Killzone 3 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killzone 3 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 924 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killzone 3 is a sequel to the squad-based shooter series from SCEA.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    As good as Killzone 2 was, Killzone 3 tops it in every respect. The excellent PlayStation Move controls and stereoscopic 3D support certainly don't hurt either. So if you're looking for an intense and polished sci-fi first person shooter for the PlayStation 3, then Killzone 3 is obviously your game.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is one spectacular game - sure, it's really only doing the basics in terms of gameplay, but it does it in the balls-to-the-walls, damn-the-expense, ultra-intensity manner that only a top-shelf, big-budget, mega-spectacular can.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    This third episode is more similar to the classical shooter of this generation than its prequel lacking some of the originality of the saga. It remains a major step from a tachnical point of view.
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    83
    There are reasons to choose this game over others in the field-namely the heavier-feeling physics, the visual design, and more thoughtful multiplayer options, but I question if it has a distinct enough identity to hold its own without reference or comparison to other titles.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Killzone 2 felt like a landmark event that finally gave the PlayStation 3 a world-class first-person shooter that you couldn't play anywhere else. After two years, Killzone 3 hasn't changed enough to reignite all of those feelings, but it's still a thrilling ride when you're alone and a well-designed multiplayer experience, as well.
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    It's precise, practical, ticks boxes and has been too quick to shed its defining credentials; credentials that made the earlier games a must buy for any enthusiast. Killzone 3 feels generic, rushed and greatly unloved by its creators. A huge, huge disappointment.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 257
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game ever! Graphics, physics, shooting, everything! Very highly recommend ! This game has everything, playing in her pleasure. Multiplayer is a mega playable, . Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Online multiplayer is great. You feel like you are really in the middle of a war.... One of the best shooters i have ever played. Graphics areOnline multiplayer is great. You feel like you are really in the middle of a war.... One of the best shooters i have ever played. Graphics are fantastic! They are really pushing boundaries there. Guerrilla has done it again! Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield,kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    It's really too bad this wasn't Killzone 2, because this game is awesome- FAR better than KZ2. Guerrilla managed to fix most of what was badIt's really too bad this wasn't Killzone 2, because this game is awesome- FAR better than KZ2. Guerrilla managed to fix most of what was bad about the previous entry in the series with the 3rd game, but it still falls just a bit flat. If Metacritic would bother to implement a half-point system, I'd give it an 8.5, but rounding down to an 8 would be too low. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    KZ3 is a worthy successor to KZ2. The single player campaign is somewhat short but it is solid. Online game play is a definite improvementKZ3 is a worthy successor to KZ2. The single player campaign is somewhat short but it is solid. Online game play is a definite improvement over KZ2. Introduction of ecto skeleton and jet packs makes the online game play more fun. It was good decision on Gorilla games to introduce fixed re spawn points on the maps. This decision makes the game play more balanced compared to KZ2. Good game overall. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    Having only played Killzone 2 I have to say this is a vast improvement from it. Killzone was clunky and boring, but beautiful. The gameplay isHaving only played Killzone 2 I have to say this is a vast improvement from it. Killzone was clunky and boring, but beautiful. The gameplay is fantastic, as are the graphics. The story is boring, the voice acting is ridiculous, and the characters are way over-the-top and cartoonish. Expand
  7. May 17, 2011
    0
    Killzone 3 = epic fail,this fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics areKillzone 3 = epic fail,this fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst.This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money. Expand

See all 257 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.