Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
Buy On
  1. Play UK
    Dec 16, 2010
    72
    Majin's old-fashioned approach may well wash a wave of nostalgia over you. [Issue#199, p.88]
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2010
    71
    All too often it feels like you're playing nanny to a thick, elephant-sized child. [Christmas 2010, p.91]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 25, 2011
    70
    So while you'll be unconvinced by the visuals and voices behind the boy and his beast, when the Majin goes harumphing into battle to save you from the latest onslaught of sinister humanoid ooze, stopping only to breathe his healing gingivitis all over your battered body, you'll find yourself wondering; why this has done for you what the massive production of Enslaved could not. The answer? Heart, baby. Kid's got heart. [January 2011 p72]
  4. games(TM)
    Jan 11, 2011
    70
    An adventure that anyone but the most black-souled gamer will feel compelled to see through to the end credits. [Christmas 2010, p.114]
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is a sweet and charming action-adventure, partially ruined by a shallow level and combat design.
  6. 70
    Good action-adventure games for the HD consoles don't grow on trees. Majin will certainly fill a genre gap.
  7. Jan 2, 2011
    70
    You will end up loving and remembering the character that follows you the entire adventure. It's just a shame that the game presents some visual flaws and a clear problem with pace.
  8. 70
    Despite some repetitive combat and unresponsive controls, Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom's evocative visuals, epic bosses and neat puzzles provide more than enough reason to witness the relationship between a thief and a giant magical oaf slowly flourish.
  9. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Game Republic's effort lacks polish and elegance, but, thanks to charm and the in-built strength of its setup, it is an experience worth partnering with.
  10. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Simplistic combat and tedious backtracking don't fully diminish the pleasures of this attractive and festive fable.
  11. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom tells a sad but clichéd tale with an endearing giant and his friend at the helm of it.
  12. Dec 17, 2010
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is not going to replace your action adventure staples like "Zelda" franchise, but its has its own charm that is unique to this property, making it an excellent alternative to the more known action adventure styled games.
  13. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 16, 2010
    70
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  14. Edge Magazine
    Dec 16, 2010
    70
    There's a genuine sense of storybook adventure to proceedings, which a limited budget and uninspired enemies can't quite erode. [Christmas 2010, p.91]
  15. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    While Majin isn't overtly a kids' game, the translations and voice acting are almost comically silly.
  16. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    For everyone who ever thought that commanding a beast can only be great, this game demonstrates otherwise. It has good points but they are few and far between.
  17. Jan 3, 2011
    65
    Some flaws in its gameplay conception make the game frustrating sometimes, and although it offers about fiften hours in its main adventure and some secrets to discover, it doesn't add up much more extras to foster replayability.
  18. Jan 18, 2011
    60
    A pleasant game with a catchy world and a strong structure […] With more diversity, less speech and a better calibration regarding movements and graphics, Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom could have become one of the giants of its class.
  19. 60
    The puzzle mechanics are enjoyable and well done, especially the ones requiring you to command around your Majin-buddy. Same thing goes for the Metroid-esque exploration and unlocking of new abilities. The combat is simple and uninspired though, and long travel distances between important areas in the later part of the game means that it can be rather boring at times.
  20. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 24, 2010
    60
    The main emotion evoked by fuzzy beast buddy Teotl is pity. [Christmas 2010]
  21. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Frankly, Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom might have been better off with no combat at all. In about 15 hours of playtime, the puzzles stay fresh, while the fighting feels stale from the start.
  22. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Majin Forsaken and the Kingdom may surprise those who do not mind an uncompromising adventure/tale that doesn't have anything new to offer.
  23. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom could have been a great game. Its touching characters and well crafted gameplay make it a good game, blessed with a distinct personality. That's always something, but the concept lacks any sort of innovation. Even though you've most probably already played something very similar, you'll probably cruise through the 15-or-so hours of the game with ease, to discover the end of this friendship story.
  24. Dec 16, 2010
    58
    I admire the developer's attempt to present a story and puzzles where partnership and collusion are the principle themes and while I was playing it I genuinely enjoyed working through each area and finding the collectible items. By the end, I found that I was more than ready to wrap it up and put its boring combat, snoozer story, and shaky production quality to rest for good.
  25. Jan 1, 2011
    55
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom doesn't fail because any particular aspect of it is poorly made, it fails because its components don't fit together.
  26. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    The overall gameplay is on track, at least with a forsaken kingdom filled with a balanced mix of puzzling, platforming, sneaking, and fighting. But stretching the aesthetic elements, the toddler-hand-holding relationship that will grow between you and the Majin, or those damn talking animals will wear extremely thin.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    Fun and creative puzzle platformer. Nothing groundbreaking, but it was good. I would say if you can get this game for less than $40 it wouldFun and creative puzzle platformer. Nothing groundbreaking, but it was good. I would say if you can get this game for less than $40 it would be a good buy. Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Maiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow this game just amazes me. The worldMaiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow this game just amazes me. The world detail is so vividly imaginative and descriptive it often reminds me of my first time entering into the Shivering Ilse's back on The Elder Scrolls. Noting the reference, don't be mistaken that this game plays or actually looks anything like Oblivion since it doesn't. Moreover it's not suppose to. Game Republic has crafted a gem of its own that will be often compared with games like Ico and perhaps even Zelda, but the story bond between gamer and characters has truly been mastered in the senses that if one of the characters died (as in story line) then you would shed a tear or two (something movies can hardly ever achieve). Lastly following my last sentence I want to note that is not a spoiler of any kind, for all you or I know they could die Majin and the main character, or they could live and save the Kingdom from ultimate darkness. Hence, I will not go into plot details or anything of the sorts since the games itself is to be best played going in blind and discovering the world and it's mysteries for yourself. Please buy this game whenever you get the opportunity since this has been Game Republic's finest game and its company truly needs the funds after the utter fail of Folklore on the PS3. (fail as in sales) Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    Why this game has such a low rating I will never understand. It's a clever game with an interesting story, great music, excellent controls,Why this game has such a low rating I will never understand. It's a clever game with an interesting story, great music, excellent controls, fun puzzles and versatile enviroments. It gets gradually better when you learn new abilities, and while it may not be groundbreaking but it's a solid package. Some games feel like they were published unfinished - Majin and the forsaken kingdom is honed to perfection. This game deserves at least an eight. Full Review »