MAG PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 26, 2010
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 554 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 554
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    Took me a while to get into it, but after investing some time into the game I can safely say I like it a lot. Lots of fun when you know what you're doing.
  2. ChaseF
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    My vote says it all. If you like tactical and strategic based FPS's, this is your game. If you like to run and gun and play individually on a game like COD MW2, this is not your game.
  3. JoeyS
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    As a semi-pro fps gamer, I have a ton of experience in the genre. And I have to say- this game is a home run. With all of the great games being released right now, and with mw2 in the not-too-distant past, MAG is the game always in my ps3. The graphics are just kind of... there, and yes, the factions are a little unbalanced, but the game is great. For those who claim lack of content, As a semi-pro fps gamer, I have a ton of experience in the genre. And I have to say- this game is a home run. With all of the great games being released right now, and with mw2 in the not-too-distant past, MAG is the game always in my ps3. The graphics are just kind of... there, and yes, the factions are a little unbalanced, but the game is great. For those who claim lack of content, I'm about 30 hours in and I am level 30, which is about 1/4 of the way through one of the 3 teams on the game. This game is, or ought to be, the future of fps for a while. Get it now and get in on the shadow war! And hey- bring your microphone please! Expand
  4. JeffF
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    Anyone else find it strange how practically everyone who has played the game is giving it 8 -10s? The only thing bringing this review score down are two-year old fanboys giving it ones and twos, well, and IGN... It's hard to tell the difference between the two anymore though.
  5. BobL
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    Wow. How many reviewers are giving this game a low rating because it might only appeal to hard core gamers and has nothing new to offer to the genre? How unfair and unprofessional of the reviewers. I mean if I was giving a review on a minivan I wouldn
  6. IsaacL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    i like this game and you should buy it.
  7. JohnD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Don't expect the the second coming of Christ, but this game certainly lives up to it's name. It is MASSIVE! This is as standard as your regular FPS can get but MAG adds a little more to that. Giant battles where teamwork is a must. Is teamwork you kind of thing and you want to experience war? This game is as close as it gets.
  8. Graham
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This is a seriously fresh approach to the FPS genre. The tactical side is brilliant in which you have to work well as a squad to earn more XP. The maps are huge but never feel empty or crowded and the progression system sorts the men(hardcore) from the boys(noobs). Overall this is a brilliant game well worthy of many hours of my life.
  9. MArkKidd
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Don't believe the hate. Just because a game is not CoD doesn't make it bad. Most early reviews are clearly based on the beta.
  10. JoseV.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    If you like large scale tactical battles than MAG is right up your alley.
  11. MiguelF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This game takes off the complex story of MW2 and multiplies the whole online experience by 256. Great fun and addicting game play, this is what online shooters need, a little dose of massive action. Also to mention the fun you get trying to get you PMC to the top position globally. If you own a PlayStation 3 and have online, this is a must buy!
  12. BrockD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    this game is really really great. all of the reviews that are up for it are turd zipper didnt send out reviews copies until saturday. now tell me how did they review this game in 3 days. with no people online???
  13. JoshuaS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    This is a great game, even with the large battles, there is no lag and i can wait to get into another session.
  14. BrianD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The reviews so far are garbage based on the beta. This game is excellent. Domination mode is the best FPS experience I have ever had. No other game simulates war so effectively. How could they a war isn't 12 vs. 12; that isn't even a squad. The sound is excellent in DTS HD and it's THX certified. Players be warned this isn't COD: MW2 or any other COD or HALO or The reviews so far are garbage based on the beta. This game is excellent. Domination mode is the best FPS experience I have ever had. No other game simulates war so effectively. How could they a war isn't 12 vs. 12; that isn't even a squad. The sound is excellent in DTS HD and it's THX certified. Players be warned this isn't COD: MW2 or any other COD or HALO or Resistance so if you are thinking you are going to lone wolf this game, think again. You might actually hate this game because you will die so often. The factions are balanced and only squad/platoon leaders can call in air strikes. I really liked how there isn't a spawn grenade that you can place and people magically apear there, instead you get airdropped to a spot chosen by your squad leader. As for replayability I see myself playing this game until a new Resistance or Killzone comes out. Expand
  15. JinnyR.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    People reviewing MAG seem to forget three main things, the fantastic moments when it all comes togther, the other roles that can be as simple as a medic to add some real depth and finally they keep mentioning 256 but forget other modes like 32 vs 32 deathmatch, they seem just as deep and there is, if anything, more strategy involved.
  16. JeffG.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Awesome game. Need to have a little more play time to really get into it unlike some reviewers who play for 30 mins and give it a low score. I haven't been this excited for a FPS since Counter Strike on the PC.
  17. Kyle
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Remarkably smooth gameplay, no lag whatsoever. The graphics are slightly dated, although they still look pretty good, and don't interfere with the gameplay whatsoever. Plain and simple, worth it.
  18. JoshL
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Once again the 'professional' reviewers show their ignorance and preference for petty graphics and gimmicks over true gameplay. This game is genre-defining and offers all kinds of new possibilities to the player. It is massive, it works, and it is absolutely fun and engaging once you give it an hour or two.
  19. kennyJ.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This game deserves 9, but I gave it a 10 to balance the idiots' score. If you like fps genre, then this is a must for you. Teamplay is important and where the fun lies, something lacking in most fps's. The only thing I can complain is a bit dated graphics but not really that much. I think I'll play it for a long time.
  20. PhillR.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    when i first heard about this i expected the best game ever. I then realized the game did nothing to innovate but sometimes that is not a bad thing. what it does it does perfect. Fun, plenty, communication useful, multiplayer, the best i have ever seen and it sets a new standard for shooters MAG is a massive action game
  21. MarkD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game isn't MW2, it's more difficult, less forgiving and way more team-based. It's a total different experience. The graphics might not be the greatest, but when you understand they couldn't make breath-taking graphics without lagging, you'll find them more than satisfying. The gameplay is this game's jewel, when you unlock the 256 mode, you'll This game isn't MW2, it's more difficult, less forgiving and way more team-based. It's a total different experience. The graphics might not be the greatest, but when you understand they couldn't make breath-taking graphics without lagging, you'll find them more than satisfying. The gameplay is this game's jewel, when you unlock the 256 mode, you'll understand that you are nothing more than an ant. You will need to fight as a team to win, without doing so, you will just die countless of times. I've played the beta more than I've played some game that I bought. I would recommend this game to FPS fans that don't just run and gun. Expand
  22. AlexJ.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game is much better than MW2 since it focuses all it's attention on online play, but at the same time tells some what of a story with the different factions.
  23. MarkP
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Finally, a game as team oriented as BF2 on the console. Great squad based play and team objectives. This is the game i've been waiting for.
  24. BobL.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    10/10. If you like FPS games that will keep you playing for hours, this is for you. If you hate walking around in games like Call of Duty for 5 minutes just to get sniped, that won't happen in MAG. The servers are great, no lag.
  25. PeterD.
    Jan 29, 2010
    8
    This game is great in so many ways, yet like all other games, it has downsides. Where the Shooting, leveling, tactical and layout systems and mechanics all work tiptop, and are solid to the core, there are a 2 things that bother me. 1 is a very small issue, and thats graphics and animations. it has a few hicups, for example when your character pull his weapon towards his shoulder to aimThis game is great in so many ways, yet like all other games, it has downsides. Where the Shooting, leveling, tactical and layout systems and mechanics all work tiptop, and are solid to the core, there are a 2 things that bother me. 1 is a very small issue, and thats graphics and animations. it has a few hicups, for example when your character pull his weapon towards his shoulder to aim down sight, the animation is halved, so instead of either doing it instantly, or performing a full action(take for instance call of duty: Modern Warfare 2, an example most can relate to) and the other graphics arent so great, with a bit of popins along the way. Now that is a tiny issue that i can look away from, but looking at the wider perspective, im sure there are other who cannot. the final problem is the communication.very few has a microphone, and even fewer has the connection speeds to pronounce anything but gibberish. the preset commands are also a little scrapped, only telling you where to go, and does not allow your squad leader to put down more advanced maneuvers (put a mine here, for example). other than that, shes a sturdy horse this one, a definite lookie if you are into large scale warfare. Expand
  26. KyleU.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Battlefield 2: Modern combat on steroids. Amazing teamwork needed. Hopefully as the game goes on people get more organized. Best Game EVER!
  27. BrandonS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    8
    To be frank, it's for people who look for a deeper FPS experience. Not in a sense that you have more tools or it's more complex because it's not. It's deeper in a sense that the fight demands more time, more awareness, more cooperation. Today's typical FPS game doesn't require any of that. So when typical FPS junkies jump in, they loose interest. You have to To be frank, it's for people who look for a deeper FPS experience. Not in a sense that you have more tools or it's more complex because it's not. It's deeper in a sense that the fight demands more time, more awareness, more cooperation. Today's typical FPS game doesn't require any of that. So when typical FPS junkies jump in, they loose interest. You have to walk in. You have to be willing to cooperate. You have to be flexible and patient. Then you'll get your fun. And you'll get a lot of it. Expand
  28. Anonymous
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    MAG is an amazing. There is no lag whatsoever, and team work is a must. No unbalanced weapons, like in Modern Warfare 2. This is the only online game I've played for more than 2 hours total. I got it on launch day and have sunk 14 hours into it. The only 2 problems are that there are only four game modes and only 3 maps each., and for suppression (team death match) you can only play MAG is an amazing. There is no lag whatsoever, and team work is a must. No unbalanced weapons, like in Modern Warfare 2. This is the only online game I've played for more than 2 hours total. I got it on launch day and have sunk 14 hours into it. The only 2 problems are that there are only four game modes and only 3 maps each., and for suppression (team death match) you can only play on your PMC's map. Despite this, the game never gets boring, and is all around incredible. In my opinion, this is the only fps (other than tf2) worth playing. Expand
  29. JedD.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    I can play this game for hours on end. Very team based oriented and somewhat complicated and intricate, but i like that because once u play for awhile, it becomes better. If i were a critic, i would say im disappointed on how i cannot actually controll the helicopters. I would enjoy the game more if it were divided up into different divisions such as Marines, troops, helicopter pilots, I can play this game for hours on end. Very team based oriented and somewhat complicated and intricate, but i like that because once u play for awhile, it becomes better. If i were a critic, i would say im disappointed on how i cannot actually controll the helicopters. I would enjoy the game more if it were divided up into different divisions such as Marines, troops, helicopter pilots, gunmen. But those are just ideas. Overall, it could have been a little bit more creative and diverse gameplay. Expand
  30. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    i dont play mnay games online longer then a week in the last 4 years . infact if i play some thing longer then 2-3 months im amazed. probibly the only 2 games i have played longer then that in the last 4 years have been gears of War for 3 years and Call of Duty 4. for 3 months. that reason being every thing is recycled its all the same run around like a chicked with your head cut off andi dont play mnay games online longer then a week in the last 4 years . infact if i play some thing longer then 2-3 months im amazed. probibly the only 2 games i have played longer then that in the last 4 years have been gears of War for 3 years and Call of Duty 4. for 3 months. that reason being every thing is recycled its all the same run around like a chicked with your head cut off and shoot every thing that moves with no real point but that. mag tries to change that . the game is one of the most team based games ive played since gears of war . in game modes like Domination where there are multiple objectives to take down and team work is key . having a good sqaud leader , platoon leader and OIC are very important . this game is as fun as the people you play with are at communication . if your team does not talk and the other team is then you will most likely loose your matches . so this game is best played with friends if you dont know any one with any on this game like me when i first got it just keep talking you are bound to find people who do and will invite you into there clan and then the game experiance becomes amazing . ive been playing this game since febuary of 2010 and will probubly keep playing it till socom 4 comes out. zipper hass been updating fairly frequently fixing all the bugs and glitches in this game they are doing a pretty decent job on it but theres still more to go . they add new content at a regualar basis. there are 13 maps if you include intrediction DLC and more coming . the right faction isnt as key as finding the right people to play with . there is a decent gun selection but i wish there was more but they do add new wepons in DLC. the balancing issues with the factions maps have been getting addressed. they now mix the maps up in sabotage for the factions. the knife has alot of issues as it will not work some times you can stab a guy in the head from 1 foot away and nothing then you can get stabbed from 50 yeards away in the body with 120% health boost and still die . i do wish that when you did domination you actaully saw the 128 vs 128 people instead its broken up into sections . so its more like 32 vs 32 . so it never really captures that feeling as you are in this grand war as id hoped it would . more vehicles would have also been nice . i would have loved to see tanks and choppers you could fly . its a thought i guess for the seqeul if they make one. Mag is a very fun game although if you dont want to talk and just want to run around like a chicken with your head cut off go play battlle field 2 and MW2. we dont want you on mag. Expand
  31. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Awesome game. This game really need skill and 256 players domination matches are so awesome and what best there`s no auto-aim like modern warfare 2 + everything are balanced. This is must buy ps3 game if you like FPS games.
  32. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    This is a great game. You can play with up to 256 players. The game frequently gets patched which fix bugs, improves the gameplay, and add new content. This is a must buy for PS3 owners.
  33. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    esse jogo só exige uma unica ação companheirismo se você não não for desse tente ser o máximo possível para se dar bem com o jogo.Se você tentar, pelo menos, para trabalhar junto com seus companheiros de equipe e as estratégias de forma que se torna uma dasesse jogo só exige uma unica ação companheirismo se você não não for desse tente ser o máximo possível para se dar bem com o jogo.Se você tentar, pelo menos, para trabalhar junto com seus companheiros de equipe e as estratégias de forma que se torna uma das melhores experiências que você pode começar a partir de um FPS. Mesmo que o seu não é o melhor jogador de FPS, você ainda pode fazer decente e se divertir neste jogo. Expand
  34. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    MAG is the best shooter, if you like strategy and team play.
    NickC says:
    This is really incomparable to games like MW2. If you play call of duty style you will hate this game die a lot. If you at least attempt to work along with your teammates and form strategies it becomes one of the best experiences you can get from a FPS. Even if your not the best FPS player, you can still do decent and
    MAG is the best shooter, if you like strategy and team play.
    NickC says:
    This is really incomparable to games like MW2. If you play call of duty style you will hate this game die a lot. If you at least attempt to work along with your teammates and form strategies it becomes one of the best experiences you can get from a FPS. Even if your not the best FPS player, you can still do decent and have fun in this game.
    Expand
  35. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    I was skeptical about getting MAG at first (I know a lot of people have already said that). I did my research, read plenty of Critic and User reviews, watched trailers, watched gameplay videos on youtube, and waited for the price to drop. I got very interested since the gameplay videos looked rather decent and reviews stated that the games focused on operating as a TEAM. A tactic that CoDI was skeptical about getting MAG at first (I know a lot of people have already said that). I did my research, read plenty of Critic and User reviews, watched trailers, watched gameplay videos on youtube, and waited for the price to drop. I got very interested since the gameplay videos looked rather decent and reviews stated that the games focused on operating as a TEAM. A tactic that CoD has never truly implemented. It was summer vacation in 2010 and I was getting bored playing solo games so I bought the game used for $30. A fair price at the time. I had heard of so many people joining the SVER faction and I, being a non conformist, went and joined Valor since they felt like the were the least liked of the three factions... And their theme music is like hard rock meets the Blues. When I first played a few games I felt a slight disappointment since I had been playing with people who had the game far longer than I had, had gotten well accustomed to the controls and gameplay, and who knew more about teamwork than I. Also I died repeatedly. After a few hours I got more and more into it since I had leveled up a few times giving me access to more skills and weapons. The gameplay is like CoD and also a far cry from CoD. The TEAM and OBJECTIVE focus is what makes MAG unique. By fighting with your teammates, completing objectives, and defending those objectives you get double XP. For example, an enemy kill awards 5 XP. An enemy kill in the vicinity of a prime objective awards the usual 5 XP but with a FRAGO bonus of another 5 XP. This helps encourage team based combat rather than trying to be a CoD/Halo one-man-army, charging to your death. Now it's January 2011. The game has made some incredible changes, from improving the graphical frame rates, to changing the skill and "armory" system, to adding new ways to get LOADS of bonus XP. I downloaded the massive update and Was astonished. The frame rates went from a slightly choppy and inconsistent 24-30fps to a smooth 45-60 fps. And being a later date more people had joined the game giving more people to fight and more opportunities, in general, to fight. There had also been two new games modes that had been added Interdiction and Escalation. Interdiction was like another massive Deathmatch with vehicles, while Escalation gave all three Factions a chance to fight each other at one time since all other modes only allowed two factions at a time. The skill tree and "armory" had been revamped as well so rather than having new weapons unlocked by spending skill points the skill tree has much more skills and there is another supply tab that houses all the weapons plus some new additions, as well as new gadgets and camo colors. The updates have also added new maps some of which look amazing compared to the old ones Now the game is batter than ever. Back in 2010 I would've given the game maybe a 7 because it felt like it was in its experimental stage but now I see that the developers are working to build a better FPS. Breakdown... Sound: 7, The sounds are the only things that haven't improved. Bullets still can sound rather weak. Graphics: 8, Graphics don't make a game but they help, and MAG wasn't groundbreaking, but the improved frame rates do help make the gameplay more functional. Gameplay: 10, The controls handle just like any other FPS, I don't know what the fuss is about. OK maybe a few bits are different from CoD but come on people. Open Minds please. And the fact that I have met some people that want to play as a team makes it more enjoyable with 10,000 bullets flying by my head every minute. I don't feel like some douche is going to spawn camp me every time. But you will die a lot so stop whining CoD lovers. Lasting Appeal: 9, I say 9 because while it does some things greatly it is still an FPS. You play one FPS you have pretty much played them all. But it is perpetually online gameplay with no fee. Unless you are a CoD fanatic you will come back for more. Expand
  36. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    Great game. It's not perfect but for what it was trying to accomplish it wasn't far from it. It could've used better graphics but with 256 players in one match rendering in high-def could have introduced some lag (and I find it humorous that MAG has virtually no lag with 256 people whereas highly praised games like CoD virtually always have lag with no more than 20 people). Some criticsGreat game. It's not perfect but for what it was trying to accomplish it wasn't far from it. It could've used better graphics but with 256 players in one match rendering in high-def could have introduced some lag (and I find it humorous that MAG has virtually no lag with 256 people whereas highly praised games like CoD virtually always have lag with no more than 20 people). Some critics and others say that not having a campaign held this game back, but really why would you need a campaign in a game like MAG? It's meant to be large-scale, team based battle and it did just that very well. That's where the rest will draw the line. MAG isn't made for casual gamers, it's made for people who want to work as a team to achieve victory (instead of jerking off to their k/d ratio). They did force the players to work as a team in MAG and honestly, I think it was a great choice, because with 256 lonewolves running around doing nothing but worrying about kills would be a terrible game. It's also extremely well balanced, although admittedly you have to look for it sometimes. What I mean by that is, for anything (and I mean literally anything) that your enemy does, there is a counter to it. The weapons, while limited in variety, all have specific bonuses over one another which adds greatly to the balancing. Sniping actually requires you to 1) be a good shot 2)understand how to set up in a good position and 3)move after several kills. That's how sniping is supposed to be if a game is going for any realism at all. This game actually requires you to think. This is getting lengthier than I expected so I'll wrap it up with this. If you're a team or victory oriented player, MAG is a great buy for you. If you're a kill/death oriented player, stay the f*ck away from MAG and stick to the regurgitated profit based games (like CoD), because you won't appreciate anything that varies from what you're used to and I don't want to see or hear some 13 year old douche sitting in one spot trying to snipe complaining about how people can see him and how he can't get one hit kills constantly and call in a nuke to win automatically. Expand
  37. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    Massive Action Game is exactly what MAG is. It is a little rough getting used to, as there is a steep learning curve. Once you get the hang of things it really changes. Also, Zipper has done a great job of contunually updating MAG to refine every detail. The graphics may not be the best, but that so you can go 128vs128 which is insane! If you like action or FPS's then this is for you.
  38. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    MAG = awesome!....plays great and 256 players is a blast experience that I would recommend to everyone. Now supporting Playstation Move just got even better!!!!!!!!!! I'm so glad to own a PS3! :-]
  39. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    MAG's one and only pemise and what made it stand out, was it's 256 player multiplayer. Jaws dropped as soon as people heard that number. But unfortunately MAG fails to deliver the big action it promised. The game never feels BIG OR EPIC as it should be. The game itself is okay. But the fact you never actually have a full scale battle with 256 people was a MASSIVE mistake.
  40. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    Overall MAG is a much better game now than when it was first released. I got it at launch and I would have initially given it a 6.5. Now I would give it an 8-9. Don't read any of the initial reviews from the release. The game is totally different from then. The skill tree is huge, with so many skills that even with 70 points (level 70, highest level) with each skill worth 1 point, youOverall MAG is a much better game now than when it was first released. I got it at launch and I would have initially given it a 6.5. Now I would give it an 8-9. Don't read any of the initial reviews from the release. The game is totally different from then. The skill tree is huge, with so many skills that even with 70 points (level 70, highest level) with each skill worth 1 point, you can't get them all. There is now a currency system that allows buying weapons, equipment, accessories, uniforms, etc. Maps are much more balanced now that any faction can attack or defend any map in any game type. There are 5 game types, with two game types available as DLC. One is free, the other is 4.99. Both are worth it, but they don't normally have high traffic.

    The gameplay is good, lag is non existent. My only gripe would be that SVER seems to have markedly better players. At first I had attributed this to map imbalance, but with the changes this can't be true anymore. The other PMCs (Raven and Valor) seem to have less skilled players and playing with them can be frustrating. The developer has no control over who/how many join which faction. I think that many of the reviewers here started with Raven or Valor, struggled hard, and gave up. Those that stick around will find a game that has good team based gameplay with plenty of skills, weapons, and maps to stay interested. Just be aware, if you join Raven or Valor, be prepared to be challenged. I've played with all three, and am finally with SVER after playing through the other two. SVER wins most matches, and dominates some. If you think you have what it takes, play Raven or Valor, join up with friends and prepare for the largest maps and games ever. Just be aware that its not COD Black Ops with smaller maps and more intense close action. With this many people, you are going to get killed sometime by the fact that you are outnumbered. COD Blops is a game where you can definitely succeed on your own. In MAG, even if you are not communicating (no headset) you can still follow squad objectives to help the team and score more XP. If you start out, with no skills, and try to run in guns blazing all the time you will get frustrated. I don't think all gamers really even want to play team based games, they just want high kills and to "pwn". For those that want more, try MAG. At the price the game is at now, you don't have much to lose.
    Expand
  41. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    This is the best shooter you never played, or didn't give a chance. The objective system and game encouraged team play from all 128 players per team in ways no other FPS has yet to achieve. Is it the most polished game? Nope. Does it have more depth and fun factor than any other FPS in modern times? Absolutely. I could spend all day describing how well an effective squad team commanderThis is the best shooter you never played, or didn't give a chance. The objective system and game encouraged team play from all 128 players per team in ways no other FPS has yet to achieve. Is it the most polished game? Nope. Does it have more depth and fun factor than any other FPS in modern times? Absolutely. I could spend all day describing how well an effective squad team commander can change the entire course of the game. I've tried to replace this game with Planetside 2, BF3, and BF4, but nothing stacks up. I do play BF4 a lot but I find myself just wishing MAG looked that good. Expand
  42. E_T
    Aug 30, 2015
    10
    The Best massively multiplayer game I ever played. None of other didn't give me such experience as MAG. And I'm still waiting it on PS4.

    P.S.: S.V.E.R. RULES!!!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Massive Action Game delivers on the promise of its name. It's certainly massive, and there is more than enough action to go around. MAG's biggest draw, however, is that it's perfect for both hardcore multiplayer FPS fans and newcomers alike.
  2. The challenge of branding MAG with a number (much smaller than its trademarked 256 and between 1 and 10) to denote its quality is akin to rating World of Warcraft after a weekend of gold-farming, long before the full majesty of the game has blossomed and shown its true potential. The best we can do is rate our early impressions, undoubtedly influenced by the game’s prospects for the future.
  3. 256 players in the same battlefield is clearly a new step beyond what console online gaming was offering. Spectacular in its size, MAG allows at the same time a deep approach for the hardcore FPS lovers, and also an easier gameplay appealing for those more casual action gamers. The lack of any non-online mode can limit its influence, and the visuals are not over the top, but in the end, MAG achieves success delivering the closest experience to fighting on a living battlefield.