Lost Planet 3 PlayStation 3

Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    85
    Those flaws are easy to forgive in light of what the game gets right, though. As a reviewer who's constantly in search of games which try new things or buck expectations, Lost Planet 3 was quietly, calmly fantastic. Everything about it has a very mature, measured approach which sets it apart from the pack, and the character work on display is some of the best I've seen in quite some time.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    75
    Lost Planet 3 has small levels and horribly long load times. That's not a good combination for a game that tries to maintain an illusion of semi-open-world gameplay. The RPG elements add a welcomed depth to the proceedings. [Sept 2013]
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    75
    If it wasn’t for the world itself and the characters in it, I wouldn’t have gotten as far in Lost Planet 3 as I did. That’s most of my recommendation right there. Whoever wrote this game needs to get more work, ideally in an original series so he or she can really shine.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    75
    Spark Unlimited has drastically changed the Lost Planet formula, making Lost Planet 3 feel more like a reboot than a sequel. The gameplay feels tighter and more accessible than ever, but comes at the price of the diversity and openness found in previous titles. Fans of the series might not like these changes, but the big amount of content, beautiful environments and exciting boss battles make this a quality title that stands above the average third-person shooter.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    The story is engaging and got me invested early especially the interactions between Jim and Grace. That was unique. I appreciated the gameplayThe story is engaging and got me invested early especially the interactions between Jim and Grace. That was unique. I appreciated the gameplay and the option to go hand-to-hand or in the mech. I have played several other games from Spark in the past few years and this was by far the most thoughtful and most fun to play. Of the LP games, I started with 2 and felt the story in 3 was more interesting and fleshed out. It's good, summer fun and I'd recommend it. Full Review »
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Lost Planet 3, it looked so promising, a game who could had redeemed the franchise reputation but it ended in failure but not all is lost. TheLost Planet 3, it looked so promising, a game who could had redeemed the franchise reputation but it ended in failure but not all is lost. The story takes place before the events of the first Lost Planet game, it tells the story of the first few human colonists on the iced planet E.D.N. III, the main character its Jim Peyton, a colonist who is working for NEVEC who's job is to mine and send minerals back to earth but as the story continues Jim begins to unravel the dark secrets of NEVEC. While the story is good, the gameplay is really simple, it requires you to dodge attacks and shoot, that's almost it, you will face the akrids just like the previous games with some basic weapons that gives the game a really generic feeling, although it can be fun at first, you will end feeling bored some times the more you play it. The game doesn't features the VS mechs like the originals, it features a mech called Rigs which gives the game some sort of variation by the different functions it has, but not enough too make the game come through as it needed to go. Full Review »
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Pros:Story/Ending is fantastic its tell a whole life of a man...and E.d.n.3 planet,music pretty good,
    robot view,places,characters,non
    Pros:Story/Ending is fantastic its tell a whole life of a man...and E.d.n.3 planet,music pretty good,
    robot view,places,characters,non linear gameplay.
    Cons:can't play old jim...Graphics, sometimes even lost planet 1 is nicer...Unreal3 engine is too old.
    gameplay sometimes get boring.
    Full Review »