Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. May 14, 2012
    90
    The gameplay is simple yet satisfying, but it's entirely in the service of a strongly-authored narrative. Players aren't at the liberty to roam, to explore, or to shake things up. Some might find this too controlling, but in return for your freedom, you're rewarded with a mature genre piece which is also a finely-realised character study.
  2. May 15, 2012
    90
    With savage gunplay and an absorbing personal story, Max Payne 3 is an exhilarating shooter that grabs hold of you and doesn't let go.
  3. May 14, 2012
    93
    As much as Max Payne 3 is a fascinating portrait of a man, it tells a great, action-packed story that runs in-stride with Max's inner turmoil.
  4. May 25, 2012
    100
    If you're at all a fan of shooters, then I urge you to run out and pick up Max Payne 3. It's a great follow-up to one of the best third person shooter franchises around, and while it certainly changes up familiar elements of the series, pretty much all of the changes work out really well. The shooting is, bar none, some of the best you'll see out of this generation of consoles, and really begs to experienced. So do yourself a favor and pick this one up, it really shouldn't be missed.
  5. May 14, 2012
    94
    With a perfect narrative and an adrenalinic gameplay, Max Payne 3 is a wonderful action shooter with an adult mood. There are several minor flaws with the frame rate but in the overall it is a game you can't miss.
  6. May 15, 2012
    90
    Max Payne is a great third person shooter that sets a high standard for all subsequent action games.
  7. May 22, 2012
    90
    With a lengthy campaign and a multiplayer full of leveling and unlocking Max Payne 3 is a title that will hold your attention for a while and show you one hell of a ride in the process. With only a few minor hiccups keeping it from being a perfect game, Max Payne 3 is unquestionably a must have.
  8. May 16, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 is a rip-roaring success on many levels. It relentlessly hammers at your emotions and nerves and keeps you perched on the edge of your seat. The borderline unfair difficulty towards the end of the campaign, noticeable issues with the shootdodge, and a couple minor glitches notwithstanding, this is one hell of an experience.
  9. There are also some breathtakingly elegant scene shifts where you play stints of classic, NYPD detective Max. Punchy script and Max's metaphor-ridden inner monologues are milked for all they're worth via action-text and motion comics. Some may find the constant artefacting effects distracting – but we found it accentuated emotional beats nicely, and suited Max's boozehound view of the world. Whichever way you look at it, Max Payne 3 is slicker than owl crap on an iceberg. [June 2012, p68]
  10. A beautifully told, smartly paced, and relentlessly addictive shooter. [July 2012, p.70]
  11. 95
    There's not much more I can say about Max Payne 3 without spoiling the experience for you. Emotionally exhausted and still buzzing with excitement after playing Max Payne 3's story mode throughout the weekend, I woke up this morning bursting to tell everyone that, quite simply put: Max Payne 3 is the best character-driven shooter that I've ever played.
  12. May 17, 2012
    90
    Bleak, sometimes frightening, always powerful and quite often shocking, Max Payne 3 takes the third person genre about as far as it can go, and most likely does the same this with this generation's now ageing console hardware. Polished to near perfection, with just a few minor sticking points that dent – ever so slightly – what is overall a wonderful slice of gaming. Enjoy.
  13. May 22, 2012
    90
    The king is not dead, long live the king! He's enjoying the booze, he's eating only his remedies and he's killing as many baddies as he can. Max Payne 3 is one hell of a great shooter with modern day enhancements, still bringing the nostalgia into your eyes. Visually riveting game, whose style is going to knock you out with a little bit of tears leaving in your eyes. If you love the shooters, why are you still reading this? We haven't played something of this crystalline purity in a very long time.
  14. Jun 29, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 brings back the depressed and trigger-happy former cop, in a new and surprisingly entertaining chapter of his life. Rockstar has brought the story to São Paulo, equipped Max with a few new tricks and made everything look a bit more polished and updated. The addition of a well-rounded multiplayer proves to be a stroke of genious that adds loads of extra hours of fun gameplay.
  15. May 19, 2012
    90
    It's neither as groundbreaking as the first one nor a compelling a narrative as the Max Payne 2 (…) but it's still the kind of 'Welcome Back'-Party you wouldn't want to miss.
  16. 88
    The story is suspenseful, engaging and I was impressed the games character development.
  17. May 21, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 may not move the action genre forward, but it doesn't matter. It can be as retrogressive as it wants, as long as we are treated to well-written stories and fantastic action, starring one of the most interesting heroes in gaming. And then it doesn't matter if he shaved his head or not.
  18. May 21, 2012
    94
    The checkpoints aren't that well-placed, which may lead to some frustration along the way... that's the only complaint we have. What we actually want to say is that Max Payne 3 is a fantastic shooter with an unseen filmic flair that even holds up nicely in comparison with Uncharted 3. And that's saying A LOT.
  19. Rockstar proves it doesn't need bleak snowfalls, neon lights or long raincoats to conjure up a great film noir aesthetic. A darker game doesn't exist. The sinister atmosphere might be even a bit too depressing at times. [June 2012, p.72]
  20. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    An engaging story, extremely satisfying shoot-outs phenomenal graphics turn Max Payne 3 undoubtedly into one of the best shooters of 2012. It's a shame that Rockstar doesn't seem to know where to place their checkpoints.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 717 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 209
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years.I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years. However, their shooting mechanics have never been that great. MP3 changes that, because the mechanics are excellent. Bullet Time and shoot-dodge both work the same way as before, but even better. MP3 has a solid story, great voice acting, pretty graphics, and amazing animations. Dual-wielding has never been better! It's not open world like RDR or GTA 4, nor will it win as many awards, but gameplay-wise, it's much ahead. Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    Nice Nice Nice!!!
    I am loving this game, especially the Multi player, it is so much fun. The graphics is awesome! The bullet time in the multi
    Nice Nice Nice!!!
    I am loving this game, especially the Multi player, it is so much fun. The graphics is awesome! The bullet time in the multi player is a MASTERPIECE.
    Full Review »
  3. May 20, 2012
    10
    There is no perfect game, but wow Rockstar have come close to making one. I created my account just to review this game, thats how much i loveThere is no perfect game, but wow Rockstar have come close to making one. I created my account just to review this game, thats how much i love it. graphics/story 10+ story, enthralling and constantly surprising

    sound/music 11 i know its impossible but the sounds & voice work is just that good.

    gameplay 9 the gameplay is fantastic, its leaps and bounds above GTA IV which is a massive achievement. length wise i haven't finished yet but this is the only place i could take points away, vie heard its not an awfully long campaign. but if it needed to be sacrificed to focus on all the other amazing inclusions im happy with that, its also got great replay-ability

    multiplayer
    fun and entertaining in that they've created reasons and rewards for gameplay. COD levelling system helps too. Much better than the GTA IV multiplayer mode.

    Overall fantastic and can't complain with anything about the game. for the small price your getting a great story, an immersive interactive fluid story that keeps you on your toes.
    Full Review »