Killer Is Dead PlayStation 3

Killer Is Dead Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killer Is Dead is a title from the demented mind of celebrated game creator, SUDA51, serving as a spiritual successor to his previous cult favorites, No More Heroes and Killer 7.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    85
    Killer is Dead is yet another Suda masterpiece! Or is it just a childish misogynist slayfest? [Sept 2013]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Killer is Dead is a hymn to the multifaceted creativity of a game designer still capable of enhancing the vision of the Japanese video game industry.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    75
    Killer is Dead has an excellent technical department, but it's short duration, alongside certain graphic issues, prevent it from sticking out of the crowd. Fans of Suda 51 will love it, while the rest may very well hate it or just be overwhelmed by it's particular gameplay.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    60
    Killer is Dead is playable, but it commits a far worse sin than being awkward or glitchy. It takes the fantastic and makes it boring.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Stylish and most of the time entertaining as well, this carnage from the mind of a well known weirdo designer Suda 51 doesn't bring anything new to the table, except for its bizarre aesthetics that may or may not suit you. [Issue#234]
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    54
    Killer is Dead has a lot going for it. The foundation is there. But the positives are mired beneath a poor gameplay mechanic that makes even simple control a chore. The story isn’t allowed to shine due to simplistic writing and stereotypical characters, the difficulty can be very erratic, and too many deaths feel cheap and unfair.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    40
    Between the tedious levels, incoherent story and offputting gigolo missions, I found very little to appreciate about Killer is Dead. I grew quite tired of the shallow game design and weak attempts to distract me from its vacuous lack of substance, and put the game down before rolling credits.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Killer is Dead is really a good game. It surely excels in the field of artwork, I've never seen such beautiful work in may years. The gameplayKiller is Dead is really a good game. It surely excels in the field of artwork, I've never seen such beautiful work in may years. The gameplay and it gameplay mechanics is really unique. Totally fun and crazy story as we can expect from Suda51. This game is for those who like to try new things and search for load of good art works and also for the people with anime minds (Otaku) only they can understand the actual story of this game.
    Those who are telling this was a waste game. They may be right but only from their point of view. If they tell you not to play this game then they are telling you wrong things.
    It is you who are to decide that the game is good or bad as you are to play the game. Not they. So i urge everyone to enjoy this as much as you can.

    Lastly my heartiest respect to Mr. Goichi Suda for bringing us a unique and beautiful game to us. Hope you bring us such good works in future.
    Looking forward for "Lily Bergamo"
    Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. Super underrated game. love love love the art style, combat, story, charaters, music, everything about the game. Give it a shot!!!!!!!!!
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not.I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not. This isn't your next DmC or Bayonneta. If you're a Suda 51 fan then you already know you're gonna love it. It is very enjoyable. The story is all kinds of anime style crazy and the gameplay is simple yet very fun.
    This is the type of game that you can just sit back, relax and play the hell of.
    Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    The game is a lot of fun and I am already playing it again. Normally, I hate cel-shaded games, but I really like this one. The game hasThe game is a lot of fun and I am already playing it again. Normally, I hate cel-shaded games, but I really like this one. The game has sub-missions which are fun, mondo missions to get dates by giving gifts, and challenges. Critics didn't like it because they have played games like this before. I bought the collectors edition and the Sebastian mission is the best. Definitely worth a look. I really enjoy this game. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Killer is Dead is a good game. Don't let any reviews that you may find on YouTube or any other gaming website tell you otherwise. To start offKiller is Dead is a good game. Don't let any reviews that you may find on YouTube or any other gaming website tell you otherwise. To start off the game has a really unique and beautiful art style. It really draws you into the game. I did find myself unable to see where I was going in some parts of missions though because the art style did make it hard to navigate through really dark areas. The story is confusing but you're basically a guy named Mondo who is given orders to assassinate certain people around the world. It isn't an amazing story but it isn't a forgettable one. The soundtrack of Killer is Dead is really pleasing to the ears. You'll be fighting enemies and listening to rock music and after the fight it'll cut to a loading screen and you'll be listening to some blues. Surprisingly that made me laugh considering how diverse the soundtrack is. The game play is also very good. Although I found myself doing the same sword attacks in missions and evading attacks constantly, I never got bored of the combat. It's weird but I was always having fun fighting through the level to get to the boss. All in all the game play (although repetitive) was very enjoyable. Some people are complaining about awful camera angles but I don't see why. You control the camera angles. If you can't see most of the action then readjust the camera. Then there are the side missions. You have some random side missions that branch off of the main story's episodes and then there are Gigolo missions. The side missions are fun but can become boring after playing a few times. Gigolo missions are where you basically gawk at a girl you have met in the main story and try to fill up a meter. Once the meter is full you can give her a present. Depending on the girl's taste the love meter will fill up a certain amount. Once that love meter is full you'll go through a cut scene and get a gift in return for your hard work. The gift could be a new sub weapon or crystals to upgrade skills. There are people complaining about the sexist side missions you can go attempt and the Gigolo mode that lets you see through the girls clothes. These missions aren't meant to be taken seriously and I found them really funny. But, those side missions aren't that fun after a while and you will get bored with them after a while. All in all, the game had a pretty good story, a beautiful art style, a diverse soundtrack, and enjoyable game play. The only complaints that I had with the game is that it's a little short in my opinion (takes about 6-8 hours to beat) and that the frame rate seemed to drop in some cut scenes. However, those negatives didn't ruin the experience for me. All that taken into consideration I decided to give the game an 8. There will be more episodes released in the future as downloadable content which will lengthen the story even more. Killer is Dead is not a game that should be passed up. If you enjoyed previous Suda 51 games (let alone action games in general) you'll definitely have fun with this one. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    Killer is Dead has a memorable art and cool combat mechanics that will make SUDA 51 fans enjoy the game.

    Depending on how the game is
    Killer is Dead has a memorable art and cool combat mechanics that will make SUDA 51 fans enjoy the game.

    Depending on how the game is rendered, we can have a different point of view. This game uses a shader that looks like a blend between realism and cel shading, which is pretty different from what we see on other games and it accentuates special effects in a mixing of lights, blood spill and contrasts. It's just beautiful.

    The story is interesting, but has nothing special to be highlighted. In fact, it doesn't follow a linear timeline and makes you interpret some things in a subjective way like viewing dreams and the past memories of the protagonist. All the characters have traits that belong to the japanese culture, which may not be attractive to the western culture.

    Combat is very fun made with simple combos. The evade and guard features make the experience even better as they challenge your reflexes. Skills can be unlocked and upgraded.

    The main story can be finished in a short time, but there's a lot of content to be explored too, like side missions and quick challenges. If you're looking for a cool action game or if you simply trust on SUDA's games, Killer is Dead is a good choice.
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    3
    I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture.I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture. But that brings me to the real problem here, I meant it when I said OTHER artless dreck, all the people harping about "liberal" this and "feminist" that, trying to dismiss the scores of negative reviews as only being that way because the reviewer was offended, they should try READING these reviews instead of the cliff notes. ITS ONE BIG ENDLESS MESS, it makes no sense at all, and every single thing that people here love to say is "art" is a poorly executed carbon copy of stereotypical japanese "cool" stolen from some anime that executed it with more skill and originality. Unless thats what you want, the same old garbage, stay away. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews