Mass Effect 2 PlayStation 3

Mass Effect 2 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is an emotionally charged science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life and mysterious, uncharted planets. In Mass Effect 2, players will once again step into the role of the heroic Commander Shepard, commanding their crew of someThe Mass Effect trilogy is an emotionally charged science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life and mysterious, uncharted planets. In Mass Effect 2, players will once again step into the role of the heroic Commander Shepard, commanding their crew of some of the most dangerous operatives from across the galaxy on a mission so challenging that it's potentially suicidal. Featuring intense shooter action, a rich futuristic storyline, space exploration and emotionally engaging character interaction, the game delivers an unparalleled cinematic experience. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    100
    That's what makes Mass Effect 2 great. Not the outstanding action, the compelling story, the huge depth of interaction, or any of the other ways in which the game demonstrates its outrageous surfeit of quality. It's because this is a game so coherent, you start to believe that you could actually live in it.
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    100
    BioWare took the existing narrative and didn't just continue it, but built it into the framework of this sequel. Games like Quest for Glory and Baldur's Gate tip-toed in these waters years ago, and Dragon Age: Origins showed us real consequences just recently, but ME2 creates true continuity, where every decision truly matters.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 17, 2011
    100
    Yes, ME2 isn't perhaps the most technical RPG ever created, but it's easily one of the slickest, bearing the unmistakable master craftsmanship of RPG luminaries, BioWare. Not only is this supersized Sony edition of ME2 outstanding value for money – it also represents a sound long-term investment. If the Mass Effect 3 reveals are anything to go by, the conclusion of this saga will be similarly unmissable and the galactic apocalypse will be decided in our own backyard: Earth. [March 2011, p70]
  4. Jan 24, 2011
    94
    Mass Effect 2 is an amazing RPG with an unbeatable cinematic feeling and a history and characters simply astonishing. This is a game that demands to be played by every PlayStation 3 user no matter if you don't have the first one, because it's the very definition of what the Next-Gen wants to be.
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    91
    Mass Effect 2 is a fantastic game regardless of platform, and anyone who doesn't own an Xbox 360 should definitely experience it on PS3. Nevertheless, the 360 version is still the way to go. The continuity of customization offered by the dozens of decision links between the first two games were easily the most satisfying thing about ME2, and that's largely lost on PS3.
  6. Feb 3, 2011
    90
    A full packed version of the epic space RPG. The interactive comic that sums up Mass Effect is well made and the same goes for the port in general. A must if you haven't already played it.
  7. Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Mass Effect 2 is one of the greatest games of 2010 on the 360 and the PC, and remains so on the PS3. Epic, thrilling, the original story of this space adventure has been enhanced with the inclusion of the DLC add-ons already released on the other platforms. A must-have.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 196
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. I own this on pc, xbox and ps3 and I still want to pump my fist in the air and cheer for Shepard and my teamOne of the best games ever made. I own this on pc, xbox and ps3 and I still want to pump my fist in the air and cheer for Shepard and my team when taking down the collectors. Expand
  2. May 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Because of how deep this game takes you, it's worth it buying the DLC. The bugs are passable, even. I've done everything in this game and am looking forward to future DLC. I especially love the many choices you can make. A-ma-zing. Good or bad Shepard? Choice is yours! Expand
  3. May 27, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a reason to buy to a next-gen system and start playing video games if you ever needed a reason. From the start of this one,Mass Effect 2 is a reason to buy to a next-gen system and start playing video games if you ever needed a reason. From the start of this one, you're flying through the darkest corners of space all to somehow stop a sentient race of machines from destroying civilization as we've come to know it.
    The storyline is great, the graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is tight as are the controls. The voice acting is top notch with 5 star actors such as Martin Sheen playing the role of the Illusive Man. Joker is also played by Buffy's own Seth Green, who is hilarious everytime he opens his mouth or breaks a bone(you'll see what I mean when you play!)
    Get up and go buy this game right now. RIGHT NOW!
    Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2017
    9
    The best ME in the series. Well, actually I like ME1 more, because it had more of that RPG element, and smelled more of Star Trek. But ME2The best ME in the series. Well, actually I like ME1 more, because it had more of that RPG element, and smelled more of Star Trek. But ME2 improves the shooting system, the action is better scripted. But the best is, like many Bioware games, the story. Interesting, intriguing, it catches you from the very first second. You want to know more about the characters (some with more charisma than others), you also want to know more about the ME world, even if you know it's all fake. That's the true pure of narrative. Besides the lack of RPG, I'd also blame on EA for all those DLC, some of them (Arrival) is clue for ME3. Other than that, little more, like, the lack of interactivity with the environment, and how rigid can the characters be at times (and some bugs due to the conversion to Unreal Engine for the PS3). Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    I am The Destroyer. I will break games, complain about the littlest detail, and tell you whether or not the game is worth buying. A lot ofI am The Destroyer. I will break games, complain about the littlest detail, and tell you whether or not the game is worth buying. A lot of things to say, but can't due to the 5000 character limit. In the interest of fairness, the review is based on without an import or DLC.

    1. Story
    2 years have passed since Commander Shepard (character you play as) ended Sovereign's invasion along with the threat of the Geth. But the war with the reapers has just begun.
    In the beginning, the Normandy get's attacked & destroyed, with Commander Shepard sacrificing themselves in process in order to save his/her crew. Their body is then recovered by an underground terrorist organization known as Cerberus, where they eject billions of credits in order to bring Shepard back from the dead. A new enemy known as the Collectors has revealed itself overtime, and Cerberus tasks the newly born Shepard to bring them down before they wipe humanity from existence. But will Shepard be able to gain trust from his/her squadmates, and successfully adapt to the new atmosphere that surrounds them?

    2. Voice Acting
    This is what we need for voice acting! This is perfect! I have never heard such a beautiful cast in like ever! When the actors & actresses speak, you're believing it, and it brings tears to your eyes because you never thought this would ever be possible.

    3. Graphics and Visuals
    Sometimes the frame rates go a little slow; and when that happens, you begin to notice a little bit of fuzzyness of pixels. But when it doesn't happen, it is astounding! Galaxy maps are detailed to the core with colourful design. Areas you explore during combat are never bland or boring to look at. The sci-fi textures are pushed to it's limit. If this art doesn't impress you, nothing will!

    4. Gameplay
    Gameplay refers to it's battle system, customization & level up, and the galaxy map exploration. Put it all together and it's Awesome.

    -Battle System-
    There are plenty of areas to take cover at all times. Every weapon in this game is deadly enough or usable in some way. Boss enemies are balanced, provide a challenge, and get introduced to you at the best possible timing. The game is very balanced. Of course it can be annoying when all your powers are on charge and you have a krogan coming after you at close range, but this still adds to the experience. As you play on, you'll have to develop strategies and come up with tactics just to get through areas.

    -Customization-
    You get plenty of variety in this game, form the class you choose to play as, the character's appearance, even their armor will change visually. The weapon variety however will feel limited, but it's all due to balancing. When you finally acquire them, the game gives you plenty of squadmates. Customization will not feel dead here.

    -Galaxy Exploration-
    Exploring the galaxy is only fun on your first playthrough, and it can't be explained why in this review due to spoilers. From 2nd playthrough and beyond, it will be boring, fortunately not boring enough to deduct from the experience.

    5. Soundtrack
    And yet, another amazing thing done with this game. Though it does kind of feel empty having no music when walking around most of your ship. The mood music for cut-scenes was chosen excellently, and more-so after you finish a mission you'll really feel like you've accomplished something.

    6. Bugs
    Even the most perfect of games seems to be hit in the PS3 era, and there's one bug that is the most evil of them all: corrupted saves. It's happened to me, and it's happened to many other players. And then there's these bugs...
    - The galaxy map will play itself twice if you exit to the Normandy and re-enter the map quickly.
    - Storyline cut-scenes do not proceed sometimes, forcing you to reload a save.
    - Sometimes loading screens will take 3 times longer than they should.

    7. Personal Enjoyment
    I have done so many playthroughs by now that I've lost count. This game packs an experience that you will never feel anywhere else.

    8. Overall Verdict
    The only thing that's holding this back from a perfect rating is the corrupted saves. Even the other bugs aren't that bad because of the amount of auto saves given, and because crashes don't happen often. Mass Effect 2 earns it's high rating, and I am going to issue this a 9 out of 10! This game deserved to be Saved instead of destroyed. Nice one, Bioware! Keep up the good work!
    Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    I agree i absolutely loved this game. EVERYTHING about it was superb from the characters the planet excavation this game was epic. This gameI agree i absolutely loved this game. EVERYTHING about it was superb from the characters the planet excavation this game was epic. This game was the only thing that helped me over come an extremely bad toothache. I'm hoping my anticipation for the next install isn't a big let down like many great games before it a la FF13 and MW3 Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2011
    1
    Up to this point this is the worst version of the game. Please note that I really wanted to like this game and, while it worked, it was great.Up to this point this is the worst version of the game. Please note that I really wanted to like this game and, while it worked, it was great. But then the issues happened:
    Graphical glitches, audio out of synch by several seconds, dropping framerate, extremely long loading screens and freezing issues were all that common. I would consider these issues as minor hindrances, until the straw that broke the camel's back arrives: corrupted saves.
    That's right. The game, at random, will corrupt all the save files and make all your progress moot. In any other game that would be serious, in a game that is 20+ hours long, its a show stopper. In addition to that, the fact that saves are locked makes this issue pretty much impossible to workaround.
    As I said, I really wanted to like this game, but after this issue, I don't want to spend tens of hours and having it all destroyed because of a bad port.
    I will change the score when and if Bioware stands up and fixes these issues. Until then, this is the only way customers like me can force some pressure in an corporation not to sell subpar ports.
    Collapse

See all 196 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.