Lost Planet 3 PlayStation 3

Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    85
    Those flaws are easy to forgive in light of what the game gets right, though. As a reviewer who's constantly in search of games which try new things or buck expectations, Lost Planet 3 was quietly, calmly fantastic. Everything about it has a very mature, measured approach which sets it apart from the pack, and the character work on display is some of the best I've seen in quite some time.
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    75
    Lost Planet 3 has small levels and horribly long load times. That's not a good combination for a game that tries to maintain an illusion of semi-open-world gameplay. The RPG elements add a welcomed depth to the proceedings. [Sept 2013]
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    75
    If it wasn’t for the world itself and the characters in it, I wouldn’t have gotten as far in Lost Planet 3 as I did. That’s most of my recommendation right there. Whoever wrote this game needs to get more work, ideally in an original series so he or she can really shine.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    75
    Spark Unlimited has drastically changed the Lost Planet formula, making Lost Planet 3 feel more like a reboot than a sequel. The gameplay feels tighter and more accessible than ever, but comes at the price of the diversity and openness found in previous titles. Fans of the series might not like these changes, but the big amount of content, beautiful environments and exciting boss battles make this a quality title that stands above the average third-person shooter.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    The story is engaging and got me invested early especially the interactions between Jim and Grace. That was unique. I appreciated the gameplayThe story is engaging and got me invested early especially the interactions between Jim and Grace. That was unique. I appreciated the gameplay and the option to go hand-to-hand or in the mech. I have played several other games from Spark in the past few years and this was by far the most thoughtful and most fun to play. Of the LP games, I started with 2 and felt the story in 3 was more interesting and fleshed out. It's good, summer fun and I'd recommend it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 15, 2015
    4
    Lost planet 2 killed the soul of Lost Planet and now thanks to this third entry in the saga Lost Planet is six feet under (maybe evenLost planet 2 killed the soul of Lost Planet and now thanks to this third entry in the saga Lost Planet is six feet under (maybe even more...), there was good intentions, like the return to the good old snowy EDNIII, some touch of survivor, a campaign mode story oriented.
    But the game is flawed and all those good ideas are poorly executed (return of the snow but nothing about keeping your body warm enough; bad labial synchronization and bad character development ; and the most important thing the gameplay is boring, it works fine but it's just not fun it will even be annoying when you encounter "spawner" (infinite waves of enemies until you destroy them), at first the bosses fights will bring some entertainment but the lack of diversity in this domain will take out the fun of that too... I guess the RIG (your mech) phases are okay but that's all.
    Technically there are some bugs here and there and the graphics are, once again, okay but without anything extraordinary. To finish the campaign at 100% I guess it would take about 20 hours, I said that "I guess" because for the first time I didn't do all the side quests (I finished the game in 13 hours and with approximately 50% of the side quests done) and why is that ? Because I wanted to finished it the most quickly possible, which should tell you how bored I was.
    To conclude the best world to describe Lost Planet 3 is : emotionless. Which could be say for almost all the games from Spark Unlimited, there's been some progress on the technicality but they just don't have this "spark" to make good video games and, I'm sorry to tell this, they should all go work in other studios (more talented) and learn a few things, then retry to make a game on their own...
    I do not recommend this game (even at 5 box) there is a lot more out there that offers way more fun.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    Spark Unlimited's best game yet, still terrible. This is one of the most generic formulaic games boring games I've ever played. It feelsSpark Unlimited's best game yet, still terrible. This is one of the most generic formulaic games boring games I've ever played. It feels like work. There are already so many similar games out there, all of which will be at least some degree better than this. I see no reason to buy this. I will say some of the environments look really good but there is a lot of inconsistency, sometimes they look great sometimes not. I would strongly recommend against buying this game, even on sale. If you have to get it, the PC one looks better and doesn't lag as much. Full Review »