Killzone 3 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 963 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 963
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2016
    7
    Not the best of story lines however the game is just awesome at game play. I played at the difficulty level between the easier and the tougher one and the gameplay was a fun one. It just had the right balance. Sound was excellent throughout. Check points in the game are at regular intervals, does not frustrate you at any time. I must have finished the game in under 7 hours but definitelyNot the best of story lines however the game is just awesome at game play. I played at the difficulty level between the easier and the tougher one and the gameplay was a fun one. It just had the right balance. Sound was excellent throughout. Check points in the game are at regular intervals, does not frustrate you at any time. I must have finished the game in under 7 hours but definitely enjoyed the experience! Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2016
    7
    Pretty good game with decent graphics. I am a huge FPS fan and also a cooperative one. This game incorporates both aspects flawlessly and created a joyful experience. It was a ton of fun to play with my friend and we used strategy and tactics for the first time in an FPS single player rather than who can get the most kills. I would recommend you play this game with friends.
  3. Feb 5, 2015
    6
    Wooohhh nelly slow down i think i see killzone. Is that killzone? Doesnt seem like killzone. Seems like somebody dutied on it. Well it wasnt my horse. No no more killzone. What happened 2 was so Good. Me dont like 2 play easy dumbed down things.Too much doody round here. Ridin my horse outa here caz its all down hill after this.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    7
    I barely played the multiplayer so this is just a review of the singleplayer campaign. The story starts almost directly after the end of Killzone 2. Not that anybody cares because the story is extremely bland and the main heroes are either unlikable or forgettable. Story-wise most of the entertainment comes from Ray Winstone and Malcolm Mcdowell who are extremely over the top and just chewI barely played the multiplayer so this is just a review of the singleplayer campaign. The story starts almost directly after the end of Killzone 2. Not that anybody cares because the story is extremely bland and the main heroes are either unlikable or forgettable. Story-wise most of the entertainment comes from Ray Winstone and Malcolm Mcdowell who are extremely over the top and just chew scenery throughout the entire game.

    The game controls a lot better than its predecessor while still keeping the feeling that your weapons have weight. The level design is also a bit better and i used the cover mechanic quite a bit while i don't remember using it at all in Killzone 2. Visually the game still looks great and holds up pretty well even after having seen Killzone: Shadowfall. Overall i had fun with the game but i doubt that i remember much of the singleplayer campaign after a few months
    Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    It is apparent that the developer of Killzone puts realism ahead of everything in their game. But realism does not make good games; whereas Killzone 3 is visually impressive and of course, quite realistic, it is mediocre as a fps.
    Enemies in Killzone are pretty tanky: it takes around 10 body shoots to kill. It might make sense because of the armor enemies are wearing, but it makes
    It is apparent that the developer of Killzone puts realism ahead of everything in their game. But realism does not make good games; whereas Killzone 3 is visually impressive and of course, quite realistic, it is mediocre as a fps.
    Enemies in Killzone are pretty tanky: it takes around 10 body shoots to kill. It might make sense because of the armor enemies are wearing, but it makes shooting sloppy, as you don't have a sense that you shots are hitting. Covers continue to be useless as is in all Killzone games: enemies hit you with pinpoint accuracy despite you being in cover. Although you could do the same thing to enemies hiding behind cover but what's the point of making a cover system if it does not work?
    I feel like the weapons in Killzone isn't realistic; although its the 24th century and battle cruisers warp around the galaxy, soldiers are still using physical bullet rifles with red dot sights or just iron sights. Cmon we need futuristic guns! Especially when the environment is so futuristic and amazing!
    Even with these issues however Killzone 3 still gets a 7 with its vibrant world, awesome graphics and alright level design.
    Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Killzone 3 is a very good game but isn't as good as the 1st and 2nd Killzones, because first of all, the graphics look exactly like KZ2, I just wish KZ3 came out years later for a new Playstation (Shadow Fall, thank you) just like KZ2 came out on the PS3 after KZ1 came out on the PS2. My other disapointment with this game is the multiplayer which in no way is as good as KZ2. The thingsKillzone 3 is a very good game but isn't as good as the 1st and 2nd Killzones, because first of all, the graphics look exactly like KZ2, I just wish KZ3 came out years later for a new Playstation (Shadow Fall, thank you) just like KZ2 came out on the PS3 after KZ1 came out on the PS2. My other disapointment with this game is the multiplayer which in no way is as good as KZ2. The things are: The story, voice acting, some of the greatest battles in all of the series, and the pacing. KZ3 gets 7/10 Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    I gave him a seven but because I have a good day. Killzone 3 is better than the 2 but not much. Maybe the Shadow Fall will be the crown of these games I don't know but this isn't enough. Killzone is not a great FPS.... not by a long shot
  8. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    ok,i dont have anything again playstation
    but this game is overated
    i mean,the story is boring,it has a lot of cliches and stupid things
    the gameplay is good and the graphics too but
    i dont know,it isn the mine.
    still better than call of duty
  9. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    This is a fun and very short (7-9hr.) fps. The story line isn't the best but the action makes up for it. The over all sound of the game is good but the guns don't give off very good "umph" when firing. As of all PS3 exclusive titles the games color pallet is poor. The entire game seems grey with highlights of red or green splattered through out. You should not purchase this game for anyThis is a fun and very short (7-9hr.) fps. The story line isn't the best but the action makes up for it. The over all sound of the game is good but the guns don't give off very good "umph" when firing. As of all PS3 exclusive titles the games color pallet is poor. The entire game seems grey with highlights of red or green splattered through out. You should not purchase this game for any price. If your bored over the weekend this is a great rental. Expand
  10. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    This game was pretty good at launch, but eventually it went down, most people lost interest and all that was left were snipers and a few addicted guys. Also the lag became worse.
  11. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    It's a good game, but no where near Killzone 2. This game improved all the basic things of Killzone 2 like the graphics, controls etc. but many other things they made worse. The story-mode is all good (not as good as KZ2), but the online is really hurting it. What made it unplayable online for me was those awful Jetpacks which made it all very unbalanced! compare to killzone 2 which was aIt's a good game, but no where near Killzone 2. This game improved all the basic things of Killzone 2 like the graphics, controls etc. but many other things they made worse. The story-mode is all good (not as good as KZ2), but the online is really hurting it. What made it unplayable online for me was those awful Jetpacks which made it all very unbalanced! compare to killzone 2 which was a perfect balanced game without it. Jetpacks should have been kept to the story mode. Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    More of the same...visuals awesome, but gameplay feels generic and repetitive.
  13. Oct 28, 2012
    6
    Killzone 3 is more of the same stuff we saw in Killzone 2 except the controls aren't as bad and the environments aren't as dark. It's all snowy this time (!) The game looks and sounds great. The majority of the weapons are the same, but the story feels more fleshed out. I really enjoyed watching Stahl (Malcolm McDowell)'s machinations, however the game peaks early and doesn't concludeKillzone 3 is more of the same stuff we saw in Killzone 2 except the controls aren't as bad and the environments aren't as dark. It's all snowy this time (!) The game looks and sounds great. The majority of the weapons are the same, but the story feels more fleshed out. I really enjoyed watching Stahl (Malcolm McDowell)'s machinations, however the game peaks early and doesn't conclude anything, in fact the entire game is one big stop-gap cliffhanger that just ends abruptly as though development ran out of time, something rather endemic of shooters lately. Expand
  14. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    A good game with fantastic multiplayer. The game sometimes feels sluggish but the technical side is great and the shooting feels satisfying but is let down by lazy menu design, short campaign and lackluster story. Overall 7.3/10 Good
  15. Oct 24, 2012
    7
    It's a step up from Killzone 2, but let's be honest. This game still doesn't bring anything new that we haven't seen before. Everything about this trilogy is generic just like CoD. CoD sucks and this is better but s'mon people this game doesn't deserve a 9 or a 10, it's the same crap we have been seeing for 10 years. Graphics are good like Killzone 2,but even though they are good itIt's a step up from Killzone 2, but let's be honest. This game still doesn't bring anything new that we haven't seen before. Everything about this trilogy is generic just like CoD. CoD sucks and this is better but s'mon people this game doesn't deserve a 9 or a 10, it's the same crap we have been seeing for 10 years. Graphics are good like Killzone 2,but even though they are good it doesn't mean that it's nice to look at. They use the same colors over and over,however Killzone 2 was worse for that. This game is generic but there is still fun to be had :) Expand
  16. Oct 1, 2012
    5
    This is the most bland FPS on rails that I have ever seen. It's not bad, just "meh". The graphics make it look alright (not the best graphics) but everything blends in with its surrondings. You need your enemy to have glowing red eyes just to find them. Using your weapons is kind of tricky because they float on you while your trying to aim. What's bad is that cover is useless most of theThis is the most bland FPS on rails that I have ever seen. It's not bad, just "meh". The graphics make it look alright (not the best graphics) but everything blends in with its surrondings. You need your enemy to have glowing red eyes just to find them. Using your weapons is kind of tricky because they float on you while your trying to aim. What's bad is that cover is useless most of the time. The VO is subpar. No real story because as soon as you're taught to shot your weapon, you begin the story of shoot, shoot, shoot, and shoot some more. Even the enemy were boring and uninspired. The enemy were not originally created but just made into a futuristic Nazi/Soviet hybrid. Three hours worth of game time and i haven't picked the game up in almost three weeks. They're much better FPS out there to entertain you with than this one. Expand
  17. Sep 10, 2012
    6
    I have finished killzone 2, and Killzone 3 disappointed me. The game feels like it is half done. Some of the cutscenes are not connecting. The game feels a little too short. I really like Killzone 2, but Killzone 3 just gave me a very normal experience, nothing is good. I would prefer Killzone 2 over Killzone 3, anytime. They did fix the laggy problem in Killzone 3 though.
  18. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    My copy freezes up, reliably, about 2/3 of the way through the single player campaign, with no scratches evident. Sadly, a quick Internet search reveals that freezes are a very common problem, in the campaign and online multiplayer.

    Why is it that most (or all) Blu-ray ps3 games don't let me (optionally) write game data to my hard drive? Still require the disc to be inserted to play
    My copy freezes up, reliably, about 2/3 of the way through the single player campaign, with no scratches evident. Sadly, a quick Internet search reveals that freezes are a very common problem, in the campaign and online multiplayer.

    Why is it that most (or all) Blu-ray ps3 games don't let me (optionally) write game data to my hard drive? Still require the disc to be inserted to play (of course), but then I get faster load times; I find out at install if there's data corruption (instead of finding out after my return period is over); my ps3 runs quieter and cooler. Sony, I would really appreciate this feature.

    Decent game, but my score is prorated to the fraction of it that I can actually play.
    Expand
  19. Jun 6, 2012
    5
    I just don't understand this game at all, it's pretty, but the campaign is just a rails shooter with... a horrendous storyline. All of the action seems to happen during the cutscenes. Online multiplayer was boring to me, close quarters shooting... maybe I missed something. The graphics are nice enough.
  20. Mar 18, 2012
    6
    Wanting something to fill the void left by COD (RIP). I decided to download the free trial of Kill Zone3 after reading many good reviews. Maybe my expectations were too high but it just seemed like a regular, run of the mill fps. Graphics were nothing special (it felt like i was playing a video game unlike when i first played cod4 which felt like i was actually in a battlefield), the gunsWanting something to fill the void left by COD (RIP). I decided to download the free trial of Kill Zone3 after reading many good reviews. Maybe my expectations were too high but it just seemed like a regular, run of the mill fps. Graphics were nothing special (it felt like i was playing a video game unlike when i first played cod4 which felt like i was actually in a battlefield), the guns and kill animations all felt like every other fps out there. I'm getting tired of the same old generic games. I want to be blown away by something. I want innovation. I want ultra realism with holy sh*t gun fire, explosions and kill animations that put a grin on my face. I want truly amazing graphics. I just think the whole gaming industry is stuck in a rut, just going through the motions with minimal effort because the dollars will come regardless. The discouraging thing is that from the board room this is considered a success. Expand
  21. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    Killzone 3 has great graphics and intense, visceral game play. However, the story has always been a little blan and even boring. It feels like a futuristic version of world war 2 shooter. You're pretty much a soldier from Vetka fighting on behalf of the ISA after post First Extrasolar war tensions exploded into all out war (as in Killzone 1). What bothered me was that Sevchenko or "Sev"Killzone 3 has great graphics and intense, visceral game play. However, the story has always been a little blan and even boring. It feels like a futuristic version of world war 2 shooter. You're pretty much a soldier from Vetka fighting on behalf of the ISA after post First Extrasolar war tensions exploded into all out war (as in Killzone 1). What bothered me was that Sevchenko or "Sev" replaces the main character from Killzone 1 who then dies in this game, his death having no real effect on me. That was disappointing. Killzone 3 pretty much wraps up Killzone 2's story, just not as in a boring way. The different environments are great, and the introduction of new enemies was refreshing. Though the game feels a bit hollow, and even contradicting and then later far fetched. The game feels different without the common goal of a valiant defense or taking down Visari. It feels like an unnecessary expansion, and it seemed like an average game with a not too great ending for the series. The cutscenes are marvelous crafted, and the game is the most realistic war game out there. Overall, this game is a great first time play through, and that's it. Online multiplayer is "eh". The game is no more than a collector's item to be shelved for long time fans of the series. Overall: great graphics, great sound, great gameplay, but not very appealing to new fans or for mutliple replays. The story just seems very bare. The ending cutscene was so...just dumb, that it frustrated me. Personally, Killzone needs to end here at the third installment. The game is just simply overrated. Expand
  22. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    I'm going to get right to the point. If you enjoyed Killzone 2 and appreciated a shooter that thought "outside the box" well you'll be VERY disappointed with kz 3. Kz 3 on it's own is a decent game but I could never get over why some of the great features where removed. Things like not being able to play ALL game modes on all the maps, custom games server browsing, in game squadI'm going to get right to the point. If you enjoyed Killzone 2 and appreciated a shooter that thought "outside the box" well you'll be VERY disappointed with kz 3. Kz 3 on it's own is a decent game but I could never get over why some of the great features where removed. Things like not being able to play ALL game modes on all the maps, custom games server browsing, in game squad feature, spawn on squad leader, spawn camera, spectator mode, decent stat tracking, run stamina, prox chat, recoil/gun play, clan support, faction balancing, 32 player, and spawn nades. I mean really, this is a sequel?

    Anyway..kz 3 is decent shooter but it's on my biggest disappointment of 2011 list.
    Expand
  23. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Picking up after Killzone 2 was always going to be a difficult task, though Guerrilla Games have managed to pull it off admirably, even if we are subjected to a needlessly long tutorial sequence. The real focus this time around is following on the story from the events of the previous game and while it does a good job of moving things along, it also takes a lot of lazy approaches toPicking up after Killzone 2 was always going to be a difficult task, though Guerrilla Games have managed to pull it off admirably, even if we are subjected to a needlessly long tutorial sequence. The real focus this time around is following on the story from the events of the previous game and while it does a good job of moving things along, it also takes a lot of lazy approaches to certain elements. Gameplay wise it is more of the same with some incredible set pieces thrown in, one in particular has you and your allies taking on a giant destructive robot as it destroys literally everything around you.

    By no means a perfect game nor really a perfect sequel, but really only more of the same. Regardless of it still being a solid package, it's a shame they weren't able to add some more innovations to the formula.
    Expand
  24. Oct 25, 2011
    7
    You know I love this franchise. Even loved it on m PSP....this one though felt kinda reptetive. KZ2 was awesome and epic feeling. This game has alot of that same feeling, but really doesnt feel new at all.IT does look great like all the KZ games and it has a kind of Saving private ryan in the future thing going on... I dont know though. It just didnt excite me the way KZ2 did. Still aYou know I love this franchise. Even loved it on m PSP....this one though felt kinda reptetive. KZ2 was awesome and epic feeling. This game has alot of that same feeling, but really doesnt feel new at all.IT does look great like all the KZ games and it has a kind of Saving private ryan in the future thing going on... I dont know though. It just didnt excite me the way KZ2 did. Still a good game though.... worht picking up used if you can and if you liked the other games in the trilogy. Expand
  25. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    bezdushnoe viabushoe kinco za 2300. ne rekomendyu. ne mogli sdelat' vse kak v crysise. drakeface, drakeface, drakeface, drakeface, drakeface, drakeface.
  26. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Multiplayer is this game's saving grace as the singleplayer campaign is so unremarkably dull and poorly put together that it's even more frustrating than Killzone 2. Visuals are stunning, voice acting is good, but once again, all the ISA characters absolutely insufferable. The singleplayer in this game would be way more interesting and entertaining if you were playing a Helghan soldier.Multiplayer is this game's saving grace as the singleplayer campaign is so unremarkably dull and poorly put together that it's even more frustrating than Killzone 2. Visuals are stunning, voice acting is good, but once again, all the ISA characters absolutely insufferable. The singleplayer in this game would be way more interesting and entertaining if you were playing a Helghan soldier. The way it is now, it's like watching a C rate action movie. Multiplayer, however, is a different story. Three main game modes are present - team deathmatch, warzone, and operations. Warzone features seven rounds of varying objectives. One round might be simple team deathmatch, the next might be search and destroy, and following that might come assassination. Certain objectives really favor certain playable class' skills, which really keeps the game feeling dynamic and forces players to always be on their toes. It's an absolute blast and makes control of the large maps crucial, however, spawn camping can become an issue if the teams are lopsided or if one team simply sucks at the game. Operations is a more tightly focused objective mode in which one team of players defends against an attacking team. The defense is usually tasked with protecting certain locations or preventing the attackers from stealing crucial items. Each objective is located in a certain segment of the map as the attackers slowly gain ground and force the defenders back. This keeps the action tightly focused in certain areas when there aren't enough players to fill the large maps. With a full house, the gameplay is even more hectic and fast paced. If you want a memorably singleplayer campaign, go look somewhere else. This is a multiplayer game, and pretty good one at that. I recently picked up the game a couple weeks ago and it is still well populated. Expand
  27. Jul 22, 2011
    7
    So Killzone 3..
    Lets start with the graphics...yes i admit it the graphics are amazing,the devs have done a great job,the whole picture is great even if there are some flows in graphics engine...
    Gameplay? It is not something special,ordinary FPS gameplay for me.. Music?Art Design? Great ... So you will ask yourself if its all great why you are giving 7 to this game..the reason is..the
    So Killzone 3..
    Lets start with the graphics...yes i admit it the graphics are amazing,the devs have done a great job,the whole picture is great even if there are some flows in graphics engine...
    Gameplay? It is not something special,ordinary FPS gameplay for me..
    Music?Art Design? Great ...
    So you will ask yourself if its all great why you are giving 7 to this game..the reason is..the STORY/PLOT is a little mess,the game should have ended in Killzone 2...anyone that have played the whole trilogy will understand me..
    Expand
  28. Jun 26, 2011
    7
    A game with no depth. Yes, a surface is polished and shining - but there nothing inside.
  29. May 18, 2011
    6
    The game is another bland first person shooter in the filled market; however, Killzone 3 does come in with fancier looks, but in the end, it is a totally "missable" game, especially for the PS3. The multiplayer is fine for what it is, but nothing different from those other lame MP games. Story isn't horrible, but is short and a little disappointing. Okay if you want another shooter, notThe game is another bland first person shooter in the filled market; however, Killzone 3 does come in with fancier looks, but in the end, it is a totally "missable" game, especially for the PS3. The multiplayer is fine for what it is, but nothing different from those other lame MP games. Story isn't horrible, but is short and a little disappointing. Okay if you want another shooter, not okay if you are tired of copy-pasted games. Expand
  30. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    This is a great FPS. Has superb graphics. Although, the storyline is very mediocre, not as good as the previous two. This is still a good game though, and the multiplayer is way better than the second one, expands very well. So, if you're looking for a great storyline, try another game, but for multiplayer it's fun.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Is Killzone 3 deep enough to snipe PSN players from the COD: Black Ops fold? Probably not. Is Killzone 3 outstanding enough to warrant single-player awards for its narrative? Nope. But let there be no doubt that when it comes to intense gameplay that gives not one spare second for players to catch their breath or laze their way into a routine, Killzone 3 is near the top of the pack. The fact that it's the best-looking game we've seen and happens to support full stereoscopic 3D is just icing on the cake.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 6, 2011
    70
    Although the third part of the entire Killzone series is the weakest one it is still a very above-average piece of entertainment every PS3 owner should have this in their collection. [Mar 2011]
  3. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.