User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. The graphics are good sound us cool too (and includes remixes of 'wanna take you for a ride from mvc2). The characters are great and I think it was a good idea of using more unknown characters instead of bog standard marvel and capcom ones (e.g has zero instead of megaman). My only problem is that dlc characters have already been announced 2 months before the gamesThis is a great game. The graphics are good sound us cool too (and includes remixes of 'wanna take you for a ride from mvc2). The characters are great and I think it was a good idea of using more unknown characters instead of bog standard marvel and capcom ones (e.g has zero instead of megaman). My only problem is that dlc characters have already been announced 2 months before the games release meaning they could have easily been fitted into the game ( and the game already has 20 less characters then mvc2). But that's just capcom being greedy and shouldn't put people of buying the game. Overall a excellent game! Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    MvsC3 is a very bright and brash, slick, fast and even simplified to a degree its appeal is more online than the single player offline mode. That's not to say you should not bother with the single player though Capcom have worked hard to made the AI more challenging on the hardest difficulty, usually on the hardest he game is still relatively easy and un challenging but not this timeMvsC3 is a very bright and brash, slick, fast and even simplified to a degree its appeal is more online than the single player offline mode. That's not to say you should not bother with the single player though Capcom have worked hard to made the AI more challenging on the hardest difficulty, usually on the hardest he game is still relatively easy and un challenging but not this time round, bravo Capcom a more challenging experience awaits. The single player also has missions for all the characters much like the ones found in the SSF4 series, enough to keep you busy for a couple of hours with some devious timings required for some of the tougher missions. Online is an interesting affair once you understand how to start a game the gameplay online works well but be warned if the opponent or yourself has a poor connection the lag is terrible, when characters are at a distance all seems well but get in close and the lag kicks in making it practically unplayable which leaves Capcom something to work on. Cacpom has worked hard to try to bring more people to the series with simplified controls and moves with one button commands allowing even the most ham fisted player a chance to look good,, overall Capcom has made a great game here and the only real competition it will have is its previous outing MvsC2 this is definitely a worthy purchase for any 2D beat em-up fan. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This game is solid. The only reason why I don't give it a 10 is because of Capcom's DLC holding our characters hostage. This practice is not ideal, but I understand the need for them to make money, but at the expensive of the users...well that is the reason it is a 9.
  4. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    i put together a team of amutersu wolf dog, arthur ghost n goblins, and pheonix xmen, and i shine my butt off, freek the new controls its a better control scheme.... i feel MY POWER, my rage! i fail to see were the flaws are in this game...i been playing video games all my life...including mvc and mvc2 for dreamcast, plus downloaded mvc2 for ps3. naturally i bought mvc3 and so did a lot ofi put together a team of amutersu wolf dog, arthur ghost n goblins, and pheonix xmen, and i shine my butt off, freek the new controls its a better control scheme.... i feel MY POWER, my rage! i fail to see were the flaws are in this game...i been playing video games all my life...including mvc and mvc2 for dreamcast, plus downloaded mvc2 for ps3. naturally i bought mvc3 and so did a lot of my friends...the game is awesome ....period ...well done Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Not perfect , but a pretty darn good game.Graphics are pretty good.It's a fighting game so it shouldn't have an amazing story , but because it's a fighting game I didn't really took count of the story.It has pretty good fighters with great abilities.It has a pretty good sound.It's a great game on conclusion.I recommend you buy this game
  6. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    Gorgeous graphics, intense combat and great gameplay make this an instant classic. MvsC3 is perfect to gather a bunch of friends and have countless hours of pure fun. I myself don't like fighting games very much, but this one is different. I have tons of fun with it even alone. My only complaint goes to the roaster of fighters; I think it is rather too small. I wished there were moreGorgeous graphics, intense combat and great gameplay make this an instant classic. MvsC3 is perfect to gather a bunch of friends and have countless hours of pure fun. I myself don't like fighting games very much, but this one is different. I have tons of fun with it even alone. My only complaint goes to the roaster of fighters; I think it is rather too small. I wished there were more variety of characters and I really don't understand some of the developer's choices. I wish I could add Cyclops, Rogue, Bishop, Nightcrawler, Megaman...That being said, MvcC3 is a game to be remembered. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Marvel and Capcom characters such as: Ryu, Iron Man, Chun-Li, and the Hulk are ready to slam fists and throw projectiles once more after a long, gregarious 10-year hiatus. MVC3 is a hardcore, tag-team fighter that pits three of your chosen Marvel and/or Capcom characters against another three in a battle of vibrancy and madness. Itâ
  8. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    The game is all around fantastic. It' has a great fighting system, strong presentation values, some nice extra modes, and a terrific online component. It's a bit lacking in modes when compared to something like Super Street Fighter IV, but it's still a terrific game all around. Yes the roster is smaller than it was in MvC2, but with that comes better balance. If you can't have fun in thisThe game is all around fantastic. It' has a great fighting system, strong presentation values, some nice extra modes, and a terrific online component. It's a bit lacking in modes when compared to something like Super Street Fighter IV, but it's still a terrific game all around. Yes the roster is smaller than it was in MvC2, but with that comes better balance. If you can't have fun in this game, you might just be dead inside. Expand
  9. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    very good game for beat em fans great fun,how differant from streetfighter?alot its a completely differant game massive combination attacks and alot faster meaning its not at the thinking pace of streetfighter i love it!my one gripe why capcom oh why i you bieng so greedy with your add ons?streetfighter costumes allready on disc that you pay for?and now downloadable characters for marvelvery good game for beat em fans great fun,how differant from streetfighter?alot its a completely differant game massive combination attacks and alot faster meaning its not at the thinking pace of streetfighter i love it!my one gripe why capcom oh why i you bieng so greedy with your add ons?streetfighter costumes allready on disc that you pay for?and now downloadable characters for marvel vs capcom allready on disc that you have to pay for?come on guys we have payed 40 pounds for the game.sort it out. Expand
  10. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Rather than a traditional review I will say this: Game is phenomenal if you are a beginner who is looking for a fun button masher to satisfy your marvel vs capcom fantasies. If your a little too geeky about comics, like me, you may have to suspend disbelief at times. Example: Hulk vs Ryu. Pretty sure Hulk should have the edge, but in this universe, not so much. Despite the talk ofRather than a traditional review I will say this: Game is phenomenal if you are a beginner who is looking for a fun button masher to satisfy your marvel vs capcom fantasies. If your a little too geeky about comics, like me, you may have to suspend disbelief at times. Example: Hulk vs Ryu. Pretty sure Hulk should have the edge, but in this universe, not so much. Despite the talk of accessibility for newcomers, if your really green, don't expect to do any better online than you have in any other fighting game of the past. For the hard core gamer? Simply put, whether you think capcom made the right decisions or not, buy this game! It's not perfect, you already know that, but what else are you going to do until Mortal Combat comes out? Keep playing Street Fighter IV? Let it go for just a moment, ignore some of MVC3's quirkiness, and you just might find that you are smiling again rather than frustrated at how, if your honest, like all of us, your street fighter IV skills have officially plateaued. Expand
  11. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    Attention all: Disregard weege's review, unless you never play fighting games, as he clearly has no idea what he's talking about. If you opt to use the one button simple control scheme, you will get slaughtered by anyone who is even decent at the game--I repeat SLAUGHTERED. The one button control scheme is aimed at folks who just want to mash around with friends and who do not get intoAttention all: Disregard weege's review, unless you never play fighting games, as he clearly has no idea what he's talking about. If you opt to use the one button simple control scheme, you will get slaughtered by anyone who is even decent at the game--I repeat SLAUGHTERED. The one button control scheme is aimed at folks who just want to mash around with friends and who do not get into fighting games that much. Anyone who plays fighting games moderately, and especially high-level players would annihilate anyone using this watered down control scheme.

    Anyway, the game has great visuals, great roster (in my opinion), and the additions and tweaks to the fighting engine make for an quickly engaging, yet deep fighting experience. Sure, it can get crazy, and button mashers may frustrate you the first couple of matches, but just a small amount of time in practice mode will give you the upper hand and you can dismantle such strategies. This is a great follow up to one of the best 2D fighting games of all time--if you are a fan of the series it is a must buy. If you are a huge fighting game fan, it is a must buy. For casual fighting game fans, I strongly recommend it. Anyone else may want to rent/gamefly or play at your local game store before making the purchase.
    Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    I am giving this game a 10 but I do this not because it's perfect but because the Pros greatly outweighs the Cons. This game is fantastic, the combos, effects and the sheer craziness we love this series for is here. My only problem with it is that they could have added a couple more modes to the game.
  13. Feb 17, 2011
    9
    After years of waiting MvC3 finally arrives. Comics style graphics is really fun but can be eye distracting at times bit not much of a problem. Stages are pretty neat and pretty well designed. The roster is a bit smaller than MvC2 but its compensated with new faces like Dante (A dream come true XD), Zero (yet another dream come true), Amaterasu, Spencer, Chris Redfield, Albert Wesker,After years of waiting MvC3 finally arrives. Comics style graphics is really fun but can be eye distracting at times bit not much of a problem. Stages are pretty neat and pretty well designed. The roster is a bit smaller than MvC2 but its compensated with new faces like Dante (A dream come true XD), Zero (yet another dream come true), Amaterasu, Spencer, Chris Redfield, Albert Wesker, Deadpool, M.O.D.O.K. and a few more. Some old familiar faces returns back but too bad, some didn't made it like Megaman and Strider Hiryu. Sounds are better than the previous installment but at intense gameplay, you might not want to bother with it. It's a bit shocking with the control scheme changed although adapting can be done in minutes. Heck I even managed to adapt into the game within minutes. The game has two game styles: Normal and Simple. Normal, like what it says and Simple has simplified actions and commands. Combos are fluid and easy to chain strings and cheap attacks are not that of greatness anymore (although some still proves some cheapness in them). There's some goodies to unlock as well and future DLCs coming in the future. Overall the game's great and if you're not sure whether to buy it or not, rent it first. It's highly a recommended buy for MvC fans out there. Expand
  14. Feb 17, 2011
    9
    I'll keep this brief and to the point. It is Capcom vs. Tatsonoku for the playstation with more recognisable characters and the nicest 2d animation I've seen in a fighting game. It is a fantastic fighter, but doesn't play like a direct follow up to MVC2. Don't play it on novice, unless you are five, and you might enjoy it. For those that didn't play Capcom vs. Tatsunoku, it did the sameI'll keep this brief and to the point. It is Capcom vs. Tatsonoku for the playstation with more recognisable characters and the nicest 2d animation I've seen in a fighting game. It is a fantastic fighter, but doesn't play like a direct follow up to MVC2. Don't play it on novice, unless you are five, and you might enjoy it. For those that didn't play Capcom vs. Tatsunoku, it did the same thing, depending on whether you held a Wii remote or a classic controller. Just because the game is easier with novice controls, doesn't mean that is how it is supposed to be played, it's like games that offer unlockable cheats, sure, you can turn them on, but it will kill a lot of the challenge. A great social game, Capcom have hit the mark yet again with what they are famous for, traditional style fighting games. Expand
  15. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    I have been playing fighting videogames since i was a little kid, my fav titles were during the PS1 era.But somehow by the time i bought my PS2 i had lost interest in fighting games, developers focused more on the graphics that they did on the fighting system/mechanics.Still i kept on buying/renting these games hoping i would be able to get into and enjoy them like i used to,but i neverI have been playing fighting videogames since i was a little kid, my fav titles were during the PS1 era.But somehow by the time i bought my PS2 i had lost interest in fighting games, developers focused more on the graphics that they did on the fighting system/mechanics.Still i kept on buying/renting these games hoping i would be able to get into and enjoy them like i used to,but i never did, well at least not until i played MVC3, which is obviously my fav fighting game this gen.What MVC3 lacks in the character roster, it makes up in the fighting system and quite frankly i can't remember the last time i had sooooo much fun playing a fighting game.A Definite buy. Expand
  16. May 23, 2011
    9
    I recommend this game to anyone who has ever wanted to kick Captain America's ass using Dante {I can say I've wanted that}. The game looks great, flashes and colors flying all over the place. I wish there would have been more to do besides arcade and online, but besides that itâ
  17. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Pow! Thwip! Snikt! The wait is over true believers! After ten long years and a few very japanese â
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. May 24, 2011
    84
    The fluid and intuitive controls in Marvel vs. Capcom 3 feel great. The graphic effects and the versus mode are truly great too. A wonderful game.
  2. 70
    Whacking frantic battle frenzy in which you can build yourself against the computer and comic book heroes. Fun guaranteed only in multiplayer mode! [Mar 2011]
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    85
    All in all, MVC 3 is a highly enjoyable game with plenty of replay value. While some Capcom characters are noticeably absent from this title, the ones you do get to play with are a blast and only enhance the Marvel vs. Capcom experience.