Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Powered by the all-new Infinity Engine, true player impact and authentic momentum transfer ensure that no two plays ever look or feel the same. Connected Careers is a new and fully connected universe defined by deep gameplay, unique storylines and social integration.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    100
    If one thing can be said about what EA has accomplished this year it is that they have taken their efforts seriously and have delivered the most realistic playing version of the pigskin classic that gamers have ever witnessed.
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    Madden NFL 13 does something the Madden franchise hasn't done in years: it makes me want to keep playing.
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    90
    I'll go ahead and say it – this year's Madden is the best football game I've played in a very long time. Is the game perfect? No. But the changes to this year's edition are more than enough for me to recommend it for even the most casual fans of football. The changes aren't merely cosmetic, but intended to make this year's version more like the real game that so many of us love. And you know what? Madden's never been closer.
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    82
    Too much has been thrown in at once, and that grates on the overall enjoyment of the exceptional on-field action. [Dec 2012, p.104]
  5. The time you spend playing the game – when you're on the field – isn't as rewarding as all the stuff that goes on around it. Scouting is a dream, and the commentary on each player in this mode adds a sense of realism and character, backed by a stream of social media feeds. So, yeah, it's still good, but next year ought to be even better. [October 2012, p76]
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    The best Madden of this generation and the only one to have made genuine progress. Some new features still need work, but at least there finally are some new features.
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Almost alone on his playing field, Madden NFL 13 can take its time to make progress. Nevertheless, EA switched to the new Infinity Engine for the better, in terms of contacts, animations, and the like, even though visually, the game isn't looking any better than the previous one. The content is there, but there still is some bugs (sometimes funny ones), and it doesn't quite stand up to other sports simulations that may or may not have competition to overcome.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 51
  2. Negative: 20 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    I gave Madden a 10 because there are too many low scores cmon guys its all new and fun as hell I wasn't too pleased at first but learn to play it it doesn't suck just because you can't throw a slant every down with no way to defend or cheap screens. Learn or know football and this game rules!! You can put some good realistic drives together unlike any Madden on PS3. I put the Detroit Lions in some ass online with good 5 minute drives and am so addicted. Get at me online on PS3 my PSN name is the same as on here. See you online to put Megatron down your throats. Good day Sirs!! Collapse
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    In any case we must admit that the content deserves to be highlighted on this game, the system colisions is impressive, QB are both honor a success without hesitation. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    how do you get in shape when you are old and moving slowly ..you lose weight. a few less calories and you to will be moving like madden. i didn't follow madden to 12. loved drew brees a little to long. but madden 13 puts on a show. almost making playing defense fun. the graphics are nice rather faded. the physics engine gets things with a sliver of space. but definetely the speed in which the game flows. each madden adding another layer. this is HANDSDOWN the best football game i ever played. sorry 2k5 Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    6
    The game play and physics are quite good compared previous games.

    Graphics are a slight step up.

    Some odd choices were made with the
    gutting of the franchise mode and lack of fantasy draft. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    The new physics engine is laughably bad at times and it's the only new feature to this game, the rest is a fresh coat of paint or a reorganized menu system. I been buying madden religiously since 2003 and it's the first time I honestly feel ripped off. They took out franchise mode and fantasy draft and a lot more in favor of connected careers which is honestly my player mode with a coach/player option. In its current condition this game feels like a beta at best. Sorry EA worst madden I honestly ever played. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    EA gets a 0 for pulling the Fantasy Draft option and not telling consumers in advance. Totally unacceptable for a company to pull a long-time feature with no warning. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    The graphics are great! The rest of the game not so much. When you take away things that are not broken and replace them with things that no one wants, then you have a failed attempt at re-writing a prominent franchise. There are so many things wrong with the game that I will just create a list:

    1. No True Franchise Mode
    2. No Importing Rosters from NCAA Football
    3. Incorrect uniforms
    4. Players flopping on the field after a tackle has been made. 5. Inability to change the opposing teams uniforms in offline career mode. 6. When you go to My Madden and change the settings, they should transfer to your career automatically. For instance, in career mode there is no way to change the play calling out of game to Conventional because it is defaulted to Game Flow. 7. Did I mention uniforms? The Chicago Bears have never had orange pants! 8. The logos only show up half the time on the uniforms during a game. 9. The interface is not user friendly
    10. The most important detail: Don't change something that was not broken!
    Expand

See all 51 User Reviews