Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lollipop Chainsaw is the un-deadly story of sweet, killer zombie-slayer Juliet Starling and her mission to uncover the root of a zombie outbreak. Juliet must balance the drama of high school while carrying out her zombie-hunting lineage. Players hone their cheerleading acrobatics and chainsaw skills to string together lethal combo moves, taking out scores of the undead. The game was developed by GRASSHOPPER MANUFACTURE, led by game develop Goichi Suda (aka SUDA 51) and featuring the music of the Akira Yamaoka. In addition, Hollywood director and writer James Gunn (Super, Slither, Dawn of the Dead, Tromeo and Juliet) has brought his cult humor and edgy storytelling to Lollipop Chainsaw’s script. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    86
    Amidst an important layer of absurdity brought to you by the likes of Suda51, James Gunn, and Jimmy Urine, Lollipop Chainsaw has a lot in common with the delightful 8-bit games of my youth.
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    While it may be summarized as merely being style over substance, Lollipop Chainsaw is fun and engaging enough to keep you entertained all throughout its eight hour playtime. Unlockable costumes, music and concept art and more collectables will also have you coming back for more.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    75
    After finishing Lollipop Chainsaw, I was left with the same feeling I had after playing other titles from creative director Suda 51. Like Killer 7 and No More Heroes, the premise is exciting and imaginative, but the gameplay execution has too many holes to embrace completely. However, also like those previous games, I'm glad I played Lollipop Chainsaw.
  4. Jun 17, 2012
    70
    Its heroine may be the only thing that's not rough around the edges, but this is another fascinating mess by Suda51 and a great arcade style actioner.
  5. Buoyed by a promising concept and Suda51's reputation, we expected and experience comparable to God Hand or Bayonetta. What we got is witless – an embarrassment that shames itself and the industry as a whole. It's idiocy that outstays its in record time. [July 2012, p78]
  6. Lollipop Chainsaw's core gameplay is distinctly second-tier, and for every endearing exchange between characters or LOL-worthy line, there's a crude sexual innuendo or lingering shot of Juliet's jiggling breasts. Maybe we haven't come a long way, baby.
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    50
    Lollipop Chainsaw doesn't even attempt to differentiate itself from the genre, and most of what it does try new in the realm of its characters and writing ultimately ends up taking away from an incredible-on-paper action game.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 48
  2. Negative: 5 out of 48
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    this game is so good so funny gory too with alot of swearing and skimpy outfit i love it she next larry croft only she teenage cheerleader............................................................................ Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    The FanService is great 10/10; But this game is very creative... Many things make no sense most of the time! You can call it insane, ridiculous, that gives a bad message... But being a Gamer is not only play amazing games with complicated puzzles, also is to get FUN, and this is a FUN game. I bought it to get a good time and it made my day. I have more than 30 PS3 games like Skyrim, Uncharted (all) God of war (all) etc. Sometimes you want to relax and play something not so serious and this game fits Perfect!! Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    The main problems I see are: many loading screens, short campaign and aim issues with the gun. But in general, Lollipop Chainsaw is fun and funny. I see many critics taking this game too serious and that's not the intention. It's just amazing to kill zombies and try to beat the records. It's an arcade game, which means you can also go to the stage you want and simply have fun. It's easy to beat, but if you want more challenge try at the highest difficult. It's like a musou style and it has a variety of mini-games and quick time events, so it's not repetitive. There's some funny parodies too. The soundtrack is amazing, specially if you like rock. It has a lot of costumes to unlock, and if it were a game from other companies you would have to pay for each extra costume. So, I think this game is complete. Short, but fair. Don't expect to be like a complex AAA title with lot of stuff and things to do. It's just a game to relax from stress and have fun, even for the hardcore gamer. And remember: it has zombies and a cheerleader. What else would you want? Collapse
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    Suda51′s latest masterpiece/abomination seems to be the most controversial so far. There
  5. Sep 7, 2014
    8
    It's not the best game of all times, it's not the best zombie game of all times, but if you wish to get lost in anything for a couple of hours, it's just perfect Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    By now you must know this game has a lot of technical issues. Nevertheless it's fun, funny, entertaining and all the weirdness just works and charms you. If you can live with a few technical issues and like the though off killing zombies with a chainsaw wielding blond teenage cheerleader, then buy this. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    I got this game as a present from my dad. He doesn't know much about me or my taste in games and when he asked me I said "Zombie survival games" and he picked this up….I played it while he was at my mom's house so I wouldn't seem ungrateful....Its a games clearly made for guys its a simple 5 level game with repetitive everything. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.