• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Aug 30, 2007
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 216

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    Lair is a good game, the only bad about this is playing this game by using the worst controller ever. ( but now you can use directional buttons thanks to the patch).
  2. Oct 7, 2010
    6
    thankfully i did not get this game at its release . mainlly because it too short you can beat it in just 5 hours . i did wait and got it for 24.99 2 years ago but stll feel i paid to much for it . i think $15 or less is more its actaul price. the game graphically looks great the story is eh so so . the controls if you play with six axis are complete ass ... BUT there is a patch you can download in the PSN store for free that lets you use the anolog sticks instead of six axis which makes the controls much much better. this game feels kinda cool at times but just not near cool enough . Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    64 negative reviews? Absurd, ridiculous, depressing, pathetic, and a bunch of other terms that describe the lazy slabs of redundant flesh bags wanking to Call of Duty, Halo, Hawx, or any other modern/sci-fi military game. I've played the game Twice and I can firmly say, as someone who was very skeptical about motion-based gaming, that the controls are not at the very least an issue. It took just the first mission to become accustomed with the controls and special gesture-based techniques and after that I was hooked. The controls take time to get used to. Nobody can play a motion game for the very first time and feel like they grew up with only this kind of game. Just sit down and spend a good 20 minutes in the training level. And have patience. It's not like Call of Duty, Halo, Rainbow Six or any other generic FPS. The story is pretty simple: honor, betrayal, enemies-to-allies, that sort of thing. The use of Mo Cap for the cutscenes helps make it a little more cinematic. The graphics may not look like much now (2010) but this is a launch title, Factor 5 (makers of Rogue Squadron series) had never worked with a next gen concole, or even the PS3 no less. After looking at the Making-of Videos in the game, it showed that they still had the PS3 Development Kits. This was being worked on before launch. WIth that in mind I would say the graphics are phenomenal for something this early on for the PS3. Besides name any other game besides Heavenly sword that has literally thousands of soldiers on the battlefield. An incredible feat. The Music. My god the music. I don't think I've heard a video game soundtrack this epic since Metal Gear Solid. John Debney did an amazing job composing for this game. The game features a "jukebox" mode that lets you listen to the individual music tracks at your leisure. So Now that the game costs significantly less (can't be no more than $10 now) WHen you think about buying it and don't like the gameplay just think that you payed for a glorious soundtrack instead, since $10 is pretty standard for music albums now. On a another note, for all the thumb-control addicts who fear motion controls like a vampire at his first sunrise, There is a DLC on the Playstation Network that not only gives players the option for analog controls but also adds two new dragon models that can be used at any level. Give it a chance. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I absolutely LOVED this game and you don't have to use the sixsxis(which i do) but i don't know why there is so many negative reports about it. I played all the way through the game and keep replaying it and it seems like a lot of people would be against me but i think there should be a lair 2 with more dragons and stuff. EXCELLENT GAME 100,000,000,000/10 RATING!!!!!!
  5. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    I want to start off by stating this review is based on the game with the patch controls. For me I enjoyed this game a lot. The action is insane, killer sound, a killer story, and the controls are great with the patch. I don
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 55
  2. Negative: 17 out of 55
  1. Lair has come together beautifully... With its stunning visuals and incredible soundtrack, Lair may well be the single most powerful experience that a man can share with his $5,000 home theatre system. [Aug 2007, p.64]
  2. 75
    I expect many fans will be disappointed thanks to all of the hype that's built up around the game, but the inevitable complaints about the control scheme will be warranted. [Sep 2007, p.79]
  3. Don't buy it if you want a dragon that does what it's told. [Sept 2007, p.82]