• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2012
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    75
    A just correct remake, with a lot of room for improvement. It does fix some issues present in the original game and improves the textures, but still it feels far from other HD remakes. One way or another, it is indeed the best way to get involved with the beginning of the series.
  2. 70
    The first Killzone in HD has solid gameplay and looks good, but problems from the original game are still present.
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    70
    Though there are issues with Killzone HD, it should be remembered that this is an HD port of a last gen title, not a complete remake, so some bugs should be expected. For fans of the Killzone franchise, or FPS fans on a tight budget, this is well worth playing.
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    66
    The original Killzone was a good action game, but this is a poor HD adaptation. Without remarkable new features, it is only recommendable for fans that didn't play the original.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    65
    It's this lack of imagination in environmental design that takes Killzone down a notch. [Issue#225, p.83]
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    65
    While it's not the graphically violent, frantic, and desperate game that recent shooters have become, Killzone feels almost relaxing with its deliberate pace and disconnect from reality.
  7. Killzone only started turning heads when part two came around, so it's no surprise that the eight year old part one is no more than an interesting history lesson coated with HD smudges of paint, rather than a must have for shooter fans. [December 2012, p.92]
  8. Feb 6, 2013
    60
    The only element of Killzone that stood the test of time is the enemy AI. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.67]
  9. 60
    Killzone feels kind of clumsy and many elements would deserve improvement – maybe it is a bit unfair to the HD remake – but time has not been kind to the story nor to the game design. [Christmas 2012]
  10. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    Visually underwhelming. [Jan 2013, p.81]
  11. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    Eight years ago, this was a fantastic game. It's still entertaining and the weapons and companion AI are as good as in newer games. But several features haven't aged well.
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    60
    Technically speaking, Killzone HD is a good remake. But it's too hard to play such an old FPS with other masterpieces available.
  13. Worth checking out both as a PlayStation, and gaming, fan if you want to see an evolutionary step on the way to where we are today.
  14. Dec 23, 2012
    58
    Sony's infamous Halo-beater was gorgeous and clunky years ago; now it's just unattractive and clunky, even in HD. [Jan 2013, p.104]
  15. Killzone is only for the most curious of fans who want to see what the franchise was like before it got good (see: Killzone 2). Everybody else should dodge this draft and enlist elsewhere. [January 2013, p65]
  16. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    Despite its impressive art direction and intense sense of style, Killzone struggled as a PlayStation 2 title. On PS3 its issues are accentuated, with shoddy gunplay and repetitive environments amongst its most notable flaws.
  17. 35
    HD conversions are a great idea and for some games they work, but not this one. If you are in the mood for a good shooter on the PSN, this is not for you.
  18. Nov 22, 2012
    30
    A substandard, lazy port only serves to highlight how dated Killzone HD feels. What could have been a brilliant reimagining of the originals dark, futuristic story in a more modern game engine instead brings back memories of yesteryear. Dated shooting mechanics, busted damage models and corridor-layouts with illusions of larger, open environments are only saved by the visual style and the sound engineering. Unfortunately, that's not enough to create an enjoyable gaming experience.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    There isn't much more for me to say. Read my review on the original release. Kill-Zone H.D. offers less technical problems and a higherThere isn't much more for me to say. Read my review on the original release. Kill-Zone H.D. offers less technical problems and a higher resolution, though there's the obvious that there happens to be no more online support. Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    When Killzone first released on the PS2, it was known as a game that didn't deliver on its promise of killing the Halo franchise. Believe me,When Killzone first released on the PS2, it was known as a game that didn't deliver on its promise of killing the Halo franchise. Believe me, it didn't. The game was marred by a shaky framerate and terrible AI. However, the was still very enjoyable, with a great storyline and a great selection of weapons. Rather than rehash a review I've already written of the PS2 version, I'm instead going to list what makes this version different (and in some ways, much better).

    The PS2 version obviously looked too good for the hardware, and when you start up Killzone HD, you can see why. The game is beautiful. Sure, it's dated by todays standards, but it still looks damn good. The animations are still as impressive as ever. Gone is a lot of the pop-in, and the game runs at a steady framerate, feeling buttery smooth compared to the original. The textures are crisp, and so are the models. The facial features for Templar, Luger, Hakha, and Rico are outright amazing during the menu selection. You'll probably wonder how this even ran on the PS2 at all (it barely did). The smooth framerate is a HUGE step up from the PS2 version, because not only did it make the game LOOK bad, it also made it PLAY terrible. Now, the aiming is corrected and you don't have to endure slow-motion gunfights and cinematic setpieces.

    The AI is still broken. Most of the guys just stand there, waiting for you to pump bullets into them just as they did in the original. The difficulty spike is still there in the later missions (as in, grenade launcher Helghast out of nowhere killing you right before another checkpoint). The awkward animations are still there for your allies and enemies. It's good that they fixed the problem with the aiming, but the AI still being dumb still hurts the gameplay a lot. Still, nothing is as bad as...

    No Online multiplayer. Yes, you can still splitscreen with a friend and take on the AI, but the AI is so braindead that you'll just be fighting for more kills instead of actually trying to stay alive. Multiplayer servers wouldn't be populated, but at least, if you wanted, you could hop online every now and then and maybe find a game. The multiplayer is impressive because it has a good variety of game modes and maps, but without online, it just seems pointless. After beating the campaign, there just isn't much else to do since online is gone, which kills the replay factor.

    So, overall, the HD improved the visuals, framerate, and aiming, but kept the bad AI and took out the multiplayer. If that sounds like a fair tradeoff for $15, have at it. It's still a good shooter. Great, even. Just held back by the AI and lack of online. I would suggest playing it, definitely, but do expect the problems I have listed. If you can live with bad AI and a game that's over with when you beat the singleplayer for $15, then by all means, get this game.

    +Sharper visuals
    +Less pop-in
    +Smooth Framerate
    +Smooth Aiming
    -AI still sucks
    -No Online Multiplayer

    Overall: 8/10
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    This is actually a quite conflicting game to review. So I will simply list the factors I like and don't like, and then you can judge forThis is actually a quite conflicting game to review. So I will simply list the factors I like and don't like, and then you can judge for yourself:

    + Fun Gameplay
    + Good Story
    + Nice Characters
    + Once unlocked, being able to play as ANY character in the next chapter.
    + Button remapping. Not completely custom, but a great feature none the less.
    - Cut-scenes are of poor quality. They appear murky and turbid.
    - Voice acting quality is quite poor too.
    - Voice acting is not great, especially on AI enemies.
    - Boss battles are not special. At all.
    - Missions are repetitive at times.
    - Minor graphical bugs.

    As a game, I give Killzone a 7.3, but as a remake, I give it 6.2.

    But since this is the only way that I've played Killzone, I will give it the collected score of 7 (since gameplay and story outweigh the visuals in my opinion).
    Full Review »