Journey PlayStation 3

Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the world of Journey, the third game from indie developers thatgamecompany (creators of "flOw" and "Flower"). Journey is an interactive parable, an anonymous online adventure to experience a person’s life passage and their intersections with other’s. You wake alone and surrounded byEnter the world of Journey, the third game from indie developers thatgamecompany (creators of "flOw" and "Flower"). Journey is an interactive parable, an anonymous online adventure to experience a person’s life passage and their intersections with other’s. You wake alone and surrounded by miles of burning, sprawling desert, and soon discover the looming mountaintop which is your goal. Faced with rolling sand dunes, age-old ruins, caves and howling winds, your passage will not be an easy one. The goal is to get to the mountaintop, but the experience is discovering who you are, what this place is, and what is your purpose. Travel and explore this ancient, mysterious world alone, or with a stranger you meet along the way. Soar above ruins and glide across sands as you discover the secrets of a forgotten civilization. [thatgamecompany] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    Journey isn't a game - it's an experience. The few hours that this complete gem contains are completely breathtaking, and cement Thatgamecompany's status as visionaries.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    100
    After playing Journey, I couldn't get it out of my head for days. Journey goes left, where every other game goes right; the game is a crafted experience that has been built with such care and attention that it easily transcends the label of "game" and expands into a broad, delightful experience.
  4. Mar 2, 2012
    90
    Journey is a defiant bridge between art and game, managing to emotionally connect without being cloying, and succeeding in being mysterious without becoming pretentiously vague and obfuscating. Journey's interactive, visual, and aural elements work together, rather than fight with each other, in order to provide a flowing, seamless, influential, and utterly exhilarating experience...This is interactive art. This is how it's done.
  5. May 12, 2012
    90
    Journey is short, very short, clocking in at a little over an hour. But that hour is an hour of unique and magical experiences.
  6. 90
    Journey may be short, but it will leave you entranced for the entire ride. You will go from being mystified to intrigued to moved to much more. Throw out your expectations for platforming games and enjoy either the loneliness or the community in the desert of anonymity.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    40
    It mostly reminded me of some of the dull and barely interactive bits of Uncharted 3. I think the lesson here is that deserts are often poorly suited to games without dune buggies...There's no challenge and no real gameplay, which isn't necessarily a criticism. It's sort of like Shadow of the Colossus without any colossi, or Ico without the little girl.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 373
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Are you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in aAre you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in a different clothing? Or are you just plain fed up of all that DLC and penny pinching that is plaguing the industry these days? Then let me tell you, you need this game!

    Save this game for a rainy day where your feeling a little melancholy, a little tired of the world around,
    close the door on society and make sure no one can interrupt you for the next two hours and be absorbed into what will be the most touching two hours of your gaming life!
    You will embark on a journey with another, they will become your video gaming soul mate for the next 2 hours. Both will share an understanding, like two people who speak different languages but can communicate just by knowing what the other person is gesturing. This is gaming nirvana and it has given me a little faith back in video games.
    When its done like this no other medium can speak to you this way! I'm afraid companies like this are in a minority but by god am I going to support them to put out more games like this. Ive stood up and applauded my favorite bands, Ive even stood up and applauded my favorite movie in the theater! But never and I mean never have I stood up and applauded a game after I have completed it, that is until now and I'm not ashamed to tell you that is exactly what I did...even shaking my own head in disbelief of what I was doing!....this piece of art is THAT good!
    Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Journey could be, but won't be, the beginning of a new type of video game. Every HUD bar, stat number, and dialogue option is replaced by theJourney could be, but won't be, the beginning of a new type of video game. Every HUD bar, stat number, and dialogue option is replaced by the raw emotions that the game will wring out of intelligent players. It's designed, down to the last grain of sand, to create senses of dread even though you can't die, experience even though you'll only play for two hours, and friendship even though you can only communicate with a whistle. The game's scenery provides the most obvious joys as it switches between golden deserts, kelp forest-like caves, and icy mountains. This is only the surface though, as Journey's most heartfelt joy comes form the multiplayer. Although many may not see it this way, the developers have crated the first troll-proof game. you can play with other humans online but you get no gamer tag, no twelve year old swearing in your ear, and no way to shoot you into the grim reaper's backyard Left 4 Dead style. Anyone who is not interested in bonding with another anonymous human being will simply not play or ignore your character. Journey's intent with multiplayer is clear and brilliant, especially when, at one point int the game, players sticking close to each other will be forced to walk down a narrowing crevice, which eventually turns their two silhouettes into one and symbolizes the new, simple, and strong friendship it has just created. Journey is a joy to all those who see their hearts as crackling fireplaces rather than diesel engines for military vehicles. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Nothing to talk, just buy it. Definitely the best indie game ever made, and it is a title that you should buy on PlayStation. ThatgamecompanyNothing to talk, just buy it. Definitely the best indie game ever made, and it is a title that you should buy on PlayStation. Thatgamecompany really has potential, and I love their games. Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Like all other thatcompanygame productions Journey is something else. Thou short, the game makes it up with a sublime sound-score and superbLike all other thatcompanygame productions Journey is something else. Thou short, the game makes it up with a sublime sound-score and superb visuals. Its surprising how attached you can feel to random travelers you meet along the way. In terms of quantity the game is just right, its meant to be played repeatedly. Its one of those cases of quality over quantity. I had never written a review or bothered signing up for metacritic, I felt compelled to honor the game. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    A very unique game. I loved the flow, the feeling of a mystical middle eastern land where the background music put me in a very serene frameA very unique game. I loved the flow, the feeling of a mystical middle eastern land where the background music put me in a very serene frame of mind. It should be noted that I normally love FPS and dislike most RPG's but the music and motion flow in the demo caught me and I bought the game. Yes it was a tad short and for those expecting a big boss fight or massive sparks-flying end it may have been a bit of a downer but some experiences are not about blowing up a giant bad guy... it's the JOURNEY. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I could go into great, nonsensical, detail on the many reasons as to why you should play this simply magnificent game but I will only give youI could go into great, nonsensical, detail on the many reasons as to why you should play this simply magnificent game but I will only give you one; you will have never played anything like it before, and I doubt you ever will again. Unique, emotional, brilliant and enjoyable. The only way to understand how good this game is is to organically experience itself, not by reading the words of other critics. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    0
    This isnt even a game its 90 minutes long and its $15 horrible deal there is almost no gameplay and no story if you gave this goty then youThis isnt even a game its 90 minutes long and its $15 horrible deal there is almost no gameplay and no story if you gave this goty then you are a idiot Expand

See all 373 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.