Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    86
    Legos are a infinite fountain of ideas. Now the game franchise extends it's tentacles around pirates. Jerry Bruckheimer's crown jewel is a fitting platform for Lego license and this game requires more wits than button mashing abilities. [May 2011]
  2. May 25, 2011
    85
    Overall, Lego: Pirates was a game experience I'd be willing to play over and over again in order to complete all of the side objectives in the game. Initially getting through the puzzles is engaging and being able to go back later and unlock all the things I couldn't access before is made less tedious by just how nice the game looks to play and the de-emphasis on the combat. And the fact that I'm playing with pirates, which as we all know are far more awesome than ninjas.
  3. May 17, 2011
    85
    Players appreciating story as well as gameplay will be satisfied. A LEGO game never has looked this great and was so lively, but it's still the old LEGO formula. Still worth a look or two.
  4. Jun 4, 2011
    84
    The game equivalent of a Pixar film - a riot for everyone. [July 2011, p.90]
  5. May 12, 2011
    84
    Each of the four playable movies is expansive and features plenty of collection quests and hidden content. Re-plays are a must with unlockable characters.
  6. May 15, 2011
    83
    Without a doubt, the prettiest and most graphically interesting of the Lego games yet.
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    82
    The gameplay is exactly what you've come to expect from a LEGO game, but the graphics look better than any LEGO game before. The issue is more a matter of the franchise it's tied to, which isn't as memorable or charming as the other movies with LEGO tie-ins and thus doesn't provide the same number of memorable levels, scenes or characters.
  8. Jul 8, 2011
    80
    With strong production values, great visuals and an excellent audio score to back it all up, LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is easily one of the best efforts in the franchise to date. No, it's not perfect, but the game has strong appeal across the board. It's also one of the few cases where a licensed game is better than the movie on which it is based.
  9. As satisfying as a rum cocktail on a sunny day. [July 2011, p.101]
  10. After recently being reinvigorated by the impressive LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars, the slowly stagnating LEGO franchise continues its resurgence with LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean, an entry that benefits most from its cinematic source material. [July 2011, p.81]
  11. Jun 1, 2011
    80
    A fun game for all the family, especially for the younger ones, with good graphics and great platform mechanics.
  12. Jun 1, 2011
    80
    The latest LEGO game just might be the best one in the series. One of the only things that we're missing in this comical game is an online co-op. Apart from that, there are a lot of puzzles that will keep you entertained for days to come.
  13. May 26, 2011
    80
    If there's anything to take away from Lego Pirates of the Caribbean, it's that it represents a culmination of style of design that Traveller's Tales has been tweaking for years now, and does so in the most positive way possible. Every working part of the Lego series has been nigh-on perfected here, but if the formula has never won you over before, then not only will it fail to do so now, but it probably never will.
  14. May 20, 2011
    80
    It might not be as expansive as Clone Wars or as imaginative as the Harry Potter iteration but it is all the more accomplished because of the lack of those distractions.
  15. May 18, 2011
    80
    With LEGO Pirates, Traveler's Tales didn't really intend to create a pitch-perfect reproduction of the tone and feel of the movies, but even in their crazy cartoon style, you might be surprised at just how much they got right. Adventure gaming fans now have plenty of stuff to choose from, especially with TellTale and Double Fine making pure gold on a regular basis, but I think that the LEGO games are a great choice too, and Pirates might possibly be their best one yet.
  16. May 11, 2011
    80
    It's nice to see this series mature and evolve over time, and while Traveller's Tales will need to continue upping the ante if it intends to keep putting out new Lego games at such a rapid clip, for the moment Lego Pirates offers plenty of reasons to jump back in and mash a few plastic bricks together again.
  17. Jun 4, 2011
    78
    Smart Lego puzzler only held back by sometimes lacklustre films. [July 2011, p.84]
  18. Jun 26, 2011
    76
    Probably the most visually accomplished Lego title. [Issue#206, p.89]
  19. May 30, 2011
    76
    Questionable design decisions and technical issues aside, I love the LEGO games and LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is no different. These are still some of the best family friendly titles available. Having said that, I can't escape the feeling that this tried and true formula is beginning to get a little stale. But if, like me, you're okay with that, then LEGO Pirates is another swashbuckling romp along a familiar theme.
  20. Jun 9, 2011
    75
    When it comes down to it, Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is one of the best in the series. The graphics are great and the subject matter lends itself perfectly to the stylistic slapstick of Lego games.
  21. May 16, 2011
    75
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean brings on an old formula that still works good. We have pirates, puzzles, swashbuckling fights and tons of LEGO elements that fit perfectly in this new setting. A good game either for Jack Sparrow fans or LEGO ones.
  22. May 10, 2011
    75
    This is a good game to pick up as a light-hearted alternative to some of the more grim and gritty material out there, particularly for those with younger players in the house.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 8, 2014
    8
    Sorry for the mistakes, I'm french and my english is far from perfect.

    Pirates of the Caribbean was my first entry in the lego series and
    Sorry for the mistakes, I'm french and my english is far from perfect.

    Pirates of the Caribbean was my first entry in the lego series and let's say it right now i felt in loved with lego games thanks to it. We've got every single aspect of a great platforming game, great mechanics, appreciable by everyone, a lot of humor, and great replay value (approximately 20 hours if you want to beat the game at 100%). If you've got children the only reason than may get in the way of you buying this game it's if you didn't see the movies (you may be lost in the story).
    Except a few bugs here and there Lego Pirates Of the Caribbean is a model of good platforming games, if you like the genre you can't go wrong with this game.
    Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2011
    9
    I don't understand some critics. What's up with all this hate? LEGO Pirates is, by far, the BEST in the series. And I've played ALL of them.I don't understand some critics. What's up with all this hate? LEGO Pirates is, by far, the BEST in the series. And I've played ALL of them. Some critics are saying that the puzzles are not intuitive enough and that it's difficult to know which characters to use to solve them. What? Isn't this the whole purpose? And, by all means, this is the case here. I've been playing it for some time, now, and I have never been stuck. LEGO Pirates is gorgeous, fun, true to the series and offers countless hours of replayability. If you liked previous LEGO games, this is a MUST HAVE. Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2011
    10
    This game is a blast to play! I have never played a Lego game before so this is coming from someone completely new to the Lego series. I am aThis game is a blast to play! I have never played a Lego game before so this is coming from someone completely new to the Lego series. I am a huge fan of Pirates of Caribbean and the Lego version is so much fun to play and does justice to the movies. It is bounds better then other movie tie in games. The game follows the story near perfectly with some oddities that, mind you, are done on purpose. The animations are spot on, Jack in particular and co-op makes the game twice as fun. In fact its a must to have a friend, to share solving the puzzles and putting on silly masks. The puzzle difficulty has a nice learning curve and each character can do a special ability such as Jacks mask. I cant say much wrong about this game. Great audio, game play. all the varied locations from the film, cannons, Jack Sparrow and Pirates! If your a fan of Pirates of the Caribbean you cant go wrong buying this game! Full Review »