User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    Duels of the Planeswalkers would be something very big if they used all the potential that the physical Magic cards have.

    The developers should take a look to what other trading card games are doing. I'm thinking on Might and Magic Duel of Champions when I say this, because Magic is going to loose in the digital field if it doesn't take advantage of the potential that the game has with
    Duels of the Planeswalkers would be something very big if they used all the potential that the physical Magic cards have.

    The developers should take a look to what other trading card games are doing.
    I'm thinking on Might and Magic Duel of Champions when I say this, because Magic is going to loose in the digital field if it doesn't take advantage of the potential that the game has with its existing physical cards.

    Free to play, expansions, tournaments, focused on online, prizes, and a flexible editor are just some ideas I'm missing since the very first Duels of the Planeswalkers and I was hoping that could change with the following editions, but now I see that, in my opinion, they are in the wrong direction.
    Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    Despite loving Magic the Gathering, my personality despises being taken advantage of. Although fun this version again is an advanced tutorial and therefore a slap in the face. I will say this game is certainly without question worth the asking price of $10 but I always beg the question why they don't just sell the same virtual cards as in the store for the same price or less and make itDespite loving Magic the Gathering, my personality despises being taken advantage of. Although fun this version again is an advanced tutorial and therefore a slap in the face. I will say this game is certainly without question worth the asking price of $10 but I always beg the question why they don't just sell the same virtual cards as in the store for the same price or less and make it convenient for us ccg lovers to play the game online easier. What really irks me is if you spend time with this version you will realize just how lovely you are getting the shaft. Up front the package looks awesome but as you play you realize that every single mode is just a teaser tutorial and a roadblock to enjoying the game. Sealed play allows just the right amount of winning packs to top out into meaningless territory and cheats on top of that and campaign mode is very short and limited. Again, by the time you figure this out you can't disagree it was worth $10 but past that, meh. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Magic 2014 is yet again a learning tool for most people. It is user friendly and informative for those who are new to the game. The problem is that is does not lend itself to its target audience well, that being hardcore Magic players. The game still has failed to offer an open deck builder and the challenges have been dumbed down. Regardless of this, the game is at least presentedMagic 2014 is yet again a learning tool for most people. It is user friendly and informative for those who are new to the game. The problem is that is does not lend itself to its target audience well, that being hardcore Magic players. The game still has failed to offer an open deck builder and the challenges have been dumbed down. Regardless of this, the game is at least presented well and for those who are not skilled spell casters will enjoy this. This however this may not be a good $9.99 purchase for those who have had issues with the past editions of the game. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. um jogo fantástico, ótimos gráficos, contexto coerente, e o melhor de tudo que vem em varias línguas, inclusive o português, que nesta edição, os criadores mostraram que estavam atentos aos desejos dos jogadores, o preço esta muito bom...o que incomoda e as DCL'S (São adições aos jogos, como mapas, trajes, cenários, etc, que os desenvolvedores podem disponibilizar para download nos sites dos jogos) que são muitas...aqueles que tem versões mais antigas, pode pensar que não compensa comprar, mas eu digo, vale sim muito a pena. Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Miła gra prawie zastępuje prawdziwe karty z kolejną odsłoną dojrzewa minus za coraz prostsze wyzwania i IO też wydaje mi się bardziej przewidywalna czyżby ustawione pod publiczkę
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    The Good:

    Very good game and the user experience (at least the expected) is awesome! The Bad: I have found a lot of glitches and QA issues that they obviously are not testing for or simply are not funded enough to do so. The primary issues are... 1) Randomly get kicked and told my connection was lost, but this does not show a loss of connection in other computers, devices in the
    The Good:

    Very good game and the user experience (at least the expected) is awesome!

    The Bad:

    I have found a lot of glitches and QA issues that they obviously are not testing for or simply are not funded enough to do so. The primary issues are...
    1) Randomly get kicked and told my connection was lost, but this does not show a loss of connection in other computers, devices in the house. They need to store data locally and wait if any issues like this.
    2) Cards are randomized many times in patterns/groups rather than a true randomizer. I have seen many times the same groupings and what is worst, when these are all land. Maybe a feature to let us "shuffle" our own decks.
    3) Other glitches that are only bad for the user experience and not that often. This is likely because of a cross device platform code and not native?

    Summary:

    I would rate this game to be in need of work, by testing more for edge case issues and improve on the base structure before releasing new sets asking for more money. I think if those were fixed, I would have taken this to a 9 - 9.5 if not a 10.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Aug 12, 2013
    70
    Magic 2014 has a perfect UI system but its tutorials aren’t particularly gentle with Magic virgins. Veterans know what to expect, buy with confidence. [September 2013, p80]
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    85
    Magic 2014 is definitely the best game so far in the franchise and it doesn't get any better than this. Whether you are a skilled player or a beginner you will certainly get some fun out of playing this.
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    82
    It is another step forward for the franchise, that will bring its fans the opportunity of enjoy this card-based game in a virtual way.