Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    84
    It's not perfect, but it's insane amounts of incredibly stylized, so-moronic-it's-almost-genius fun.
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    75
    After finishing Lollipop Chainsaw, I was left with the same feeling I had after playing other titles from creative director Suda 51. Like Killer 7 and No More Heroes, the premise is exciting and imaginative, but the gameplay execution has too many holes to embrace completely. However, also like those previous games, I'm glad I played Lollipop Chainsaw.
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    80
    A highly amusing arcade-style group beat 'em up many over-the-top elements. Only in Japan, baby, only in Japan. [Aug 2012]
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    With Lollipop Chainsaw, Suda 51 has once again found a great mix between fun, varied gameplay and tons of humor. The action might not really stand out and the game has its issues, but it's a great, fun ride.
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    79
    The game strikes the right chord and that chord doesn't lose its appeal; it stays in tune throughout and somehow manages to remain pleasing and amusing.
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    86
    Amidst an important layer of absurdity brought to you by the likes of Suda51, James Gunn, and Jimmy Urine, Lollipop Chainsaw has a lot in common with the delightful 8-bit games of my youth.
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    75
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a game with two aspects: on the one side you have this great game full of absurdity, humour and stylish action, only to be followed up by annoying mini-games.
  8. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    While it may be summarized as merely being style over substance, Lollipop Chainsaw is fun and engaging enough to keep you entertained all throughout its eight hour playtime. Unlockable costumes, music and concept art and more collectables will also have you coming back for more.
  9. So let`s summarize: zombies, a cheerleader and a horny beheaded boyfriend rotting in front of the school gates. And let`s not forget that the 18+ rating isn't just because of a few rampaging zombies. There's a reason why Juliet just turned 18 at the start of the game. [July p.72]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 52
  2. Negative: 5 out of 52
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    5
    I *really* wanted to like this game. The concept is hilarious. The artwork and the voice acting are also excellent. I was hoping this wouldI *really* wanted to like this game. The concept is hilarious. The artwork and the voice acting are also excellent. I was hoping this would feel something like an early Buffy episode with more chutzpah and zombies. Here's the problem. The gameplay stinks. Basically you have one wave of zombies after another, mash some control buttons to execute random combos, knock down the zombies then move on. Batman Arkham city was a bit button mashy like this but there you had much more scope for positioning, tactics and you really felt like you were reacting to attacks and planning out how to take down groups carefully. Here it's just mash square, circle, triangle then move on. This gets boring fast. The other criticism is that the writing falls flat. I was hoping that the lines here would be somewhat snappy and clever. Instead, it feels more like a 13 year old clumsily taunting you and the result is just uninteresting. It's sad, I wanted this to be a really great game but the mediocre writing and gameplay ruined it for me. Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    this game is so good so funny gory too with alot of swearing and skimpy outfit i love it she next larry croft only she teenagethis game is so good so funny gory too with alot of swearing and skimpy outfit i love it she next larry croft only she teenage cheerleader............................................................................ Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Suda51, the quirky mind behind Killer7, No More Heroes and Shadows of the Damned, returns with another **** zombie outbreak. Hey, I'm going toSuda51, the quirky mind behind Killer7, No More Heroes and Shadows of the Damned, returns with another **** zombie outbreak. Hey, I'm going to make a zombie game of my very own. It will be an apocalyptic survival game in which you and a small group of desperate survivors with complementary skills must navigate a deserted city without being crushed under an avalanche of zombie games, movies, and reinterpretations of classic literature. I'll call it 'Enough with the **** Zombies Already'. Honestly, at this point you people just won't be able to cope if civilization ends any other way, will you. But that's neither here or there, what is here is some fun hacko-slasho-button-masho combat, and there is some fun, quirky humor that Suda51 is so fond of. Juliet is so much more likable that Lara Croft. Lara Croft is a sassy action girl who flips arbitrarily between the two, Juliet is just an over-the- top, sexy and violent action hero. Of course, the chainsaw has been used more on zombies in games more than trees in real life, and it is really over the top in Lollipop Chainsaw, but it's balanced with Suda51's desire to make the funniest, quirkiest game ever. If you loved Killer7 or Nomeroes then you will certainly love this. It is certainly a spectacle, but that's not a problem because the gratuitous, sexy, bloody violence compensates. I have a few gripes with the game; Juliet is an example of how poorly women are treated as a main character, Bayonetta was an example because everything Bayonetta does was **** I know Suda51 isn't trying to make a true female character, he was intending Juliet to be over-the-top, and it certainly delivered. So yeah, I **** loved Killer7, though it was a completely different game, but the humor and quirkiness is still here. So if you want a fun weekend, I would recommend Lollipop Chainsaw Full Review »