Hotline Miami Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami reeks of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using yourStep into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami reeks of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using your wits to choreograph your way through impossible situations. Its visual style, a driving soundtrack, and a surreal plot will have you question your own thirst for blood. Bash and blast through over 20 multiscreen levels with 35 unique weapons and collect 25 game-altering masks. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    100
    Each level in Hotline Miami begins with a choice – which rubber animal mask will you wear? Pixelated, haunting renditions of a variety of animals are represented. Dog, insects, donkeys. Which would you prefer? It’s a powerful and completely cosmetic decision that blends simple, fast action mechanics and surrealist narrative to an incredible accumulation.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    92
    It’s not for everyone (even one of our own editors described it as “barf-tastic” at one point) but if you let its hooks into you, you will discover one of the most addictive, rewarding, crazy-ass games of recent memory.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Aug 12, 2013
    90
    All you really need to know is that Hotline Miami is one of the best, and hardest to master, indie games to ever grace a PlayStation. That said, Hotline Miami still needs to be a permanent fixture on your PS3, and the Vita version executes train trips without mercy. [September 2013, p70]
  4. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 27, 2013
    88
    The ultra-violent indie hit Hotline Miami has found its way unto our PlayStation 3 an Vita and it is a drug infused combination between GTA, Metal Gear, neon lights and animal masks. Yes, you should play this. [September p.91]
  5. Play UK
    Jul 23, 2013
    85
    Aside from some control issues, this is an essential for the adult gamer. [Issue#233, p.76]
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    82
    Hotline Miami is pure gameplay, a videogame with personality and bloody heart.
  7. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    It encompasses the audiovisual elements, the neon graphics and low-rez music, and the joyous bloodiness of early shooters. But at the same time it also encompasses how dehumanising and routine the old games were – how the violence was immature and gratuitous and just a way of dressing up limited gameplay mechanics with visceral feedback to actions.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Mar 12, 2015
    10
    This is what we need, unique original games. Game is brutally hard so if you do not like instant death with one hit please stay away this gameThis is what we need, unique original games. Game is brutally hard so if you do not like instant death with one hit please stay away this game is not for you. HOWEVER, you will be missing out with some of the best music in a video game plus the most satisfying feeling when completing a level. Only problem with this is the unprecise controls at times but a part from that, this is a violent mess you should definitely play. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    This game is great. It's 80's themed style and music go perfectly with it's over-the-top bloody violence. I have been playing for weeks and amThis game is great. It's 80's themed style and music go perfectly with it's over-the-top bloody violence. I have been playing for weeks and am incredibly addicted. I highly recommend this game. It is definitely difficult, but that's what makes it so special. It holds a special place in my heart. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    I love this game, at times it can be horrifyingly scary others it can be a fast paced action packed kill fest, but either way you'll stillI love this game, at times it can be horrifyingly scary others it can be a fast paced action packed kill fest, but either way you'll still enjoy it. Just don't play it if you get sick at the sight of squished squirrel on the road. Collapse
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    A truly fantastic game. I can't imagine it's for everyone, with its over the top gore and retro aesthetic/game play, but if you're up forA truly fantastic game. I can't imagine it's for everyone, with its over the top gore and retro aesthetic/game play, but if you're up for that, then give this game a go. It features one of the best soundtracks in gaming history with tracks from Perturbator, M O O N and Sun Araw, giving it an excellent 80s vibe as you explore and shoot/slice/clobber through the mysterious world of Hotline Miami.
    The story; while not entirely apparent, seems to purposely keep players in the dark to elude to some sort of enigma that keeps the entire game shrouded in suspense. This works as a great motivator to beat Hotline Miami even if you don't care for getting high combos and scores. There aren't many games like Hotline Miami so full of interactivity yet also with such a fast pace; want to use the shotgun a guy just dropped after you smashed his head in, or a brick you found on the floor to be lobbed at three thugs in succession? You can.
    I'm not some goreaphile like some folk who obsesses over having ultra detailed blood and guts in their games, but the gore certainly does add some extra dimension to this game. It just fits the overall atmosphere and brutality of it all; thereby only enhancing the experience. If you want something very different yet adrenaline pumping, exciting and full of fast paced and unrelenting action, definitely try Hotline Miami. It's an experience you won't swiftly forget.
    Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Fast, fun, simple and addictive with clever retro 80's design work and great soundtracks to accompany it. Proof that simple graphics andFast, fun, simple and addictive with clever retro 80's design work and great soundtracks to accompany it. Proof that simple graphics and simple intuitive gameplay work well. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    Addictive gameplay and extreme blood, but the graphics sucks, I see indie games with incredible graphics (journey, limbo). The difficult isAddictive gameplay and extreme blood, but the graphics sucks, I see indie games with incredible graphics (journey, limbo). The difficult is very hard, you die many times and the story is a big piece of Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    0
    Being killed after one hit just doesn't work in a game as inprecise as this. I do not recommend this to anyone because you will die at the first try..

See all 32 User Reviews