Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    83
    Occasionally, Reckoning plays it too safe. As good as the combat is, it cannot make fights against giant rats any more interesting. Crime follows the Fable route of, "if you disappear and come back later, all is forgiven." Reckoning teases with consequences, but either doesn't follow through or does so in wacky ways.
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    100
    There's never a dull moment in Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. There's a new item at practically every turn, and you can't travel more than a few feet without stumbling upon a side-quest. Players always have one skill or another that they can be honing, and the option to visit the Fateweavers is always there for a change of pace.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    85
    I've cursed the name of more than one ex-girlfriend for uttering these words, but here they are, nonetheless: I loved Amalur, but I'm not sure I'm in love with it. It's a beautifully realized game with a lot of solid features, but it falls just short of blowing me away. That it came so close is both its blessing and its curse, but I'd still say it's worth a playthrough if you're even the slightest bit curious.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    Kingdoms of Amalur is simply fun. (...) When broken down to its features, Amalur is still outmatched by other RPGs, but it seems quite eager to learn. World and monsters are something to behold, it offers a lot of roaming space for its heroes and the story keeps you interested enough.
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    If you consider yourself an RPG addict, you'll surely find plenty of things to do in the world of Amalur. Intense storytelling, fast paced action and hundreds of quests will kill your free time like never before.
  6. 80
    Overall Kingdoms of Amalur Reckoning is very competent, especially if we consider that this is a new entry. It is visually appealing and very immersive during the action, which manages to mix accessibility and depth in a very balanced way. It offers an immersive fantasy world, but for some reason fails to be memorable.
  7. Feb 10, 2012
    70
    Not as good as we expected, but Reckoning will appeal RPG fans with many hours of fun.
  8. Feb 15, 2012
    74
    Similar to Dragon Age: Origins, not everyone is going to bite. However those who do will be extremely satisfied with their meal.
  9. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Despite its problems, Reckoning is a good game with a lot of stuff worth checking out. But even with all of the talent backing it, it's just on the edge of being something much greater than it is. For a game that's all about breaking out of the confines of fate, it's a shame that so much of the content feels stuck within such narrow conventions. [Mar 2012, p.88]
  10. Feb 16, 2012
    80
    Kingdoms of Amalur is a nice RPG mechanic; well designed, well oiled. Almost spotless. It's pretty, polished, interesting. But there's nothing to surprise or puzzle you. The story is fine (and supports the gameplay), the world complex, but nothing comes out of the ordinary in this high fantasy tale, similar as it is to a thousand others. As a result, it's played with fun as a regular Action RPG, rich in content, but quickly digested as well. More soul for the sequel, please!
  11. Mar 2, 2012
    85
    Amalur is a game that makes no pretenses about what it is. Every town has people in need, every monster needs killing, and every cave and dungeon needs exploring. You'll want to keep taking on quests because maybe you'll get a new sword that does more damage and looks cooler. Its dedication to enhancing player-power makes it a joy to play, even if a few minor issues keep it from true excellence.
  12. Feb 7, 2012
    75
    Kingdoms of Amalur's combat and character advancement are fantastic enough to overshadow how bland everything else is.
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    Amalur does a lot of things better than some of the best out there. The combat is stronger than Skyrim's by a long shot, and the world feels more alive than games like Fable. It tells a good story well, and lays the foundation for a series we hope to see more of in the future, fate be damned.
  14. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    The Kingdom of Amalur offers a huge world to explore including dungeons and different regions. There are a lot of varying quests, NPCs and enemies with a enjoyable combat system. On the other hand, you will suspect even without knowing that the game was originally planned to be an MMO. The optics aren't up to date, the hero can't talk and in my opinion, the setting is not dark enough.
  15. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    There are plenty of really great things to see and do in Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, and that stuff--the main quest line, the faction quests, and the interesting combat--makes the game fairly easy to recommend. But it's hard not to be at least a little disappointed when you start seeing the various spots where the game doesn't live up to the high bar set by its best content.
  16. Feb 3, 2012
    90
    No matter what you're looking for, whether it be amazing gameplay, immersive storytelling or perhaps a riveting new world to explore as you fully customize and re-customize your character at will, Reckoning has it all.
  17. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    In conclusion, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning provides another immersive gaming experience that will force many people to lock themselves up again while they complete this game. It's also a strange game that uses modern RPG elements and also classic RPG elements that creates this strange hybrid RPG system that works on most levels but may feel dated for some. Given that, if you're a fan of RPG titles and need something after your Skyrim addiction, than Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning may be the perfect game to fill that spot!
  18. Mar 5, 2012
    85
    When you set aside the forgettable characters and boring dialog you find a game that is so well polished in many of its other aspects. The title boasts one of the best combat systems ever in an action-RPG and a highly flexible class system that allows the player to choose to be whatever they want to.
  19. 70
    It might be allergic to innovation but there's no denying the enthusiasm and attention to detail that's been lavished on this defiantly traditionalist role-player.
  20. Even though 'saving the world' is like really important and good fun, you probably won't have time to actually save it. Reckoning's plains and villages are filled to the brink with humans, gnomes who all need your help. They are just side quests, but also the most fun we have had in Reckoning. [March 2012, p.92]
  21. Mar 4, 2012
    70
    It's compulsive - as all good action RPGs need to be - but lacks the quality to make it a game for all tastes. [Issue#215, p.80]
  22. 90
    There is just so much to love about Kingdoms of Amalur. Its genre-elevating combat and gorgeous visual design are unparalleled and will undoubtedly be emulated in years to come.
  23. Reckoning is not about narrative. In this respect, it's a defiantly linear experience. What it is about is gameplay choice within the oft-rigid of an RPG. The way it accomplishes this is particularly fresh, and maybe even suggests a new precedent in the evolution of the genre. It's about time, right? Big Huge Games has clearly been paying a lot of attention to what's going on, and the result is that Reckoning is a patchwork of everything great that's been done to forward modern RPGs in recent times. [March 2012, p70]
  24. Niggles with the art style and slightly sub-par storytelling mean this isn't a classic, but with a few minor tweaks there's no doubt it could have been. Roll on the sequel.
  25. 80
    It's always hard to break out with a new IP, but Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is worth your attention, but you better have a big attention span as there is so much to do and see, you may run around for hours like a chicken with its head cut off.
  26. Reckoning may not set new RPG standards by any means, but it's an earnest attempt at encapsulating everything we love about the genre as a whole. [Mar 2012, p.82]
  27. Feb 20, 2012
    81
    If there's one thing this game suffers from, it's originality. Other than that, Kingdoms of Amalur delivers on almost every level. Overall this is a gigantic and well-developed RPG which will keep you playing for a long time to come.
  28. Feb 14, 2012
    78
    Amalur is a brisk action blast that just happens to last upwards of 50 hours. Not the best world ever built, but a fun place to spend a few weeks. [March 2012, p.110]
  29. Feb 10, 2012
    77
    I still can't decide if it suffers from a lack of identity or if it successfully blends various traits and styles. I do know the storyline and quest objectives could've been better, and I know this super fast-paced action may cause RPG purists to go, "uh…this is an RPG?" Yeah, it is. One you want to play? Well, one you want to try, at least.
  30. Mar 8, 2012
    76
    Needless to say, Reckoning is a repetitive experience. If you've played the first five hours, you've seen everything the game has to offer except a few bosses and superficially different environments.
  31. Feb 27, 2012
    70
    Sporadic in pace and quality of content, this is the area in which Reckoning borrows too heavily from its MMO ancestry and it really doesn't pay off.
  32. Feb 15, 2012
    85
    Reckoning does a lot of things right. 38 Studios should be proud of their first title. Hopefully with some revisions, especially with the camera and difficulty balancing, we'll see an even better title next time.
  33. Feb 9, 2012
    80
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is an ambitious RPG that mostly delivers on its promise. The main quest is as lengthy as RPGs of yesteryear, while the amount and variety of quests bring an MMO flow to a single-player experience.
  34. Feb 12, 2012
    85
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a good role-playing game with an open world that offers you a lot of freedom. Despite some flaws, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a game every RPG-fan will enjoy.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 350 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 136
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    The dev team for Amalur get a decent amount of kudos from me for this title. There is a lot of work put into this game and most of it reallyThe dev team for Amalur get a decent amount of kudos from me for this title. There is a lot of work put into this game and most of it really does come off quite well. It's not god's gift to RPG's, so I do think anyone giving this game a 10 is a bit crazy (or maybe this is their first game played in their life). No, it's not a life changing experience (at least when you play it while not tripping on mushrooms). But it is definitely worthy of a buy if you like games like God of War and Fable or action-RPG's in general. Trust me the game has some meat to it, though to be honest it's probably NOT worth $60 whopping USD they are charging for the PC version. I don't understand why it's $15 more on the PC when as far as I can tell there is nothing specific to the PC version that would warrant it. I will do this review in a different way than most and list pros and cons an final thoughts

    PROS:

    -Nice art direction care of artist Todd McFarlane
    -Large game world
    -Huge amounts of lore. The game was written to some extent by world renowned fantasy author R.A Salvatore, and the lore comes from his novels as far as I know. Every PC you can talk to has a few dialog options to speak about to fill you in a bit deeper on the lore if you care about it.
    -Fun "God ofWar" like combat
    -Bajillion sidequests -Fully voiced NPC's
    -Armor/weaponcrafting, alchemy, gemcrafting
    -Just a good solid RPG. CONS:

    -Your character has no voice - Some people don't mind this, but I prefer my protagonist to have a voice of his own. It is just one more thing that adds character and charm. -NPC's are too stiff during dialog- In games like Mass Effect 2, the characters really feel like they are "there". Here, everything is very wooden, and I'd like to see the next game in the series do more with the "acting". -Graphical texture pop in is very annoying and no way to fix it on the PC since it is hard coded into he game cross platform. This was done to make developing for the PS3 easier and so they could launch all platforms at the same time. To me it's very annoying and my eyes are constantly being drawn to these graphical anomalies because they just pop in so close to the character and they are therefore distracting to my game experience. -No worthwhile camera control - The camera is in my and many other players' opinions way to close to the character and there is no way to move it back. They give you an over the shoulder option (think Dead Space) but it's pointless and I don't know why anyone would use it to be honest. In a game like this you need to be able to see all sides of you. -Some claim the game is "too easy" even on Hard mode. -Some of the skills in the skill-trees can be rather "meh", but to get the highest tier abilities, you are forced to take them making some levels seem like a waste.
    -No autorun key (Trust me you will wish for one, though on the official forums someone linked a tool that you can run while playing the game where you can set an autorun key)
    -No real easy way to scroll through abilities making it hard to use them in the heat of battle (PC version, I don't know how it is on the consoles) though the program mentioned above allows you to also scroll through them with the mousewheel if you choose. -No real use for gold. I have currently $500,000 and I barely buy anything. There's definitely items that I could buy that will be an upgrade to my equipment, but since I maxed out smithing, I keep waiting to find the "Master" parts to craft top grade items. So in essence I'm running through the game with a slight handicap, but I've invested in alchemy so I pop potions galore to keep me alive. I would like to feel like i NEED to buy these items and do something with this gold though. THOUGHTS:

    I don't understand how some people are hating on this game. In my opinion these people are very jaded gamers that have seen it all by now and expect games being released now to change their life or something. None of the cons written above even when all combined are enough to stop me from playing and enjoying this game. I like the combat, I want to see what is next in the story, I like the loot hunting, the world looks nice, the story is very competent, and I really don't know what else in this era of gaming an RPG can offer besides that sort of gameplay. I highly suggest you purchase it at some point and show EA that giving a new game franchise a shot is a lucrative investment, or else all we may see is the same old same old. I really want to see what these guys do in a second installment because I think it will be what the Witcher 2 was to its predecessor.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    @Doublecross
    If I were you I would never use your computer again. All though your screen name is perfect! You are ruining an exceptional
    @Doublecross
    If I were you I would never use your computer again. All though your screen name is perfect! You are ruining an exceptional games metacritic rating because you didn't like a DEMO!!! That demo was 4-5 months old! Do everyone a favor and double slam your computer on the ground thus eliminating your stupidity from the internet.

    I am 13 hours in and I just adore this game. It's just FUN! I am going through KoAR on hard and it's challenging. So far I haven't experienced a hiccup of any kind, it's been technically perfect. Well, I fixed my camera woes by lowering the sensitivity so that doesn't really count as a technical problem since it is now fixed for me. It is truly the jack of all trades for RPGs. They really have created something special. Does it have problems yes, no doubt, but so does Skyrim. Skyrim is a great game. KoAR is a great. They cannot really be compared. They both stand on their own 2 feet.

    I love the combat, oh the combat is exceptional! The sound, graphics, control, story/lore are wonderful. The graphics are gorgeous to my eyes. You have beautiful colors and dark dungeons. The world map looks huge! I am reading more books and scraps than I usually do in an RPG. I am very interested in the history of Amalur. Salvatore has done a wonderful job. There is always something new going on. There are a ton of quests. The leveling system is great. I am really enjoying the Alchemy, Blacksmithing and world itself. The Fateweaver is a great idea for tying massive character fate alterations into the story. The loot is huge and prevalent. I have found many items that upgraded above what I was currently using. The enemy design is second to none. You can see Todd McFarlane's genius here.

    There are problems and they are in the design. I didn't like how the hero didn't speak. Reminds me of Half-Life yet I didn't mind that Gordon didn't talk. But seeing my character stand there with no real emotion reminds me of someone who isn't quite right or has some sort of deficiency. The NPC lip syncing could use some work as well. The magic shield appearing out of no where bothers me too. I also don't like how my warrior sheaths his weapon so fast after killing an enemy even though other enemies are around. Also, the camera needs to be adjustable so you can make it farther away from your character. I believe that these design decisions can be fixed in a patch if the Reckoning forums are any indication of how much it bothers players.

    I cannot wait to pour more time into this special game. I can only hope it sells well so that they can come out with a sequel. I won't be interested in the MMO offering. However I am so very impressed that this their first game! Unreal, that they could hit a grand slam like this with their first offering.

    If you are on the fence get off and give this a try. Right now this is my 2012 GOTY! I am not sure if it will hold up with Mass Effect 3 less than a month away.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    What an awesome game! I love Skyrim and that doesn't stop me from enjoying it! It is not an open world like Skyrim but it's certainly not aWhat an awesome game! I love Skyrim and that doesn't stop me from enjoying it! It is not an open world like Skyrim but it's certainly not a linear world like Dragon Age 2. Combat is fantastic and the freedom of character design is great. Full Review »