LittleBigPlanet PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 27, 2008
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5319 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinLoiselle
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    a must buy for any REAL PS3 owner, this game can be fun for little kids, but can be even more fun for adults who can use the level creator. Even if you are not into creating levels, people have already made some great levels, Gradius remake! Don't believe those zero rating reviews, they don't realize the point of this game is to have fun, not just blow stuff up like all the othera must buy for any REAL PS3 owner, this game can be fun for little kids, but can be even more fun for adults who can use the level creator. Even if you are not into creating levels, people have already made some great levels, Gradius remake! Don't believe those zero rating reviews, they don't realize the point of this game is to have fun, not just blow stuff up like all the other games, and FPSs Expand
  2. CharlesS.
    Dec 24, 2008
    10
    I think that the people who didn't give this game above a score of 7 aren't into the whole 'create' aspect of the game, or even life. The fact that you have an infinite amount of material to work with and you can add your own pictures to use as both photos and textures, you can create mini games such as a zombie survival game or a full fledged adventure like the story. I think that the people who didn't give this game above a score of 7 aren't into the whole 'create' aspect of the game, or even life. The fact that you have an infinite amount of material to work with and you can add your own pictures to use as both photos and textures, you can create mini games such as a zombie survival game or a full fledged adventure like the story. Additionally the fact that if you have a spark of logic in you, it is possible to make complex machinery such as calculators or a game of 'Tic Tac Toe ' with only the skill needed to wire up pre-made objects and a bit of artistic skill. To anyone who cannot master the create mode or finds that the game is lacking in a lure to make them carry on I think they aught to stick to shoot em up games or an RPG. This is a great game but only if you are the right type of person! Expand
  3. JamieM
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    I have never in my life seen a game where my whole family, including my mother and father at thier house, play together. With the new patch we'll all be able to create together as well. Loving this game. If you don't have it yet.. get it!!!
  4. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Best Game that has ever been made in my life time. I love it like my dog. If you gave this game anything below a 9 your a loser and dont have any kind of life or tast of good games.
  5. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a lot of fun and I only just played a demo version and it rocked so I can't wait to get the full version! This little game is full of BIG surprises and is appropriate for all ages, and the cat. I recommend you go and buy this game!
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Holy crap. I'm shocked! User score of this game is 6.5, that was surprising. But I'm giving this game a 10 cause this game is something special. It's fun, it's relaxing (sometimes not, which is good), it's cute, it's fun online and even funnier with a buddy (coop). The story is charming, the soundtrack is amazing, the gameplay and the physics are incredible. And it's great to be able toHoly crap. I'm shocked! User score of this game is 6.5, that was surprising. But I'm giving this game a 10 cause this game is something special. It's fun, it's relaxing (sometimes not, which is good), it's cute, it's fun online and even funnier with a buddy (coop). The story is charming, the soundtrack is amazing, the gameplay and the physics are incredible. And it's great to be able to create you're own levels. It's like being God, who doesn't want to be God? Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. For this game to have a user score of 6.5 is a reflection of society itself. If you can't appreciate this game in its entirety then you are either ignorant, insecure, lazy, stupid, a liar, or all of the above. It has no bugs, no gimmicks, millions of levels to play, great sound and video. It could be the closest thing to a perfect game I'veThis is one of the greatest games of all time. For this game to have a user score of 6.5 is a reflection of society itself. If you can't appreciate this game in its entirety then you are either ignorant, insecure, lazy, stupid, a liar, or all of the above. It has no bugs, no gimmicks, millions of levels to play, great sound and video. It could be the closest thing to a perfect game I've ever seen. Very few games these days offer this much without asking for anything in return. Normally if you spend close to 1000 hours playing a game there is a monthly subscription included. Don't miss out on this masterpiece because you're too cool to play it. Expand
  8. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    I have had LBP for a long time now. I have platinum in the game so am suitably experience to review it. I think this game is wonderful. Its solid gameplay and endearing graphics make it a real treat for all gamers alike. Create a level to have even more enjoyment. These controls are brilliantly thought out with excellent tutorials. The voice over by Stephen Fry is simply the best II have had LBP for a long time now. I have platinum in the game so am suitably experience to review it. I think this game is wonderful. Its solid gameplay and endearing graphics make it a real treat for all gamers alike. Create a level to have even more enjoyment. These controls are brilliantly thought out with excellent tutorials. The voice over by Stephen Fry is simply the best I have ever experienced in a game. What a laugh. What a beautiful voice. So much fun. So much replay value. So much game. This is also fully compatible with LBP2, so all the DLC that was excitingly bought can be utilised again and again. Expand
  9. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Fantastic. Incredible. Colourful. Whimsical. Unique. Refreshing. This is one of the best games on the PS3, the best family friendly game of all time and one of the best games of all time. Experiences like these are rarely seen, so I suggest you go pick this up.
  10. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    People who hate this game might be these stupid xbox fans or nintendo fans. I say this game is one of my favorite. It has alot of fun and i can customize these amazing levels. Overall, this game is superb.
  11. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    A Very good game, the fact that you have to Co-Operate in levels helps with friendship. but the thing is, there are 2x zones that require 2 players, 3x zones that require 3 players. and 4x zones, that will get annoying. you need 4 controllers to get through those. and controllers are $50 each. 50 x 4 = $200... which is $100 cheaper than the most expensive type of PS3, it's ridiculous. ButA Very good game, the fact that you have to Co-Operate in levels helps with friendship. but the thing is, there are 2x zones that require 2 players, 3x zones that require 3 players. and 4x zones, that will get annoying. you need 4 controllers to get through those. and controllers are $50 each. 50 x 4 = $200... which is $100 cheaper than the most expensive type of PS3, it's ridiculous. But what makes up for that is the DLC(Downloadable content) such as POTC(Pirates of the Caribbean) and MGS(Metal Gear Solid). Those add new levels to play. and with Online gaming, the fun is infinite expanded. with community levels, made by other people, there's like 100 new ones per day. The really really REALLY annoying thing is the massive amounts of Back-Tracking. There are switch triggers where you need a certain sticker to get items, which those you don't get until a later level. Like let's say you're missing some stickers due to switch triggers, 20 levels later you find it, than have to go back to that level and beat it again. than that switch trigger gives you more switch triggers, and on and on and on. some switch triggers you have to go through2,3,and 4x zones to get. The conclusion: i give this game. a 9.9 :) have fun, and totally get this game. let's say you have your own ideas than you can make your ideas in your levels! you can make rockets,cars, everything. in the level editor, now go to gamestop/wal*mart and get this game........ WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS!!!! GO GET IT! Expand
  12. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Anything that meets up to par with LittleBigPlanet isn't LittleBigPlanet. This games stands out from any other platformer or puzzler, or puzzle-platformer. After you've played the multiplayer portion of the game, the believable storyline should explain everything. (Or most things, anyways.) Whether it be gandering for friends, or just simply playing it for the trophies, you should findAnything that meets up to par with LittleBigPlanet isn't LittleBigPlanet. This games stands out from any other platformer or puzzler, or puzzle-platformer. After you've played the multiplayer portion of the game, the believable storyline should explain everything. (Or most things, anyways.) Whether it be gandering for friends, or just simply playing it for the trophies, you should find some entertainment in this non-repetitive linear-ish masterpiece that is also called a video game. Expand
  13. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    All I can say is "wow". These guys got my money, and it was all worth it. I played the entire story to it, and can I say that this is one of the best games I have ever played on the Playstation? If you want to see my LittleBigPlanet 2 review, head over to my profile. But wow, this game was amazing. It had a really good story to it as well as a multiplayer mode to it, I enjoy sitting downAll I can say is "wow". These guys got my money, and it was all worth it. I played the entire story to it, and can I say that this is one of the best games I have ever played on the Playstation? If you want to see my LittleBigPlanet 2 review, head over to my profile. But wow, this game was amazing. It had a really good story to it as well as a multiplayer mode to it, I enjoy sitting down to play it with my friends, and will continue to. This is definitely an advantage to having a Playstation. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  14. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    I'm shocked that this game only has a user score of 6.6 because it deserves a score of at least an 8. The visuals are great, the level editor is easily the best I've ever seen in a console exclusive, and the entire game has this really great sense of joy to it while playing that very few other games can offer. The online play is actually rather smooth, which is a surprise to me. The levelI'm shocked that this game only has a user score of 6.6 because it deserves a score of at least an 8. The visuals are great, the level editor is easily the best I've ever seen in a console exclusive, and the entire game has this really great sense of joy to it while playing that very few other games can offer. The online play is actually rather smooth, which is a surprise to me. The level editor is a blast to mess around with, and it often feels like a 2.5D version of Garry's Mod, which was a huge turn-on for me. Not to mention the soundtrack is superb and all of the levels are expertly crafted. The game never once feels unfair. Expand
  15. Feb 3, 2014
    5
    LittleBigPlanet is a ‘platformer’ type game with a lot of community interaction and community generated game-play branching from the main game.

    The game’s platforms, even the newer ones and community ones, quickly became boring and repetitive. Controls for some actions/movements were difficult to execute and were not smooth. Graphics were average. The game seemed to cater to gamers in
    LittleBigPlanet is a ‘platformer’ type game with a lot of community interaction and community generated game-play branching from the main game.

    The game’s platforms, even the newer ones and community ones, quickly became boring and repetitive. Controls for some actions/movements were difficult to execute and were not smooth. Graphics were average. The game seemed to cater to gamers in the age range of 5 years to 12 years old. However, there are many adults that enjoy this game - but not me!
    Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    My son loves this game and begs me to play it with him all the time.

    He is 9. I am 36 and I have to admit, I get a real kick out of playing it. The narrator is my favorite part. He likes designing the outfits and collecting the prizes. While you are playing in cooperation, at the end of each level it tells you who scored the most points so that is a fun little competition too. I would
    My son loves this game and begs me to play it with him all the time.

    He is 9. I am 36 and I have to admit, I get a real kick out of playing it. The narrator is my favorite part. He likes designing the outfits and collecting the prizes. While you are playing in cooperation, at the end of each level it tells you who scored the most points so that is a fun little competition too.

    I would definitely recommend this to any family that wants an all ages game that really is fun for all ages.
    Expand
  17. JamesB.
    Apr 15, 2010
    10
    This game had ALOT going against it, it's exclusive to a console that is recognized for its hard-core M games and its a new idea. What do i say? Fantastic. What inspired me to get it is the fact i have a little sister who i woudnt be able to play with at all because all the games that i could find were shooter and action games. i thought it was hopeless until i saw this game. And i This game had ALOT going against it, it's exclusive to a console that is recognized for its hard-core M games and its a new idea. What do i say? Fantastic. What inspired me to get it is the fact i have a little sister who i woudnt be able to play with at all because all the games that i could find were shooter and action games. i thought it was hopeless until i saw this game. And i have to say, my sister and i enjoy it very much. First off, the story of it really interested me and i have to say i became a fan of it. LittleBigPlanet is a world of dreams come true, you dream it, it comes to life. I wasn't expecting anything, just a random world, which it is, but there was more to it, so that grabbed me. Second was the creation, i have seen VERY few games that can pull off creating new worlds and designs, especially for the PS3, and this pulled it off nicely. Its easy to understand and even easier to control. The creation of your own little Sackperson is also rewarding, i always want to get a new item to slap on my little guy. The art design is amazing, each world is different and fun. Plus, it can be very complex. But the greatest part about this game is the co-op, this is the recommended way to play. Your friend and yourself can fool around or help each other figure out the next puzzle. This helps because i have my little sister. She cant play my games such as Modern Warfare 2, or Bioshock, or Resident Evil 5, but she can play this, and she loves it. If you have a little sibling and you feel like you two should play something together once and a while, then this is the for you two, or three, or four. Expand
  18. PrestonH
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    I don't understand all of the people saying this game isn't for hardcore gamers. I'm a hardcore gamer; I love shooters, I love RPG's, I love shooting some guy in his virtual face as much as anyone else, and I still love LBP. Though the main story is short, the real fun is playing with friends, and seeing all of the wonderful creations people have made in the community. I don't understand all of the people saying this game isn't for hardcore gamers. I'm a hardcore gamer; I love shooters, I love RPG's, I love shooting some guy in his virtual face as much as anyone else, and I still love LBP. Though the main story is short, the real fun is playing with friends, and seeing all of the wonderful creations people have made in the community. The replay value is unbelievable; I still jump onto LBP a few times a week and play a few levels with friends. I've had the game for a year. The only complaint I have is minor. There comes a point in the game where you reach a crossroads, and realize that the game is much, much more fun with friends, but much easier alone. This decision can be hard sometimes, but trust me, you will have fun no matter your age, no matter your playstyle, no matter how dumb you think the concept and premise of the game is. Expand
  19. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    A truely inspirational game that captures the imagination of its fellow players. And to be honest I though this game would stink, however I had a big wake-up call when it came to the community levels (which are some of the most creative levels I had ever seen in any platforming games). Get it, play it, love it...I sure did. Here's hoping LBP2 will live up to its glory!
  20. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    The greatest game ever!!! Introducing an entirely new and awesome genre of gaming, PLAY,CREATE,SHARE. The super fun Story mode is just the beginning...Creating levels and sharing them with the world is a blast, and so is playing the community's levels.
  21. MauricioL
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    Incredible game, easy to play, easy to be addicted to but hard to complete 100% And the feature of buliding your own stage... Awesome!!!
  22. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Fun, creative, endless multiplayer, amazing music, wondrous possibility await you in one of the most innovative gaming experiences ever. Although appearing as a childish game it is far from it. Packed with content for all, this game pushes your imagination past its limits and opens your mind up to new levels.
  23. ThatsMe
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Calling LBP just a platformer with a level editor, is like calling Einstein, a normal scientist with a simple equate in his mind. Of course it does not charm any gamer but it does charm the most. Ultimetaly kids and adults that were kids sometime before. Kids that played with Lego, Playmobile, Matchbox. Kids that builded castles, pretented battles on the kitchens table or under the bed or Calling LBP just a platformer with a level editor, is like calling Einstein, a normal scientist with a simple equate in his mind. Of course it does not charm any gamer but it does charm the most. Ultimetaly kids and adults that were kids sometime before. Kids that played with Lego, Playmobile, Matchbox. Kids that builded castles, pretented battles on the kitchens table or under the bed or back in the yard. You dont really need to build levels and let people play them and ask for H4H. Its simply amazingly fun just to throw bricks and motors and ropes and pistons and spikes and flames and rockets and water and, and, and...... bombs to blow the whole thing just to fill the space of pleasure that Lego, Playmobile and matchbox left empty in the past just before you break down crying maybe. :P Expand
  24. JonS.
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    The game is great. It's all about creating content from the user, and publishing it. And it hits it out of the park on that. The tools are great, and when you can use imported pics, that will be great. All the zero ratings are just fangirls trashing metacritic ratings. Ignore them.
  25. Gasper
    Mar 6, 2010
    10
    More than a year has passed since i got this game, and because this is a Play Create Share game, right now(march 2010) would be the best time to review this game the story levels are fun, inventive and inspirational its 6+ hours that show you all the basic mechanics of the game theres a moon that you can visit at any given time and make youre own levels and/or just mess around, it will More than a year has passed since i got this game, and because this is a Play Create Share game, right now(march 2010) would be the best time to review this game the story levels are fun, inventive and inspirational its 6+ hours that show you all the basic mechanics of the game theres a moon that you can visit at any given time and make youre own levels and/or just mess around, it will take some time to learn how to make a good level and youle spend quite a loot of man houres making them these levels you can upload and share with the community the real fun starts when you go online the community has made amazing levels, a loot of them surpass the story levels made by mm studio themselfs and there is truly no limit to what you can play you can play them with 3 friends or strangers online, ofline or both do not be misleaded by the box art, this is one of the best gaming titles OF ALL TIME. Expand
  26. SavageTofu
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    This game blew me away. The constant online level is hit or miss but the game has the whole family laughing @ times & other times we want to hurt each other. This games can be incredibly fun & @ other times ridiculously skil intensive. We bought a PS3 so we could play this game. This is must have for any PS3 owners. It is a fantastic game for the whole family.
  27. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    Even thought the Little Big Planet's stage builder might be the best ever made, as a platformer, it's to easy, not really original and very repetitive.

    When playing through the levels, I feel like the game gets boring pretty fast. The multiplayers only add a few hours of fun for there is only a few places where you can really take advantage of the co-op possibilities. My friends and I had
    Even thought the Little Big Planet's stage builder might be the best ever made, as a platformer, it's to easy, not really original and very repetitive.

    When playing through the levels, I feel like the game gets boring pretty fast. The multiplayers only add a few hours of fun for there is only a few places where you can really take advantage of the co-op possibilities. My friends and I had more fun using the original head, body and arms control to make awkwards situations instead of running through levels. In the other hand, never before a game has offered that much options to build your own levels. Not only you can build levels, but with the vast list of tools and the awesome physics, you can also create enemies, rides and much more. If you are creative and talented, you might very well get stuck in this universe for months to come.

    Buy it or not, It only depends on what you are looking for.
    Expand
  28. Air
    Aug 27, 2010
    8
    As a video game, and considering what it has contributed to the industry, it's hard not to appreciate what Media Molecule has made here. LittleBigPlanet is charming, cute, innovative, and creative. Creating your own levels with its powerful designer is devilishly fun, but unfortunately, playing them proves to be a bore at times. LittleBigPlanet is an ever-growing game that really neverAs a video game, and considering what it has contributed to the industry, it's hard not to appreciate what Media Molecule has made here. LittleBigPlanet is charming, cute, innovative, and creative. Creating your own levels with its powerful designer is devilishly fun, but unfortunately, playing them proves to be a bore at times. LittleBigPlanet is an ever-growing game that really never ends, due to its dedicated community and large playerbase. There is a main story mode that really only serves to get trophies and new items to design your own levels with, because you will often find more creative levels made by other players. As well as the ability to create your own levels, there is an incredible amount of customization in this game. You have your own personal pod that you may customize to your heart's extent, and obviously, the cute little Sackboy player you control has many customization options. It's all fun and silly, making LittleBigPlanet the perfect game to play with friends. However, if you look at the gameplay at its core, there isn't much to it. The only buttons you use pertaining to traveling through levels are the left analog stick, the X button, and R1 (the action button). Everything else is dedicated to communication, customization, and custom emotes, only reinforcing the fact that LittleBigPlanet is meant to be played with other people. Overall, LittleBigPlanet should be played by those who enjoy the idea of creating their own levels for others to play, but don't expect anything prolific in the gameplay department. At $30 for the Game of the Year edition, there really is no reason not to have LittleBigPlanet in your collection, so do yourself a favor. Expand
  29. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    This is a dream come true to the fans of the platformer genre, to the rest of us it's a very innovative and enjoyable experience but nothing out of this world. What keeps it fresh is the level of creative freedom you receive.
  30. RandomS.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    I'm in the beta, and although I cant do everything yet, it is one the most fun games i've played. All my friends say it's a babies game but it's not. The levels are much easier to create than I thought they would, and I love the single-player levels. This is platforming at its best.
  31. CliffQ
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    All the people giving this game a 1 or a 0 are M$ types, trying to bring down the joy of the PS3 and this awesome game. The story part is less than thrilling but the part where you can go out and try all the user levels, that is where it gets awesome! Don't be fooled. Go try it.
  32. Shane
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    The kind of game you never sell. Truly beautiful, and absolutely never gets old.
  33. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    This game is hit and miss. The level creator is one of the largest emphasis of the game. To create levels for others. It is poorly designed and lacks good, concise tutorials. The story is pretty standard but it does show some of the great possibilities out of littlebigplanet.

    Littlebigplanet relies on imagination to keep this game going. It is one of the unique games out there that are
    This game is hit and miss. The level creator is one of the largest emphasis of the game. To create levels for others. It is poorly designed and lacks good, concise tutorials. The story is pretty standard but it does show some of the great possibilities out of littlebigplanet.

    Littlebigplanet relies on imagination to keep this game going. It is one of the unique games out there that are hard to rank. The story is most welcome showing some decent sideways platforming. The plot is very weak, but you wouldn't expect too much from this game.

    Playing online is poor, long loading times, poor connectivity and a lot of lag. However, it is very fun to play online with all the nice levels out there.

    One of the major drawbacks of this game is bad levels pop up on the cool levels all too frequent and good levels are often overlooked. The poor interface has crippled this games potential.

    This game is very fun to play, but this is a review. As a game, it lacks polish but it is a massive game.
    Play one of the unique games out there on the market.

    7/10
    Expand
  34. Andez
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    Best game I have played in a really long time. Beautiful, innovative, simply amazing. Seriously, ignore those posting low scores. Xbox 360 fanboys are getting a little upset, so we best be patient with them.
  35. samcc
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    this game is amazing if you have online which i bet hardly any of you have. the graphics are really good. some of the levels are difficult like the ast level but very enjoyable!
  36. CarlJ
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    What an amazing game, bought it on the realease date, and i still love playing it! Over 1000000 usermade levels online, its ¤%& fantastic!
  37. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    I absolutely adore this game. Sack boy, he should be the new playstation mascot. PS1: Crash and spyro as mascots.
    PS2: Ratchet and clank as mascots.
    PS3: Never had one. So i guess sackboy?


    The good: Everything.
    The bad: Slow load times.
  38. paulturnbull
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing game! Never played anything like it before :)
  39. RyanR
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    The best videogame ever released. Every true gamer should have this in their collection. The most fun you'll ever have playing a videogame and the greatest replay value/ money value out there. All the jealous xbots who rate this low are just proving it's awesomeness. 11/10!!!
  40. ZeroDevice
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    GREAT GAME.
  41. YermakirumY.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    Very good game.
  42. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    When I got my PS3, one of the first games I bought was LittleBigPlanet. I'd heard LOTS about this game, and I was expecting it to be really, really good. And this game not only met that expectation, but surpassed it. I loved it. Well, you have some butler guy telling you stuff about the game, and it really makes it feel like a children's game. But his voice his gone soon enough, and youWhen I got my PS3, one of the first games I bought was LittleBigPlanet. I'd heard LOTS about this game, and I was expecting it to be really, really good. And this game not only met that expectation, but surpassed it. I loved it. Well, you have some butler guy telling you stuff about the game, and it really makes it feel like a children's game. But his voice his gone soon enough, and you are sucked into the world called Little Big Planet. It's really epic. The missions all connect together, and you get prizes for beating each level, and more or less prizes depending on whether you beat the level without dying, etc.

    There are three rows which you can walk along, and sometimes which row you walk along determines if you live... or die. But you respawn anyway. So it's fine. All joking aside, the gameplay is fantastic. Jumping is cool, the swinging off things propels you further through the air depending on how far you go back and when you let go of what you're holding onto. You can push and pull some materials such as sponge, and you can grab hold of stuff while you are on top of it. Achieving all this is very impressive for a 2 inch tall Sackboy or Sackgirl. All in all, the gameplay is fantastic. The controls, there aren't many. I don't think the D-Pad does a whole lot of anything in game, neither does the Right Thumbstick. L2 and R2 are used for waving your arms around for no apparent reason as if you are starting the Macarena, so the only buttons you will ever need are X, R1 and the Left Thumbstick. X is for jumping, R1 is for grabbing, and Left Thumbstick is for moving. The controls... sort of lacked in this game. It's not a major disaster, and it is a very simple game. The HD graphics in LittleBigPlanet amazed me from the start. Mix this with the incredible variety or groovy sounds, and it just makes the game that much more fun to play. In Online, you can make your own levels and post them online, or play other people's creations. You can heart their level, heart the author who made the level, tag the level or comment on it. Some levels are labelled "Heart4Heart" and usually involve you 'hearting' the author and the level in exchange for a heart for your levels and you as an author. Some "Heart4Heart" levels give you trophies, like 'Incredible Speed' and Incredible Height', which are achieved by going at a very fast speed and going very high in the air, respectively. There are levels where the author has just literally spammed prize bubbles into the level in order for players to achieve the 2x, 8x and 20x Multiplier trophies, which usually end up in the player getting a 100x Multiplier (you don't get a trophy for that) and 1 million points. (There is a trophy for that.) And there are much better levels, like Super Mario PS3 which is like a Super Mario level which you play through and rescue Princess Peach from King Bomb-Omb. The levels are very creative and enjoyable to play. Well, the replay value in this game is infinite. You will literally not run out of new costumes to make, levels to create, and the trophies, if you are into trophies, can be very time consuming, especially if there's a part in that level where you keep dying and spend a few minutes devising a strategy on how to get past it without dying, and if you are looking for that last sticker, decoration or prize bubble. The replay value is literally infinite, and you can play it forever and ever. Last Word Little Big Planet is a fantastic game, one you should definitely pick up. It has amazing gameplay, controls, graphics, sound, online and replay value. It is a very enjoyable game for all ages - kids, teenagers, adults, everyone. You will have loads of fun playing Multiplayer, and making levels together. I could not put this game down. It is just fantastic. Excellent game.
    Expand
  43. Aug 15, 2010
    8
    this game is probably the best platformer i have ever played the only problem is that i dont think the the story mode is interesting enough also getting prize bubbles can be hard sometimes, and level creation can get confusing to some users
  44. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Very silly game, but really addictive, fun, innovative, creative and massive in scope. This game delivers the very minimum in order for you to make your mark on the creative planet.
  45. neofitoso
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    This game is brilliant beautiful.Is my best game for P.S.3. More than 500 levels to play on internet.community.
  46. Novi4ekNone
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    good game
  47. MarkW.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    In short, this game brings back the old school platforming feel with a new school platforming way. Never have I been more excited about a game since God of War 2. This title truly crosses all lines in that it is great for hardcore gamers and fun for casual players. Having only played the beta, I eagerly await the full level creation tools. The ability to create with other friends and In short, this game brings back the old school platforming feel with a new school platforming way. Never have I been more excited about a game since God of War 2. This title truly crosses all lines in that it is great for hardcore gamers and fun for casual players. Having only played the beta, I eagerly await the full level creation tools. The ability to create with other friends and publish my own levels. I also anticipate playing the story mode presented by Media Molecule. My nephew and I play Ratchet together sometimes and I think this will be another title we will have fun with together! Expand
  48. garymccafferty
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    i bought this game a few days after it came out on sale it was the best 40 pound i have ever spent the whole game layout and design is great because there is so much to do on the game its endless it gives me hours and hours of fun i give it 10/10 cant wait to get my hands on more costumes
  49. RafaelS
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games i have ever played!!! It is probably one of the only games where you can use imagination to make, well, anything!! It is a very good game, but it does have a few glitches when you go online, but who cares?
  50. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    What can you really say to a game or experience like this but "Holy SHxx".Who else has even tried to bring such a brilliant idea for the gaming industry.This game is so good that there is no end and all of the gameplay,levels,ideas is genius.I can't give enough praise to this game and I've been playing video games since the 70's.There is good news and bad news.The good news is that we willWhat can you really say to a game or experience like this but "Holy SHxx".Who else has even tried to bring such a brilliant idea for the gaming industry.This game is so good that there is no end and all of the gameplay,levels,ideas is genius.I can't give enough praise to this game and I've been playing video games since the 70's.There is good news and bad news.The good news is that we will be seing and playing the genius ideas that people have and enjoy the shix out of it and the bad news is because of the brilliant ideas of little big planet people won't be getting payed for there games like I'm sure there dreams of becoming game developers. Expand
  51. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Innovative in every way, It was amazing to me that no one had this brilliant idea to start with. This game is near perfection!!
  52. May 18, 2011
    8
    I love RPG's, I love shooting some guy in his virtual face as much as anyone else, and I still love LBP. Though the main story is short, the real fun is playing with friends, and seeing all of the wonderful creations peopl troducing an entirely new and awesome genre of gaming, PLAY,CREATE,SHARE. The super fun Story mode is just the beginning...Creating levels and sharing them with theI love RPG's, I love shooting some guy in his virtual face as much as anyone else, and I still love LBP. Though the main story is short, the real fun is playing with friends, and seeing all of the wonderful creations peopl troducing an entirely new and awesome genre of gaming, PLAY,CREATE,SHARE. The super fun Story mode is just the beginning...Creating levels and sharing them with the world is a blast, and so is playing the com Expand
  53. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    Enjoyed that game very much. Of course its much much better in multiplayer. especially local more than online but still fun. I actually quite enjoy the story too.
  54. May 9, 2012
    9
    LittleBigPlanet haves it unique gameplay, that makes this game great, and haves some clever puzzles, in single player, even in multiplayer. In multiplayer you can create your own levels, and edit your avatars. Sometimes the game gets boring and repetitive, but that's a rare thing. (9.4)
  55. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    I'm confused by some of the negative reviews that seem to imply that because this game is a platformer, it doesn't deserve a high rating or good reviews...Well, that's just dumb. It's a genre of video games, if you like that genre it doesn't make the game bad, it's just not for you...learn to be more objective..or preferably more open minded about games.

    That said, the game is a near
    I'm confused by some of the negative reviews that seem to imply that because this game is a platformer, it doesn't deserve a high rating or good reviews...Well, that's just dumb. It's a genre of video games, if you like that genre it doesn't make the game bad, it's just not for you...learn to be more objective..or preferably more open minded about games.

    That said, the game is a near perfect modern day puzzle/platformer that incorporates tons of cool mini-games and features within different levels that benefit or require having multiple players playing together. It's a very visually appealing game, it's cute, creative and imaginative. I've heard another complaint being how quickly the main story can be completed. This is true, the game can be beat with probably 5-10 hours of gameplay. But each level has tons of unlockable areas or features, awesome soundtracks, you can try to get all the stickers, but most of all this game gets its replay value from the minigames. I love this game, and I think people who really like platformers and puzzles and the art design of the game will enjoy it to. But considering how many people seem to not enjoy it, or just be horrible reviewers, I'd suggest trying a demo first.

    My one legitimate criticism though, is that at times the game can get very frustrating because of one mechanical flaw... The game is a bit 3D, you can jump "closer" and "further" away from the screen in order to jump or climb over things or hide from something...That movement sometimes is hard to actually maneuver, and something so crucial to the gameplay shouldn't at all be remotely difficult...but it is, and so you might yell at your TV for that now and again.
    Expand
  56. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    One of the best game for the ps3 when i started playing this game i got totally addicted to it, i passed it on co-op it was very amusement. This game is for all ages. A great multiplayer, original creating tools. This game has everything, you can do any time of level you want with your imagination.
  57. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Why is this game belittled by metacritic users? These people have such bad taste in games. This is one of the best games ever made, of all time as well as for the PS3, and should be highly respected. It's similar to Mario so if you love Mario and you have PS3, this game is for you. Sackboy is a great character, really cute. Girls dig him, lol. This might be the game you want to show toWhy is this game belittled by metacritic users? These people have such bad taste in games. This is one of the best games ever made, of all time as well as for the PS3, and should be highly respected. It's similar to Mario so if you love Mario and you have PS3, this game is for you. Sackboy is a great character, really cute. Girls dig him, lol. This might be the game you want to show to your girlfriend if she's not really into gaming. Graphics and presentation looks fantastic. It's unforgettable, unique and beautiful. A lot of creativity as well as freedom in this game thanks to it's array of customization and online features. One of the reasons you should get a PS3 is this game, just like Xbox for Halo and PS2 for GTA. The sound is incredible and it's probably the only console game, or one of the only console game, where you can design your own levels, just like Minecraft or the PC version of Skyrim. You can spend countless hours doing so if that's your kind of thing. I do have some issues with the controls and some of the level designs aren't that good. The controls don't always respond quick enough or how you want it to go, especially when you come across challenges that requires timing, it's like you're playing a flash game, but that's a minor problem. LittleBigPlanet is among the best games ever, highly recommended for kids and adults alike! Expand
  58. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Ok, the user score is at 6.6 at the moment which LittleBigPlanet doesn't deserve. LittleBigPlanet is one of those games, through all the shooters, actually doesn't something different and original. Yes, this game is kiddy one and that second to last level can go die in hell, but I got to say, there are redeeming qualities. The controls are slick, the environments are beautiful, theOk, the user score is at 6.6 at the moment which LittleBigPlanet doesn't deserve. LittleBigPlanet is one of those games, through all the shooters, actually doesn't something different and original. Yes, this game is kiddy one and that second to last level can go die in hell, but I got to say, there are redeeming qualities. The controls are slick, the environments are beautiful, the characters are weird and interesting and the map creator is the best I've ever used (Haven't played Far Cry 3 yet). Expand
  59. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    Incredibly charming and full of replay value, LittleBigPlanet is a unique puzzle-platformer with gorgeous sound and level design. Tons of unlockables, tons of online content, tons of fun. One of the PS3's best exclusives.
  60. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    I was 20 years old when i bought this game...invited 3 of my friends for a fun evening multiplayer....

    after SIX HOURS, we stopped playing...we had so much fun! this game offered anything it promised! and you can also build your own level! which was a lot of fun, i have to agree, not everything worked with first try, but the moment i ended it, uploaded and had my first "awesome"
    I was 20 years old when i bought this game...invited 3 of my friends for a fun evening multiplayer....

    after SIX HOURS, we stopped playing...we had so much fun! this game offered anything it promised!
    and you can also build your own level! which was a lot of fun, i have to agree, not everything worked with first try, but the moment i ended it, uploaded and had my first "awesome" comment, i was really proud! also my friends liked it a lot!
    the game has over 1million self made levels...

    also an epic story teller with an epic soundtrack! it´s a masterpiece for the whole family!

    not sure how you can rate it lower as 8.0...
    Expand
  61. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    this game is fun
    but is nothing new
    nothing deep and i think
    is a little overated
    what can i say, this game was not for me
    its not the game, i think its me
  62. Oct 30, 2011
    7
    Art direction, imagination, originality.. all over. It sucks to say it, but the controls are so BAD that it becomes nothing more than frustration that simply isn't worth continuing to put up with, no matter how cool the game is.
  63. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Great game for both single and multiplayer with enough challenges to have you coming back over and over. Like many games now, it's primarily built for social play, but more than holds it's own as a single player game. Subjectively, I've voted this game a 10 considering the endless hours I've played both alone and with friends, but objectively I cannot see how the game can be faulted belowGreat game for both single and multiplayer with enough challenges to have you coming back over and over. Like many games now, it's primarily built for social play, but more than holds it's own as a single player game. Subjectively, I've voted this game a 10 considering the endless hours I've played both alone and with friends, but objectively I cannot see how the game can be faulted below a 7/10. It's a definition of the genre. Expand
  64. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    I recognize that LBP is probably the most original game of this console's generation, and a good one too, i mean i see the (high) reviews that it has and i understand them. This is the game that i most desperately want to like. But...
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Sackboy is awesome. It has character and it has charisma. Sony wanted a mascot? This is the best one that they will ever encounter.
    I recognize that LBP is probably the most original game of this console's generation, and a good one too, i mean i see the (high) reviews that it has and i understand them. This is the game that i most desperately want to like. But...
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Sackboy is awesome. It has character and it has charisma. Sony wanted a mascot? This is the best one that they will ever encounter. Mario and Sonic you have met your match!
    PRESENTATION: Very inventive and very creative. And the fact that you can make your own map and play as a community. The possibilities are limitless.
    GAMEPLAY: Here is where it gets tricky. Although i recognize the game's strong points it gets old really fast to me. Not a great fan of platforming games and the controls are not as responsive. Played it but immediately put it away.
    LBP is innovative a creative with a great new character but it just doesn't work for me...
    Expand
  65. AlanS.
    Oct 31, 2008
    6
    It may actually be more interesting to create the levels than to play, or it may be that I'm not as into platformers as I used to, but I found the game pretty boring. The presentation is top notch, but I got bored with it pretty quickly.
  66. GordonJ.
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    I managed to get one of the 'recalled' games. The physics is terrible. You can barely jump. Since this game is basically a platformer, and the jumping is nearly broken, I am extremely disappointed. They say they are working on a patch, well great, I've already played the game. Thanks a whole bunch.
  67. screegesmith
    Nov 18, 2008
    6
    Well I think is little big dissapointment, I thought it would be a fun game, but no it gets very frustrating the controll is terrible, as other people say, maybe it ihas a good level editing tool, but where is the FUN on it. If you want a physics sim then this is your game, if you are looking for a fun game this is not it.
  68. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    If you're looking for an innovative, creative and fun multiplayer experience, you're in for a treat. Thousands of unique, user created levels overflowing with surprises and perfect for team games. It is a great online community and it is easy to create and share your creations. On the other hand, the single player story mode is thoroughly disappointing. It keeps you happy with lots ofIf you're looking for an innovative, creative and fun multiplayer experience, you're in for a treat. Thousands of unique, user created levels overflowing with surprises and perfect for team games. It is a great online community and it is easy to create and share your creations. On the other hand, the single player story mode is thoroughly disappointing. It keeps you happy with lots of enjoyable levels from the start to middle of the story. They are challenging but just easy enough to keep you wanting to play. However, one of the final levels, The Bunker, is almost impossible. The developers have not thought about what the player is prepared to go through before giving up. It is almost impossible. Only a handful of players have got past it but many, including me, gave up on the unpassable "big wheel" obstacle. It is a poorly designed level and loses the player's interest almost immediately. Thoroughly disappointing. Expand
  69. SimonC.
    Nov 1, 2008
    6
    I think that this might be the biggest difference in professional and user reviews on Metacritic. Personally I found the game to be extremely innovative. Sadly, it wasn't all that much fun.
  70. DouglasA.
    Feb 3, 2009
    5
    This game got its very high ratings from critics based on its creativity. If you ever once contemplated buying a Nintendo Wii, you will probably love this game. This game is actually similar to the original Super Mario Bros in its style (two dimensional running through a map). Serious games who like shooters, role-playing games, and sports games, STAY AWAY. This game is meant for little This game got its very high ratings from critics based on its creativity. If you ever once contemplated buying a Nintendo Wii, you will probably love this game. This game is actually similar to the original Super Mario Bros in its style (two dimensional running through a map). Serious games who like shooters, role-playing games, and sports games, STAY AWAY. This game is meant for little kids and adults who have never been serious gamers. Expand
  71. May 25, 2012
    6
    The controls feel off and although the world's the game are well designed it did feel like an uphill struggle to finish the game just for the sake of it.
  72. Oct 16, 2010
    4
    LittleBigPlanet is one of the most overrated games on this console generation.For me,this game was just boring and repeative crap.I can´t understand what´s so amazing about this game
  73. Aug 21, 2010
    3
    I can see how people liked this game. But I didn't. I personally believe that games should be able to stand up on single player alone. LBP does the opposite of that. Furthermore, it is just far too boring to create a beautiful level. Downloadling levels off PSN is terrible too. Sure, there are excellent levels, but most are terrible, and I'm not wading though a river of sewage to find one diamond.
  74. AnonymousMC
    Oct 14, 2008
    0
    Excellent game, solid platforming/puzzle/physics milkshake with a create-mode-cherry on top. LBP will live a long and prosperous life and make a new breed of gamers. If you need a reason to buy a PS3, this is it.

    As for the score, I think this game needs an 11/10. Because there is no 11 on metacritic, lets assume the scores above 10 start from the beginning. Most people have already
    Excellent game, solid platforming/puzzle/physics milkshake with a create-mode-cherry on top. LBP will live a long and prosperous life and make a new breed of gamers. If you need a reason to buy a PS3, this is it.

    As for the score, I think this game needs an 11/10. Because there is no 11 on metacritic, lets assume the scores above 10 start from the beginning. Most people have already figured that out too!
    Expand
  75. Jan 4, 2012
    4
    Incredibly overrated game. If you're looking for a platformer to play, stick to Mario. When I saw the multiple awards this game had I was delighted and I was even more pleased when I found out I could get it free with Playstation Plus, but I ended up really disappointed as about three levels through the game I started to get bored. The create, play and share ability is well done but aIncredibly overrated game. If you're looking for a platformer to play, stick to Mario. When I saw the multiple awards this game had I was delighted and I was even more pleased when I found out I could get it free with Playstation Plus, but I ended up really disappointed as about three levels through the game I started to get bored. The create, play and share ability is well done but a good game must have a good storyline (yes even in platformers) and this game certainly does not have one. Expand
  76. MYannakis
    Jan 7, 2010
    6
    One of the biggest disapointment of the current gen consoles. First of all, I must say I am a huge platformer fan I love playing from Mario games to Ratchet & Clank passing by Prince of Persia. When Sony publish something that score like Little Big Planet, my expectation are very high. The problem with the game is not it's style, it's replay value or it's graphic. The One of the biggest disapointment of the current gen consoles. First of all, I must say I am a huge platformer fan I love playing from Mario games to Ratchet & Clank passing by Prince of Persia. When Sony publish something that score like Little Big Planet, my expectation are very high. The problem with the game is not it's style, it's replay value or it's graphic. The gameplay sucks. Even if you give me a gazillion levels to play, I would still be unsatisfied because I feel no enjoyment playing it at all. I played a couple of levels with a buddy of mine and we where both asking ourselves how it is possible someone could actually enjoy it. Also, all the creative stuff added to the game feel pretty lame to me. If I want to stamp stuff and use my creativity I would do scrapbooking instead of playing this. Expand
  77. guy!
    Sep 25, 2009
    0
    SERIOUSLY OVERRATED!! 95?! ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?!!???!!! this is the dumbest game i've ever played on the ps3, and has the platfrom BS i'd expect from a supernintendo. Everything about this game is just awful, basically, ur a doll hopping on platforms through a seriously F'd up gaming world. I honestly wouldn't be suprised if it causes autism for the next generation.
  78. joshualozano
    Oct 14, 2008
    0
    The games slow pace is not for me. 2D side scrollers should not be $60 and the user created maps are all too similar.

    There are NO real enemies!
    The Beta was fun for 2 hours-- I'm glad I checked it out but I'm not going to buy it.
  79. Jan 18, 2013
    4
    I bough this, played for about a half hour, and have not put it in my PS3 since... Seems fun however I will not finish playing it because I absolutly can not stand the fact that you have to use the goddamn control stick to move... It is a side scroller/platformer and the PS3 has a D-pad(not sure what to call it?) so there is no excuse why I can't use it...
  80. BenTen
    Oct 15, 2009
    3
    This is the worst game i've played for PS3, its not challanging at all, it gets borring really fast, I got to admit, the graphics are kind of nice and cute, but the gameplay is worse than that of some flashgames.
  81. Apr 19, 2011
    4
    Awful game. When I see multiple Game of the Year awards I get excited. But LittleBIgPlanet offers nothing new. The ability to create, play and share user generated content has been in other games already. The jumping is also awful. Which is the most important part of any platforming game. I can't recommend this game to anyone but 5 year old kids.
  82. Dec 20, 2010
    2
    Wooooow, this game isn't just bad, it's horrid. It looks like something a stupid 3 year old would play. This game is bad with a capital B! Graphics were awful and game play was trash. It's an attempt at a platformer and it failed. I mean, a sack kid as a main character? Really!? This game has no skill involved. It's stupid, lame and a waste of time!
  83. Dec 11, 2013
    1
    Probably the most overrated game of recent years. The idea off the community making all kinds of levels and sharing them is amazing. However, what's the point if the gameplay is aweful? The sackthings are uncontrollable and playing this game is just a chore.
    This last one is just opinion, but I'm not a fan of the world created here either. Everything is made out of cardboard or something?
    Probably the most overrated game of recent years. The idea off the community making all kinds of levels and sharing them is amazing. However, what's the point if the gameplay is aweful? The sackthings are uncontrollable and playing this game is just a chore.
    This last one is just opinion, but I'm not a fan of the world created here either. Everything is made out of cardboard or something? Don't like it at all.
    Expand
  84. coolman
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    complete shit xbox 360 shits on this game it sux donkey ballz. They made mario except boring and shit. Instead of mario we have a grey puppet that's how imaginutive ps3 is.

    Instead of sick 2d mario we have 3 depths which is fucken confusing and kills the game. The map creator is dull as fuck and only fun if your a spotty nerd who bumlick sony by making maps all your life for no
    complete shit xbox 360 shits on this game it sux donkey ballz. They made mario except boring and shit. Instead of mario we have a grey puppet that's how imaginutive ps3 is.

    Instead of sick 2d mario we have 3 depths which is fucken confusing and kills the game.

    The map creator is dull as fuck and only fun if your a spotty nerd who bumlick sony by making maps all your life for no monies.

    anyway all playslaves do is make penis levels because theres is so small that they need 2 make one on the game to wank each other off.

    shit platformin and shit map making = shit game 0/10
    Expand
  85. gRANTlYNN
    Oct 16, 2008
    0
    Not fun - i have done this all before and its so fiddly - no competition and kinda sick of it already. boring for players unless youre a wannabe game designer- lame childish noises and characters with craptastic direction. A luvvies hype machine but a waste of time and money for regular consumers -
  86. SonyDefenseForce
    Oct 21, 2008
    0
    This is a terrible little kiddie game that should have been on a little kiddie system like the wii. PS3 owners should be embarrassed that this steaming pile of donkey doo is on their system. The graphics are horrible, the controls are ridiculously bad, and the game is not one ounce of fun. I would hardly call it a game. Do not touch LittleBigPlanet with a ten foot pole, it is infected This is a terrible little kiddie game that should have been on a little kiddie system like the wii. PS3 owners should be embarrassed that this steaming pile of donkey doo is on their system. The graphics are horrible, the controls are ridiculously bad, and the game is not one ounce of fun. I would hardly call it a game. Do not touch LittleBigPlanet with a ten foot pole, it is infected with the disgusting Sony disease. After playing this game I wanted to kill myself. Expand
  87. LukeM.
    Apr 19, 2010
    0
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  88. Seppotaalasmaa
    Aug 12, 2009
    4
    This game is too overrated crap. Only reason why this have so big score couse its "child-friendly" and "special" and different than other games. This is just a game what the developers did for money. I dont understand why this level editor-system is so "amazing". there are many more creative games with level editors and character editors. You'll get bored to this in 2 weeks... notThis game is too overrated crap. Only reason why this have so big score couse its "child-friendly" and "special" and different than other games. This is just a game what the developers did for money. I dont understand why this level editor-system is so "amazing". there are many more creative games with level editors and character editors. You'll get bored to this in 2 weeks... not worth of money, not worth of time Expand
  89. john
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    We rented this from the 94 video store in Rowland Heights. The offensive song actually sounds very cute and we didn't know what the lyrics were, so it didn't matter. It's fun with four people, but play time should be limited because you will get sick of dying randomly. There are moving objects or creatures with spikes and they don't kill you every time, but it throws We rented this from the 94 video store in Rowland Heights. The offensive song actually sounds very cute and we didn't know what the lyrics were, so it didn't matter. It's fun with four people, but play time should be limited because you will get sick of dying randomly. There are moving objects or creatures with spikes and they don't kill you every time, but it throws off your timing. It's not 6.3 bad. Expand
  90. TimA.
    Dec 3, 2008
    6
    I have to say I am distinctly underwhelmed by this. It looks beautiful but that really is about it. Let's put this in perspective it is a side scrolling platform game which is what we were all playing in the 80's. Also it has the ability to create your own levels....so? There are tons of games out there with level editros and we have never gone quite so mad as we all seem to I have to say I am distinctly underwhelmed by this. It looks beautiful but that really is about it. Let's put this in perspective it is a side scrolling platform game which is what we were all playing in the 80's. Also it has the ability to create your own levels....so? There are tons of games out there with level editros and we have never gone quite so mad as we all seem to have with this. Finally and this is the most annoying thing is the feel of how you jump. It feels too floaty and off, after several hours playing this I am still unable to guage with any confidence how I should arc my jumps successfully. Don't get me wrong it is not a terrible game and like I say it lloks great and it is very cute but I can't help but feel that we have all got a little over excited here there is nothing really revolutionary here and the gameplay is infuriatingly frustrating with the weird jumps and the attempt to put 3 planes into a 2d game. Good but way way over hyped. Expand
  91. MattJ
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    A stunning game, but the fact R* removed aircraft during development (There are ways to access choppers by 1 or 2 glitches, have a good rumage around gtaforums.com) and other niggles that could have been improved before release simply make me unable to give it a 10, even though I think that Liberty City is a far superior setting than Vice City Stories' on PSP. 'Nuf sed:-)
  92. CurtisB
    Jan 8, 2009
    8
    First letdown when I played the game, it's only 720p!!! My TV does 480i/p & 1080i, but this game DOWN converted to 480i...480i not even 480p! The first tutorial level had the most pixalated spotlight I've seen since the NES, the spotlight in Super Mario World final castle on the SNES was better. Somehow, I think from the trailers, I was under the impression this was at least a First letdown when I played the game, it's only 720p!!! My TV does 480i/p & 1080i, but this game DOWN converted to 480i...480i not even 480p! The first tutorial level had the most pixalated spotlight I've seen since the NES, the spotlight in Super Mario World final castle on the SNES was better. Somehow, I think from the trailers, I was under the impression this was at least a 1080i or that it would up-convert. That being said ,my wife and I started playing and dragging each other around, bouncing through an still fairly cinematic world of fun and adventure. It's the first videogame my wifewill play besides rock band or DDR. We haven't even started to create anything. It's just a lot of fun. Expand
  93. KenMacLauchlan
    Apr 6, 2009
    9
    It took me a wee while to appreciate this game but I now have. Superb game both my girlfriend and I appreciate playing. Brilliant choice of Stephen Fry to do the voiceover and a lovely graphical style unlike anything else. On top of that you have decent in game physics, the customisable aspect to the game, ....
  94. ForrestAnderson
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    LBP is a fun platformer for everyone, the story mode is fun and challenging and gives you all you need to play other people's levels and make one yourself. With online access there is an option to play with others and play levels made by other people. It takes a long time to make a good level (around 10 hours) but it is worth it. LBP is a great game and I encourage every PS3 ownerLBP is a fun platformer for everyone, the story mode is fun and challenging and gives you all you need to play other people's levels and make one yourself. With online access there is an option to play with others and play levels made by other people. It takes a long time to make a good level (around 10 hours) but it is worth it. LBP is a great game and I encourage every PS3 owner that has always wanted to make their own game to buy it Expand
  95. IsaacM
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    OK if you have zero imagination or you don't have a creative bone in your body or an internet connection you aren't going to like this game. For everyone else there is heaps to enjoy. The story mode is just a method of collecting all the pieces you need to build your own levels. The real substance of LBP lies in its online community and their creativity as well as yours. You do OK if you have zero imagination or you don't have a creative bone in your body or an internet connection you aren't going to like this game. For everyone else there is heaps to enjoy. The story mode is just a method of collecting all the pieces you need to build your own levels. The real substance of LBP lies in its online community and their creativity as well as yours. You do need to have a fairly decent connection as well. But some of the levels online range from brilliant (God Of War theme level) to bizarre (ICO recreation) and everything in between. The physics is exceptional glass acts like glass, metal like metal and stone or wood exactly as you would expect them to act in real life. The level creator can be at times impossibly finicky but the brilliance of it once you get used to it is not to be underestimated. Anything and everything you see while playing through the story can be recreated in the level creator you only need to work out how. In fact it is well worth playing through the story again once you have gotten used to the level designer just to see the contraptions you can build and how the game designers did it (not to mention trying to pick up more prize bubbles). There is no denying LBP's obvious charm, great music and its interactivity makes this one of the best games to come out in a decade, even some of my friends who are real diehard Xbox fanboys have been raving about this. Girls love it too :-P In summary this game is a cross between Youtube and Super Mario Bros, buy it! Expand
  96. StanKojima
    Nov 5, 2008
    1
    Can't even get online for a little co-op play. All sort of server issues. I paid $60 plus tax for this. What a ripoff
  97. RichP
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Couldnt rate this 10 because of small control issues, but theyre not that bad. My girlfriend doesnt play games and shes hooked on this despite the jumping being a little imprecise. Main game is a little short and has no story, but who cares?! i started playing games when 85% of games had no story. User made levels are great and some are very innovative. Multiplayer is great fun, but the Couldnt rate this 10 because of small control issues, but theyre not that bad. My girlfriend doesnt play games and shes hooked on this despite the jumping being a little imprecise. Main game is a little short and has no story, but who cares?! i started playing games when 85% of games had no story. User made levels are great and some are very innovative. Multiplayer is great fun, but the best thing is level editor, extremely versitile and as easy or difficult as you want it to be. you can create levels in multiplayer with your friends so its not like you have to spend hours on your own trying to make something perfect, you can just put it on and mess around. After a while you find yourself trying out ideas, trying to make parodies of films or games and generally laughing away for hours. Bought the ps3 for this and metal gear 4 (and blu ray movies) and i love both. This games probably not worth the money if you have no friends like some of the people on here rating it 0 as single player gets dull quickly, but putting it on with my girlfriend, trying out new levels and messing around with the creator for a couple of hours is awesome fun. These 360 fanboys should probably go and play Generic shooter 4 or whatever the latest big exclusive is and get over the fact that someones made a great game that doesnt have an m-rating. Expand
  98. RickS.
    Oct 23, 2008
    0
    Having been testing the game for the last month or so i have to say im disapointed. Being a game tested i do not normally comment on games as i go through so many in the year but this one was especially poor, very unoriginial game play and long long load times. Menus were difficult to get around and the game lacked any kind of luster. My suggestion is to buy an xbox360.
  99. FrankieM.
    Oct 23, 2008
    0
    I was so excited for this game before the release. REALLY EXCITED, but when I bought it I knew the game was extremely over hyped. The game had clunky controls, my PS3 could barely play it because it lagged alot, the music sucked, and it crashed a couple times. I cannot believe I actually bought this shit, dont buy it, just save your money for a good game.
  100. SethC.
    Oct 24, 2008
    0
    My local store broke street date so I got a copy of this game. It is boring. Essentially it's just a 2D scroller with a level editor. OK. Haven't I played a 2D scroller with a level editor before? Oh yeah, it was called Excitebike and it was for the original Nintendo system. Maybe these critics never played 2D scrollers but there was a big reason even Mario went 3d. The gameplay My local store broke street date so I got a copy of this game. It is boring. Essentially it's just a 2D scroller with a level editor. OK. Haven't I played a 2D scroller with a level editor before? Oh yeah, it was called Excitebike and it was for the original Nintendo system. Maybe these critics never played 2D scrollers but there was a big reason even Mario went 3d. The gameplay is simple to the point of idiocy....jump, run, jump, collect stuff, jump again, ad naseum. don't believe the hype for this game. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    There simply isn't anything else like LBP on any system, anywhere. It's a beautifully elegant and powerful creative tool that puts unlimited potential in the palm of your hand. [Nov 2008, p.92]
  2. We're just happy to see a flagship game for a modern system that's about running from left to right and jumping over things. New ideas are great, great old ideas are better, and LittleBigPlanet has both: it's the future and the past of videogames, rolled into one.
  3. Little Big Planet is revolutionary thanks to its flexible, fun and powerful editor. Creating a quality level takes time but the feeling of achievement is overwhelming. A must for everyone who loves creativity or likes to explore what the creativity of a passionate community can produce.