User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 190

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    Mass effect on ps3 seems like it was meant to be, i played the 360 version first, very good but is plagued with bugs and so is the ps3 version, but only slightly. The improved loading quickness and the sharpness of textures makes this port very good indeed. I would recommend getting it on ps3 as it is very good and adds to your mass effect collection nicely.
  2. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Just finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great and explains all the background narratives. And uploading your ME1 character into ME2 opens up new dialog options. ME1 is perhaps the best of the series. Gameplay is fun, if not as polished as ME2. It was fun being a badass as you levelled up. It's more of an RPG than the others, and has great storylines. There were some occasional framerate issues and I had to restart once or twice. Also, the final battle froze twice so I had to delete and reinstall the game data. But it was totally worth it. It was nowhere near as glitchy as Skyrim, and similairly worth it for a great game. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    If you've played Mass Effect 2 and 3 before you played Mass Effect, it will take a little while to get used to how this game is set up, because it is very different from the other two games in the series. First, I'll start with the things I like about this game compared to the others. First of all, this game is extremely fun to play as a biotic. The powers are good and they work how they should. Also, each power has it's own recharge time, so you can almost constantly be using your powers. I've also played through the game as a soldier, which was fun, but I didn't find it as enjoyable as the biotic playthrough. This game definitely feels more like an RPG than ME2 and ME3, some ways are good, some ways are bad. First of all, I prefer the combat without the thermal clips. It makes the game feel more unique. Secondly, I like how much you can explore places like the Citadel. I also prefer this level up system to the other two games'. The first negative element is that the game has much worse graphics than ME2 and ME3. Secondly, the combat isn't as smooth. Another problem is that after missions you often have to run all the way back to the Normandy, which is annoying, (See Noveria). The inventory system is a mess. It wouldn't be a problem if there wasn't a limit, but there is and it's annoying to have to clear it out. Overall though, the game is good. You can definitely tell BioWare cleaned up ME2 and ME3 when compared to this game, unfortunately in some areas they cut out a little too much, but the series as a whole is really good. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    I'm glad Bioware decided to bring ME1 to the PS3 after all these years. The story is great and the graphics still hold up well for a 2007 game. If I had known what I had been missing out on all this time then that would have made waiting until now to play it on my PS3 even harder than it already was.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    Overall, not a bad game, but not a great one either. A good story is ruined by below average combat and the worst driving in any game ever. Also there are tonnes of bugs that should have been ironed out, from a couple of hours in I just wanted the game to end so I could move on to the good mass effect games. Don't play unless your desperate to do the full trilogy.
  6. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Mass Effect deserves nothing short of a 10. Sure this game is old with outdated graphics and average gameplay but so was the original Metal Gear Solid. Like Metal Gear Solid, Mass Effect is the beginning of one of the most prestigious gaming experience to ever come to videogames. The PS3 version of Mass Effect does play better than the XBOX 360 version with little to no frame rate issues, faster load times, and with the same control scheme as the 360 I have found that Mass Effect is more comfortable to play than its sequels. For PS3 owners finally being able to meet and interact with characters you've only seen in the sequels will make you come to respect and care for them (which is a trait absent from most games today) even if you don't know what part they will play in your future experience. In Mass Effect you can choose to be a hero or a badass who likes to get things done the easy way, but the easy way might lead to future consequences. In Mass Effect your choices are your own, the way you act to shipmates, whether you show mercy to a fallen foe or fill them with enough plasma to pop a tank, to whether you are a male or female Shepard with a tragic past, and deciding whether helpless people should be saved or sacrificed. I have never played a better videogame trilogy, this trilogy that will make you laugh, cry, and scream for just one more character to chat with, another alien to blast into oblivion, or another planet to explore. Mass Effect is for videogames as Star Wars is for movies as the Lord of the Rings is for books and as the Mona Lisa is for art. The journey through Mass Effect has been THE greatest videogame experience that I have ever had, no other series (except Metal Gear Solid) has come close to topping this trilogy, and none ever will. The journey everyone must experience starts here with Mass Effect. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    0
    Terrible port. This version even runs worst than the 360 from half a decade ago. I am extremely disappointed but it isn't unexpected as ME2 and 3 on PS3 were a full game. The Mass Effect trilogy on Sony's platform is like a beta of the actually thing but it is laughable that these came after the original. If you own a PC or 360 get this on either of those. I'm glad ME is now on the PS3 but I feel that this is really a cash grab. I sold my 360 and now I wish I haven't. Mass Effect on PS3 really isn't worth picking up. The game froze numerous time, the framerate is actually worst than the original and graphic isn' as sharp. Expand
  8. May 6, 2013
    8
    Bought the Trilogy since this was the first time I've had the luxury of playing any of the Mass Effect games. So unlike other people, I had nothing to compare it to and no backstory to fill in any gaps. The story is awesome and so is the gameplay, and you can't help but play it more than once so that you can hear all the different diologues when going renegade or paragon. A truely enjoyable game. Now.. on to the 2nd one!! Expand
  9. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Bioware have created an incredible galaxy here, in my opinion its arguably better than star wars. The gameplay may be a little clunky, but its fun, collecting new weapons, armour and mods is tons of fun. The story is so engrossing and the characters are so believable and 3 dimensional, you will feel some emotion towards each of the main cast. It is a fantastic game, not too pricey, but worth every penny. Expand
  10. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    The Very Game that nobody believe would EVER be seen and played on Sony's Console. but five years, a buyout from EA of Bioware and improved graphics later, here we are. Even though playing a downgradable version of the sequels to come, the gameplay, the graphics and characters look very crisp, clean and awesome to look and play again and again. Shout Out to Bioware and Edge of Reality for bringing Shepard's opening adventure against Saren. Mass Effect on PS3 is not just game, it's an Experience. Expand
  11. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    played mass effect on xbox,now playing on ps3, always fun! Bugs are in all games, just stop to compare xbox and ps3 it is stupid and pointless! tastes are different! Just enjoy and have fun, that is what is missing today! how game looks become more important then how it plays! Mass effect 1 is better then ME2 in so many ways, ME3 combines 1 and 2, and gives a great filling how it should be from the start! Expand
  12. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I sometimes wait to write reviews...mostly because I'm a salad bar gamer- when I buy a game I incorporate it into my existing collection and take my time. This being said Mass Effect was a game I've always wanted to play, and I almost bought a 360 for it alone. I was overjoyed when ME2 came to the PS3 and enjoyed it thoroughly (I still own my original copy) and ME3 came along (which I enjoyed thoroughly, it's the greatest futuristic epic in all of gaming) but I always felt like I missed out not playing ME. When it finally released on PS3 I bought it immediately and let me say....I enjoyed it thoroughly. Technically speaking ME is rather primitive in many ways compared to ME2 whcih is to be expected given that ME2 is an evolution from ME. That should be taken as a given but should it scare interested people away? Not at all. ME graphically runs on an older engine (PS3 owners are really spoiled here, our version of ME2 ran on the same engine as ME3 which is why it's better looking than the 360 version) which is interesting insomuch as comparing it to other offerings of 2006-07 and it is clearly superior to Elder Scrolls: Oblivion, etc.- in many ways it still holds up well. ME is a good deal shorter than ME2 as well but there again is the benefit of evolution; ME2 was also built to be more immersive in its storytelling (in the same way Uncharted 2 evolved from Uncharted). Those are the negatives for a 5 year old game just now getting released: it's technologically inferior and less immersive overall. The controls are also spotty and the cover mechanic is again inferior to successive entries.

    This being said ME is an experience any series fan should have as it accomplishes something only people who started with ME2 can truly appreciate: completeness. When I started a new game on ME I immediately felt fully initiated to Mass Effect; ME2 suddenly had a greater context and more drama to it than ever before. The Sheppard you create in ME is someone you grow with- his/her friendship with Wrex or Garrus or Tali suddenly has great depth. Decisions made in the graphic novel version of ME2 always felt like a "choose your own adventure" book which gave the game a "drop in" quality leaving a PS3 owner to feel slightly dislocated from characters and events that carry over into ME2 which was previously a downside in regards to immersion. When you play the series in chronological order events that can result in picking and choosing who dies take on a new dimension. This is the main reason to own and play Mass Effect: experiencing the story hollistically and even though in many ways it is primitive compared to successive games overall it still delivers top-notch entertainment value. Also the PS3 version of Mass Effect has all of the DLC built in which is a bonus; previously XBox 360 owners had to pay for it seperately. The final verdict is if you approach Mass Effect like its an extension of the gameplay from ME2 or 3 you'll be disappointed. But if you approach the game based upon its own merits with the idea of experiencing a luxury previously restricted to 360 owners you'll be pleasantly surprised. Finally, if you're someone like me and you want to see how log running NPCs such as Tali, Garrus, Liara, Wrex and/ or Ashley and Kaiden Alenko became veteran acquaintances of Cmd. Sheppard you'll enjoy this game. Finally if you want to understand how the story unfolds you really need to play all three to totally enjoy the gem of this generation that is Mass Effect.
    Expand
  13. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Interesting game, good RPG personalization, but the controls are really weird, sometimes frustrating.
    PS3 version has a lot of bugs, freezing, and sometimes takes a world to load an stage.
  14. Dec 2, 2013
    7
    Soldiering through the repetitive, tiresome combat of the first 17 hours made the balls-tighteningly awesome finale all the more insanely epic. My struggle to be a competent player mirrored Shep's struggle to be a competent leader. We fought long and hard to make it to the climax, and oh boy was it a climax. One of the best stories in all of gaming, surpassed by its successor in usability, but not in mental anguish.

    As for the PS3 port, it's about on the same level as Mass Effect 2 was in terms of performance. You get the usual lack of anti-aliasing and some dodgy framerate during fights, but for the most part it's pretty solid. I'd previously played ME1 on PC, and going through it on console really hammers home just how much they improved all aspects of the moment-to-moment gameplay in the sequel. Just as well that there's plenty of delicious dialogue trees to dive into and uncharted worlds to explore (albeit in that sodding... bouncing.. truck.. thing...)

    If you can stand the load times, it's definitely worth adding this to your collection to see how it all began, before playing the vastly more fun and epic sequels.
    Expand
  15. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Nice story, nice gameplay and overall a pretty nice experience. Nothing revolutionizing though and if it hadn't been for the other games in the series i probably wouldn't have played it more than once.
  16. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    This game is unquestionably amazing. Even if it has not aged well, one has to look past that and simply accept they're playing a 6 year old game here. I too was frustrated at first, but once you get past the rough edges it becomes an incredibly enjoyable experience. The story is well told and the sound and visuals are stunning. The gameplay is a healthy mix of FPS and RPG, even though at times I found this mix to be somewhat overdone. At times when the game needs to be a shooter, it tries too hard too hard to be an RPG and vice versa during other times. This becomes obvious during boss battles, wich for spoiler's sake I won't talk too much about but let's just say they feel lacking, even at harder difficulties. My biggest gripe with the game however isn't so much a problem with mass effect itself, it's with the developper/publisher. I don't know if this is due to the PS3 or the game itself but let me make one thing clear: if you want a smooth and bug free experience, do NOT play this game on PS3. Either go for the 360 version or better yet, play the PC version, it will save you a lot of frustration. This game (along with other bioware titles I've played on PS3 in the past) has caused my PS3 to freeze on numerous occasions, and while a simple reboot fixes this in most cases, there is nothing more aggravating than losing every shred of progress you've made due to the game crashing (I had to beat the final boss on insanity difficulty 3 times before I got through the entire ending without crashing...). Truly horrid coding on Bioware's part. Nevertheless I applaud this game, bugs and bad coding isn't the game's fault and won't affect my score in the slightest, I just hope the next installment of the franchise has better performance on PS3. Expand
  17. May 3, 2013
    7
    The first Xbox exclusive, now multi-platform Mass Effect trilogy is without a doubt one of the most important games of the generation, where decision-based games starred in the front cover with GOTY Awards and financial reception. I thought I should try Mass Effect, and as I saw the trilogy in offer in PlayStation Store, why not jump in? Maybe buying it on this platform this way wasn't the best idea.
    The Ps3 version of ME is unfortunately, not as polished and detailed as the PC or Xbox versions. Some glitches, bugs and textures can be passed, some can not. The game, still, is visually impressive. Sometimes, breathtaking sights from an asteroid to an unknown planet pop out and I simply awe, amazed. But Mass Effect's visuals are another page. The main thing (Or at least at the trilogy, as the first entry didn't deliver as much) is the story, or even further, the decisions. Mass Effect's story feels like a summer blockbuster from beginning to end, but with some REALLY tough choices to make in the middle that change your story. Sometimes, I've spent 20 minutes trying to figure out the pros and cons of each choice. The story delivers for its duration. Mass Effect isn't really as long as they sey. You have both Primary and Secondary missions. Doing only Primary missions will take you about 12 hours only. Doing the Secondary and Exploring will extend your gameplay further, around 30 hours. Unfortunately, the secondary missions are ridiculously similar: Although some are effective and enjoyable (Mostly DLC), most of them feel like doing the same thing in a place with a different skin, or scavenging for cheap collectibles. The worst thing is that ones you complete the primary missions, you can't go back to complete the remaining assignments. Its a big detail. I played through the game for 24 hours completing most of the assignments, except the ones you have to collect stuff. I really wanted to complete them, but I finished all primary missions, and the game made me start everything all over again. This was also positive, as I could make different decisions and see their outbacks, although watching everything again is a little bit unappealing.
    Now, something really arguable about the game is the Gameplay. You may found it confusing at first, and half the game beaten, you will start getting used to it. That's because ME's gameplay isn't polished or well-explained. They basically tell you "Shoot Stuff" but that's not all you have to do. During the game, you gather XP points so then you can upgrade skills (And skills of your squad) and those skills unlock different kind of super-powers for battle. Some of this super-powers are great. Some others are awfully unuseful. The game also presents three difficulties at first (Casual, Normal and Hard) and then unlocks two alternative modes (Hardcore and Insanity). I've found challenge only in the alternative modes and found the original difficulties incredibly easies. Some boss battles (Of the few) pushed me to limits once, but never twice. ME was meant to be played on Hard, and if you want some more spice, push yourself to the alternative modes (Specially Hardcore, as Insanity feels more as a bugged, unfair mode).
    At first, I wasn't convinced at all about Mass Effect. The buggy Ps3 version, the piece-of-cake difficulty and the clunky gameplay made me feel lost in the dazzle of the game. It is when you get the game when it truly shines, although never achieving the heights of its sequel and sequel's sequel. Mass Effect is a game you can play if you want, but will not harm you if pass out this one in the trilogy. It was fun ride, but I had a bitter taste hard to wash since the beginning
    Expand
  18. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    The beginning of the Mass Effect Trilogy has finally come to PS3 after being released on Xbox 360 and PC a long time ago, Whilst the game is great there are a few things that bring it back mainly being technical issues and a lack of polish that the other games in the series have, It has not aged well but that doesn't take away from the fact that the game has a fantastic story, solid gameplay (Unpolished but decent), great characters and it begins one of the best game series of this generation, If you plan on playing the Mass Effect Trilogy then you should start with the original despite some of it's issues, even if you have already played Mass Effect 2 and 3 but not the original then you should play it to see how the story begins in full detail, It's worth the purchase and you won't be disappointed if you can get past the issues it has. Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    I'm playing the Mass Effect series quite a long time after release, but I've just completed the trilogy.

    ME1 is a great start. The story is good. You build your team and care about them. The mechanics are good. The follow through from one game to the next (you import your character to the next game) is good. The Sound, music and voice acting is good. The graphics get noticeably better
    from one game to the next, but ME 1 still looks good.

    ME is right up there with Skyrim as an epic RPG.
    Expand
  20. Dec 29, 2013
    6
    I went for quick'n'casual and played through the main missions in 10 hours. Got plenty of dialogue and didn't skip a cutscene. Exciting story, outstanding fantasy, a few good puzzles. But mostly, it is a shooter, and I didn't find that main component interesting enough to warrant a higher score. The minimalistic surfaces and textures gave it a cool comic book style that I was genuinely in awe of here in 2013. The sequels are supposed to be even prettier. Expand
  21. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Mass Effect for the Playstation 3 is a downgraded port that appears to amplify the bugs and issues that plagued the original, and in the long run this subtracts from the overall enjoyment that Xbox 360 owners were inclined to. However, if the Playstation 3 is your only entryway into the series, then don't let these trivial issues barricade you from one of of the richest RPG stories to ever ever grace the gaming community. Expand
  22. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of course Bioware would eventually bundle the mass effect games together and finally have the first mass effect game imported to the ps3. They wanted to piss me off and have me spend more money of the mass effect 2 and 3 games separate first before having me spend half of what I paid for those 2 separate games on the complete set, knowing that I would pay for the whole trilogy because I love it so much and I finally get to experience the first game. Luckily they have a digital copy of it online, I guess it wasn't all bad. RIGHT?

    +Well, what can I say about the game, the story is set as the beginning of Commander Shepard's rise to glory, the introduction to the Mass Effect universe, as well as the introduction to your companions. So the storyline is solid. +Game play wise it's not as refined as the ME2; for example the sprinting seems random at times and the enemy AI is borderline annoying to stupid, however it's still an enjoyable shooting game. +The RPG aspect is really good; customization of armor and weapons plus a lot more to class skill tree than in ME2 and ME3; like how certain classes has the ability to increase the chances of opening containers or hack electronic equipments. I now understand that the RPG aspect for the latter installments really got dumb down for the more action packed shooting aspect of the game. +The ending and the end boss was also solid, except for the whole being shot in the head twice and still coming back to live and try to kill you. (So if the first two installment have a boss battle, how come the third installment didn't?) +Also, patches from Bioware gave PS3 Mass Effect games the function to import properly from beginning to end and ignore the need for the Dark Horse Comic book in Mass Effect 2. -Now granted this game is not without its' flaw, the glitches in this game can be really annoying to down right game breaking, luckily for me the glitches only happen once in my play through(really early in the game and not midway). -The freaking slow frame rate for the skin materials to appear on the character model can be really annoying, but hey, if I can kind of tolerate the messed up sync of the audio and the visual in Mass Effect 2, I can kind of tolerate the messed up frame rate in this game. -I cannot believe I would ever want to play through the vehicle stages from the second installment, over the mandatory vehicle stages covering almost halve of the game. Now I do like this terrain tank more than the hover craft in the second installment, since I can still save while in the tank, it takes more hit, and wields a secondary weapon. However, it is still too much, too many. -Finally, this game is only for the ps3 owners who wanted the whole experience of playing through Mass Effect from beginning to end. It doesn't offer anything new to the players that already played through the trilogy from beginning to end. No new weapon, no new armor, no new mission, no new characters, no new cut scenes, etc,. -In fact, not all the dlc from the XBOX version got imported into the PS3 version.
    Expand
  23. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    To many bugs made this game absolutely unplayable.

    this is a total shame... i never played a game like this before... I have to redo the ending so many many times because of massives freezes...
  24. May 27, 2013
    10
    A great introduction to an excellent series, well worth a purchase if you are a fan of the later two. The characterisation is exquisite, the combat mechanics are solid.
  25. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt the best series i've ever come to play! So much replay value! Its insane and I can't describe it enough. THIS IS A MUST BUY AND PLAY EXPERIENCE. Trust me on this!

    Pros:
    Just... wow (useless pros. I know :v)
    Story and characters are so well done!

    Cons:
    Combat can get a little linear
    No coop
  26. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    There are some moments in gaming where you just know right off the bat that you are in for an incredible experience. No doubt is in your mind as you take your first step into the great unknown of a new adventure. When Mass Effect's title screen first appeared, and I heard the beautiful galactic overture that now rests on my iPod whenever I need it, I knew that I was in for an unbelievable ride.
    Mass Effect is an amazing game from start to finish and quite possibly my favorite RPG of all time. You play Commander Shepard, a military hero who has just been promoted to an elite group of crime-fighters known as the Specters. Your first mission is to find a rogue agent named Saren, not only uncovering his diabolical plans for the Citadel but also establishing faith in the human race. The greatest aspect of the game is the way your decisions impact the narrative. Every conversation and choice you make impacts the way your crew views you, as well as the rest of the galaxy. You can be a peace-seeking hero who resolves conflicts with words before fists or a ruthless renegade who decimates anyone or anything in his path. While it would have been nice to have a middle ground (it is imperative that you choose one side or the other in order to unlock crucial conversation options) or even a system of conversing where the good and bad options weren't spelled out for you (like in the Walking Dead), Mass Effect makes you feel in the driver's seat. This is YOUR story, and your friends will live or die based on your decisions.
    Combat is engaging and fully functional. There are very few fighting bugs ad each battle, whether it be drones or reanimated human corpses called Husks, is a blast. One of the greatest features of the game is the amount of depth in its customization mode. Everything you own, from your armor to your weapon to the bullets that you fire, can be changed and traded based on your personal preference. While tedious at times, the result is an added sense of immersion that makes you feel like you are your own unique soldier.
    In addition, your interactions with your allies are impeccably done. Each character feels real in its own right and each difficult choice you make throughout the game has a visible impact on each one. You can even romance one of your crewmates in genuinely touching scenes of affection, all of which carries over into the next installment.
    Despite all these incredible features, Mass Effect does carry drawbacks. Side missions and planetary exploration on your little rover is incredibly dull and repetitive. Each base is a carbon copy of the last and there is little variety between each mission. In addition, the system of currency in the game is beyond broken. Since you keep each individual piece of equipment you come across, you can sell a majority of your inventory for an easy profit, thereby allowing you to buy the best weapons in the game early on. On top of all this, the characters themselves are, for the most part, bland. Apart from Garrus, Tali, and Liara, the rest of the game's characters left no impact on my expedition. In fact, during one scene I had to choose between two of the characters who I felt no attachment to, feeling like a missed opportunity since it could have featured an extremely difficult decision rather than a flip of the coin. Also, the PS3 port has strange graphical problems such as awkward textures and downright bizarre facial animations.
    Nearly all of these bugs are excusable when you see the finished result. Mass Effect is a timeless space odyssey that will make you really think about the impact you want to leave on this world. The choices you make travel throughout the rest of the trilogy, so each saved life and bullet fired means a lot in the long run. So be prepared when boarding the Normandy. You are in for a journey that lives or dies with you, and never before has the weight of the galaxy rested on your shoulders. Good luck.

    9.3/10
    Expand
  27. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    I absolutely love Mass Effect. The game looks good and the story is entertaining. The choices you make effect your experience throughout all three Mass Effect games, which gives the older Mass Effect installments higher replay value. It's not perfect, but it is close! Mass Effect 2 only improves on ME1's mechanics and offers a slightly higher degree of complexity to the game.. but play this first though! Great game. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. The game's appearance remains unaltered, which sounds good, but unfortunately it isn't. The game doesn't look bad, but it certainly looks dated. From a cinematic standpoint everything's fine, but the numerous lip-sync errors bothered us immensely. [February 2013, p.80]
  2. As an interactive story it's one hell of a good piece of entertainment. Taking your first tentative steps into this seriously rich universe, planting the seeds for larger implications later in the series, and tangling with one of the best antagonists ever, Saren, is a trip well worth taking. There's a rich, colourful cast you'll want to meet for the first time (Urdnot Wrex in particular) and very poignant moments to be had (e.g. becoming a Spectre). These are watershed gaming moments that the ME2's 'introductory' comic book could never hope to encapsulate. [January 2013, p69]
  3. 83
    The original Mass Effect has finally arrived on the PlayStation 3, which completes the trilogy without hopping consoles. Even though the game shows obvious and often obtrusive signs of age, the original shooter RPG still holds up and delivers an experience to fans who have wanted it for so long.