• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 780 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 780

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I am really impressed with this game, it is simply amazing great graphics, story mode and multiplayer . i feel this is a game i will be playing for a long time to come.
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Gears of What? Halo Who? You'll be forgetting those games even existed after playing this amazing sci-fi shooter. You cannot compare a buggy console port like Call of Duty: Black Ops to a PS3 exclusive like Killzone 3. If you want to compare the two, It's mostly like a nasal-voiced tween walking into a heavily armored Helghast base dressed in a ghillie suit he bought from Wal-Mart with an Airsoft rifle in hand; Shouting "What fool? You a scrub. I take ya'll Helghast down." The nasal-voiced zit-face tween being Call of Duty: Black Ops. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Despite some of the recent reviews ive read, where the game gets basically called a cod ripoff with no originality, and a horrible storyline, I must say that I just cant agree with any of those reviews, I was about to leave gaming as a whole because i was just tired of playing the same games all the time. Killzone 2 brought me back to gaming all of a sudden, it was very original, with an awesome multiplayer and the best graphics ive ever seen (not technically, but still it has the best mapping and characters ive ever seen in a game). Then killzone 3 arrives and it gets insulted by some reviewers and fans. But what are the contents of this game? Basically, this game improves killzone 2 on everything, it has many more weapons, BIGGER weapons infact (miniguns, rocket launchers, tanks, laser guns, heavy machine guns, etc), better multiplayer,better storyline (although still preety poor), co-op gameplay, even better graphics and sound, preety much all of the things which ruined in some ways killzone 2, are fixed in killzone 3. The multiplayer on the other hand should have something fixed, and thats the amount of recoil in the weapons, it removed a lot from the recoil in killzone 2 which made the weapons back then feel extremely realistic and powerful. At the same time the multiplayer is much more addictive than before and has even better maps. My favourite fps of all times, 10/10 Expand
  5. May 11, 2011
    9
    Ignore YodaCracker's review, if you check his history he gives all PS3 games incredibly low ratings including giving Little Big Planet 2 a 0/10. He's a troll. Killzone 3 his honestly one of the best FPS games I've played in a while. The Move is incredible (once tweaked and after approx 1.5 hrs practice), I can't go back to DS3, analogs feel sluggish and very inaccurate now) - Move is revolutionary for console FPS games. The MP is amazing! I logged about 10hrs each into Reach and Black Ops MP since launch, about 20hrs in BFBC2 and have played over 7 hrs of K3s multiplayer already, the game is that good! It's probably my fav FPS MP this gen so far. I sincerely hope Sony implements Move into all future 1st/3rd party FPS games because I can't go back to standard controls. The SP is a lot more fun that I expected given what the review sites said, definitely a lot better than Black Ops or MW2s SP, but not quite as good as Reach. If you like FPS games this is among the best there is, I definitely recommend buying it. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Bravo, Guerrilla. I mean it, you guys have created the best FPS of this gen and one of the best FPS' of all time. Up until today, KZ2 was my favourite game but now it's without a doubt KZ3. Story: I have no idea what the hell the reviewers are talking about, the story in KZ3 is fantastic, especially for an FPS. The writing was slick, the subplots were interesting, and everything fit. What more cold you ask for? Well, maybe a better ending than the half-assed one we got. Endings are something Guerrilla really needs to work on, imo. Gameplay: Better than KZ2 in every single way. I loved the controls, the variety of the vehicles, etc. However, was it just me, or is KZ3 a f*ck ton harder than KZ2? I had no trouble beating KZ2 on Elite, but KZ3 on normal kicked my ***! Voice Acting: Honestly, I consider the new Sev and Narville completely new characters. While I really did like them in KZ3, they certainly were not the same in KZ2, attitude and personality wise. Sev was more of a kid and far less professional while Narville was more pansy and less gun-ho in KZ3. Regardless, I liked them. Rico's voice was very well done. Not better than KZ1's Rico, but much better than KZ2's (Same VA, I know). The real star of the show, to me, is Ray Winstone. Don't get me wrong, Malcolm did an awesome job, but Ray knocked it out of the park!

    Multiplayer: Intense, addicting, action packed, tactical - it's perfect! Well, as soon as they sort out the connection issues. Set-pieces: Epic, epic, epic. That sums up the set pieces and cutscenes in KZ3. EPIC! All in all, I must say, this was quite an experience. Definitely worth $140 and 2 years of waiting.
    Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    A game with a fun and adictive multiplayer, with literally no unbalanced weapon and awesome maps where teamplay is a big and decisive factor? One of the best singleplayer experiences which lasts from 7 to 8 hours in easy/normal mode 8 to 10 hours in hard mode? A revolutionary cover system, now upgraded with a sliding and climbing ability? Best graphics on console? Yes thats killzone 3, and I dont think it deserves that 8.5 metascore. While other games like modern warfare 2 have a 9.5 with an unplayable multiplayer, average graphics and boring lineal singleplayer, killzone 3 in the other hand with one of the most funniest experiences ever just has an 8.5. PROS:: Everything. CONS. BEING EXTREMELY NITPICKY:: Storyline, facial expressions on secondary characters, we want more! Expand
  8. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Killzone 2 was a great game and I would give it around a 8.8, but Killzone 3 is better in every aspect and deserves a 9.8. It has more action packed singleplayer, better graphics, better controls, and the multiplayer... well lets just say it's banana insane! If your a FPS fan and have been playing games like COD, Halo, Battlefield, Medal of Honor, etc. Killzone 3 is a MUST BUY. It has everything you would expect from a multilayer experience: unlocks, customization, varied gametypes, bot-mode, insane graphics, perfect hit detection, and most of all it is fun to play. I've been playing the full game since release time and I also played the Open and Private betas they had earlier this year, so I've got a lot of gametime with this game. On top of that I've played over 15 days of Black Ops 12 days of Bad Company 2, 8 days of Medal of Honor and almost every other FPS on the market. So trust me when I say... Killzone 3 is amazing! Expand
  9. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This game is really good! Wonderful graphics, game play smooth, great sound, fun coop campaign e provides to you so many hours os multplayer on line with the possibility of 24 players in the battlefield. This game is a little ta-tics, if you have one group to join Killzone 3 with you, it will be really fun!!
  10. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 is to Killzone 2 what Resistance 2 was to Resistance: FOM, or what Modern Warfare 2 was to Call of Duty 4: a unique, tightly crafted shooter experience thrown into the Michael Bay-athon converter in the name of larger set pieces, more explosions and a larger number of enemies to kill. Also, like the Resistance series, Killzone 3 has taken a lot of cues from COD, which unfortunately does far more bad than good to a game that already had a strong and unique identity. Killzone 2 was a game that understood the unrelenting and chaotic nature of battle, and incorporated it into every aspect of its gameplay. Aiming was unforgiving and weighty, as the developers deliberately included input lag in the controls. Enemies were smart and resilient, utilizing cover and shooting blindly at you so as not to expose major body parts. Weapons had a real feeling of recoil, yet a satisfying sense of power. Killzone 2 was as close as any FPS had come to showing that shooting guns and aiming is actually very hard, and its core action distinguished it from other FPSs. For those who have not, take yourself to a gun range one day, and try shooting a target from about 20 meters back; you'll be surprised how bad a shot you actually are and how much longer it takes to line up a good shot than you would expect. Unlike in COD, just because your iron sights look like they're perfectly lined up, they probably are not, as the slightest deviation of even a fraction of a milimeter really throws your shot off; those milimeters really add up over the course of full on meters and screw the trajectory of your shot. Killzone 3 has stomped all over that to cater to the criticisms of a million crying sheep who want to play the same game (COD) over and over again. In Killzone 3, the weighty controls are mostly gone, the enemies take fewer hits to go down, are less intelligent, and there is far too much reliance on mind numbingly boring "on-rails" set piece sequences, which while pretty, from a visual perspective, have you doing nothing but holding down the fire button nonstop while your vehicle moves down a predetermined path and you watch lots of pretty explosions
    that result if a bullet of yours so much as grazes an enemy object. The level design just isn't there when the game relies on its core shooting mechanics rather than gimmicks (jet pack, etc.). In trying to add variety and cater to the more casual FPS crowd (how much more casual can you get?), Guerrilla games has abandoned the very gravitas and realistic military identity it established in KZ2. While I love COD Blackops, I bought Killzone 3 to ensure a different FPS experience, not to play its flashier, but goofier attention whore cousin.
    Expand
  11. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Great game! Excellent graphics and gameplay.

    @ps3fanfan: Firstly you obviously don't know s*** about computer graphics (this game pushes the limits of PS3) and secondly I bet you think every shooter out there is a clone of CoD. Pathetic.
  12. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    Killzone 3 has had a lot of Hype built up around it. It is the successor to Killzone 2, which was a phenominal First Person Shooter with amazing graphics and spot on reality physics and gameplay. I am pleased to say that Killzone 3 is a fantastic successor to Killzone 2 and it is an excellent PS3 exclusive and a must own for shooter fans. Killzone 3 is a great way for sony to start the year (along with LBP2). GRAPHICS- As mentioned earlier, graphics are absolutely gorgeous. The set pieces will make your mouth drop and so will the effects and animations. This game has no technical issues except for the fact that it fades to black too much between scenes. Otherwise, this game has some of the best graphics around. And they've even added 3D to the mix. Hell yeah! STORY- The story is weak in this game and that is the problem with it. This game's story is basically about Sev and his squad stuck on a hostile enemy planet but this is never protrayed well and that is what keeps the game from getting a higher score.Also, the story never really goes anywhere. It is more like a reason to play the levels. SOUND- The sound is phenominal. The game is a deafening experience with explosions and the voice acting and soundtrack are superb. GAMEPLAY- The gameplay is similar to Killzone 2, but everything has been tweaked up and there are cool new gameplay mechanics that make the game immensly fun to play. MULTIPLAYER- In one word- AWESOME. The multiplayer is some of the most fun multiplayer I have seen and it has a fantastic level up system that makes you want to play more and more. So in a nutshell, Killzone 3 is a great game but it has a weak story that never progresses much.
    Also, if you wish to see my other review, see my review for Uncharted 2.
    Expand
  13. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This game is AMAZING! Kick Ass story mode, great online and fun co-op! A shame they toned down the skills needed for online play compared to Killzone 2, but that doesnt stop it from being a blast! The multiplayer is alot more balanced this time around, made easier to master for the new guys joining the Killzone bandwagon from other shooters such as...you know what :P Buy it, you will not regret it!
    PS. Tactician FTW!
    Expand
  14. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Game is like the old one KZ 2 but improved very much over graphics and gameplay. Many says it lacks story but who wants it when you can have fun killing the helgans.Move adds the next dimension to the game and really enjoyed playing it.
  15. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 graphics-10 (10 says it all) story-7 (6 if you don't have a splitcreen buddy) gameplay-10 (runs smoothly and the guns are varied this time) sound - 10 (what more do you want?) replay/enjoyment- 10 (atleast rent the game before you dis it, if you don't like it okay, but first try it) Overall: 10 The fun I had playing this with my brother, graphics, gameplay, all out weigh the meh campaign story. Expand
  16. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    top notch graphics(in fact the best console fps I've ever seen) **no load times** the amount of particles floating around and things going on in the environment is just stunning from a technical standpoint... good sound... good story... Move support (the sharpshooter is sick)... 3D support which I'm sure is the best 3D's current state allows(not impressed with what I've seen in 3d just yet but too each his own)... what seems to be a pretty deep online experience... if you own a ps3 treat yourself to one hell of a first person shooter... Expand
  17. May 26, 2011
    9
    If you're looking for an epic planetary war story, you might reconsider playing Killzone 3. If, however, you're just looking for a great FPS, with lots of action, awesome maps and over the top graphics, buy this game now. The story is a bit cheesy, and most of the characters are flat enough for you to care less if they die or not, the actual game-play itself does more than make up for it. There is nothing I love more than melee attacking space nazis, gouging their eyes out and stabbing them in the neck. Expand
  18. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    If you dont like this game you are probably just a mindless fanboy, its got everything you want from an fps and more: vehicle battles (singleplayer and multiplayer), awesome sniping, cover system, sliding, big/medium/small weapons, awesome storyline and the greatest antagonists ever, Mcdowell you rule!
    Btw In this metacritic site PS3FanFan is an xbox fanboy and TLS21 is stupid enough to
    not play the game and still review it :P Expand
  19. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    A MUST HAVE! Pay no attention to the haters leaving a low score for this game (Haters) this game ROCKS! From the very first level to the final stage of the game it does not stop with action.
  20. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Everything about it is intense. The graphics are great, the cutscenes are impressive, and I enjoy the gameplay. I've played it with the standard controls and with the sharpshooter. I've been finding myself enjoying it more with the sharpshooter than with the standard controller. Overall I recommend anybody to buy this game.
  21. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    What a great FPS! I am having a hard time understanding some of the complaints about this game. Like any Oscar worthy movie, the story here is not for everybody. I don't think the narrative is bad or the acting for that matter. I really enjoy the story behind Killzone, but understand why some people don't. There are some holes and questions I have about it, but I had similar questions after watching the movie Inception. The point is, I don't think the story is weak, I just don't believe, everyone will love it like me. As far as mechanics are concerned, I think they're great. The controls are tight, the weapons feel great, the level design is solid etc..... Some of the levels run a little linear, but so do most FPS's. It's just that other FPS's hide the linearity a little better. The multiplayer is right up there with COD and other competent shooters, even though it doesn't offer anything new or things you haven't seen before. There are some multiplayer modes that are a little different, but not enough to stand on their own. It's still competetive, addicting and fun. Graphically, the game is a beast. In a good way. From bullets whizzing through the air leaving trails, structures collapsing, explosions showering the air with smoke, dust and debris, heads occasionally exploding, filling the air with a red fog, this game looks amazing and eerily realistic. I found this almost a turn off. There we're moments when I said to mysef, "Holy **** this looks to real!". If put in a real life scenario, I think military vets might actually complain about the realism of the bloodletting. All and all, this is a great game, a great FPS and I personally believe it should be mentioned in the same breath as Halo. I actually like this game better for all the reasons I stated. Which is no knock on Halo. I love the that series too as well as CoD. I just think this game is a slight notch above the rest. It would be like arguing that Peyton Manning is better than Tom Brady. Take your pick. Expand
  22. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Great game, a must-have for all PS3 owners. Graphics are A+ as always, and multiplayer is active.

    If you have already played Killzone 2, it's very very similar. Though some will argue with me, I am just a casual Killzone player, it's basically an upgrade as far as multiplayer goes. I purchased this on release, and so far there are a few loading issues and bugs, but I'm sure in a week
    or two they will be sorted out. Other than that, every thing is great. Expand
  23. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    AMAZING! simply a must buy for ps3 owners. It has tweaked killzone 2 in every way from the controls to the weapons. Tweaking killzone 2 is all this game needed and the multiplayer is so addictive and satisfying that you won't put your controller down. The reasons why you should but this game is because of: graphics, great multiplayer maps, awesome weapons, awesome multiplayer classes and controls that have a nice balance of killzone 2 and battlefield bad company 2. 10/10. Expand
  24. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The single player campaign is not bad as others will tell you. If you played any FPS within the last decade, you are use to not having a detailed story like an RPG. The Move controller with this game fits extremely well. It's an awesome experience and isn't gimmicky. The graphics wasn't what I liked the most, the game-play is strong. I didn't wanted to give it a 10 because people won't take this review seriously. I'm a HUGE Halo fan, but this is just way more fun to play. I wish this game had an XBOX port so I can play with more of my friends. Yes, it's that good. Expand
  25. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    +looks great
    +balanced and varied campaign
    +difficulty level
    +move and sharp shooter playing

    -series deserts for more deeper profile of characters
    -a few technical bugs
  26. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    This is the best FPS I've ever played, and I've played pretty much every FPS ever made. The graphics and animations are superb, the music is awesome and the sound effects make you feel like you really are there in the battlefield.
  27. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    Wow this is what I'm talking about,Killzone3 is by far one of those Must have games if your a PS3 owner.Great story Very good Multi-player and By far the best Graphics I've seen so Far in a fps Game to date..
  28. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    killzone 3 is a brilliant game!the graphics are amazing much more intresting than killzone 2 which dwelled on dark places and ruined buildings killzone 3 has arctic plains,jungles and other interesting settings.the story is better which the last game fell short on.oh and the gameplay which made me dislike the killzone 2 has been tweaked for the best possible playing experiance,sorry some people might argue that was killzone 2s strong point fine then they can change the settings in the game.quite simply the best game ive played for a while. Expand
  29. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    i didnt want to write a review for kz3 because i feel biased towards it. it is my favorite franchise of all time. this game is innovative. every one wants to compare it to bfbc2 and cod and other shooters. but this series started in 2004. it created weigted controls. this game was made to take people who werent good at shooters and still make them apart of a team, and they can still contribute, unlike cod where its survival of the glitchiest. not gettin many kills? be a medic and keep the killing machines on your team alive! cant find pesky snipers? be the tactician and show all your team mates where they are. there is a counter for everything and a place for everyone. people are forgetting games were made to be fun and enjoyable, and this is a game made for the fans, it has a great story line (the whole story is on youtube) the gameplay is innovative, move works awesome on this. the gametypes are a blast, and warzone is still the best gametype around. if your not sure about it rent it, and if your having a tough time remember its different but thats why you play killzone, for something new, something good. and dedicated servers means no annoying host migration! Play it enjoy it love it because it really is an amazing game Expand
  30. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    First off, I am an unbiased review meaning I have no favorite game title but love fps games. By this I have played every owned since cod on Xbox. Now since that being said there was a lot of hype before this game hit the market, videos of the creative Team Guerrilla speaking the mechanics and specifics of the game, everything. So even before I had decided to consider this a contender in the fps war, I heard all and seen all content available. Since most of the critic was positive( except for the story mode not being improved over Kz2) so I decided to tryout the game even with the hype. First said the graphics are phenomenal, have not seen a game compare in my opinion since Uncharted 2 hit the stores, maybe even God of War III. Second the story is considerably weak, sometimes to the point I wish they had took some focus off of the animations in the story to help the story move along itself because it can get dreary. But most important what counts in a fps the multi-player, this is exactly what you thought the multi-player in Kz2 should have been its like they took your thoughts and applied them in substantial amounts. Nonetheless this game is not perfect, but is hard to compete with on graphics(was not a fan of black ops graphics), movement realism, controls and online enjoyment. Hopefully Resistance 3 will be as good or better. Expand
  31. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Sweet game, these other reviewers who give it negative scores, probably suck at the game. I am not saying I'm good at the game. The multi player is very tough and competitive. The campaign is pretty fun to. Kinda linear but still a good time.
  32. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Killzone 3 is truly a great PS3-only game. The campaign tells a compelling story, but the Helghast seem to have a much more just cause. A campaign with a both ISA and Helghast sides of the conflict would have been nice, but the place where Killzone really stands out is in multiplayer. It is class based, with each class having a distinct playing style on the batlefield. Jetpacks, Mortar Beacons, and Invisibility cloaks make multiplayer a unique and incomparably fun experience. Expand
  33. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    Disclaimer: I have only played a few levels of the Single Player. But I've spent about 14+ hours on multi-player so far and it is fantastic. I didn't really like the heavy controls in Killzone 2 and they fixed that in KZ3! Graphics = awesome! Sound = awesome! As for a multiplayer FPS this one is great!!! I heard the campaign itself isn't that entertaining but I really don't care. I would have bought the game just for the online portion. Expand
  34. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    The best so far. Killzone 3 takes what was good from the second, and keeps that feeling with the third. Taking the graphics one step further, as well as the over all combat. And when you ad in the move, preferably with the Sharpshooter, it takes it up again. And on top of that, add 3-D to those who have made the plunge, and reward them for it. With a story that makes you understand your enemy that much better, it makes the over all feeling worth it. Its no Uncharted, but its a damn close second for the PS3. Expand
  35. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Great game, while campaign could have been done better, the Multiplayer is Incredible and the graphics are stunning, a must buy for FPS lovers! also a good way to get into the FPS genre.
  36. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing from the begining to the end of the single player campain.The pacing and varaity has improved substantially from killzone2 wich was a one trick pony.The ghraphics are unparralled in a consol fps from the textures to the visaul affects you will be amazed also no loading helps the game progress from one amazing scene to the next.Gameplay has also had a touchup not changing the feel of killzone but adding and improving on it.I have a move controller and nav and this is where I personaly think this has changed the way we will be playing fps on the ps3 it takes some time but once you get it you wont want to play another fps without move support.In conclussion killzone3 has smashed my expectations in every regard well done guirrella games. Expand
  37. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    KZ3 and CoD4, are best FPS games for current-gens. Different shooters, but both are pefect. Killzone have amazing single and multiplayer. This game makes PS3 best console for online shooters. 10/10
  38. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    After picking up Killzone 3 I felt compelled to write my first review on this site. I am an avid FPS fan and to be honest I picked this game up just for a bit of fun to pass the time. I played Killzone 2 and thought it was a decent game but nothing particularly exciting and I honestly expected more of the same from this game, but I was pleasantly surprised. I'll split this review into single and multiplayer, but before that I want to discuss the controls. Any good FPS fan wants to know how a game controls as it can make or break an FPS, well I'm happy to say the control are great. It's very smooth and the sensitivity controls allow you to find a nice setting you will be comfortable with. I play COD:MW2 with sensitivity 10 and whilst the controls aren't quite as smooth as MW2, they are still easy to use and a VAST improment over KZ2 in my opinion, in which I found aiming to be sluggish and 'weighted'. Single Player

    Now, story in this game isn't its strong point, however, I never expect storys in FPS games to be good. It's full of cheesy dialogue and a predictable story line, however, I still enjoyed the ride. The graphics are second to none and the sound is probably the best I've heard, you can hear every bullet as they whiz past your head and the explosions and background noise is brilliant. The game is surprisingly varied for this type of game, you never get chance to get bored before the game changes the pace up. Between normally duck and cover gameplay, the vehicular getaways, stealthy action all keep you entertained as you make your way through the game. As a side note, I am not a sci-fi fan and am not a fan of 'mech' style vehicles, however, the ones in this game not feel awkward, they are fluid moving (they even run) so even not being a fan of this type of play normally, I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. It's not a very long game, but it's pretty standard size for shooters nowadays.

    Multiplayer

    If you are new to the Killzone series, I highly suggest going into Bot mode whilst you learn the way the classes work, I didn't really play KZ2 online cause I wasn't a fan of the controls, so I was new to it and was a bit overwhelmed at first. There are 3 types of matchs, your basic team deathmatch, warzone which constantly changes the objective of the game every 5 minutes, and a classic battlefield type match. All play as you would expect, apart from Warzone, which played alot better than I anticipated. At the start of each game you pick a class, each starts with very little, but as you play and level up, you unlock new guns, perks, etc. Each class plays quite differently, but all have their advantages without any feeling overpowered. For example, a medic can have a medi-droid with him that can help shoot at enemies and revive you when you die (only once per life and only if not fatally wounded) and Marksman can turn invisable for short periods of time. It's all well balanced and nothing feels cheap. There isn't a massive selection of maps, but what is there, is solid, they are well thought out and a joy to play in. Guns feel deadly when used correctly, SMG's and Shotguns are powerful up close but at range leave alot to be desired, Assault Rifles are a nice mid range weapon and Sniper rules the roost at range. Killstreaks give you extra XP but no air support, radar, etc, which really doesn't stop you having alot of fun. I haven't had any problems with lag, bugs, crashes, etc, so nothing to complain about there.

    To sum up, I love this game, I honestly didn't except it to be this good, but I'm actually stopping playing MW2 and Black Ops to enjoy this gem online. I really hope this game gets the attention it should, because it seriously deserves it.
    Expand
  39. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Great title and a even better exclusive. Lots of modes, realistic shooting, awesome graphics, the story it's nothing to brag about but it's still better than CoD: Black Ops, it has 3D and move, jetpacks and mechs in multyplayer. it's just the best shooter you can and should be playing right now .thank you guerrilla. keep up the good work!
  40. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Online multiplayer is great. You feel like you are really in the middle of a war.... One of the best shooters i have ever played. Graphics are fantastic! They are really pushing boundaries there. Guerrilla has done it again!
  41. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I agree with what drewezbreezee was saying, my only fault on kz3 was the camp. From what i noticed in all fps is the camp always sucks. I don't know what it is about them i can never get into them i like to play to get used to the game, but that is it nothing else. I gave this game a 9 is soloing due to the on-line play. There's aways so much going on, with explosions, bullets, cloaked, and disguised enemies, its insane! you can never just run around and not pay attention as in infiltrator could come up behind you and brutal kill you, which is another amazing thing added to this fps. I've never liked fps's but this one grabbed my attention with the things you can do, of course the brutal kills, the different classes, and the way you can choose what you want to level. I have told many of the people i work with about this game and now we all play after work. I did notice that the camp was a little bit different than most fps's but still lacking that i want to play it feeling. If the camp was better this game would easily have gotten a ten, but keep up the great work. Expand
  42. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    If you are tired of traditional shooters then this is the perfect game. Set with an original gameplay gives a little bit of tactical combat that differentiate to the other fast-paced shooters at the moment. The campaign has a nice set of set-pieces presented in cutscenes instead of real time events ( that many shooters uses this days ). Graphics are stellar, stunning and impressive , but the facial details are a little ugly or just not in par with other games that has better facial graphics . Some animations problems get in the way when you see your AI partner stabbing or doing close combat sequences , also little glitches get in the way along with that but its part of it. Multiplayer is the big grand daddy of the Playstation exclusives, heck ! Even better than non-exclusives FPS nowadays. So go ahead and play this . Expand
  43. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite PS3 game of all time. I enjoyed the campaign, but the multiplayer was where it was at for me. It has 8 balanced maps, the dlc maps are also great. THe modes Warzone, Guerilla Warfare, and Operations are all fun to play and original. If you're looking for a game with a amazing story, this game isn't for you. If you're looking for a fun campaign and a fantastic multiplayer experience then this is a game for you. Expand
  44. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    Killzone 3 is an amazing game. Awesome visuals and very appropriate movements based on what you are carrying or doing at the time. The story is fantastic. It is better than the vast majority of the games I have played, and unlike some other FPS games, this story is one you really should be diving into to see the full potential of Killzone 3. The game is rather difficult, and that is something you will either love or hate. Online play is also great. You will experience some of the most chaotic FPS gameplay you have ever seen to date. Explosions distort your vision, and with the Infiltrator class, you will be forced to stay on your toes. Its exhilarating, and the chaos is compounded when the entire battlefield is targeting one location. Killzone 3 is an outstanding FPS, and those with a PS3 should at least try this one out. It is not for everyone, but FPS lovers should get a big kick out of this one. Expand
  45. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    This was a fun game, especially with the sharpshooter gun. It wasn't as challenging as KZ2, nor was it as long. However, the multiplayer makes up for it's short length. By the way the 3D mode is mind blowing. Graphics 10, Sound 10, Difficulty 7, Replayability 8, Overall score 9.
  46. Mar 3, 2011
    9
    The Critic score is 85 and the user score is 8.4 (84) so clearly this is a good game. I give it 9 because for me it is the second best first person shooter available on PS3. Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare is the best in my opinion, because it was original, all the sequels have been brilliant but more samey than any other shooter sequels. Story missions as good as Call Of Duty and online as good as Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Astounding graphics, spot on sound effects, intelligent AI, average plot, average voice acting but an excellent addition too the range of PlayStation 3 exclusives. Must Buy. Expand
  47. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Yeah, I was suprised. The caning people gave it seemed a bit unjust as i thoughts it was really good. The difference between big budget games and the production is evident as this plays like a dream. The east end feel of the helghast are not as threatening as a home game at West Ham but its getting there!! Queeny, god bless ya. Good weapons and certainly contains a few real tough bottle necks. good plot, lots of swearing, happy days. Expand
  48. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    To me no game is perfect, however with that said, Killzone 3 is a definite improvement over Killzone 2. I would give this a 9.5 but Metacritic doesn't allow a score like that so I chose a 10. Firstly, let me say that I loved Killzone 2. The multiplayer for it was addicting and the singleplayer was awesome with great firefights and a decent story. Killzone 3 expands on that game. As of now, I've only played maybe 2 hours of the single player campaign but from what I gather so far, the campaign has a nice pace to it and the gun fights are just as good. Enemies flank you and are intelligent. The game doesn't feel cheap in any way. Your teammates will be targeted by the helghast if they can't find you. The story is decent so far but this was never Killzone's strength in any way. It is the gameplay that is the strength. Controls are more responsive and the weight of the controls is still there. Lots of people I know will complain about the controls and how they are casualized but I believe these are the controls that Guerilla wanted in the first place with Killzone 2. In comparison, Killzone 2's controls were laggy and unresponsive. It took a while to get used to but there is no denying that. The visuals in the single player campaign are once again impressive. Textures seem more detailed on the gun models as well as the characters. Environments are varied and provide a ton of detail. There is just so many things going on in the game that it makes you wonder what else can Guerilla do on the PS3. On to the multiplayer side of things. This is where most of my time has been. You have 3 modes. Guerilla Warfare, Warzone and Operations. Guerilla Warfare is your typical team deathmatch. It's just the one type of gameplay which is called body count. The first team to fill their kill bar on the screen wins. This was a popular lobby in KZ2. I remeber seeing many that just contained body count compared to the typical warzone game. Warzone is the heart and soul of Killzone. One match takes you through various objective based games. You have demolition, assassination, body count, capture and hold and a capture the flag type mode with the propaganda speaker. Demolition and assassination consist of one team attacking and one defending and gives both teams a chance to be the attacker and defender. This game mode requires alot of coordination among teammates and strategy. You have spawn points that must be captured and maintained to give your team the advantage. Failure to do this results in total domination. It's a must in this game mode. The last game mode available is called Operations. You 2 teams and he ISA are always on the offensive and the Helghast are always on the defensive. Teams will flip every match between the 2. This game mode is exciting as it really requires even more teamwork to win than in Warzone. A mic is a must in this game mode to succeed in my opinion. In multiplayer, there are a variety of classes with each one having their own perks. Marksman can cloak themselves to be invisible and jam enemy radar, Infiltrators can disguise themselves as the other team, Tacticians can capture spawn points for strategic advances and recon to see where enemies are lurking, Engineers can spawn turrets and repair ammo crates, and Medics can revive teammates. Each class has 3 different primary weapons and 3 secondary weapons. It's important to have a variety of these as each has an essential role to win the battle. There is a nice leveling system available to that gives you unlock points once you make the next level. You use the points to unlock guns or special abilities for your favorite class or classes.

    As far as gameplay visuals goes, the gunplay is some of the best this generation. Guns sound realistic and really pop when firing them. The hit detection is much better than other games (cough BO cough). Assassinations are also a nice addition. There are different ones that range from neck snapping to slicing the throat of an enemy, to stabbing an enemy in the eye with a knife etc. The visuals are top notch. The only complaint I'd have is some framerate issues in the multiplayer. Sometimes the framerate can come to a crawl. Overall, Killzone 3 is everything I thought it would be. More responsive controls, phenomenal visuals for a console game, and a great multiplayer experience that will sure keep you busy for hours. If your are looking for a change from the Call of Duty's of the world, then Killzone 3 is it.
    Expand
  49. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    i love this game, this isn't really a review, but i just can't help but comment to the people who keep comparing this to COD and calling it a ripoff. if this is a ripoff of COD, then COD is a ripoff of wolfenstein 3d, doom, quake, heretic, hexen, rise of the triad, duke nukem 3d, system shock, i could go on and on. the point being, first person shooters were around long before the COD games came along. just because COD is the first FPS you ever played doesn't mean it's the first one to ever exist, and certainly doesn't mean that every FPS to come after it is a ripoff. if anything, it's a ripoff of wolfenstein 3d, which was the first FPS and it came out like 20 years ago. you kids and your ignorance is highly amusing. Expand
  50. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    I am really impressed with this game, it is simply amazing great graphics, story mode and multiplayer . i feel this is a game i will be playing for a long time to come. (2)
  51. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    Killzone 3 is one of the most addicting games I've played! First lets star off with what killzone is known for, Its graphics! they are AMAZING! They really fixed the gameplay from killzone 2, you don't feel too heavy but there is still a bit of heaviness for a realistic feel. They could of done a better online ranking system but except for that the online is a really fun experience. there are only three game modes, but they have their own unique type of gameplay. The story draws you in! you really want to know what happens next. The story line in killzone 2 would still be my favorite. This game is fun and is easily re-playable and obviously a MUST have for the PlayStation community! Come on PlayStation, its yours! Be proud of it! Expand
  52. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Wow!! i just finished playing KZ3 last night and i must say that i am very impressed indeed. KZ3 leaves its predessor in its dust, as Gorilla takes the franchise to whole new level of awesome.
    From the engaging story, to the relentless bombardment of graphical goodness. its nice to see that Gorilla put more cut scenes in there too, thus allowing the gamer to actualy breathe easy for a bit
    before thrusting them back into another epic battle. the game also manages to do a good job of making you feel what it would be like to be out numbered and out gunned on an alien planet.
    From the very begining to the absolutely epic end, KZ3 will have you hooked............now, who's up for some mulit player :0)
    Expand
  53. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Totally awesome, especially for us somewhat tired of the same games beeing sold over and over again with slightly different stories and mechanics but mostly the same weapons. Yes, Call of Duty, Modern Warfare and Medal of Honor, im looking at you. Better story and multiplayer than kz2, and it just keeps on getting better!
  54. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Wonderful game, im really impressed with the improvements they made from killzone 2, making that game look obsolete compared to this one, even though the multiplayer in kz2 was far more original, but at the same time this one is more balanced and way more addictive and fun.
  55. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    I dont think this game deserves a 10 because of the ending, the fact that they nerfed the gunplay experience and that Rico gets turned into a hero instead of just putting a bullet in his brains... But at the same time considering that its way superior to killzone 2 in every single way, and i mean, every single way : story, character development, weapons, fun, addictiveness, mp experience, sp time spam, etc, i think ill give it the maximum score, this game is golden grahams for me Expand
  56. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a tour de force! This game is absolutely fantastic in so many ways. First off the control is way better than KZ2. It is more responsive and precise. I am a CoD gamer and I can tell you this controls better. I am more accurate in KZ3 than other games. The graphics are tremendous and shouldn't be ignored. When they are this good we should applaud the developer GG for their great work. Once you play KZ3 and then go play Black Ops it is glaring and frightening how above and beyond the detail in KZ3 is compared to Black Ops. The detail really immerses you into the ISA/Helghan universe. The sound is deafening! No other game has been able to put you into the middle of a war through sound like KZ3. From the booming of explosions to the very authentic gun fire which sounds like you are shooting a gun just inches away from your ear. The story is not Pulitzer Prize worthy by any means but it doesn't have to be. To funny how some reviewers actually grade a game base solely on the story. There are so many moving parts to a great game and KZ3 has them all. The story does a good job of moving the plot along. After KZ2 I really cared about Sev and Rico. To my joy they are back and better than ever. Sev is a great character that doesn't run from a fight. He will go into the most dire of situations because that is just who he is. The characters are fleshed out more and I, the gamer benefit from it. The Single Player Campaign is outstanding with many memorable chapters. Right now I am thinking about the Mawlr! Yes, this monstrosity is very memorable. One of the many highlights that the SP has to offer. The SP is an adrenaline rush that keeps moving along at a nice pace. Even when it slows down to a stealth like area it doesn't last for long. You'll see what I mean when you get to the Helghan Jungle. There is a good variety of gameplay in the SP portion. There is the Exo which allows you take control of a Exo Mech that has machine guns and rockets. You can run and jump the same way you run as a soldier. The Exo was a lot of fun and I am glad they added it to the SP and MP. There are rail portions of the game that lead you on a predetermined path. These allow you take control of mini guns and unleash lead fury on the Helghast. One of the largest additions is the Jet Pack. This allows you to select put on a Jet Pack and select it like a weapon. Once selected it allows you to jump up high and hover. While hovering the X button gives you a boost of speed that you will need in a few areas. Thankfully the Jet Pack makes an appearance in the MP as well. I found the Jet Pack tricky to control at first but got the hang of it fairly quickly. The Multiplayer is where is where KZ3 excels. There are 6 classes to choose from, Engineer, Marksman, Tactician, Infiltrator and Field Medic. They all have their specialties and enhance the MP. For instance the Engineer, my favorite, allows you to construct a Turret which when fully leveled up has a machine gun and rocket. Also, the Engineer has the repair ability that is nice. You can repair Ammunition Stashes, Exo Mechs and your own Turret. Being an Engineer also gives you the ability to hack an enemies Turret making it fire on the enemy. However, you have to get right next to the Turret if you want to hack it and that can be difficult. The Marksman is the sniper class. This class is one of the best sniper classes I have played in any FPS. The Marksman has the ability to cloak so you are invisible and line up those tough sniper shots. The Tactician allows you to take control and capture spawn areas. The Tactician can also call in a Sentry Droid that floats along side for protection. The Infiltrator, oh man, the most frustrating class in KZ3. This class allows you to disguise yourself to look like your enemy. At it's highest level the disguise can fool your enemy up until they are very close to you. There are ways to see through the disguise however, but I won't ruin it for you. The Field Medic has been done unceremoniously wrong in many MP FPS. However, KZ3 nailed the Field Medic. The Field Medic can revive a fallen comrade. However, once they level up more they can call on a Medi-Droid to protect the Field Medic on the battlefield. The Medi-Droid has guns and can save your life. If you are brought down and bleeding out the Medi-Droid gives you the opportunity at the end of the respawn timer the option to respawn where you fell with full health and ammunition. I have played all the classes and they are all fantastic. KZ3 has a long MP life ahead of it. There are many modes to play as well. You have your typical Death Match called Guerrilla Warfare. There is the phenomenal Warezone which returns from KZ2. This mode mixes many MP game types into one. Rounded off by Operations. KZ3 is by far the best FPS I have played to date. I highly recommend it to anyone. I got my first Platinum with KZ3! Expand
  57. May 23, 2011
    9
    I really like this game! as good as it is though,it is not a Halo or Gears of War beater in my opinion.It comes VERY close,but its lack of online Co-Op lets it down,& will be a big deal to alot of people.. But noneleless i am glad & grateful to see it has split-screen Co-Op,& indeed Co-Op at all,as KZ1&2 should've had it,& really benefited from it.Hopefully Gurilla will finally have the perfect Killzone in the next title,& have Campaign Co-Op'online'too.I dont know why,But PS3 games,particulally the exclusives,such as Resistance 2(& prob 3),Killzone 1&2,Uncharted 1&2 & i'm sure others,lack campaign Co-Op.This trend needs to change,& hopefully KZ3's Co-Op is the start of this change.All that aside,the graphics are great & look detailed & suitably gritty,Great gameplay & gunplay,Good cover & aiming system that rivals the best 'Using cover' games out there,& the sounds are extremely good,sounding realistic,& immerse you in your battles,giving you that feel your actually in a gunfight..The Story is also very good i thought,although its basically about escaping,its told well,& the music in the game is absolutely superb,its beautiful & haunting,& is really good music in its own right.As i said,i dont think it beats Halo & Gears,as for starters they have on & offline Co-Op & better overall stories.But if it had online Co-Op too,i could not in good concience have given it a lower mark than those games.Highly recommend this title! Expand
  58. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Well, I'm a big fan of FPS games. So, Killzone 3 is an awesome game. Although it's the first game in the series that I've played, but it's really fun. The graphics are amazing, storyline is interesting and the gameplay is fantastic with the Brutal Melee feature added. Another thing that I like about the game is mainly the multiplayer. It's becoz you can play with various abilities and guns. This game promises replayability for sure! I think gamers and FPS fans should buy this for their PS3 console. I give it a 10! Expand
  59. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    KZ3 in my opinion is the best FPS ever. The online, the game play, graphics, sound, everything is great. The story mode is a little short but however is the best shooter!!!. This game will be epic I know. This game is something that u must have on your ps3.
  60. May 22, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 has, in my opinion, the best muti-player on ps3, much better than Black ops or Home front and better graphics as well. A totally different leveling up system which lets you add unique perks to the class of your choice and very well designed maps with a individual feel to them. If you enjoy online gaming and have a ps3 then this is a must have game...without doubt the most fun i have ever had online! Expand
  61. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 is definitely one of the best fps games on the PS3. The graphics are excellent, the gameplay is awesome and the music is top notch. The single player cleverly loads segments during cutscenes for a seamless experience, and manages to mix things up a bit. There is traditional infantry combat, exoskeletons, jetpacks, space ships which range from frozen tundras to strange green forests. The sluggish controls of killzone 2 have been changed to be more responsive as well, and this works great.

    The multiplayer is superb, with multiple game types. The jetpacks and exos are even usable on some maps! It's sure to have you playing for months.

    Overally Killzone 3 is a great game which improves on its predecessor. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  62. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    LMFAO @ xbox fanboys rating this AMAZING game 0 , This is an Amazing game.. Killzone 2,3 are The BEST FPS game this gen, A little underrated too, i mean how can a game like this get an 7 or 8 while a **** game like call of duty gets a 9 or 10 , believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like this game, I highly recommend this game to everyone with PS3! Expand
  63. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Best single player story this gen

    Best multi-player game hands down this gen

    Story line could be longer

    Take no notice of the low scores since anybody can do a self review on ere and most are just 360fanboys.
  64. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    I really liked this game, i dont know why people give it such low scores. the flaws in the multiplayer will be fixed eventually through patches. they really did well with the sensitivity and i like the perk and weapon system. i also thought the brutal melee was a pretty good addition too. it's fun stabbing someone in the neck even though it leaves you open to enemy fire, it's worth it. the maps are huge and the graphics are really good. i also liked the addition of silencers. over all this is a great game i dont know why it got such low scores. Expand
  65. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    I don't play FPS very much, but I had to say I did enjoy this one. I played it thru using the Move Sharp Shooter attachment. Moving with the sharpshooter attachment took a little getting use to, but aiming was very accurate. Although mu wrist start to get sort after a few hours (maybe I'm boxing too much lately)

    I can not comment on multiple player as I don't play one line (because I'll
    get killed), but it was was very enjoyable game, a must for anyone that likes rail shooters. Expand
  66. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    The game looks great. The campaign has a nice variation of game-play modes, enough so you don't get bored as you make it through the story.

    Multiplayer is somewhat improved with custom class unlocks and new "Operations" mode.
    Highly recommended for any fan of the series.
  67. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    Man WHAT A GAME. Its superb. Visceral, raw, tactical , beautiful and above all fun. It brings back teamwork. Players are encouraged to work in teams using different classes. A high KD doesnt benefit anyone and indeed there arent any chopper gunners to bolster your score. I am genuinly blown away. One player isnt perfect and has some cheesy moments and plot faults , but the inclusion of a co-op mode is a boon and it takes quite a few hours to finish. Multiplayer is a breath of fresh air. Long live the new best FPS KZ3. Collapse
  68. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    A multiplayer powerhouse. Killzone 3 boasts arguably the nicest graphics on the Playstation and the mechanics have been sped up to match this slicker image. This leaves some of the games trademark weightiness behind movement intact while giving the game a dynamic multiplayer feel. While the single player campaign is enjoyable, though hardly literary genius, the game was clearly designed with multiplayer gameplay in mind which is undoubtedly it's bread and butter. Highly recommended for people who enjoy player vs. player shooters, the bot mode is a nice plus for those without internet or looking for a slightly easier transition towards the at times cutthroat online gameplay. Expand
  69. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This is without a doubt the best looking first person shooter on the market, every step oozes with glorious detail, from simple things like distant mountain ranges to beautiful space views from interstellar space ships. This game is outstanding it plays slightly slower in pace than most modern shooter but this all fits in nicely with the gameplay and graphics, its a much meatier game than most fps's and is in a class of its own Expand
  70. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Campaign is great. You cant stop playing. Its immersive like hell. Awesome game, short though.

    Connecting to multiplayer is slow initially, but when your ps3 is connected to the server, online play is working properly. New: Get into a mech-suit or fly with a jet pack. Controls feels a lot more responsive than Killzone 2. There are many new DLC maps to download too.

    Good game!
  71. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    Epic and everything that could have been hoped for after the turn of events that ended Killzone 2. The game-play in this latest KZ offering are alot less sluggish than that of previously titles, however the characters still feel as if they have a realistic and considerable weight to them unlike anything I have previously played. The story plays out with a compelling tale beginning at the conclusion of the second game and is a must for fans of the series. Levels play out much similar to the other games in the series with a fine mix of vehicle levels, stealth and standard fps run and gun. Online adds variety also where other games haven't and the inclusion of the new level up system is a welcomed addition; botzone is another mode in which players can get that online experience without the many many deaths and online headset abuse! One thing this game does incredibly well is the EXPLODEY bits! The visuals in this game are unbelievable with some really huge boss battles thrown in for great effect. The one thing I do regret with this game however isn't anything to do with the game at all; It's just....this will look amazing in 3D...and now I know im going to have to buy a 3D set Expand
  72. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Even Better than killzone 2( which I put 250 hours into multiplayer). Killzone 3 just out classes every other fps in every way and form. I would recommend this to all. And to the reviewers saying the campaign isnt that great there full of it!, The campaign is full of all action and I couldnt stop playing it. 10/10 from me.
  73. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Pretty but boring.
    The designers obviously sat down & decided we have 2 have a stealth mission, a shooting from tank mission, a mech mission... & built the game from there & it cums across as a melding of parts rather than a coherent whole (always a problem with FPS excepting Halo 1, Half Life 1) but that's probably the RPGer in me.
    Graphics do not a good game make.
  74. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    This game is just amazing, improves everything of Killzone 2, the campaign is EPIC and the multiplayer mode owns CoD in all ways.

    All people who liked KZ2 will love this game, and who doesn't, maybe KZ3 will convince them. All the improvements to the multiplayer are for good, so playing it is awesome. And what to tell of graphics, this is actually one of the best looking console games,
    if not the best.

    A must-buy.
    Expand
  75. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    This game deserves a well written review so here goes. The latest installment to the Killzone universe is an awesome effort from start to finish. The game starts out a little slow due to grampa or your little brother's mandatory aim, move , shoot training session but it does give a glimpse into the state of affairs six months from the start of the game. After starting the Hellghast fight hard and with the help of massive war machines. Their superior numbers demand that your sqaud is always on the move from one objective to the next. The pace the game sets is awesome, always on the move utilizing mechanical walkers, tanks or the occassional stolen vehicle. The weapons are plenty but you are limited to an arguably small selection of weapons but like in other Killzone games, the motto "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" goes along way here. The assault rifles are awesome, never underpowered and accurate. The rest of the arsenal is at times a little overpowered (minigun) but most are niche' weapons and perform well. The graphics are awesome and arguably the best visuals ever seen on PS3. I can't attest to the sharpshooter or the 3d ascpects of the game but I'm sure they add another layer of depth the game could have lived without. The audio lags sometimes when the action picks up but other than that the audio is spectacular, just the kind you would expect from a huge production this game was. The multiplay er is what you've come to expect with fps. Leveling up through different classes to get better gear. The addition of the botmode is refreshing and allows you to shapen your fangs against the A.I. But there will always be haters, the truth is the reason 360 owners hate any good ps3 game is because mommy wont buy them a ps3 too! This is the gold standard in gaming and reminds me why I love my playstation. (other than it being reliable!) This game is worth the 60 retail to put it in your collection. Great job Guerillla, keep up the great work and keep them coming. Expand
  76. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    There has always been a fight between ps3 fanboys and xbox fanboys. Xbox has gears of war, while ps3 has resistance. Xbox has Mass effect, Splinter cell, alan wake, fable 3, left for dead, and Forza. To combat that ps3 has Uncharted, Demon Souls, Infamous, Resistance, Ratchet and clank, little big planet, Gran turismo, Heavy rain, MGS, Yakuza, and God of war. Now i didn't mention Halo and killzone because those are what then fights are mostly about. Comparing The original killzone to halo 1 is stupid, halo won. Then Killzone 2 came out and everything changed, halo started getting some competition, but halo 2 still won. Now Killzone 3 comes out and it fights Halo 3, making this a close fight. Killzone 3 is a gaming experience which is gorgeous and now ties with Halo. This game is amazing, Beautiful and stunning. This is what Halo has to watch out for Expand
  77. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is truly one of the best online FPS experiences I have ever played with. This game is gorgeous. People trash the story mode, but I like it better then Halo's or anything COD has done. The game in single player does feel different as opposed to multiplayer. It has more weight but it's a great feel. Online, for me, for any FPS, is what it's about. I don't buy FPS to go thru the story mode, I buy them for online play. It's the more addicting part versus having to feel the pressure to finish the game. I have Bad Company 2 and have never touched single player b/c the multiplayer is so good. The leveling up system on this game is great. The maps are huge on Warzone and Operations, but some are smaller on guerilla warfare. You will take a beating early on but once you fully level up, you can start leveling up other classes to full, and start dominating. The overall experience is great. Online, there's really no lag, runs smooth, and rooms are generally full of enough players. The classes are unique, you just have to find what you like to use. I started with the Engineer and moved on to the marksman. There can be a lot of time invested in this game and enjoyed. Best FPS on the PS3. Expand
  78. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    To keep things simple and short: Awesome! Guerrilla did a fantastic job this time around. I remember enjoying Killzone 2, and thought the multiplayer to be really fun and addicting. I've always preferred the Campaign modes, and thought that Killzone 2 was really good. This one blows it out of the water. The pacing, story, and variety are all fantastic. Also, the multiplayer maps that I've played so far are also way better and more balanced. Well done fellas. P.S. I'm using the sharpshooter to play through the SP story a second time now and it is a totally different experience. Really good job. Expand
  79. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Mind-blowing graphics, Amazing gameplay, superp story. One of the best online multiplayers out there. What else can I say? BUY IT! I need to say more so...Stop being fanboys you pather people rating below a 7. Just grow up you pathetic jelous people. Best games ever: Uncharted 3 Killzone 3 Gran Turismo 5 Infamous 2 Little Big Planet 2 Heavy Rain... So I don't see how people can be so pathetic.
    Rant over, Teraah!
    Expand
  80. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Killzone 3 drops this Tuesday on Playstation 3, but I have been fortunate enough to have an early review copy thanks to Ashley over at Playstation. Not only was yours truly provided with the game - I was also handed the "Sharp Shooter" peripheral, a large plastic machine gun that makes Nintendo's Zapper seem rather inadequate. The Playstation Move motion controller and navigation controller fit snuggly into the device and Killzone 3 can be played entirely this way.

    So how does the new "Halo killer" add up? Is the PS Sharp Shooter a massive disappointment, or the dawn of a new era in first person shooting?

    Spoiler alert, it's awesome but not totally without fault.

    Killzone 3 takes place immediately after the events of part 2 - it seems in these kinds of games, the protagonists never get any down time. No vacations in Mexico, no Disneyland with the kids and no dinner and dancing with that special gal. It's just one war zone after another. But that's what we like, isn't it?

    Once again we are put into the shoes of Interplanetary Strategic Alliance soldiers Sev and Rico. In the last game these two were crucial in the assassination of the evil Helghast dictator Visari. In case you are new to the series the Helghast are a race of humanoid-type beings hell-bent on domination and conquest. The death of their dictator has deeply divided the remaining political elite and a power struggle ensues within the Helghast themselves. The story is great - usually with most FPS the story is the one thing that is usually lacking. Not the case with Killzone 3 - I found myself watching and analyzing each cut-scene carefully as to not miss any of the story.

    On the downside, I found that the dialogue at times left much to be desired. The voice acting was fine, but I think the script was too full of cliches. It reminded me at times of an 80s era Schwarzenegger movie.

    The gameplay of Killzone 3 is really the best part of the experience. After playing recent FPS like, Halo: Reach and Call of Duty: Black Ops, KZ3 felt like a breath of fresh air. You really need to think strategically and use cover in order to excel. Simply running into the battlefield, guns blazing, is a recipe for failure. The game can also be very challenging, sometimes I wanted to jump off my couch and hurl the controller at the TV - but when you do complete a stage, it's insanely rewarding.

    The PS Move coupled with the Sharp Shooter peripheral is another great way to enjoy Killzone 3. You're really able to get into a grove where it feels very intuitive, just take the time during the initial set up to customize the controls. Aiming and turning sensitivity can be adjusted in the options menu based on how touchy you want it to be.

    I don't think this will replace the way you play an FPS, the controller still feels the most natural for me - but it does provide an extra challenge and additional replay value. Plus at only $40 you're all set up for rail-shooters like Dead Space: Extraction and Time Crisis. The yet to be released Socom 4 will have Sharp Shooter functionality as well.

    Previous Killzone titles have all had great graphics and visuals and number 3 is no exception. Everything from the character models to the environments and explosions are all gorgeously rendered with tons of attention given to detail. There is so much going on the screen all the time, but Killzone 3 runs very smoothly with minimal frame rate issues. The only downside is that at times the game will freeze for a second when entering a new area. Previous Killzone titles were brutal in this respect - it seems like developer Guerrilla Games did a lot of work to correct the problem.

    It can't be an FPS without multiplayer and Killzone 3 knocks it out of the park. I really enjoyed the return of 2 player cooperative split-screen local multiplayer (not available in Killzone 2). Player one controls Sev, player two controls Rico - it's a great way to waste a few hours and a few Helghast soldiers.

    Online, you have a wide array of different modes to choose from. Some of the best that I played were; "Guerrilla Warfare" classic team 16 player deathmatch, "Warzone" which returns from Killzone 2 and is a mission-based game, and "Botzone" which players can use to fine tune their skills against bots (A.I controlled players). There are way more online modes to explore, so get to it!

    Killzone 3 is the quint essential FPS. It has intense action, big guns, huge explosions, stealth gameplay, jetpacks and a story that you'll actually care about. Adding the PS Move Sharp Shooter to the mix adds value and fun, and is actually a worthwhile peripheral. Plus the main antagonist Jorhan Stahl is voiced my Malcolm MacDowell from A Clockwork Orange, how cool is that?

    9 out of 10
    Expand
  81. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    THE MOVE IS THE FUTURE !
    For me the ability to point at the enemy and take a perfectly aimed shot using the move controller is the most realistic, satisfying and fun way to shoot the enemy, sure it takes some practice at first but it soon feels like second nature. The game took me about 7 or 8 hours to complete and every moment was impressive from the excellent story line and best quality
    scripting and voice acting I've ever heard in a game of this type and believe me I've pretty much played them all.
    The graphics are sublime and easily give the present top end pc games a run for their money, the controls have been made to feel much more responsive and intuitive and when you need to run you move faster than you would in any of the COD games. The weapons in the game all feel solid and the close quarters combat is really brutal and the best yet for any fps that I've seen.
    It's been a while since I played a game which I enjoyed as much as this and if I had anything negative to add it would be that I didn't want the campaign to end but I'm looking forward to multi-player regardless.
    Any rational fps fans of should get this game. Graphics=10 Story=8 Game-play=9 Overall=9
    Expand
  82. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    Im not sure how some of the reviewers are calling this Killzone 2.5. Killzone 2 was fantastic, but I feel that the third installment trumps it in many ways. For one, the level design is much better. Though K3 is very much a linear experience, I did feel like I could stray from the beaten path more than in the second one. The colors in this are much more beautiful too. Where K2 was very dark and grey, this one has more Earthly colors and then there is the jungle in all of its neon glory. The guns feel and sound more powerful. The brutal melees never get old. While the story wouldnt get a nod from the Academy any time soon, it keeps you on your toes and never lets up. The mp is outstanding in my opinion. There is a lot of flack over camping, and snipers and such...but I guess that I am the only one that has come to expect that in ANY multiplayer game these days. I have been a Killzone fan since the first game, and while it may not be everyone's favorite game....it is definitely one of mine. Expand
  83. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Have to say, that I hated Killzone 2 and naturally I was sceptical towards this game. Fortunately, I was wrong, very very wrong. This game is awesome. Simply as that. Nice graphics, awesome sound work, it controls like a dream, decent story and characters, co-op in campaign, nice and deep online experience. Why "only" 9/10? Just a few bugs, that can be easily fixed...so maybe after few patches, this become a ultimate 10/10 game in my eyes. Totally worth 60$ and must buy for everyone with PS3. For those with another system, borrow PS3 from your friend, uncle, girlfriend/boyfriend or whatever and play it! Expand
  84. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This game was a beautiful upgrade from kz2, they made the game play much smoother with an complete addition of story from kz2. Only one tiny problem with this game was how abrupt the game ended.
  85. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    You cannot argue with the storyline and graphics,Incredible.I liek how it starts right after the aftermath of the second game.In effort all the Killzone games are epic and good.I give it a 10 for one of the best sequels of 2011.
  86. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    killzone 3 is the most complete shooter experience you will find on the playstation 3 to date. with improved controls and graphics over its predecessor, it clearly deserves a place in your game library. Move compatibility, 3D support, online and offline multiplayer, Eye Candy, this game will withstand the test of time.
    the game was built around coop mode but with the disappointing split
    screen only coop mode, it gives you the impression the game was rushed out. nevertheless killzone 3 is clearly a better choice over 20$ coop games you may find at the bargain bin. its up to the consumer to decide if they want a mediocre experience or a fantastic and adrenalin heart pumping experience with killzone 3.

    be warned the experience might make your head spin.
    Expand
  87. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    KillZone 3 is possibly the best multiplayer FPS I have played. Being a bit of a Call of Duty fan for the past few years and one that only plays Team Deathmatch, KillZone 3 is refreshing and really makes you think. Most FPS have a class system and the difference is usually just a limit to the type of weapon you can use, yes some perks allow for faster movement and silent footsteps etc, but KillZone 3 has 5 very specific classes each with their own unique abilities.

    You will have your favourite and there are many that like to sit invisibly with a sniper rifle picking off runners, but there is some much more to this game than racking up kills. Capturing tactical spawn points can provide you with some extra firepower, jet packs or air strikes and only 1 class can do this the Tactician. The Medic class has the ability to revive fallen comrades but also has a support drone that acts as an early warning system and can hover over your body adding fire power and support.

    The weapons feel great, the maps are fantastic with huge vistas and scenery that takes you to Helghast and makes the multiplayer feel like part of the single player game.

    The single player campaign is great also - much is said these days about the length of a campaign in a shooter but we all know its the online that matters. That said I have found the single player mode just long enough and suitably difficult and varied to keep me challenged and interested in what is coming next.

    This is my favourite shooter at the moment and 2011 has many to come, but for now Black Ops has been relieved of duty.
    Expand
  88. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Love that game! In comparison to its predecessors it's so much more realistic and the gameplay a lot more exciting. Spent a good couple of hours in anterooms playing that game!
  89. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    If a game was based on looks Killzone 3 would be the Megan Fox of the gaming world because Killzone looks exceptional there's no denying that as visually its near flawless. Unfortunately, looks don't mean everything. Killzone 2 was an excellent game and remains one of the best FPS around. And that's one of the problems of Killzone 3. As an all round package it doesn't deliver. The single player is not a patch of its predecessor. That's not to say its bad because its far from it - the gameplay is arguably the best of its kind pretty much Killzone 2 but with better landscapes and settings but because its Killzone were dealing with we were expecting a lot more! The problem is the story never really goes anywhere, its more the case playing for the sake of playing because the idea is a good one, Sev and his squad stuck on enemy territory but they never shown or portrayed well. However online/multiplayer is entirely different! This is where the game sets itself apart from the pretenders. Up to 24 players can slug it out so you might have to prepare to say goodbye to your thumbs! Its that addictive and will always leave you wanting more. So basically Killzone 3 is a solid and sublime addition to the series as online/multiplayer is as good as it gets and graphically/visually its possibly the best to date only let down by a weak single player mode that fails to capture the imagination but that still doesn't deflect away from the fact that Killzone 3 is one of the best FPS available. Expand
  90. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    "The most fun I've had in years on a console FPS" is the first thing I said to my friends when I first played Killzone 3. The single player is very cinematic, delivering a fast-paced, emotion driven story. What we buy games for these days though, is the multiplayer - especially when purchasing an FPS Title. The multiplayer is very intense to say the least. It feels like a more "futuristic" version of Team Fortress to a certain extent - where there are Engineers to build bots - Medics to revive and heal - Snipers to take out the distant enemies. The game is extremely fun. I've put 25 solid hours into the multiplayer, and every day when I get home, I crave more. A definite purchase in my eyes. Especially if you're looking for a diverse shooter that supports many playstyles n the multiplayer aspect of the game. Expand
  91. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    Admittedly, I have barely cracked the SP Campaign, as I tend to play either the Single Player OR the Multiplayer component of the First Person Shooters I buy. In this case, I bought KZ3 expressly for the Multiplayer component, and I could not be more satisfied. Having played the previous 2 installments of COD, I grew tired of BlackOps far more quickly than I anticipated. I guess I got my fill of COD online MP with Modern Warfare 1 & 2.. and found myself craving an online multiplayer FPS I could sink my teeth into. I'd finally played KZ2 shortly before KZ3 was released, and in the end, enjoyed it far more than I thought I would, and once I played the Multiplayer beta for KZ3 I was hooked. the KZ3 multiplayer has 8 large and diverse maps, in addition to the 2 extras that came with my pre-order. The maps are generally very large, and encourage different play styles, which is a nice change from the COD style of play for me. Probably closer to the Battlefield series, but I have never managed to get into those for some reason.

    the game sports 5 well balanced classes with a pretty awesome and diverse range of special skills, each of which is essential for successful team based play. I find that most people gravitate towards Marksman (invisi-sniper) or Infiltrator (shotgun runner), leaving the more team-minded to man the Tactician, Engineer and Medic posts. Once I unlocked the 2nd Primary Weapon perk, I found myself more willing to play these support roles, which turn out to be very satisfying. I particularly love the tactician, as without spawn points, you can pretty much say goodbye to any hope of victory in Warzone mode, which is my favorite (though I enjoy them all) Spawn points sometimes come equipped with extra gear such as mortar beacons, jetpacks and exo's, all of which are mad fun and add alot to the gameplay.

    all in all, I can't speak for the Single Player, but KZ3 Multiplayer is my game right now. I'm loving it!
    Expand
  92. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    It's really too bad this wasn't Killzone 2, because this game is awesome- FAR better than KZ2. Guerrilla managed to fix most of what was bad about the previous entry in the series with the 3rd game, but it still falls just a bit flat. If Metacritic would bother to implement a half-point system, I'd give it an 8.5, but rounding down to an 8 would be too low.
  93. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    not quite the complete, amazing package that killzone 2 is, killzone 3 is still awesome fun for multiplayer and the graphics are ridiculously great. easily my favorite of the early 2011 shooters.
  94. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    it's a very special game for the fans of this great game, if you don't like killzone 2, you can give an opportunity to killzone 3 cause is better and the PS move is very exciting, and also one of the greatest FPS multiplayer's
  95. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    this was my first venture into the world of killzone and i thouroughly enjoyed from the fail of a storyline that is so bad it is funny to the excellent multiplayer, it isn't very hard top get good at this game which is a plus for me so i could now wonder on equal terms in the multiplayer unlike n CoD where i die all the time. added to this the excellant graphics and variety in levels just top this off, the onlly gripe i have is that after completing a multiplayer class all the others seem reall under powered and, just no more fun, a must buy if u like fps and own a playstation Expand
  96. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Really enjoyed single player campign I finished it twice. Visuals are really good and presentation beats any 2010-2011 FPS game. Multiplayer is interesting also big community and I manage to meet few nice people online ..game is worth full price!
  97. May 10, 2011
    10
    this game is actually great people are just saying bad thing because its play station 3 exclusive..
    first play and write a review.
    kill zone 2 is a great game and kill zone as well.. so just sit back and enjoy the game rather than black ops
  98. May 10, 2011
    9
    By far the best online shooter on the ps3. Big upgrade over part 2 , and it includes an action packed single player. Rivals halo on the xbox and in my opinion way better than that halo reach trash...
  99. May 14, 2011
    10
    Get this game! Incredible single player with exciting set-pieces and characters that come to life with the amazing graphics and animations, it does however get a little confusing towards the end of the story. In terms of multiplayer, this stands up with the big dogs like Battlefield and Call Of Duty (which is very poor compared to Killzone 3), the classes and abilities balance the gameplay very well and everything feels fair. You no longer feel like your walking around in a tin can full of oil which was a big complaint in Killzone 2, every weapon feels great and all are meatily satisfying to fire. There is also an option to play the single player in splitscreen co-op which is a lot of fun when you get used to the reduced screen size, however this is not available to play co-op online which would have been a nice touch. Splitscreen online is absent too which was one of the best parts of games like Black Ops and Motorstorm Apocalypse; here's hoping that they will include it in Killzone 4! Overall this is a fantastic A++ game that deserves to be played and appreciated by everyone. Expand
  100. May 19, 2011
    10
    The campaign has a solid story with here and there the predictable storylines. It's a bad vs. good story with some twists in it but it never gets bored. The guns arent so much different for the second part. Big points I give to the graphics and sound: they are just amazing! A real enjoyment for the eyes and ears! This game is just great and so much fun to play with a friend! A must-have in your ps3 collection! Expand
  101. Apr 4, 2011
    0
    Man WHAT A GAME. Its superb. Visceral, raw, tactical , beautiful and above all fun. It brings back teamwork. Players are encouraged to work in teams using different classes. A high KD doesnt benefit anyone and indeed there arent any chopper gunners to bolster your score. I am genuinly blown away. One player isnt perfect and has some cheesy moments and plot faults , but the inclusion of a co-op mode is a boon and it takes quite a few hours to finish. Multiplayer is a breath of fresh air. Long live the new best FPS KZ3. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Is Killzone 3 deep enough to snipe PSN players from the COD: Black Ops fold? Probably not. Is Killzone 3 outstanding enough to warrant single-player awards for its narrative? Nope. But let there be no doubt that when it comes to intense gameplay that gives not one spare second for players to catch their breath or laze their way into a routine, Killzone 3 is near the top of the pack. The fact that it's the best-looking game we've seen and happens to support full stereoscopic 3D is just icing on the cake.
  2. 70
    Although the third part of the entire Killzone series is the weakest one it is still a very above-average piece of entertainment every PS3 owner should have this in their collection. [Mar 2011]
  3. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.