Mass Effect 2 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is an emotionally charged science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life and mysterious, uncharted planets. In Mass Effect 2, players will once again step into the role of the heroic Commander Shepard, commanding their crew of someThe Mass Effect trilogy is an emotionally charged science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life and mysterious, uncharted planets. In Mass Effect 2, players will once again step into the role of the heroic Commander Shepard, commanding their crew of some of the most dangerous operatives from across the galaxy on a mission so challenging that it's potentially suicidal. Featuring intense shooter action, a rich futuristic storyline, space exploration and emotionally engaging character interaction, the game delivers an unparalleled cinematic experience. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mass Effect 2 Overlord - Overlord Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    100
    That's what makes Mass Effect 2 great. Not the outstanding action, the compelling story, the huge depth of interaction, or any of the other ways in which the game demonstrates its outrageous surfeit of quality. It's because this is a game so coherent, you start to believe that you could actually live in it.
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    100
    BioWare took the existing narrative and didn't just continue it, but built it into the framework of this sequel. Games like Quest for Glory and Baldur's Gate tip-toed in these waters years ago, and Dragon Age: Origins showed us real consequences just recently, but ME2 creates true continuity, where every decision truly matters.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 17, 2011
    100
    Yes, ME2 isn't perhaps the most technical RPG ever created, but it's easily one of the slickest, bearing the unmistakable master craftsmanship of RPG luminaries, BioWare. Not only is this supersized Sony edition of ME2 outstanding value for money – it also represents a sound long-term investment. If the Mass Effect 3 reveals are anything to go by, the conclusion of this saga will be similarly unmissable and the galactic apocalypse will be decided in our own backyard: Earth. [March 2011, p70]
  4. Jan 24, 2011
    94
    Mass Effect 2 is an amazing RPG with an unbeatable cinematic feeling and a history and characters simply astonishing. This is a game that demands to be played by every PlayStation 3 user no matter if you don't have the first one, because it's the very definition of what the Next-Gen wants to be.
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    91
    Mass Effect 2 is a fantastic game regardless of platform, and anyone who doesn't own an Xbox 360 should definitely experience it on PS3. Nevertheless, the 360 version is still the way to go. The continuity of customization offered by the dozens of decision links between the first two games were easily the most satisfying thing about ME2, and that's largely lost on PS3.
  6. Feb 3, 2011
    90
    A full packed version of the epic space RPG. The interactive comic that sums up Mass Effect is well made and the same goes for the port in general. A must if you haven't already played it.
  7. Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Mass Effect 2 is one of the greatest games of 2010 on the 360 and the PC, and remains so on the PS3. Epic, thrilling, the original story of this space adventure has been enhanced with the inclusion of the DLC add-ons already released on the other platforms. A must-have.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 199
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. I own this on pc, xbox and ps3 and I still want to pump my fist in the air and cheer for Shepard and my teamOne of the best games ever made. I own this on pc, xbox and ps3 and I still want to pump my fist in the air and cheer for Shepard and my team when taking down the collectors. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This game is in my top 10 ever played games, and that says a lot. The story is amazing, characters are amazing and the graphics are nearlyThis game is in my top 10 ever played games, and that says a lot. The story is amazing, characters are amazing and the graphics are nearly perfect. To like this game you must have a interest in the story otherwise you will be bored in a halve hour that's for sure. But even then you should go to a doctor when you do not like this game. So therefore a 9.8. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Gonna join the party train over here and give this a 10. Everything is fabulous. The only things worth **** about are the ridiculously longGonna join the party train over here and give this a 10. Everything is fabulous. The only things worth **** about are the ridiculously long loading times and the bugs. C'mon Bioware, get your stuff together! Despite this, though, it's still amazing. Go buy it. I'm serious. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2017
    9
    Never played mass effect 1 , but I think it can't be better then this level
    The graphics ( I think ) are very great for its time , the combat
    Never played mass effect 1 , but I think it can't be better then this level
    The graphics ( I think ) are very great for its time , the combat was already pretty deep , the story the enemies all of it was perfect, my second favorite ps3 game
    The only thing is that i saw bugs and the loading was pretty long.
    Still , if you don't have this game , you have no life
    Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    I agree i absolutely loved this game. EVERYTHING about it was superb from the characters the planet excavation this game was epic. This gameI agree i absolutely loved this game. EVERYTHING about it was superb from the characters the planet excavation this game was epic. This game was the only thing that helped me over come an extremely bad toothache. I'm hoping my anticipation for the next install isn't a big let down like many great games before it a la FF13 and MW3 Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    A damn fine game, that more than delivers on the promise of its predecessor. Combining BioWare's signature world building and interactiveA damn fine game, that more than delivers on the promise of its predecessor. Combining BioWare's signature world building and interactive narratives with a polished third person shooter mechanic Mass Effect 2 is an atmospheric, character based action-roleplayer that continues Commander Shepard's struggle against the godlike Reapers and their proxies. Although not without a few minor flaws (inventory and skills a bit too streamlined for some tastes, a bland planet scanning mechanic replacing the wonky driving sections of ME1, and a few levels that are not much more than corridors), Mass Effect 2 certainly deserves all of its GOTY awards for 2010. The art direction, voice acting, and music are all part of a quality presentation that more than makes up for those minor nitpicks, and it also succeeds in a rarely tried experiment of importing saves from ME1, providing a unique and personalised continuous experience throughout the franchise for each player. Add to this a selection of reasonably chunky DLC, including the excellent "Lair of the Shadow Broker", this is a grand space opera to even rival the likes of Star Wars and Star Trek. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2011
    1
    Up to this point this is the worst version of the game. Please note that I really wanted to like this game and, while it worked, it was great.Up to this point this is the worst version of the game. Please note that I really wanted to like this game and, while it worked, it was great. But then the issues happened:
    Graphical glitches, audio out of synch by several seconds, dropping framerate, extremely long loading screens and freezing issues were all that common. I would consider these issues as minor hindrances, until the straw that broke the camel's back arrives: corrupted saves.
    That's right. The game, at random, will corrupt all the save files and make all your progress moot. In any other game that would be serious, in a game that is 20+ hours long, its a show stopper. In addition to that, the fact that saves are locked makes this issue pretty much impossible to workaround.
    As I said, I really wanted to like this game, but after this issue, I don't want to spend tens of hours and having it all destroyed because of a bad port.
    I will change the score when and if Bioware stands up and fixes these issues. Until then, this is the only way customers like me can force some pressure in an corporation not to sell subpar ports.
    Expand

See all 199 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.