LittleBigPlanet 2 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 18, 2011
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 655 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 655
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2015
    6
    I didn't like this as much as the first one. Something was just off with this game. The feel wasn't the same. Maybe because they altered the gameplay and created all kinds of new gadgets. New things and upgrades are usually good, but that just took away the simplicity which made the first game so good. The story also was worse this time around and the pacing with the different gadgetsI didn't like this as much as the first one. Something was just off with this game. The feel wasn't the same. Maybe because they altered the gameplay and created all kinds of new gadgets. New things and upgrades are usually good, but that just took away the simplicity which made the first game so good. The story also was worse this time around and the pacing with the different gadgets you're using was bad.

    (I played this when it came out, I'm just now writing the review)
    Expand
  2. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2014
    6
    I have enjoyed this game, and i liked it, but i think there are some boring levels on Littlebigplanet 2. The good part are the community levels, and you can customize own levels.

    I was not disappointed when i played this game. This is a good platform game for the PS3.
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    The game itself is not bad, but when it comes to online mode, this is awful. LBP2 has the worst community I've ever seen in my life. It's so painful to see how retarded the immature users are. The community consists mainly of copiers, tryhard trolls, emos and Thus, most of the here players are social rejects, and all they do is play LBP day and night. Oh, yeah, and the moderation team isThe game itself is not bad, but when it comes to online mode, this is awful. LBP2 has the worst community I've ever seen in my life. It's so painful to see how retarded the immature users are. The community consists mainly of copiers, tryhard trolls, emos and Thus, most of the here players are social rejects, and all they do is play LBP day and night. Oh, yeah, and the moderation team is also disgusting. You can get banned for literally nothing. If you're going to play this game, I recommend you not getting in touch with the community at all costs. Thanks. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    It is what it is. A good game for what it is. I found it as a pretty good stress reliever because how cute it was. I did a little bit of everything main stories, created levels, multiplayer; so I got a pretty good feel for it, except for creating own levels I might do it in the future). However if you're used to blowing people's head off/sports game's/ competitive in general, than thisIt is what it is. A good game for what it is. I found it as a pretty good stress reliever because how cute it was. I did a little bit of everything main stories, created levels, multiplayer; so I got a pretty good feel for it, except for creating own levels I might do it in the future). However if you're used to blowing people's head off/sports game's/ competitive in general, than this game will get old on you quick. But this game represents what gaming should be, just play it for fun. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    5
    Despite the enhancements in graphics, level design and the potential of the create and share mode, the game still suffers from hard to use controls in the create mode and a repetitive singleplayer campaign that lacks the creative structure found in the online play.
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    7
    A good 4-Player-Coop, but still disappointing controls. The leveldesign is beautiful, the ideas well integrated, but the game is overall a little big short, if you don't want to find everything hidden.

    The level editor is impressive, but I think, I'm not talendet enough to create really good levels.
  8. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    It's an alright game except when trying to download games people made from PSN, it takes forever then you find out the level is bad and you just wasted a long time downloading that map. The story is good, the costumes are good, and the level design is good. I liked it for the most part.
  9. Jan 23, 2011
    7
    Story Mode

    The story in Little Big Planet 2 is obviously not the main focus of the game, and in all honesty, this game should not be bought on the premise of the story alone. The main plot is that an evil machine named as the Negativitron has taken over Craftsworld and is destroying it piece by piece. The main protagonist is Sack Boy, and his duty is to team up with some extremely random
    Story Mode

    The story in Little Big Planet 2 is obviously not the main focus of the game, and in all honesty, this game should not be bought on the premise of the story alone. The main plot is that an evil machine named as the Negativitron has taken over Craftsworld and is destroying it piece by piece. The main protagonist is Sack Boy, and his duty is to team up with some extremely random characters. The plot is often funny and definitely does not take itself seriously, but despite this i still found myself slightly affected by the message at the end. The main game took me around 4 hours to complete, which is short but not when measured against the vast amounts of gameplay one can derive from the online segments

    Multiplayer

    Where Little Big Planet 2 stands out if the ability to create and share your own levels and games over Playstation Network. Without this feature, the game would simply be a cute, but forgettable experience. Creating games is relatively difficult but the game does a good job of attempting to inform you on the basics through a vast amount of tutorials. Just by searching the "Cool Levels" section of the online space I was able to experience remakes of "Dead Space 2", "Fallout: New Vegas" and " Assassins Creed: Brotherhood" which were extremely detailed and fun. As well as some original titles. To conclude, Little Big Planet is an exiting and charming adventure that is definitely worth the ride if you enjoy creating and sharing your own games. If, however you are only interested in the platforming aspects of the story mode, I advise that you should give the game a rent, as the story is most definitely not worth £39.99 alone.

    Overall: 7.5 (Good)
    Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2011
    5
    A solid if derivative platformer with a beautiful aesthetic, and a great editor: not a huge leapo from its predecessor, it will be interesting to see if this one can keep a large community over a long period. And more importantly, will the tools allow people to create anything actually worth playing? A few people making half-baked versions of better games for consumption via Youtube is notA solid if derivative platformer with a beautiful aesthetic, and a great editor: not a huge leapo from its predecessor, it will be interesting to see if this one can keep a large community over a long period. And more importantly, will the tools allow people to create anything actually worth playing? A few people making half-baked versions of better games for consumption via Youtube is not a revolution. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    If you build it, they will come. The only limiting factor in creating new games here is your own mind. Dive into the chaotic beauty of LittleBigPlanet 2.
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    96
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 17, 2011
    90
    Lush, beautifully rendered graphics with amazing particle physics. You'll not see a demonic custard tart explode more realistically... LBP2 is already a contender for game of the year. [March 2011, p74]