MAG PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 26, 2010
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 553 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 553

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickC.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This is really incomparable to games like MW2. If you play call of duty style you will hate this game die a lot. If you at least attempt to work along with your teammates and form strategies it becomes one of the best experiences you can get from a FPS. Even if your not the best FPS player, you can still do decent and have fun in this game.
  2. BenM.
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    MAG is not MW2. Let me repeat this again. MAG is NOT MW2! The comparisons need to stop, as the two games have different goals and styles, and only share guns and xp as common ground. I've run into more than enough people in-game complaining that MW2 did this or that better. One fellow was swearing and screaming because he couldn't climb up rocks, which apparently MW2 allowed. MAG is not MW2. Let me repeat this again. MAG is NOT MW2! The comparisons need to stop, as the two games have different goals and styles, and only share guns and xp as common ground. I've run into more than enough people in-game complaining that MW2 did this or that better. One fellow was swearing and screaming because he couldn't climb up rocks, which apparently MW2 allowed. But this isn't Modern Warfare 2. This is MAG. MAG is a team-based tactical online FPS. Emphasis on the team. You can choose to go solo, but you risk being the link that breaks the chain of command and sends your team to death at the hands of the opposing faction. Or not. It's entirely dependent on how skilled and connected your other teammates are. With a poor squad, you can leave open defenses long enough for the attackers to gain the footing they need for a push, jeopardizing your victory. But with a well-informed and cooperative team, you become part of the Shadow War, playing your part to bring victory to your faction. Everything comes together once you join a clan. It can be you and a few of your friends, or a larger community based on certain characteristics. But clans bring a cohesive, steady unit to the game, with the familiarity of the same squadmates. Learn how to play with your friends, and you can become an unstoppable fighting force, able to defend any objective and capture any control point. Being in a clan is not required, but the differences can make or break your impressions of the game. And teamwork is valuable, to both yourself and your squad. You're rewarded more xp for healing and reviving squad members (10 XP per revive), and completing FRAGO objectives that your Squad Leader set (double XP) than outright killing. Unlike any other online FPS out there, I almost never heard people ripping on one another based on (lack of) skill. Instead, I heard players calling out for medics, giving their location, and thanking the medics once they were revived! This is new, untread ground. And amazing too, considering the abrasive nature of online gaming. As much as I'd like to recommend MAG to any FPS fan, I can't tell you to get it if you want a game like Modern Warfare 2. I can suggest that you rent it, and hope that you'll approach it with a fresh set of eyes, not tainted by what MW2 is. But that is entirely up to you. And I hope you do give it a chance, since we need more fighters in the Shadow War. Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Purely amazing & currently the best fps in the market.

    MAG is an amazing unique fps, the 'domination' game mode is my personal favourite. This is the game mode with 256 players .However you do not feel lost. You know what your target is. Everything flows perfectly in this game. As with all the game modes. I highly recommend to anyone.
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    MAG is a great game with a very steep learning curve. Most will give up because they find it too difficult at a low level and will go back to cod. Those that stay and learn the game will find out how amazing MAG really is. Clans are a really good way to learn the game and level up quickly. Don't play this game solo!

    Valor Coalition
  5. SamL
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    This game rocks. No, it's not a normal FPS. So don't expect Call of Duty. Some people have said this game lacks variety. It's a war game. Does real war have capture the flag? No. If you want to play a game, play Call of Duty. If you want to experience a war game, play MAG.
  6. J.Frosty
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Very good FPS for people looking for a more team based shooter on a massive battle scale. If you like to run and gun then this game is not for you(EX. Halo,COD:MW1-2) I recommend this only for mature parties who are not afraid of teamwork,cooperation, and strategy. The graphics are fine, I have a 50" LED TV. The learning curve is steep, but once you get the hang of things you will find it Very good FPS for people looking for a more team based shooter on a massive battle scale. If you like to run and gun then this game is not for you(EX. Halo,COD:MW1-2) I recommend this only for mature parties who are not afraid of teamwork,cooperation, and strategy. The graphics are fine, I have a 50" LED TV. The learning curve is steep, but once you get the hang of things you will find it very hard to go back to run-n-gun fps titles Expand
  7. WillG
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    A truly brilliant online game. 128 v 128 is incredible. This game is nothing like MW2, it is a tactical shooter. It has a score of 78 on here, but that is ridiculous considering there were reviews released on the first day, before people had even reached the level required to play in a 128 v 128 match.
  8. TheoP
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    This game has depth, and involves skill. If you enjoy Call of Duty, because of the reaction shooter gameplay, and the fact that you can be decent at it in 10 minutes, you will hate this. You have to put some serious hours into this game to get the most out of it. Once you understand the mechanics of the game, and play with friends in a coordinated way, you will start to enjoy this game This game has depth, and involves skill. If you enjoy Call of Duty, because of the reaction shooter gameplay, and the fact that you can be decent at it in 10 minutes, you will hate this. You have to put some serious hours into this game to get the most out of it. Once you understand the mechanics of the game, and play with friends in a coordinated way, you will start to enjoy this game greatly. A headset is nearly essential to get the most out of this game. The controls take a bit to get used to, but are more effective and can be more fun than other control schemes used by other shooters. This game is a love it/hate it game, and not everyone will like it. Unless you prefer going Rambo style, this game is brilliant, if you are willing to play the game properly. It has a few faults, but none of them really ruin the gameplay, which is better than any FPS I have ever played. Expand
  9. JohnM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    I have to say that this game is intense. It caters to the hardcore and the strategic mind. Play together or fail together is the only option. At the end of the day, the game has some flaws. However, with how many people are packed into the game it's hard not to begrudge them a little leeway. I refuse to judge this game on what some matches will be like but rather on the ones that the I have to say that this game is intense. It caters to the hardcore and the strategic mind. Play together or fail together is the only option. At the end of the day, the game has some flaws. However, with how many people are packed into the game it's hard not to begrudge them a little leeway. I refuse to judge this game on what some matches will be like but rather on the ones that the game is supposed to be like. And in that the game is amazing. This is not a twitch shooter, patience is required. You can not run in and kill everything and the amount of people in the game at one time makes for some hectic fighting sequences. This game is not for everyone...People who mostly play MW2 and KZ2, Halo and Gears, will have a bit of a learners curve. Some will get it right away, others will have to grow into it. This is an amazing game and as long as people learn how to play it...it should lead to some interesting moments. Expand
  10. ClintonH.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Great game. Not without some issues such as long spawn times, and some balancing issues with the weapons, but very fun.
  11. MysticStrummer
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Gotta love people who say it's tough to understand what to do in MAG. The game only puts the objective on your screen as a flashing icon at all times AND uses an AI voice to annouce what your objective is AND has mics implemented so you can ask one of your squad mates if you still can't figure it out. MAG is awesome. It doesn't reinvent the genre and it's not perfect, Gotta love people who say it's tough to understand what to do in MAG. The game only puts the objective on your screen as a flashing icon at all times AND uses an AI voice to annouce what your objective is AND has mics implemented so you can ask one of your squad mates if you still can't figure it out. MAG is awesome. It doesn't reinvent the genre and it's not perfect, but it puts you into a huge battle instead of a minor skirmish... without lag or framerate issues I might add. Any review less than an 8 is suspect in my opinion, and somewhere in the 8.5 to 9 range is where I would put it. Great fun. Expand
  12. TonyP
    Jan 27, 2010
    2
    A prime example of Sony over-hyping your typical very below average shooter. Laggy controls on top of lackluster game types makes this game fail short of almost any shooter I have ever played. If you want large battles with actual teamwork, go play Battlefield 2. Also no one talks on this game. Mostly the PS3s fault but also the demographic of this game appeals to the people who lack the A prime example of Sony over-hyping your typical very below average shooter. Laggy controls on top of lackluster game types makes this game fail short of almost any shooter I have ever played. If you want large battles with actual teamwork, go play Battlefield 2. Also no one talks on this game. Mostly the PS3s fault but also the demographic of this game appeals to the people who lack the knowledge to hook up a blue-tooth device. Expand
  13. IanV.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    I find this game incredibly engrossing and flat-out fun. The gameplay is strategic and deep. The graphics are amazing when considering all that's going on. Also, surprisingly, the communication among squadmates is pretty much unrivaled on the PS3. If you have this game, please get a microphone. While I'm Raven, I find it incredibly awesome that Perttu and Mikko of Apocalyptica I find this game incredibly engrossing and flat-out fun. The gameplay is strategic and deep. The graphics are amazing when considering all that's going on. Also, surprisingly, the communication among squadmates is pretty much unrivaled on the PS3. If you have this game, please get a microphone. While I'm Raven, I find it incredibly awesome that Perttu and Mikko of Apocalyptica wrote the score for the opening cinematic and soundtrack for S.V.E.R. I recommend this to everyone who is tired of the arcade trend set very well by Counter Strike and Call of Duty in favor of a squad-based, strategy shooter. It's great. :) Expand
  14. JustinC.
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    256 players is the draw, to bad they didn't supply a good shooter to back up the large numbers that can play this... got me a trade in I guess. Should have came to Metacritic earlier before buying to learn up on it :(
  15. MattM.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game is amazing. If you're a COD fanboy, who likes to run and gun and be a one man team, please DO NOT buy MAG. MAG relies on each player knowing what their job is, and having the ability to get it done. Teamwork is key. To everyone complaining about long spawn times... God forbid you get punished for dying! Soldiers spawn in waves, so you could wait up to 20 seconds to respawn, This game is amazing. If you're a COD fanboy, who likes to run and gun and be a one man team, please DO NOT buy MAG. MAG relies on each player knowing what their job is, and having the ability to get it done. Teamwork is key. To everyone complaining about long spawn times... God forbid you get punished for dying! Soldiers spawn in waves, so you could wait up to 20 seconds to respawn, but you may end up re-spawning instantly. As for the graphics, of course they're not as good as a game like MW2, but MW2 doesn't have 256 players running around on the map. All in all, I highly recommend this game, and wish people would stop trashing it based on ridiculous expectations and things that are beyond the developers' control (such as players not working as a team) Expand
  16. SethB.
    Jan 29, 2010
    2
    Zipper Interactive shows their true colors with this garbage. I have not seen such a bug infested game since Quake 2 was released and the multi-player didn
  17. WhiteTiger
    Feb 1, 2010
    1
    HAZE 2!!! Its a freak game, poor graphics and the sound is terrible... 256 players this is not the way of good game!!
  18. MattN.
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    This is my favorite shooter since battlefield 1943. Finally a game the requires be to work together for the benefit of all instead of lone wolfing it like most games. The gameplay isn't that complicated just think cod with no lag and a hit detection system that actually works. The game has only been out for a little less than a week and i have easily poured over 20 hours into this This is my favorite shooter since battlefield 1943. Finally a game the requires be to work together for the benefit of all instead of lone wolfing it like most games. The gameplay isn't that complicated just think cod with no lag and a hit detection system that actually works. The game has only been out for a little less than a week and i have easily poured over 20 hours into this game. My only complaint over this game is the fact that their are some respawn issues, but I hear that if you play with the internet plugged directly into the PS3. Heres hoping they get the few glitches in the game fixed. Expand
  19. GregL
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    This game is way better than the ratings it has received. I have been around awhile, all COD's, socoms, battlefields...yada, yada. This game actually pulled me away form CODMW2 and I thought that this would never happen. Yes It does take some getting used to but the whole teamwork concept was what I was after. Most people do work together, the weapons are cool, aim is true. I believe This game is way better than the ratings it has received. I have been around awhile, all COD's, socoms, battlefields...yada, yada. This game actually pulled me away form CODMW2 and I thought that this would never happen. Yes It does take some getting used to but the whole teamwork concept was what I was after. Most people do work together, the weapons are cool, aim is true. I believe all these ratings are skewed because they were not basing this on the game on hand but the beta. I an surely attest that this game deserves at least a 9, is fun to play and you won't put it down for a long time. Expand
  20. DanielT.
    Jan 27, 2010
    2
    Kinda disappointing. sure it has the capability for lots of players playing at once, but its no executed correctly. kinda frantic, kinda confusing, but not a whole lot of fun. rent first before even considering buying.
  21. MikeS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    MAG is the future of online FPSs... and it's available now! Honestly, this is a great game... plain and simple. Some will complain, "It's not like MW2," and "this isn't like any online shooter I've played before!" EXACTLY! This is MAG, it's own beast and the benchmark for online games to come period. It works as promised. It's beautiful to behold. Check this MAG is the future of online FPSs... and it's available now! Honestly, this is a great game... plain and simple. Some will complain, "It's not like MW2," and "this isn't like any online shooter I've played before!" EXACTLY! This is MAG, it's own beast and the benchmark for online games to come period. It works as promised. It's beautiful to behold. Check this game out if the idea of the FPS genre being sent back to the drawing board excites you! Be prepared for a ton of imitators. Expand
  22. AlexS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    I think most game journalists missed something when they essentially dismissed MAG. It's exactly what I've been looking for. MW2 is too fast and twitch based. Op Flash is just broken. MAG is the perfect combo, it supports any play style and encourages tactics. And looks great, runs at a solid framerate and sounds great. Other than a few distance drawing issues with graphics, I think most game journalists missed something when they essentially dismissed MAG. It's exactly what I've been looking for. MW2 is too fast and twitch based. Op Flash is just broken. MAG is the perfect combo, it supports any play style and encourages tactics. And looks great, runs at a solid framerate and sounds great. Other than a few distance drawing issues with graphics, it's as solid as it needs to be. Most underrated game of 2010, calling it now. Expand
  23. TimS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    Love it or hate it I love it. Cant wait for DLC or whatever else Zipper has in store. Been playing since beta, and even though not much has changed beyond that I would gladly buy it again. I think it is one of the best games I own. Lot of 360 fans automatically hate it because it is not COD and it is not on their system. I will get more hours out of this than anything else on my system.
  24. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    MAG is a great game that has really got better over the years. Its a shame Day 1 reviews seal the fate of a game as reviews would have been better. Mag is a great team based game where you can play in games with up to 255 other people. Once you have given it some time you can lead, talk to, and do game changing things as the person in charge of the 127 others on your team. The peopleMAG is a great game that has really got better over the years. Its a shame Day 1 reviews seal the fate of a game as reviews would have been better. Mag is a great team based game where you can play in games with up to 255 other people. Once you have given it some time you can lead, talk to, and do game changing things as the person in charge of the 127 others on your team. The people saying it is confusing have got it all wrong! I advice watching a youtube video explaining each game mode, especially if you want to be a squad leader for the first time. With double XP for 1 hour of play each day, and bonus XP for going in via a scrtain playlist leveling up does not take half as long as some of the reviews state. The game is well worth a buy and I would say a Must if you own a PS3. It is soon to get a massive update making things a bit better. There are still some bugs, this one here ''but the game forgets to re-spawn you. So, for the remainder of this 20 min round you walk around unable to respawn'' Is easy to get around, just press start then R3 to ''kill yourself'' and then you respawn. No big deal it does not happen often. The best thing about MAG is the scale. The domination game mode in which 128 players must either attack of defend a Fuel depo is the best, The game lasts a full 30 mins and is very fun. Balance was an issue at launch, but with updates this has been changed. If you are looking for a FPS, with scale, and not just ''kill people to win'' this is the one for you (tho there is a game mode 32 players VS 32 players) Expand
  25. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    This game is probably one of the greatest FPS games out there. It is very different in strategy than CoD. Success relies on how effective you work together, and that is one of the greatest things that you can get in a FPS game. The one issue I have about the game is... it has the stupidest and most retarded music I have EVER heard in a war game.
  26. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Excellent Game.

    If you are the type of gamer that is easily bored by the small nature and lack of tactics in many of today's online shooters than this game is for you. You have medics, objectives, large battles with 128 players PER TEAM, and the maps make it so you ahve to use tactics. It also takes a while to level all the way up and earn credits to buy all the guns and gear.
    Excellent Game.

    If you are the type of gamer that is easily bored by the small nature and lack of tactics in many of today's online shooters than this game is for you.

    You have medics, objectives, large battles with 128 players PER TEAM, and the maps make it so you ahve to use tactics.

    It also takes a while to level all the way up and earn credits to buy all the guns and gear. I personally loved warhawk due to the length of time it took to be a general...now mag doesn't take nearly that long but its longer than your average shooter.

    I would suggest this to any gamer who is looking for a unique and addictive online experience out of a shooter.
    Expand
  27. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    Even after a year MAG still remains my favorite shooter on console, I love the focus on squad based infantry combat. With a minimum of 64 players each match (before ragequits) each round in MAG feels more like a full scale assault instead of a 8v8 airsoft arena.
  28. Feb 3, 2011
    9
    Frankly, MAG is an FPS game unlike many others in the world today. What takes me by surprise is the reality of the battles and the intuitive style of gameplay. The main aspect of the MAG is its emphasis on the team rather than the individual, and I say this truly adds to the gameâ
  29. May 20, 2011
    10
    after the psn outage i came back to this masterpiece and was moved to write a review on metacritic. other online fps are momentarily cool and exciting but MAG will always be the best. the depth of customization is staggering, and it's awe-inspiring to start off a domination match and see all your teammates piling out onto the battlefield. just so cool. the whole thing is cool- an ongoingafter the psn outage i came back to this masterpiece and was moved to write a review on metacritic. other online fps are momentarily cool and exciting but MAG will always be the best. the depth of customization is staggering, and it's awe-inspiring to start off a domination match and see all your teammates piling out onto the battlefield. just so cool. the whole thing is cool- an ongoing war for contracts between factions that stay with you so you really want your team to win. it's amazing to me that this game never took off as it's the most fun you can have with a military shooter. i could go on and on but you can read many of the other reviews here to see all the ways that MAG is the best. Expand
  30. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    I really wanted to love MAG. As in, by now I've devoted a great deal of time to progression and unlocking, just to get a real insight into all three factions. the good news is, its a deep game, progression of sorts is never ending, with a (potentially) constantly evolving conflict. the key word there is potential, and that's where the cracks start to show. MAG felt more like a proof ofI really wanted to love MAG. As in, by now I've devoted a great deal of time to progression and unlocking, just to get a real insight into all three factions. the good news is, its a deep game, progression of sorts is never ending, with a (potentially) constantly evolving conflict. the key word there is potential, and that's where the cracks start to show. MAG felt more like a proof of concept, a taste of something grander in a stale genre. I just hope lessons are learned for the next installment as the combination of 50%+ sniper teams, exploitable spawn points and dart control system make this a hard game to truly enjoy... Expand
  31. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    I'm giving this game a 10 because it is unlike ANY other game out there and in a good way. It may take some getting use to but what game doesn't if your not use to it and finally someone who realizes they can sacrific some grafics for better game play. This game is AWESOME and requires teamwork and really takes things to a whole other level!
  32. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    I play almost everyday, two years now. Whem you start the game you will be killed a lot. But give it a time and pratice. Humans are not stupid as bots.
  33. May 8, 2014
    9
    So, yeah, MAG is dead. Its servers have been down for a lil' while already so why am I wasting my time typing a review for a game nobody will be able to play? Because MAG was a pioneering, underestimated FPS and it deserves at least a few minutes of my time, for posterity.

    Since this game is now dead, I'll write a review but I'll also add my little story concerning the game and why it
    So, yeah, MAG is dead. Its servers have been down for a lil' while already so why am I wasting my time typing a review for a game nobody will be able to play? Because MAG was a pioneering, underestimated FPS and it deserves at least a few minutes of my time, for posterity.

    Since this game is now dead, I'll write a review but I'll also add my little story concerning the game and why it ultimately failed to find its way in the very tight and ruthless FPS market which is almost under the complete grasp of two gigantic franchises, Battlefield and Call of Duty.

    I got the beta of MAG before its release. I immediately fell in love with a few aspects of the game. The first one was the whole teamwork concept. We're still in the prehistoric age of online gaming. Most players who play shooter games will toss aside the whole teamwork aspect, going in like Rambo. Well, MAG forced you to work with other players in order to achieve victory. That wasn't new for the genre, but the fact that you had squads and platoons, the vast use of headsets and the respawn which had a countdown so that you could reappear with your squadmates all encouraged and enforced teamwork.

    The second thing that really got me interested was the overall difficulty of the game which was due to its realism. Once again, teamwork was essential here if you wanted to survive. Also, you had to aim at the right body area to kill someone effectively. Most shooter games sure will make you deal more damage with head shots, but many will allow you to kill someone with a single sniper bullet in the foot and that's something I always hated - it removed the realism I was looking for.

    MAG was not an ordinary shooter. Heck, I'm not even sure you could see it as a FPS because it was so different from the other FPS at the time. The main reason for this was the vast amount of players who would kill each other in each and every game. With over 200 players simutaneously, this game was more of a war simulation than a video game to me.

    Another thing I loved was the fact that the game didn't really reward you for killing people. Sure, you'd get experience for kills, but in order to win, you had to destroy or conquer objectives which forced you to come up with strategies. You couldn't camp in this game and be part of the victory effort at the same time.

    When the game was released, it faced some harsh criticism. The thing is, many so-called pro reviewers played the beta and hypocritically wrote their review on the real game that they barely played. I've noticed a trend in pro video game reviews ( especially with IGN ) where they want to release their review ASAP ( to get the upper hand against other video game websites ) and they will often base themselves on betas... So yeah that's my opinion for the early and bad reviews of MAG.

    The critics of this game hurt its sells for sure but MAG wasn't perfect either. There were 3 factions in this game and one called SVER was overpowered for a very, very long time. Not only were the weapons better but the maps were strategically easier to defend as a SVER whilst the RAVEN faction was the complete opposite.

    The whole idea of factions was terrible. It split players in 3. If a friend chose to join VALOR and you were in SVER, you couldn't play with him, you were forced to play against him. They should've given up on factions and focused on clans instead.

    Zipper put a lot of effort into improving their game based on the gaming community. I have to give credit to them, because I think they spent a lot of time ( and money ) on patching it up. In the end, they kinda got rid of part of the faction problem by allowing, example, RAVEN players to defend maps of SVER. They did their best to recalibrate overpowered guns - unfortunately, to the point of nerfing some of them.

    The main flaw with this game was not the number of players ( I've rarely seen a laggy game despite playing with people from Japan, Australia, France, Brazil, etc. etc. ), but the size of the maps. They made the maps so huge that even if there were tens and tens of players, you would sometime have to run for an extended period of time before you actually encountered an enemy. All they had to do was to keep the same number of players but reduce the maps. This would've led to more action and less dull moments, especially after you respawned.

    This game was not only a pioneer in the number of players ( I'm sure this will be a norm in the upcoming years ), but also in the whole military hierarchy department. Squad leaders, platoon leaders and officers in command were ordinary players like you and me who had more experience than others and were given some extra power to influence the course of the battle. Once you were one of those, you could really tell that a good leader in this game was often the reason for a victory or a defeat. Battfield 4 recently implemented a similar concept in their game so I think people have noticed the potential of leaders in FPS games.
    Expand
  34. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    Some people say MAG stands for Massive Action Game. They are absolutely right! This game is massive. In some modes, there can be as many as 256 players playing together. The action part is spot on too. Many times I found myself in the middle of a huge battle and couldn't decide where to go, because every direction looked dangerous. There are some things it could work on though. One thingSome people say MAG stands for Massive Action Game. They are absolutely right! This game is massive. In some modes, there can be as many as 256 players playing together. The action part is spot on too. Many times I found myself in the middle of a huge battle and couldn't decide where to go, because every direction looked dangerous. There are some things it could work on though. One thing is it can take as many as 20 minutes to join a game. The only other thing I can complain about is you can't choose which map to play at. The network chooses for you, which can be really annoying because I once played on the same map 8 times in a row! While it's no where near a perfect game, MAG is an excellent substitute to CoD and Battlefield. Expand
  35. May 12, 2011
    10
    1000 hours. enough said...
  36. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    This was a fantastic experiment in large-scale FPS action. It shines in rewarding team coordination, and in capturing the scale of its largest battles. A fundamental flaw that was never addressed was that MAG locked a player into a faction (one of three), and gave every incentive for the most competitive to gather together in one of them. There was no balancing mechanism, and so SVERThis was a fantastic experiment in large-scale FPS action. It shines in rewarding team coordination, and in capturing the scale of its largest battles. A fundamental flaw that was never addressed was that MAG locked a player into a faction (one of three), and gave every incentive for the most competitive to gather together in one of them. There was no balancing mechanism, and so SVER became, and remained, the "easy mode" for MAG. The oft cited map and weapon inequity issues are minimal or nonexistent; the fundamentals of this game are excellent, and if they'd added a real incentive to balance factions I would still be playing it. Expand
  37. DartmouthR.
    Jan 26, 2010
    3
    The graphics sucks the controls are slugish and first game was laggy returned the game and got my money back.
  38. FredH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    3
    Mostly lame. 256 is way too many people walking around without headsets. The maps get too huge, and you end up walking around without seeing anyone for most of the match. The other alternative is walking two steps and getting shot. Neither is very exciting. Perhaps the game will pick up as more people buy it. Oh wait...
  39. FPSgamerGamerq
    Feb 1, 2010
    2
    This game leave much to be desired as a shooter...it's bland and repetitive.
  40. WillC
    Feb 1, 2010
    3
    Not worth full retail price. The game lacks variety which I feel will be added later on via paid dlc. Wait to buy this till it's in a bargain somewhere and even then just give a quick google to see if the online community is still around.
  41. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    This is hands down the best online shooter available on the market but be warned this is a hardcore game so don't expect to casually walk in and be a superstar. Where MAG excels is in the subtleness of the gameplay which forces you to always be aware of basically everything around you at the same time. This is what separates it from all other shooters. You are actually immersed in a realThis is hands down the best online shooter available on the market but be warned this is a hardcore game so don't expect to casually walk in and be a superstar. Where MAG excels is in the subtleness of the gameplay which forces you to always be aware of basically everything around you at the same time. This is what separates it from all other shooters. You are actually immersed in a real war with a ton of other players and have to earn your own personal greatness slowly. Even once you acheive good loadout equipment there is tons of strategy and teamwork necessary to beat the other team at whatever mode you choose to play. I can't say enough good things ahout this game it is nealy a perfect shooter in my opinion. The only reason I'm taking a point off a perfect 10 is because too many times online you get booted off in the middle of a game and this is inexcusable. Two other complaints that are common is that the game looks washed out and your teammates don't communicate. I find the washed out looks actually adds to the feel of combat and the latter is really a player problem, not a direct problem of the game. It's not hard to form a squad and avoid that problem either. In sum the scale of this game is the next level of gaming for those of us who find Modern Warfare lame and childish. Apart from disconnects the game is fps heaven. It's easy to drop in and play with great controls but also allows you to go all in and be as much of a war trooper as you choose to be. You can play casually or take the role of squad or platoon leader and set the entire strategy and communication of what is going on throughout the game. In turn this is not only a fps game is is also at the same time a real time strategy/tactical game. The brilliance is that you get to decide what you want the game to mean to you each time you play it. It is a shame people are rating the game on their own personal skill. It is hands down one of the best games out there if you take the effort to learn all its subtle aspects. It is not strictly fps, it is more than that and a lot of the negative reviews by people are basically because they couldn't get past the basics and so blame the game for this. Expand
  42. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Mag is a great multiplayer shooter. definitely one of my favorites.
    256 players? or my God. above no lag, dedicated servers (not as in other more important, they have lousy servers, ahem ahem cod ...)
    the graphics, though people criticize them, are not so bad, when you get used to and you can play is a pass play. you can shoot hours and hours playing and not be tired. is perfect for
    Mag is a great multiplayer shooter. definitely one of my favorites.
    256 players? or my God. above no lag, dedicated servers (not as in other more important, they have lousy servers, ahem ahem cod ...)
    the graphics, though people criticize them, are not so bad, when you get used to and you can play is a pass play.
    you can shoot hours and hours playing and not be tired.
    is perfect for playing with friends or clans. no doubt a bomb.
    shame that as I always say ... these games that innovate, go unnoticed, because of other games that are more successful, though more bad ...
    People who innovate, to me the best game developers.
    Expand
  43. Vonschna
    Jan 27, 2010
    2
    This game is imbalanced, some factions have very strong base maps while others have very weak maps. So it makes for a very imbalanced game straight up. It's like one team in a strategy game getting a hut while the other gets a fortress. The lvl system is flawed, when you get lvl 60 you can buy almost everything and have 1-2 main weps fully upgraded. The xp system is flawed, go medic This game is imbalanced, some factions have very strong base maps while others have very weak maps. So it makes for a very imbalanced game straight up. It's like one team in a strategy game getting a hut while the other gets a fortress. The lvl system is flawed, when you get lvl 60 you can buy almost everything and have 1-2 main weps fully upgraded. The xp system is flawed, go medic and get lvl 60 in 2 days or go another route and spend 150+ hours getting to lvl 60. Sometimes it's nice to have 5 medics fighting to revive but when they are running into the open to res 1 guy who will get shot down as soon as he's revived you know it's flawed. The graphics are sub par and it wouldn't matter too much, but the game has no colorblind option or team colors the whole game looks brown and every team looks brown. Expand
  44. Dec 30, 2010
    2
    Horrible, the game does not have enough content period. There are barley any guns at all and the guns are even very different from each other. Its like they made the the game half way then sold it. Plus if your on SVER it takes 20 min. to get into a match. If you buy this game be ready to get killed by the people who sit around all day and play it. You never get that sense of scale thisHorrible, the game does not have enough content period. There are barley any guns at all and the guns are even very different from each other. Its like they made the the game half way then sold it. Plus if your on SVER it takes 20 min. to get into a match. If you buy this game be ready to get killed by the people who sit around all day and play it. You never get that sense of scale this game just fails everything. DONT BUY Expand
  45. Aug 10, 2011
    1
    Zipper and Sony Sell this game on PSN in Europe, Australia and Asia. Shame they closed ALL Servers OUT SIDE OF THE USA. Until around June last year I might have given MAG an 8/10, Shame Sony and Zipper Doesn't care to provide the same equal service to those which bought the game in their own countries OUTSIDE of USA to find themselves forced to play on U.S servers with an Average ofZipper and Sony Sell this game on PSN in Europe, Australia and Asia. Shame they closed ALL Servers OUT SIDE OF THE USA. Until around June last year I might have given MAG an 8/10, Shame Sony and Zipper Doesn't care to provide the same equal service to those which bought the game in their own countries OUTSIDE of USA to find themselves forced to play on U.S servers with an Average of 200>300+ ms PING! Futhermore Zipper NEVER Commented on this fact on their Official Forums, likewise about the Euro Servers for Socom 4, These DEVS should understand how important it is to have a Dedicated server on a Regional/Local level especially due to the fact that this game is an ONLINE ONLY FPS. Therefore to provide European Players without the same service as US players is ridiculously. FPS games and high pings just don't mix. It's bad enough with P2P games but this game without Dedicated servers in Europe and Australia just takes the piss. Expand
  46. VmanB
    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    Well where do you start with this load of crap. I would love to defend any ps3 only game but this is possibly the worst fps game of all time. Even worse than COD MW2 and thats saying something. I don't know where all these great user scores are coming from but they must be playing a different game to me. Terrible graphics, sub par sound, very dodgy controls and no fun or excitment at Well where do you start with this load of crap. I would love to defend any ps3 only game but this is possibly the worst fps game of all time. Even worse than COD MW2 and thats saying something. I don't know where all these great user scores are coming from but they must be playing a different game to me. Terrible graphics, sub par sound, very dodgy controls and no fun or excitment at all. If your idea of enjoyment out of a decent multiplayer game is being killed by snipers all the time or frag grenades ever two seconds then this might be the game for you. All that happens is you spawn at base then make your way to the objective(If a sniper doesn't kill you first) then usually get killed straight away on arrival. Then you do the same thing over and over again for about 20mins each game. There plenty of bugs that probably will get sorted out with a patch or two but there's no fun to be had here anyway. Bought my game on friday and i'm just on my way back to trade in 5 days later A.S.A.P. I think i'll stick with Killzone 2 for now because this is a joke to any PS3 FPS fan. DO NOT BUY. Wait for Bad company 2 is my advise. You have been warned. Expand
  47. Mar 19, 2011
    5
    Terrible maps. 256 players is too many, especially since they all have mics. No single player. You're paying full retail price for half a game, if that. The graphics are good but players don't stand out the way they should. You'd think enemies are chameleons. I couldn't find a way to shoot with my trigger. Seriously? We have to shoot with the bumper? That alone can ruin it. The controlsTerrible maps. 256 players is too many, especially since they all have mics. No single player. You're paying full retail price for half a game, if that. The graphics are good but players don't stand out the way they should. You'd think enemies are chameleons. I couldn't find a way to shoot with my trigger. Seriously? We have to shoot with the bumper? That alone can ruin it. The controls just don't feel crisp and tight. This game provides a lot of "line drawn in the sand" battles. It lead to camping, big time. There's only one swan area on each side and it leads to spawn killing. Horrible game. I still own it, just because I don't get rid of games. Expand
  48. SeungchulL.
    Jan 28, 2010
    4
    Far less than stellar, what a letdown. lots of ambition, but executed poorly. controls are loose and sloppy, gameplay is confusing at best, guns sound like toys while explosions sound like firecrackers, too steep a learning curve (and this coming from a fps vet), a poorly constructed level up system, server problems, not to mention the visuals seem to suffer considering everything elseFar less than stellar, what a letdown. lots of ambition, but executed poorly. controls are loose and sloppy, gameplay is confusing at best, guns sound like toys while explosions sound like firecrackers, too steep a learning curve (and this coming from a fps vet), a poorly constructed level up system, server problems, not to mention the visuals seem to suffer considering everything else they were trying to do. granted, the game isn't without its merits considering the sheer size... liked the concept, bummed by the product. Expand
  49. FrankieT
    Feb 3, 2010
    5
    MAG's biggest feature is 256 players. Significant cutbacks in areas like graphics, framerate were required in order to accomodate 256 players. Zipper was successful in getting 256 players online at once, so what's the problem? 256 players is the problem, because it simply doesn't make MAG better and more players definately doesn't make it more fun. Simply put, MAG is a MAG's biggest feature is 256 players. Significant cutbacks in areas like graphics, framerate were required in order to accomodate 256 players. Zipper was successful in getting 256 players online at once, so what's the problem? 256 players is the problem, because it simply doesn't make MAG better and more players definately doesn't make it more fun. Simply put, MAG is a gigantic turd that flatout sucks. Take a mediocre game like this and throw it in a community that struggles to support even the stellar online mp games and you are left with stinky FAIL. Expand
  50. AbdelK.
    Jan 28, 2010
    5
    256 players do not make a game good. Gameplay machanics do. It lacks fun gameplay. MAG doesn't have anything special gameplaywise.
  51. TheMaster
    Jan 29, 2010
    6
    An honest review, this game isn't anything special and little has been done since beta to make it playable/enjoyable. It is a sub-par FPS and a sub-par MMO, and worse it is tagged with a ludicrous price tag. I was excited for MAG, I was there in beta day one. And sadly the final copy is just bad. Still all of this said, it is better than anything on the xbox-three-shitty.
  52. JonH
    Mar 5, 2010
    8
    I loved this game, but the story mode can be boring sometimes. I'm glad I got it.
  53. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    This game is actually a team based game. MAG should have promoted this as a team based strategy game but it came across as a FPS that required you to be a straight killer. But you need to help your teammates and also capture objective. It is an objective based game that requires teamwork!

    K/D ratio is for newbs who want to run and gun, well good luck doing that in this game as you will
    This game is actually a team based game. MAG should have promoted this as a team based strategy game but it came across as a FPS that required you to be a straight killer. But you need to help your teammates and also capture objective. It is an objective based game that requires teamwork!

    K/D ratio is for newbs who want to run and gun, well good luck doing that in this game as you will get owned. Healing your teammates is much more important than killing someone.
    Expand
  54. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    The only good thing about this game is the amount of players you can have on a map in one session, other than that the game is slow, has awful graphics and is nothing like the standard the call of duty games have set for online first person shooters
  55. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    Having played the MAG beta to much I never purchased this game at launch. Well here I am now and well this game is really underrated still to this day. However the only good gamemode in this game is the 256 domination matches hence the reason you would want to buy this game to begin wtih for the large scale warfare. Im being serious tho, every other gamemode is complete crap.
  56. Aug 14, 2012
    4
    What disappoints me most about MAG is how the PS3 hardware is incapable of coping with the 256 player game modes MAG boasts. Game maps are larger than normal but not terribly so, but large enough to separate the players into different hotspots during the 256 player modes. Teams of 128 are split into different segments so initially the game feels like a 32 vs 32 game. As the game modeWhat disappoints me most about MAG is how the PS3 hardware is incapable of coping with the 256 player game modes MAG boasts. Game maps are larger than normal but not terribly so, but large enough to separate the players into different hotspots during the 256 player modes. Teams of 128 are split into different segments so initially the game feels like a 32 vs 32 game. As the game mode progresses, more players meet in flashpoints and the framerate tanks under the pressure. My PS3 locked up numerous times during the 256 player game modes, even after cleaning the dust out of it. Because the controls are so sloppy and wonky, people seem to mostly nade spam in the hopes of downing the newbs who blindly rush into the meat grinder. The weapon variety is stale and you'll find yourself grinding for in game currency to get better guns of which there are only a couple meager improvements. You'll also struggle to keep up as you grind for XP to invest in enough skills to increase your survivability and make the game playable. Coordination is essential in this game, and yet so few people have mics. The game had ambition, I'll give it that, but it utterly fails in execution. Expand
  57. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    Bought this game as a sub for Battlefield 3 as I don't own a PS3 copy of BF3.. Honestly? It would've been an awesome concept and execution.. If it were the year 2003. As it stands, you have archaic gameplay wrapped around a great concept. Graphics being dated? Don't mind. Gameplay being that dated? Game breaker. The game was released in 2010 with gameplay flaws not seen in theBought this game as a sub for Battlefield 3 as I don't own a PS3 copy of BF3.. Honestly? It would've been an awesome concept and execution.. If it were the year 2003. As it stands, you have archaic gameplay wrapped around a great concept. Graphics being dated? Don't mind. Gameplay being that dated? Game breaker. The game was released in 2010 with gameplay flaws not seen in the genre since half a decade before. ANY war shooter that allows players to run directly INTO gunfire and knife the attacker before the ASSAULT RIFLE rounds take them down is awfully dated at best, terribad at worst. If you're a sucker for big battles, RENT this game and try it out. Do NOT make the mistake of BUYING this game based on this or ANY review. Expand
  58. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    This game could have been great, but it relies too much on team-work. For example, many times you have to defend or secure an area. If your fellow squad members ignore you or don't have a mic, you can't win. You find out fast that trying to lock down an area by yourself when 12 people are attacking is impossible. This along with the fact that half of the people playing are around 12This game could have been great, but it relies too much on team-work. For example, many times you have to defend or secure an area. If your fellow squad members ignore you or don't have a mic, you can't win. You find out fast that trying to lock down an area by yourself when 12 people are attacking is impossible. This along with the fact that half of the people playing are around 12 years old and simply try to kill people, makes winning difficult. In order to enjoy playing this game, you need friends to play with you. Expand
  59. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Quite an adventure, one of the most addicting FPS games in my life. It all started 2 years ago when I saw the trial on the PS store, with the only limit not being able to go over level 10 yet able to play all the game modes and having access to gear to be useful to the team. But that didn't stop me and my brother from putting in over 400+ hours each. So many good and bad memories, fromQuite an adventure, one of the most addicting FPS games in my life. It all started 2 years ago when I saw the trial on the PS store, with the only limit not being able to go over level 10 yet able to play all the game modes and having access to gear to be useful to the team. But that didn't stop me and my brother from putting in over 400+ hours each. So many good and bad memories, from taking MVP awards as a Level 10 trial player, helping your team win, doing those massive killstreaks in tight spots, reviving your team, raging at teammates for not killing that guy or not reviving you, so many different scenarios. Sure, the game was flawed with one faction being better than the other, often hard to get into a certain game mode, but that wasn't such a big deal. Teamwork was crucial, if you're a high level player, don't come to the battlefield without that medical kit or we'll be pissed off at you, don't camp either. Making strategies was also necessary to gain the upper hand. Some of the most satisfying moments in the game were when you developed a strategy that worked wonders for your team (Interdiction :D), taking that 1st place MVP award despite having inferior weaponry thanks to skills and teamwork, knowing that staying out of the battle and repairing assets sometimes was more useful than shooting bullets at the enemy. In my eyes the best FPS ever. Sadly, Sony fired the developers and are shutting down servers in January. Although, on PS4 we will be getting Planetside 2, which might be the spiritual successor to MAG. Expand
  60. MatthewDawson
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Played this game found it to be awsome fun. So many different ways to attack. Never felt like a spawn fest and was never lagey or unbalanced. This game took me by suprise
  61. Chris
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    This game offers great multiplayer experience! Basically if you enjoy teamwork, then this game is waiting for you on the shelf at your local Gamestop. If you like being Rambo like in Modern Warfare 2, then don't bother getting this game.
  62. BuzBuff
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game is a blast. Been playing almost everyday for 3-5 hours. It is a great game, lots of shooting, lots of healing and lots of sweet weapons. CounterStrike + SOCOM + LOTS MORE PEOPLE = MAG. Even when you play with 256 players, you'd only see maybe 40 of them on screen. I wish there was more open space to see more people. But the best thing to do is go out guns blazing! This game is a blast. Been playing almost everyday for 3-5 hours. It is a great game, lots of shooting, lots of healing and lots of sweet weapons. CounterStrike + SOCOM + LOTS MORE PEOPLE = MAG. Even when you play with 256 players, you'd only see maybe 40 of them on screen. I wish there was more open space to see more people. But the best thing to do is go out guns blazing! Don't bother sniping, you'd get owned quick from behind, the side, the front or the sky! Snipers are rendered useless in some levels, and I'm a fan of that. One thing though, this game defiantly NEEDS some work. Just like LittleBigPlanet needed improvements, hopefully they will add on more extras FREE. I don't want to pay any more than my $60. These are necessary for me to give it a 10: 1. women characters 2. some way to find your people in your group easier. When there are 50 allies running around, it is so hard finding my best friend. 3. more variotions of costumes by each character. It's really hard to be unique. 4. being able to play music from your PS3 in the game. I would like to listen to my own music. 5. some sort of tournament mode where I can join a game with serious players. It is annoying getting a 10 year old screaming and spewing racist comments. I love trash talking, but serious intolerance is lame. (only met 1 so far ^_^) 6. more levels around the world! There are not enough levels in the Middle East or South America 7. 3 factions fighting at once. I want a game where SVER, Raven and Valor are all attacking for a certain base or vantage point. 8. faction block system, there are way too many people in SVER. I joined it first becuase I'd thought they would be the underdogs, but we dominate everything. 9. I want to fly a helicopter 10. I want more vechicles Expand
  63. MikeH.
    Jan 30, 2010
    8
    After a week of solid play, MAG is proving to be a lot of fun. Its squad-based approach to combat is way more engaging and rewarding than the host of other "Rambo-Style" run-and-gun shooters out there. When your teammates are communicating and working as a unit, the fights are AWESOME! Unfortunately, if you get stuck in a squad with a bunch of tools, the gameplay quickly becomes After a week of solid play, MAG is proving to be a lot of fun. Its squad-based approach to combat is way more engaging and rewarding than the host of other "Rambo-Style" run-and-gun shooters out there. When your teammates are communicating and working as a unit, the fights are AWESOME! Unfortunately, if you get stuck in a squad with a bunch of tools, the gameplay quickly becomes frustrating, because opting to go solo will just end up getting you killed. This isn't MAG's fault though... It's the reality of the online fps genre. While I don't miss having a standard -or garbage- single-player campaign/story/filler mode (I'm looking at you MW2), I do think that MAG's training mode could have been better. Very few of the strategies and game mechanics are fully explained before entering battle. Even fps vets will probably feel a little lost the first few times they do sabotage, acquisition, and domination matches, and noobs will run around like chickens with their heads cut off. More detail would have been helpful for getting your whole squad up to speed... Finally, my only real gripe with MAG has to do with skills and loadouts. In my opinion, if you want to specialize as say... a direct-action soldier, you will probably be using heavier gear than any of the other "classes", but will be stuck with the same weight cap as everyone else. It only seems natural that if you want specialize in some way or another, you should have some perks to help get the most out of your character (for example, more grenades for commandos, or more mines for field-support, or greater carrying capacity for direct-action). I don't understand why they didn't implement anything like this. All in all.. This is a great game! It is about tactics, not flash. And I hope to see all you campers soon!!! Expand
  64. Rajah
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Best online action so far. It's like chess in 2054 when you get to lead over 100 guy troops to get rid of the other half. Don't understand notes about graphics sucking either.. Think its one of the best looking FPS games out there (havent played killzone) and I specially like the proportions of everything. It really feels like roaming trough real terrain.
  65. MoonPig
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Great game, really fun. Takes a fair while to get into the game, its a pity reviewers finished up so early, its really hard to judge the game after a week. Domination is very complex. All the modes need a squad working together and reviewers often dont have the luxury of clans. There are serious balance issues, but hopefully they will be fixed, ignore the negative reviews give the game a Great game, really fun. Takes a fair while to get into the game, its a pity reviewers finished up so early, its really hard to judge the game after a week. Domination is very complex. All the modes need a squad working together and reviewers often dont have the luxury of clans. There are serious balance issues, but hopefully they will be fixed, ignore the negative reviews give the game a chance its a lot of fun. Expand
  66. QuinnH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    A solid, teamwork-based FPS, MAG's control scheme will cause some stumbling, but the leveling system, expansive maps, and immediate rewards for support roles can keep casual and more team-oriented players in their seats for hours.
  67. Steve
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Great game that compete with COD franchise. MAG have a bit better graphics and an immersive FPS experience never seen on console until now. The sacrifice made on SOCOM Confrontation to use the excellent team that made every SOCOM except Confrontation, worth it. Zipper Interactive have shown us that it doesn't matter what name their game have, as long as the game is made by Zipper it Great game that compete with COD franchise. MAG have a bit better graphics and an immersive FPS experience never seen on console until now. The sacrifice made on SOCOM Confrontation to use the excellent team that made every SOCOM except Confrontation, worth it. Zipper Interactive have shown us that it doesn't matter what name their game have, as long as the game is made by Zipper it would be certainly a success. Expand
  68. AlexB.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Fantastic premise, unfortunately there are to many stupid people to play this alone. Play with group of friends and this might be your favorite online shooter, if you play alone you might hate it.
  69. ChristopherM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    MAG is a little tough to initially break into, but if you do it will swallow you whole. Currently I am waiting for all my daily obligations like class, work, and eating to roll over and die so that I can get back to playing it. The combat is incredibly satisfying and the skill tree adds another layer of addictive game play. On top of all this, the more you play the more loyal and MAG is a little tough to initially break into, but if you do it will swallow you whole. Currently I am waiting for all my daily obligations like class, work, and eating to roll over and die so that I can get back to playing it. The combat is incredibly satisfying and the skill tree adds another layer of addictive game play. On top of all this, the more you play the more loyal and feverishly you wish you faction to be the best. I will help push Ravens to the top if it kills me! Expand
  70. RushS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Mag is a game for those willing to invest a little more time than their usual fps. Mw2 is a game u can pick up and plau a round and leave where mag makes u learn a new but fresh system and hud. Where the casual gamer might b turned off to investing several hours at a time i think more hardcore gamers will be pleasantly surprised. 8.5/10
  71. RagzPSN
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    An intense multiplayer experience that changes how an online FPS feels and is played. While not for everyone (namely lone wolves or those fixated on Kill-Death Ratio), there is no denying Zipper Interactive has made a quality product with long lasting appeal.
  72. JayF.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This game is so fun and addictive. Best shooter I've played in a long time including MW2. Play and coordinate with friends for the best experience. It's just such a tactical shooter compared to everything else.
  73. MatteoM>
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    this is a good game but the weqpons aren't good and the veichle is very hard driving but is a good game and more large
  74. AspenT.
    Jan 27, 2010
    6
    I have mixed feelings about this game but I can say one thing for certain. It is not going to make game of the year. First off, the controls are really really poor. Why on Earth does SCEA still not provide options to configure controls to the industry standard of COD
  75. MichaelD.
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    nothing special besides player count. more customization would have been better. will get better as community matures.
  76. JimmyS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game is a lot of fun. The fact that there's a back story involving everyone in the game and it benefits the particular faction members via points boosts is a nice twist. This is a "man's" war game.
  77. KEvinH.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    Once you get to the level where you can command a squad or at least have a good squad leader and comprehend that you need to listen to your leadership then this game unfolds into the most deep rewarding experience I have had playing FPS.
  78. SteveM.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This is a great game if you like working with a team. It is completely awful if you don't. You can see this in the scores. People love it or hate it. If you just want a FPS that is all about K/D ratios then you will not like MAG. It does not have a anything that sets it apart except being big and requiring you to work as a team. I am very happy that I bought the game.
  79. BrianN.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    Fantastic game, once you realize that the scope of the battle is bigger than you are and you start to work with your platoon rather than lone gunning it, you'll get alot of enjoyment out of playing 'MAG'. The graphics, although not on par with 'Killzone 2' are still great considering the vast amount of players ingame. We've all only recently got this game so Fantastic game, once you realize that the scope of the battle is bigger than you are and you start to work with your platoon rather than lone gunning it, you'll get alot of enjoyment out of playing 'MAG'. The graphics, although not on par with 'Killzone 2' are still great considering the vast amount of players ingame. We've all only recently got this game so the full potential hasn't been reached, but I have high confidence in 'MAG' becoming a solid online title for PS3. Expand
  80. PeterR.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    The game takes a bit time to unfold, but once it does, you will be rewarded with intense multiplayer battles. The controls and aiming are smooth. The maps are well-designed, even though the graphics are average compared to the likes of Killzone 2. When you look past it, you will find a deep rank system and some truely innovative mechanics that make mass battles more tactical than they used to be.
  81. ScottyA.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Theres one question I really have to ask as a 360 and a PS3 owner why oh why is the whole world biased against PS3 I played Halo 3 for years and it got really good scores now Ive found a better online game for my PS3 with 256 players which is simply put a gaming masterpiece yet the reviews have give it sucky scores so I ask again why are the reviews so biased so basically the reviews are Theres one question I really have to ask as a 360 and a PS3 owner why oh why is the whole world biased against PS3 I played Halo 3 for years and it got really good scores now Ive found a better online game for my PS3 with 256 players which is simply put a gaming masterpiece yet the reviews have give it sucky scores so I ask again why are the reviews so biased so basically the reviews are trying to say that halo 3 is better than MAG and as a halo 3 veteran I can honestly say that its complete bull @!*# MAG is not one of the best multiplayer games ever to be played its THE BEST multiplayer game i have ever played those of you lucky enough to own a PS3 take my word for it and buy MAG its a experience like nothing youve ever experienced in gaming 256 players and NO LAG well done Sony and Zipper. Expand
  82. DanielM.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    This game is a technological feat, and should not be ignored. Anyone saying that this game is "nothing special" has not taken the time to learn to process the copious amount of information on the screen at any given time, and has failed to work as a team. The game rewards teamwork like never before. It is a game that can be frustrating, given that everyone will have their bad games. This game is a technological feat, and should not be ignored. Anyone saying that this game is "nothing special" has not taken the time to learn to process the copious amount of information on the screen at any given time, and has failed to work as a team. The game rewards teamwork like never before. It is a game that can be frustrating, given that everyone will have their bad games. I've had games where I die 6 times in a row without accomplishing anything whatsoever. The other drawback to MAG is the lack of a proper tutorial. There is so very much to learn about this game, and it's downright confusing for everyone on their first bunch of missions. A website with information would have been useful. Yet, given these problems, never before have I been so interested in a FPS. The game is beautiful chaos at so many points. It's you and 7 other people working together through hell to accomplish some sort of small goal: fix this gate, hold that AA gun. Meanwhile there are artillery bombardments hitting the ground beside you, paratroopers dropping in, and and insane ground battle taking place while you're trying to protect one guy with a repair kit. This game rocked my world. Expand
  83. ZacH
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Very good game. The graphics have VERY deep drawing distances. Squad commanding is a very neat feature, not to mention the 128vs128 (256-player) matches. A lot more realism than other games. Communication could improve (but that is a self-fulfilling requirement, as more people need to get decent headsets. USB headsets work on the PS3, too.) The game gets very busy. A great contender Very good game. The graphics have VERY deep drawing distances. Squad commanding is a very neat feature, not to mention the 128vs128 (256-player) matches. A lot more realism than other games. Communication could improve (but that is a self-fulfilling requirement, as more people need to get decent headsets. USB headsets work on the PS3, too.) The game gets very busy. A great contender against the top dog at this time. [Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2] Expand
  84. ChrisN.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    I was on the fence with this one. I played the beta and it piqued my curiosity enough to take the plunge. Wow. What a ride this has become. I'm at level 21 and can't get enough. It's like peeling away the layers of an onion. There is a lot of depth and it's all about teamwork, communication, and playing smart. It's toppled BF2 as my all time favorite FPS.
  85. JamesF.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    This game is not for everyone (how many games are?!?), but what it does it does exceptionally well. The graphics are incredible (for the size of the maps and number of players), the gameplay is varied and immersive. Really can't get enough of this at the moment - MW2 is being very neglected by me right now...
  86. MarkH.
    Feb 1, 2010
    7
    First of all, I have a lot of experience with these types of games. I played hundreds of hours in both Battlefield 2 and 2142 on the PC, so I have some high expectations for team based games. It's a good game for anyone who enjoys teamwork. I would like to say that aiming in this game is EXTREMELY hard on a regular TV. I upgraded to an HDTV and HDMI and the difference in aiming was First of all, I have a lot of experience with these types of games. I played hundreds of hours in both Battlefield 2 and 2142 on the PC, so I have some high expectations for team based games. It's a good game for anyone who enjoys teamwork. I would like to say that aiming in this game is EXTREMELY hard on a regular TV. I upgraded to an HDTV and HDMI and the difference in aiming was phenomenal. It completely changed my opinion of the game. Please consider this before buying. Overall the game is fun, but you do need to be with a good squad, and a good team. However, the game does suffer some balancing issues. SVER has more players (people from beta realized that SVER maps are better, and also several game stores had preorder incentives for SVER), leading to more wins towards the "shadow war". (They get more matches). SVER's maps are also easier to defend than others, leading to more wins on their part. As a result, their team has more high level people. It's a snowball effect, with SVER getting better and better. This balancing issue needs to be fixed. (I personally play Raven full time, but I also have played SVER) It is kind of annoying how you can't switch sides, (yes, you can only have ONE character when you start) but it also prevents everyone from switching over to SVER. Also, the system for upgrades is by spending points, but you can only relocate those points by earning "respec points". It makes you think before you spend points, but the system is pretty unforgivable with testing out new weapons, as you will need to spend the points to respec. Really the balancing issues are all that is wrong with this game. I have a lot of fun with it, it can be very frustrating at times, but I still enjoy it. If you don't like working with other people, don't bother picking up this game. Expand
  87. agamerdude
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    This game is really good, i love the feel it has to it, at first i was kind of like : meh this games not gonna get higher then 6, but when i had my first 256 player game and got to a higher place in the map, i could see all those players swarming and fighting, i swear you people it was breath taking. I absolutely love it, it has a nice feel to it and it makes some nice variety after This game is really good, i love the feel it has to it, at first i was kind of like : meh this games not gonna get higher then 6, but when i had my first 256 player game and got to a higher place in the map, i could see all those players swarming and fighting, i swear you people it was breath taking. I absolutely love it, it has a nice feel to it and it makes some nice variety after playing mw2. This + uncharted 2 + gow 3, will make my year great. Expand
  88. JohnT.
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    It took me a little bit to get into. Once I leveled up some and my friends were playing with me I really into it. I 've read some reviews that there is never an epic moment. When playing Domination after points A and B have been taken over, all players must go to C. Capturing C with only seconds left can become very intense when both teams are giving it their all. Side-note: people It took me a little bit to get into. Once I leveled up some and my friends were playing with me I really into it. I 've read some reviews that there is never an epic moment. When playing Domination after points A and B have been taken over, all players must go to C. Capturing C with only seconds left can become very intense when both teams are giving it their all. Side-note: people giving this game anything lower than 5...WTF! No matter how much you dislike this game, it is nothing lower than a 5. I have a feeling that this game will only get better over time. I am happy with my purchase. Expand
  89. MohsD
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    This is actually a very good game, Mod Warfare this is not. this is a team orientated shooter, about objectives, and not your kill death ratio or killstreak. Personally it is a refreshing change from current shooters on the market. In all of the games i have played i have not experienced any lag, which is mind blowing for a game of this magnitude, with so much going on at once.
  90. jordanh
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    This game is truly fantastic its nothing like mw2 in a good way this game has teamwork unlike most. you WILL fail without teamwork. this game has a problem right now with too many sver and there base is too good but this game is defiantly worth the price tag and deserves better than the scores it got.
  91. DanN
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    This is got to be my favorite shooter of all time. What more can you ask for from a game. Sure it doesnt have the polish of some games, but it certainly makes up from it from the unparralled scale of combat and just the sheer amount of hours you you will pour into this game. Seriously if you love your life as is don't play this game!
  92. CruzC.
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Overall, it's innovative and somewhat original. Which is why I bought the game... Another PS3 exclusive that brings a lot of variety to my library of games. Makes you want to anticipate Zipper Interactive's next game.
  93. Tom
    Feb 2, 2010
    8
    At first, I found the game to be pretty "meh". However, after putting some time into it and leveling up some to unlock some gear, I really started to enjoy it. It keeps up quite well with the online considering the scale of the game. There are some interesting elements as far as unlockables and game modes, but not a tremendous amount of innovation. They pretty much take what others have At first, I found the game to be pretty "meh". However, after putting some time into it and leveling up some to unlock some gear, I really started to enjoy it. It keeps up quite well with the online considering the scale of the game. There are some interesting elements as far as unlockables and game modes, but not a tremendous amount of innovation. They pretty much take what others have done before them and tweaked it a bit, not that its a bad thing. There seems to be a lack of maps, probably due to the money to be made after sale with DLC. My only big gripes are that there are some choke points coming out of spawns where snipers on the other side of the map tend to have a clear shot at, and you know how frustrating it can be to have some skill-less pansy camped out on the other side of the map cheesing his way to a good score. There are also a few bugs that seem to take place, mostly with respawning. At times I get stuck on the respawn screen and the respawn clock will just keep resetting it self, 4-5 times. Ive also had an issue where I just couldn't respawn at all, with no clock to speak of at all. Overall, I think the good far outways the bad. Some of the negatives reviews Ive read on here sound like some of these people haven't even played the game. At least or more than an hour before passing judgment. Expand
  94. TimothyP.
    Jan 26, 2010
    6
    Game has some really nice features, fluid game play and fun missions. But the game completely lacks content, has no single player campaign and the little content that it does have can be played through in about 2 days
  95. GregSmith
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Stands out as the best exclusively online FPS on the market. 256 players and completely lag-free. An extraordinary achievement
  96. Nate
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I really love the fact that teamwork makes or breaks the match in this game. You could have 128 great players and still lose to a better coordinated team.
  97. jeffs.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    game is amazing. 256 players makes for the most tactical fps on a console to date. If you get a full group of 8 clan members you will really see the game shine,
  98. WendellM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    It was an Excellent game And I found Myself with quite a few people who used mikes in the game . Despite that and lack of a team Leader. So far We Have been able to Relay alot of information around the battle field and had our squads move quite smoothly. As people gain more experience with he game I can see this becoming on of the sleeper hits on the PS3.
  99. DrakeB.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The best first person shooter i have ever played, and ground breaking technology put into this game. 256 playes online on one map!!! WOW!!! Epic
  100. MysteryManwithhair
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    It Delivers in every prospect , but its not for Runner and Gunner fans , it takes skill and team work , its not Call of Duty , This is Massive Action Game.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Massive Action Game delivers on the promise of its name. It's certainly massive, and there is more than enough action to go around. MAG's biggest draw, however, is that it's perfect for both hardcore multiplayer FPS fans and newcomers alike.
  2. The challenge of branding MAG with a number (much smaller than its trademarked 256 and between 1 and 10) to denote its quality is akin to rating World of Warcraft after a weekend of gold-farming, long before the full majesty of the game has blossomed and shown its true potential. The best we can do is rate our early impressions, undoubtedly influenced by the game’s prospects for the future.
  3. 256 players in the same battlefield is clearly a new step beyond what console online gaming was offering. Spectacular in its size, MAG allows at the same time a deep approach for the hardcore FPS lovers, and also an easier gameplay appealing for those more casual action gamers. The lack of any non-online mode can limit its influence, and the visuals are not over the top, but in the end, MAG achieves success delivering the closest experience to fighting on a living battlefield.