inFamous: Festival of Blood PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2011
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 135
  2. Negative: 4 out of 135

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Sucker Punch's Halloween follow up to Infamous 2 is extremely satisfying. It takes the Infamous 2 shell and adds in new powers and abilities, plus a few new enemy types. The new powers are stay simple (if they got any more amazing, the game would have to be disc based) and really show the Suck Punch style. Having the ability to fly really shows potential for later games (if a third mainSucker Punch's Halloween follow up to Infamous 2 is extremely satisfying. It takes the Infamous 2 shell and adds in new powers and abilities, plus a few new enemy types. The new powers are stay simple (if they got any more amazing, the game would have to be disc based) and really show the Suck Punch style. Having the ability to fly really shows potential for later games (if a third main game is ever made, that is). The plot line is simple enough that you don't need to play the other two games, and the user made content system shines with the new cut-scene tool. The two user made missions that are integrated in-game are not even necessary to play; a quick system reset or even logging out of PSN disables them. The story lasts over an hour, but with more collectibles added in game, you can spend three times that, plus the UGC tools and missions add near infinite replayability. Even if it sold for twice the price, the game would still be necessary fun. There's a reason that it was the #1 PSN game for months. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    Got this game for 5$. Easy game to get all the trophies for and has some decent gameplay. First Infamous game and I had some fun. The open world is basically a backdrop for missions, there is not much to do besides user generated content when you are done the game. Not impressed by the frame rate however.
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Probably the best downloadable game I have ever played great value & horror theme would love a direct sequel to this. Cole as a vampire is great flying is fantastic. The vampires you fight are more like steroid injected Nosferatus than twighlight pusspyres. The game has a great length for the price & is extended by some superb user content. The user content & unlockable extras push thisProbably the best downloadable game I have ever played great value & horror theme would love a direct sequel to this. Cole as a vampire is great flying is fantastic. The vampires you fight are more like steroid injected Nosferatus than twighlight pusspyres. The game has a great length for the price & is extended by some superb user content. The user content & unlockable extras push this over the edge only Rockstars dlc games are on this level ( Although this is a stand alone product.) Expand
  4. hii
    Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome for just 9.99 $ buy it NOW!!!
  5. Mar 27, 2015
    8
    Included free with the Infamous 2-pack and totally worth the playthrough. Not as good as 1, 2, or Second Son, but you will enjoy it if you enjoyed the others.
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    For $10 I can't believe I've been missing this. I missed it in October and decided to get it now since there are less big releases lined up to suck my wallet dry and it's loads of fun! I love how much effort went into redesigning the look of the city for the night of halloween. The new powers are fun and the new enemies are also well thought out and different from anything else previouslyFor $10 I can't believe I've been missing this. I missed it in October and decided to get it now since there are less big releases lined up to suck my wallet dry and it's loads of fun! I love how much effort went into redesigning the look of the city for the night of halloween. The new powers are fun and the new enemies are also well thought out and different from anything else previously fought in the series. This is a stand alone product which has it's pros and cons just because I would love to have the UGC assets in with Infamous 2 but with the size of the city, the new looks and feel, the UGC ability this is worth much more than $10. and people who complained about the UCG missions, it's just to show you what YOU can do as far as making missions. I didn't mind not having voice acting all the way through. There is enough to satisfy. Overall one of the best downloadable games ever. And trust me once you finish the story it's only just the tip of the iceburg. get into UGC and you will be having tons of fun. Like LBP in full 3d with a super powered character and tons of awesome enemies. Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    9
    I bought this downloadable game to see if I would like the inFamous series, it was only $9.99 and if I didn't like it I wouldn't be so upset about the purchasing of it. I'm happy to report that I loved it and that I'm dying to play the main games. I found it to be humorous and action packed, and while it may not be all that long I found myself easily getting distracted by things likeI bought this downloadable game to see if I would like the inFamous series, it was only $9.99 and if I didn't like it I wouldn't be so upset about the purchasing of it. I'm happy to report that I loved it and that I'm dying to play the main games. I found it to be humorous and action packed, and while it may not be all that long I found myself easily getting distracted by things like trophy hunting, searching for the collectibles, or just goofing off around the city, there's a surprisingly large amount of content here for $9.99 and after you complete it you get free roam of the city to collect everything and for the stuff with UGC missions, I was thoroughly impressed with it and I don't see why fans of the series wont highly enjoy (other then the difference between the length of this and the main game), so I recommend the purchase. Expand
  8. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    While areas could be more polished, there is no doubt that this inFamous: Festival of Blood is an amazing game. The story follows a generic styled ghost story which, like all good ghost storys, will flip itself on its head at times. But the story just acts as an excuse for giving Cole a bunch of Vampire styled powers and chucking in some amazing gameplay. The game feels like a HollywoodWhile areas could be more polished, there is no doubt that this inFamous: Festival of Blood is an amazing game. The story follows a generic styled ghost story which, like all good ghost storys, will flip itself on its head at times. But the story just acts as an excuse for giving Cole a bunch of Vampire styled powers and chucking in some amazing gameplay. The game feels like a Hollywood block buster in its action pieces. Especially against the "first bloods". The user-generated content is back., its pretty damn good, and the beautiful graphics also return. But the best thing here (baring in mind the price) is the massive open world and its buzzing atmosphere. Much better than anything I saw in Red Dead redemption. Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    i think festival of blood is the best collection of infamous, but i think the vampire thingy doesnt really cling to infamous, infamous is supposed to be a electric power game and than suddenly it brings out the idea of vampire. But if u ditch the part where it doesnt make sense, everything is pretty good in the short little game. i like the ending for festival of blood instead of that sad,i think festival of blood is the best collection of infamous, but i think the vampire thingy doesnt really cling to infamous, infamous is supposed to be a electric power game and than suddenly it brings out the idea of vampire. But if u ditch the part where it doesnt make sense, everything is pretty good in the short little game. i like the ending for festival of blood instead of that sad, good karma ending in infamous2 Expand
  10. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    I wouldn't have though a Halloween themed vampire DLC would happen in this game, but it did, and it's fun.
    First off the story is very cliche, which surprisingly, is a good thing! What? Well the story of this DLC never really happened, and is a crazy story Zeke tells to impress a girl at a bar. So fitting for Zeke's character, that's why.
    There is no karma so some of that inFAMOUS feel
    I wouldn't have though a Halloween themed vampire DLC would happen in this game, but it did, and it's fun.
    First off the story is very cliche, which surprisingly, is a good thing! What? Well the story of this DLC never really happened, and is a crazy story Zeke tells to impress a girl at a bar. So fitting for Zeke's character, that's why.
    There is no karma so some of that inFAMOUS feel is gone, but the gameplay is still there. It's a DLC after all. The vampire powers are fun. The game has simpler upgrade systems and stuff like that. The map is the 1st island of New Marais, which is decorated and fun to explore. The vampire enemies are kinda hard to fight and it brings a bit of a different feel to the DLC altogether.
    Fun DLC to one of the best games ever, not much else to say.
    Expand
  11. Apr 29, 2017
    8
    Although it was initially a DLC, it was so good that ended up being a game per se.

    Personally, i liked Festival of Blood more than inFamous itself. The vampire aesthetics in characters and settings is particularly attractive, and gameplay is quite varied despite being a short game.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 6, 2012
    90
    A fright-filled ride worth sinking our fangs into. [Jan 2012, p.79]
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    79
    Thanks to the hit series True Blood and the Twilight-movies vampires are hotter than ever and the people from Sucker Punch have just delivered their own festival of blood. This is a nice extension to the main game, even if it only lasts for about four hours. [December 2011, p.100]
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 9, 2011
    83
    A short, but entertaining stand-alone halloweenesque action-adventure for the electric superhero Cole. Kill the vampire queen before dawn. It's a bit too easy for inFamous-veterans, though. [Dec 2011]