straight to the point, Homefront is not a "0" game. Any reviewer who has awarded this game a "0" is clearly under the influence every FPS title should be Battlefield, COD or Killzone. However, if you paid the full RRP price for Homefront then its perfectly understandable for you to be feeling robbed, espeically if you purchased the game for its single player because there's not much of it! That's not to say it's a bad game. I got this game for a relatively cheap price and even then I still wanted more from the game, in a single player sense as there really should be more game time, put it this way if you think COD MW/MW2 are short then your in for a rude awakening here. The idea behind Homefront is very brave but kind of genius! It's a breathe of fresh air from certain other FPS, its the year 2027, America has fallen and is now controlled by a the two unified Korean nations who have established themselves as the most dominant superpower in the world. Join the resistance and fight for freedom as "home is where the war is." And after all the big build up and hype you will be left with the thinking, really? Thats it? The game stops just s its seemingly get started and its hugely frustrating because you will find yourself engaged in Homefront as it is really immersive. The concept is wonderful its just the execution that is lacking like many have said however the atmosphere that KAOS have managed to create is gritty, heartfelt and shocking right from the beginning from when your passing by innocents being executed in the streets and hearing a child break their hearts afterwards it was a bold move but it pays off as you get the sense of how horrific times are. The history/back story shown at the beginning of the game is also fantastic giving you an insight into the rise of Korea. That aside, its far from the most attractive game. Sure there are some great locations to play through but the graphics department is lacking. Importantly because of how short it is, its enjoyable while it lasts. It plays a treat like most other shooters its solid enough and sticks to tried and trusted formula. The shooting system is simple and engages you from the off, so there can't really be any major complaints regarding gameplay other than the lifespan, one mission see's you controlling a plane overseeing an important task which brings variety, whilst a couple of missions see you take control of Goliath, a semi-autonomous attack vehicle. Its far from boring, aside from the few cliches thrown in with characters (the patriotic, egotistic Connor) although the only complaint I have is it that it takes to long for you to really get a connection with the characters, i.e very near the end! Fortunately multiplayer is the opposite. It's superb! Hugely engaging it will have you entertained for hours on end it really is some truely excellent stuff. Again, there are no significant modes added however Homefront does have its own individual innovation with a battle points system which is rewarding as you can purchase new weapons and vehicles by taking on objectives and getting kills. You really can't go wrong online with Homefront it pushes itself up their with the very best and is a worthy competitor. Overall, i'm not disappointed with what Homefront had to offer in single player but just offended really by how short it turns out to be because the potential is there for a solid game and just when you really start to get going it ends, from nowhere! That being said its a good alternative and something refreshing, if THQ can learn from the mistakes and a sequel is made, they could very much be on to a winner because the online side is solid and spectacular. To put it simply if you crave a FPS for its storymode then Homefront isn't your answer, rent it if you must because its worth a look however if its multiplayer that wets your appetite then dive in because you can't go wrong here. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    i didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if the online play was any good. i was looking forward to another shooter game that could rival CoD and Bad co but this is not going to be the game that changes how ppl feel about CoD and i hate to say it but stick to CoD and maybe just give this game a rental try
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Do not buy this game. Graphics are really bad, horrible character models, lighting effects, textures, and environments. Sound effects are quite awful as well. Vehicle combat is fun, and the multiplayer is balanced. However, it has alot of glitches and feels laggy most of the time. Playable, but easily forgettable campaign that has been overhyped to the max. A cheap call of duty knock offDo not buy this game. Graphics are really bad, horrible character models, lighting effects, textures, and environments. Sound effects are quite awful as well. Vehicle combat is fun, and the multiplayer is balanced. However, it has alot of glitches and feels laggy most of the time. Playable, but easily forgettable campaign that has been overhyped to the max. A cheap call of duty knock off with a touch of Battlefield (vehicles). Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    Generic, not so fun. The gameplay feels sluggish. Graphics are horrible. Its just not very fun. Story isn't too interesting either.
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    This game feels like it was purposefully made with its flaws, so that it could be called "Modern FPS games in a nutshell". Why? Because the game shares almost EVERY problem 99.9999% of the modern FPS games share.

    Lets start with singleplayer. Way too linear? Check. Stupid AI? Check. Way too scripted? Check. Way too short? Check. Ok, that went quick. What about multiplayer? Vehicles
    This game feels like it was purposefully made with its flaws, so that it could be called "Modern FPS games in a nutshell". Why? Because the game shares almost EVERY problem 99.9999% of the modern FPS games share.

    Lets start with singleplayer. Way too linear? Check. Stupid AI? Check. Way too scripted? Check. Way too short? Check. Ok, that went quick.

    What about multiplayer? Vehicles too powerful compared to other battle point rewards? Check. One-wait. This is going to take too long to just list. Let me shorten that by checking only two things. Way-too-low-skill-gap-made-by-creating-the-damn-kills-way-too-easy-to-acquire? Check. This game sucks? Check.

    But it has dedicated servers! Lets uncheck "This game uses only p2p system." Uncheck. But it still sucks!
    Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    Whoops accidentally posted the Dragon age 2 review. Well anyway the basic summary from the PC mag I read said great on PC but watch out for poor ports on consoles. THIS IS A FACT.
    I played this on PS3 and it sucked, repetitious unhelpful dialogue ie. shoot the hummers, see previous statement multiple times. You will ask yourself there arenâ
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    0
    Single played is only 5-7 hours, and horribly designed.
    And I don't want to play with some smirmy **** called "Multi-Players."
    Games with good multi-players (TF2, GMOD, Assasins Creed : Brotherhood, ECT ECT) At least have decent single-Player. Don't buy this **** If you can stand the **** called "Multi-Players" And can stand a terrible, short, and awkward campaig- Infact this isn't for you
    Single played is only 5-7 hours, and horribly designed.
    And I don't want to play with some smirmy **** called "Multi-Players."
    Games with good multi-players (TF2, GMOD, Assasins Creed : Brotherhood, ECT ECT) At least have decent single-Player.
    Don't buy this ****
    If you can stand the **** called "Multi-Players" And can stand a terrible, short, and awkward campaig- Infact this isn't for you even if you can, Because you're **** insane!
    Expand
  8. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    This game is very under rated. Yes, the campaign is short, but its really good, and story driven. But the real fun lies within the multiplayer. It is very fleshes out, lots of guns, perks, and customization on the guns. The only problems i have is the graphics could be a lot better, needs more maps, and its sometimes hard to find a match with enough people to play. But a very fun game.
  9. Apr 30, 2011
    4
    I struggled to get on with it but that may be down to me just being bored with FPS's now. It had some great set pieces and harrowing levels with real punch BUT it just didn't resonate with me. Maybe it helps to be American to have that inner feeling of oppression and defense of one's country. Were it based in the UK it may have felt more relevant and less OTT.
    I am awaiting an FPS which
    I struggled to get on with it but that may be down to me just being bored with FPS's now. It had some great set pieces and harrowing levels with real punch BUT it just didn't resonate with me. Maybe it helps to be American to have that inner feeling of oppression and defense of one's country. Were it based in the UK it may have felt more relevant and less OTT.
    I am awaiting an FPS which isn't just a COD clone. Could Battlefield 3 be it?
    Expand
  10. Oct 11, 2012
    5
    Essentially, the plot boils down to North Korea vs. USA. North Korea, in the near future, begins intensifying its nuclear arms management, and eventually threatens South Korea to the point of annexation and unification, leading to the formation of the Greater Korean Republic. This radical change of hands in the Far East goes unopposed as the rest of the world deals with severe problemEssentially, the plot boils down to North Korea vs. USA. North Korea, in the near future, begins intensifying its nuclear arms management, and eventually threatens South Korea to the point of annexation and unification, leading to the formation of the Greater Korean Republic. This radical change of hands in the Far East goes unopposed as the rest of the world deals with severe problem involving the global economy: peak oil is reached, forcing a surge in international gas prices. The United States and allies are forced to retreat from military actions in the Middle East, causing a surge of territorial clashes between middle-eastern governments, both over land, values, and oil. In the US, things become dire as gas prices rise and oil quantities dwindle, leaving the US military and government paralyzed to do anything but try to take care of itself via the National Guard. All the while, the Greater Korean Republic strengthens its totalitarian hold on East Asia, claiming territory on the mainland, then invading Japan unopposed by allied coalitions. Before long, the KPA invades the US mainland in its crippled state, dominating the western coast and heartland, irradiating the Mississippi River, and ousting the American government entirely. You play as... some guy. I honestly can't remember his name, but it's something underdramatic and anglo-saxon; you don't even have the opportunity to see your character in so much as a mirror, and your mute self has no definition whatsoever - quite boring, I must say. What is known is that you're a pilot in Montrose, Colorado, post-occupation, and caught up in a KPA roundup of American citizens for the war-effort. You're fortunately sprung my Resistance leaders, and then join in a clandestine effort to reclaim San Francisco from Korean hands in cahoots with a still active cell of the US Army. Gameplay is very much like a theme-park-rollercoaster-ride. Go here, get on this vehicle, oh now you're not there anymore, pick up that gun, look out bullets, oh geez a grenade, crawl here, shoot that, et. al. It's all very simplistic, and nothing you haven't encountered before in any FPS. And let it be said that the Guerrilla (or extra-hard) difficulty mode is the most frustrating thing you will ever play thru, as enemies only aim at you, and seem to have superhuman accuracy and damaging abilities (the game is best played on Normal or Hard). The graphics are lovely, but what game doesn't have lovely graphics these days? The sound is actually quite fascinating, and it felt like quite a bit of time was spent into some of its nuances. There's one scene in particular where you can look on as Montrose is gunned down and bombed out by Korean helicopters, and the explosions and gunfire in the distance is quite haunting. The real appeal to this game is definitively its campaign mode. With the same writer as the award winning films Apocalypse Now and Red Dawn, the plotline delivered is outstandingly well conceived, and is actually extremely eerie how plausible this Korean takeover is, if give the thought under the game's circumstances. A wealth of backstory is delivered through collectable news clippings, which is a bit of a downside. However, the game is extremely well conceived, written, acted, and delivered, with excellent use of juxtaposition, so the plentiful action throughout the game never seems too overwhelming. At times, the game pushes on modes of cliché a bit too strongly; however, these downsides are forgivable for the dense backstory and the relief in an FPS from the fusillade of space marines cluttering up the gaming market. One of my favourite features in the whole game was Goliath, an automated ATV with a mounted turret and RPG-launcher. You use it in several scenes, and it gives you a strong feeling of superiority whenever you're in control of such a wickedly cool piece of futuristic military hardware, given the option of controlling the rockets at whichever targets you choose. The only downside of the great campaign is its shortness. While this speedy game seems like an eternity on extra-hard difficulty, it's a mere breeze on any other mode. I enjoy how the game never really repeats itself and stays exciting throughout. But by the time it ends, you may feel a little put off by its length, and craving more. Although, I'm sure there are bound to be new incarnations of this game in the future... way to plan out those sequels, there, THQ. Expand
  11. Mar 17, 2011
    6
    First of All, I'm really tired of seeing people rating a game "0" when CLEARLY, it does NOT deserve it. Just because you can't open the doors, or the length of the game is short, or you just personally don't like the story, doesn't mean the game is a serious "0". All aspects of the game need to be taken into consideration. This is NOT the best FPS out there. its "O.K."! The graphics areFirst of All, I'm really tired of seeing people rating a game "0" when CLEARLY, it does NOT deserve it. Just because you can't open the doors, or the length of the game is short, or you just personally don't like the story, doesn't mean the game is a serious "0". All aspects of the game need to be taken into consideration. This is NOT the best FPS out there. its "O.K."! The graphics are mediocre. The sound is 'alright'. The story has a good concept, but it doesn't quite catch my attention (personally). Online is Actually pretty good! I can see a lot of hours being spent online because the variety is great. GOTY? Negative! ....But definitely worth some time if your looking for a FPS to play. Expand
  12. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    10-Presentation; Well written story, amazing atmosphere, and well built characters with interesting dialogue and personality. The menu's are well laid out.
    7-Graphics; Nothing new or exciting. Looks dated.
    9-Sound; Amazing sound effects, great voice acting, and excellent music make this the best sounding shooter I've ever played. 9-Gameplay; Excellent levels and controls, and great AI
    10-Presentation; Well written story, amazing atmosphere, and well built characters with interesting dialogue and personality. The menu's are well laid out.
    7-Graphics; Nothing new or exciting. Looks dated.
    9-Sound; Amazing sound effects, great voice acting, and excellent music make this the best sounding shooter I've ever played.
    9-Gameplay; Excellent levels and controls, and great AI and mechanics.
    8-Lasting appeal; The single player is short, but the multiplayer will take months to unlock everything. And the hidden newspapers throughout the campaign add to the replay value.
    Overall-8.5/10
    Expand
  13. Jul 7, 2011
    8
    I just picked up the game today and looking at some of these comments alot of these issues have fixed. So far the only glitch I have encountered are my stats getting reset randomly during online play. That is lame but you can fix it by backing up your game profile to a usb drive every now and then. Otherwise I have not froze once, enountered much lag or anything game breaking. HonestlyI just picked up the game today and looking at some of these comments alot of these issues have fixed. So far the only glitch I have encountered are my stats getting reset randomly during online play. That is lame but you can fix it by backing up your game profile to a usb drive every now and then. Otherwise I have not froze once, enountered much lag or anything game breaking. Honestly this game is for multiplayer gameplay as the singleplay is laughably short and stupid. So with that being said it is its fun experience and something new from the mega casual copy and pasted call of duty clones on the market. If you find this game on sale I recommend you pick it up right away as they are planning on patching the game further and are coming out with DLC soon! Expand
  14. Dec 19, 2014
    7
    Very short but also enjoyable. The story is alright but nothing special, just the cliche good and bad, black and white blablabla with quiet forgettable characters. The gameplay is solid but also nothing special, just a average experience. If you have some hours to kill, you should give this one a try.
  15. May 20, 2011
    2
    so disappointed in this game. no more dedicated servers and it's still unplayable online, it looks terrible (really terrible) and the campaign is frustrating and short. it reminds me of the old woody allen joke: "the food at that restaurant is awful." "i know! and such small portions!"
    if you can get into a game online it feels like homefront wants to be MAG (which is one of the most
    so disappointed in this game. no more dedicated servers and it's still unplayable online, it looks terrible (really terrible) and the campaign is frustrating and short. it reminds me of the old woody allen joke: "the food at that restaurant is awful." "i know! and such small portions!"
    if you can get into a game online it feels like homefront wants to be MAG (which is one of the most awesome online FPS ever, IMO) but comes nowhere close. one aspect of HF's online play that i did find cool was the drones. also the points/in-game rewards system was much better than COD's (the best for my money is medal of honor's system which utilizes game points, not just kills, for streak rewards.)
    overall there are some good ideas here but the end product is just a waste of those ideas.
    Expand
  16. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    Another game that I genuinely wanted to like... but couldn't. I was hoping for a title that would break the CoD stranglehold on the FPS market. Instead all I got was yet another sad clone. The gameplay is EXACTLY the same as CoD, EXACTLY. Only difference here being slightly stronger story potential. Slightly and potential, being the operative words here, and when you consider theAnother game that I genuinely wanted to like... but couldn't. I was hoping for a title that would break the CoD stranglehold on the FPS market. Instead all I got was yet another sad clone. The gameplay is EXACTLY the same as CoD, EXACTLY. Only difference here being slightly stronger story potential. Slightly and potential, being the operative words here, and when you consider the "attempting to be controversial" trash that has passed for CoD fare lately, that's not hard. Unfortunately, the promise of the story is never fulfilled... the game ends, cliffhanger style, just when things start to get interesing... an obvious alert to a potential sequel. A sequel I won't be playing. Let's be honest, though, if this was titled CoD:Homeland... all of the pro reviewers would be singing it's praises, lol. Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2011
    1
    Terrible game. I beat the multiplayer in one day, and it was boring and a rip off of MW2. Played the multiplayer, it was mediocre, but it takes more than a crappy campaign and mediocre multiplayer to make a good game.
  18. Apr 27, 2011
    4
    Wow. I had such anticipation for this game. I am a member of an adult gaming community of over 1000 members. Over 40 of us were getting this for PS3. We all ran out and got it and within 3 days half of the 40 had completely given up on this game. Between poor party making, poor servers, terrible lag, and being unable to join a match at all, the experience was more than justWow. I had such anticipation for this game. I am a member of an adult gaming community of over 1000 members. Over 40 of us were getting this for PS3. We all ran out and got it and within 3 days half of the 40 had completely given up on this game. Between poor party making, poor servers, terrible lag, and being unable to join a match at all, the experience was more than just frustrating. So as one of the few who ended up keeping the game in hopes the issues would be fixed (they still aren't), I experienced the far too short and outdated graphics of the single player campaign. I would NOT buy this game if youre in the market for a new game. While the multiplayer definitely has potential, the problems far outweigh the good. Matter of fact, this may be the last game I pre-order.....EVER. Expand
  19. Apr 27, 2012
    7
    They should've made the story longer. 3 hours makes it a little off and updated graphics. Honestly it looks like Fallout and Oblivion and those are already showing their age. Well since it is a 32 player game I guess that they had to cut down the quality in order to have the 32 cap work I guess but there is lag issues still but they are some what fixed.
  20. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Everyone Talks about Call Of Duty, Halo Or Medal Of Honor, but really what they should be thinking about is HOME FRONT, which in my eyes is the best FPS ever made
  21. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    I give Homefront a generous 8. and i will start with the campaign. i am an avid fps shooter fan, i try to play them all, and with that said i beat homefront in just under 3 hours. if your good at shooters this is going to be one of the shortest games you have ever played. the graphics are really bad, the voice acting is ok, and the premisce of the story is awesome. unfortunately this storyI give Homefront a generous 8. and i will start with the campaign. i am an avid fps shooter fan, i try to play them all, and with that said i beat homefront in just under 3 hours. if your good at shooters this is going to be one of the shortest games you have ever played. the graphics are really bad, the voice acting is ok, and the premisce of the story is awesome. unfortunately this story needed to be one of the best, since it was written and inspired by red dawn and apocalypse now, my biggest problem is that i am so sick and tired of the silent protagonist! nothing rips you right out of the story like a mute emotionless doll, also there isnt a whole lot of dialog to this game to begin with which is unfortunate. the gameplay is solid. (you may have to tweak sensitivity) this game also has fairly realistic damage, it only takes a couple shots to kill someone. if you dont play multiplayer this game is easily a 5 at best. but onto the multiplayer. the multiplayer is great! im going to use comparisons to describe homefronts mp. take battlefield bad company 2's lvl design, mix in call of duties adictive class and leveling system, and throw in some new twists and you have yourself a really good online shooter. now the twists are things called battle points that you earn for doing things for your team, or racking up kills, you spend theses points in battle to buy rpg's,flak jackets, predator missiles, uavs, and so on which is pretty cool. they also have a game type where one of your team mates is the leader and they can issue squad commands and pair team mates off to go complete tasks. I really suggest renting this game, because its not for everyone, this really is a good game and if it sounds like your cup 'o' tea it might be worth a purchase. i bought it and I dont regret it one bit Expand
  22. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    This is no way a bad game, it also is in no way an amazing game.

    Homefront main selling point was supposedly the campaign being written by the great John Milius (Red dawn, Apocalypse now), but it seriously falls short both in content and overall feel. You're supposed to be a guerrilla fighter against insurmountable odds, but often you mow down loads of enemy forces with ease and we reach
    This is no way a bad game, it also is in no way an amazing game.

    Homefront main selling point was supposedly the campaign being written by the great John Milius (Red dawn, Apocalypse now), but it seriously falls short both in content and overall feel. You're supposed to be a guerrilla fighter against insurmountable odds, but often you mow down loads of enemy forces with ease and we reach the common place CoD style objectives and run through of the campaign saturating the market. If you can appreciate what they try to do both story and game wise, you'll enjoy the campaign.

    Multiplayer is where the title shines boasting both common and new ways to dominate online. Think Battlefield feeling like Call of Duty and that's what you get with the multiplayer component. Expect a balanced and great multiplayer that draws a lot from modern shooters, while taking out the negative aspects.

    It's worth picking up based on the multiplayer alone if you're that kind of customer, but if you plan on picking it up for the singleplayer expect to be disappointed by its length and depth.
    Expand
  23. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    I have to say I am totally shocked about the review I have been reading. I broke down and bought it despite all the horrible review and I was so glad I did. Not one issue can I complain about except that it was pretty short but not as short as I was expecting. No problems when it came to the frame rate, hit detection was on point and guns had a nice sound to them. I can honestly say II have to say I am totally shocked about the review I have been reading. I broke down and bought it despite all the horrible review and I was so glad I did. Not one issue can I complain about except that it was pretty short but not as short as I was expecting. No problems when it came to the frame rate, hit detection was on point and guns had a nice sound to them. I can honestly say I did not have any glitches that made me want to write about it. No it didnt implement any new ideas but to see Amercia in such a devastating and ridiculous situation was very enjoyable. I would say its your typical FPS with unique story and without a doubt, worth a run though at least once. Expand
  24. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    Stop encouraging them. Buying games like this just encourages them to keep doing it. It is a popular scheme nowadays to just copy another game entirely, hype like no other, add a pre-order bonus, and rake in the launch day money.

    They will NOT patch, they will act like the game doesn't even exist.
  25. Apr 1, 2011
    1
    What a disappointing game this turned out to be. I was so looking forward to this and after that final trailer I was hooked. I started out playing MP and loved it! However I was shocked by how bad the graphics were. I thought Black Ops graphics were bad but this took it to a lower level. This game looks like a year 2000 game. Play a couple of FANTASTIC hours of Killzone 3 SP or MPWhat a disappointing game this turned out to be. I was so looking forward to this and after that final trailer I was hooked. I started out playing MP and loved it! However I was shocked by how bad the graphics were. I thought Black Ops graphics were bad but this took it to a lower level. This game looks like a year 2000 game. Play a couple of FANTASTIC hours of Killzone 3 SP or MP and then come back and play Homefront and you will be shocked! I was having fun and then 2 level ups later the lock up/freezes started. These freezes made me hard reset my PS3! 17 freezes later I started to really worry about my PS3's health. So at level 10 I stopped playing MP and started looking at the forums. A ton of gamers like me were experiencing the same problem. The wait for the patch started. Finally a patch came and made the freezing worse. 25 freezes and the MP is unplayable. I cannot tell you how many times I sat in a lobby by myself waiting for players. It also froze on my many times while I was waiting in the lobby! I was so disappointed and angry. With MP dead I started the SP campaign hoping they would get a patch out by the time I completed the SP. I started SP on Guerrilla mode which is the hardest. There were only a few areas that I had trouble with. The SP was extremely short and I took my time. I was able to only get near 6 hours out of the SP on the hardest mode!!! The story had a great start and then just fizzled to a lifeless mess. The Characters were horrible and the pacing was atrocious. You could never run ahead of your friends because you would instantly get killed. If you waited for them it would take forever to get to the next segment because they would walk and I am talking about a very slow walk! I didn't care for any of them and just wanted to get through the game. The banter between my teammates was very poorly written. The game had the worst abrupt ending that made me think that they didn't have any idea how finish the game. I immediately read 2 days after I got the game that they were already making Homefront 2 and that they would make the SP longer if the players wanted it. I am sitting here reading this crap and thinking why not put the effort into the first game before you start making or talking about a sequel!!! Seriously the end of the game was bad. It will take Homefront 1 and 2 SP portions to equal a true "1 Game" SP experience. Well, I finally got fed up and returned the game after a week of 30 PS3 freezes. Thankfully A*mazon was able to give me a full refund. A*mazon is my number 1 place to buy my games after this fiasco. Please if it says KAOS Studios DO NOT, DO NOT BUY THE GAME! This company took the Massively Multiplayer idea of raking in the premier first weeks money and then moving on. Right now, even though I don't have the game, went to their forums and there is still no fix for the freezing and lonely lobby issues. EPIC FAIL!!! Oh yeah, I gave it a 1 because when the MP worked I had a great time. Expand
  26. Jul 23, 2011
    7
    I don't understand why there are so many negative reviews here, I like this game. Yeah, the single player campaigns quite short, but at least there was a unique storyline. How often in games are Koreans the bad guys?! Although the ending was poor, I was sat there saying to myself 'was that it?'.
    Multiplayer saves the single player really, good level design and a good mix of vehicle and
    I don't understand why there are so many negative reviews here, I like this game. Yeah, the single player campaigns quite short, but at least there was a unique storyline. How often in games are Koreans the bad guys?! Although the ending was poor, I was sat there saying to myself 'was that it?'.
    Multiplayer saves the single player really, good level design and a good mix of vehicle and hand to hand combat make it a pleasant experience. Ground control can be a little unfair as the team who gets the first round win pretty much always wins overall. The 'battle points' system rather than killstreak rewards is also another good feature as it rewards team players more for their actions, such as kill assists and aiding the capture of a control point. A good job I'd say.
    Expand
  27. Apr 18, 2012
    7
    Homefront is an enjoyable fps with a good story, but there are a few problems with it. The campaign is short like almost all the new fps games. This is disappointing because the plot is interesting. However the campaign has a lot of memorable moments. Gameplay-wise the game is fun just don't expect anything different from other fps games except the story. Same with the graphics, it looksHomefront is an enjoyable fps with a good story, but there are a few problems with it. The campaign is short like almost all the new fps games. This is disappointing because the plot is interesting. However the campaign has a lot of memorable moments. Gameplay-wise the game is fun just don't expect anything different from other fps games except the story. Same with the graphics, it looks good but it isn't revolutionary. Expand
  28. Aug 12, 2014
    4
    One of the worst games I have in my shelf. The story is short, it's not catching, graphics are bad and I found the idea of using Koreans as the evil ones very childish, because I see it as an attempt of the developers to make this game 'special' in some way. Let me explain better: usual FPS' evil character are Russian, and that's fair. I love Russian people, but I say that because I canOne of the worst games I have in my shelf. The story is short, it's not catching, graphics are bad and I found the idea of using Koreans as the evil ones very childish, because I see it as an attempt of the developers to make this game 'special' in some way. Let me explain better: usual FPS' evil character are Russian, and that's fair. I love Russian people, but I say that because I can see a reason for using Russians as enemies: since Russia and America have always been in competition/war in the '900, I find it fair to use Russians as the 'evil ones' in American games set in '900 (or they just shifted the idea to modern days). But why Koreans? The reason is not even explained in the game, there's just a war. Fight it. Kill them. Game completed. Expand
  29. Mar 17, 2011
    3
    Concept: 10
    Execution:2
    Graphics: 2
    Guns:2
    Story:8
    Gameplay:5
    Online:2
    Verdict: 3.5
    Absolutely one of the worst games I've ever played. I think it's almost as bad as ET for the Atari 2600.
  30. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Homefront hade some high expectations but does not deliver.Presentation is horrible with some very bad graphics.Characters here yoiu will hate and you wont be able to stand them.campaign is way too short and stupid.Online is horrible and boring and you will be doing the same thing over and over.This game is a giant waste of time.Gameplay is repetitive.However it does deliver a compellingHomefront hade some high expectations but does not deliver.Presentation is horrible with some very bad graphics.Characters here yoiu will hate and you wont be able to stand them.campaign is way too short and stupid.Online is horrible and boring and you will be doing the same thing over and over.This game is a giant waste of time.Gameplay is repetitive.However it does deliver a compelling story.Overall it is stupid and a big waste of time.DO NOT BUY OR RENT THIS HORRIBLE GAME. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  2. May 17, 2011
    40
    I'll admit that I've played games that are technically worse than Homefront, but I have not played a game that irritated me as much as this in a very long time.
  3. There isn't really a climax. It just finishes, coitus interruptus-style. [May 2011, p.114]