Killzone 3 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killzone 3 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 936 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killzone 3 is a sequel to the squad-based shooter series from SCEA.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    As good as Killzone 2 was, Killzone 3 tops it in every respect. The excellent PlayStation Move controls and stereoscopic 3D support certainly don't hurt either. So if you're looking for an intense and polished sci-fi first person shooter for the PlayStation 3, then Killzone 3 is obviously your game.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is one spectacular game - sure, it's really only doing the basics in terms of gameplay, but it does it in the balls-to-the-walls, damn-the-expense, ultra-intensity manner that only a top-shelf, big-budget, mega-spectacular can.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    This third episode is more similar to the classical shooter of this generation than its prequel lacking some of the originality of the saga. It remains a major step from a tachnical point of view.
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    83
    There are reasons to choose this game over others in the field-namely the heavier-feeling physics, the visual design, and more thoughtful multiplayer options, but I question if it has a distinct enough identity to hold its own without reference or comparison to other titles.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Killzone 2 felt like a landmark event that finally gave the PlayStation 3 a world-class first-person shooter that you couldn't play anywhere else. After two years, Killzone 3 hasn't changed enough to reignite all of those feelings, but it's still a thrilling ride when you're alone and a well-designed multiplayer experience, as well.
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    It's precise, practical, ticks boxes and has been too quick to shed its defining credentials; credentials that made the earlier games a must buy for any enthusiast. Killzone 3 feels generic, rushed and greatly unloved by its creators. A huge, huge disappointment.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 259
  1. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Please, do yourself the favor of purchasing this game, beating it 3 times (once on normal difficulty, then in co-op, and once on elite),Please, do yourself the favor of purchasing this game, beating it 3 times (once on normal difficulty, then in co-op, and once on elite), playing it online for ten hours straight, and then read the reviews on this site. What a load of crap! This game has some of the best action sequences, environments, graphics, gun load outs, and sound of any game that has came out this gen. Better yet, play this game for an hour and then pick up Black Ops and ATTEMPT to play that for an hour. The character movements, animation, fun factor, all of that stuff that is important in a shooter is much more prevalent in KZ3 than it is in COD:BO or any other FPS around today. Now, that is my opinion of course. I do play lots of shooters, but I get burnt out on them extremely quickly. This game, along with Borderlands, is one of the few that I can pick up and play even 5 months after it's release and still enjoy it. The story is the obvious week point as it with most shooters, but don't let that deter you from enjoying this one of many great PS3 exclusives. 9.3/10 Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Online multiplayer is great. You feel like you are really in the middle of a war.... One of the best shooters i have ever played. Graphics areOnline multiplayer is great. You feel like you are really in the middle of a war.... One of the best shooters i have ever played. Graphics are fantastic! They are really pushing boundaries there. Guerrilla has done it again! Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield,kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    killzone 3 is the most complete shooter experience you will find on the playstation 3 to date. with improved controls and graphics over itskillzone 3 is the most complete shooter experience you will find on the playstation 3 to date. with improved controls and graphics over its predecessor, it clearly deserves a place in your game library. Move compatibility, 3D support, online and offline multiplayer, Eye Candy, this game will withstand the test of time.
    the game was built around coop mode but with the disappointing split screen only coop mode, it gives you the impression the game was rushed out. nevertheless killzone 3 is clearly a better choice over 20$ coop games you may find at the bargain bin. its up to the consumer to decide if they want a mediocre experience or a fantastic and adrenalin heart pumping experience with killzone 3.

    be warned the experience might make your head spin.
    Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    this game series is one of the reasons why i think PS3 is better than Xbox i mean they have Halo and we have killzone the story is lacking butthis game series is one of the reasons why i think PS3 is better than Xbox i mean they have Halo and we have killzone the story is lacking but the online and skirmish mode is where this game really shines with amazing graphics fluid controls and a mode for those that dont want to get destroyed online can just play against bots, not sure about everyone else but the PSmove feature in this game does not appeal to me. this game has flawless graphics and is a must buy for anyone and you will not be dissapointed Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Killzone is back yet again! I have to say this is one of the greatest games I've ever played, visually... The graphics and textures areKillzone is back yet again! I have to say this is one of the greatest games I've ever played, visually... The graphics and textures are amazing and make me proud to own a playstation 3, it's just one of the great exclusive titles coming this year. The Good
    The single player is simply epic, strong story line and good action packed.. It is definitely up there with the greats like Cod4, Battlefield 2 in terms of the story

    The Bad
    The controls I have to say, although they've been tweaked and made more fluid, the game's "heaviness" is still too present, I understand the devs didn't want want it as faced paced as say - Call of duty but still the lackluster controls definitely cause more problems than good.

    The Mulitplayer isn't great, the maps on TDM especially are too small and it seems every level consists of narrow walkways.. There is no space to move around? Why is everything to bunched together?
    This is one of the few fps where shooting off the hip is more effective than ADS.. Some of the technical dynamics don't make sense to me.. The life system is absurd, it's not consistent, sometimes you can take so many shots to the body and sometimes you just drop dead after a few bullets.. The span system is also atrocious, the game puts the enemy to spawn right be beside you on TDM at the beginning..

    It seems like everything Call of Duty Black Ops got wrong this game got right and everything BO got right this game got wrong.. the dynamics of kill zone are still lacking and it's taking away from the experience. overall, it's a pretty solid game, but I have to say, having beat the single player, the sucky multiplayer isn't enough for me to keep this around. I would be trading it in for Crysis 2..
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2011
    0
    Killzone 3 = epic fail,this fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics areKillzone 3 = epic fail,this fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst.This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money. Expand

See all 259 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.