User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3133 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2012
    9
    This game is a masterpiece. Just so awesome.
  2. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    this is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . the graphics are just amazing . the boss fights are alot of fun . every thing feels answered in this one . i finished this game happy that i know the whole story now . if you never played a MGS game then rent this first if you didnt like them before dont bother pickin this up. MGS fans apply only. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Only one word can describe this game...... EPIC one of the most anticipated game of 2008. Here comes Solid Snake in his final stands the well and awesome story,genius graphics, the return of many old characters (especially Raiden made a cool change)and finally the answers for some unanswered question.
  4. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This is not just a regular game. You need to come to this game prepared for an "experience" think of it as a conclusion to a series of books/movies/games/media you have been awaiting for a long time. If you take all of this into consideration you will appreciate it for what it is and it's a masterpiece at what it does.
  5. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    I don't think I could come up with a legitimate complaint about this game if I tried, the only negative is that the cutscenes can be on the lengthy side (30-40 minutes!) Every gameplay related problem I had with previous Metal Gear games like the camera is gone, replaced with an excellent third-person over-the-shoulder camera that properly allows you to see each enemy is. Controls are tight and fluid, and it feels as though I'm finally being allowed to SNEAK. The problem is the gun mechanics and battles are so enjoyable, that goes out the window immediately. Forget sneaking, shoot everything. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable. If you've ever wanted to and cum in your pants at the same time, play this game. It tops Snake Eater and Sons of Liberty. The story is better than most movies, TV shows or whatever
  7. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    MGS4 is without question one of the most remarkable gaming achievements to date. Never has a game, or a series for that matter, delivered epic and epic and continued to get better and better and at the same time keep you engrossed. The amazing thing about MGS4 is that it achieves everything it sets out, literally. Guns of the Patriots is an exceptional game and a rewarding one too but never I felt more fulfilled by a game than this, Snake's final chapter. It's vintage MGS you know what your getting the best there is to offer. In terms of visuals the game has continued to stand the test of time, like Snake because the cut scenes are breathtaking. The best part of the game is without doubt the emotional roller-coaster journey you embark upon, never has a game had me so involved and hanging on a characters every move, it is an absolute epic in every sense of the word. The boss battle with Liquid is something to savour and the final moments of MGS4 are some of the most moving yet satisfying scenes for anyone who has followed Snake from the start because the game raps up every loose end from previous encounters. Make no mistake this is something truly extraordinary, you won't experience anything like this, basically, its the must have title on the PS3. A true definition of the word Masterpiece. Expand
  8. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    I feel like Hideo Kojima's message isn't just designated towards the Metal Gear franchise, but at the gaming industry itself. In the sea of garbage video games that are released today, Metal Gear Solid 4 is the hidden gem and the final swan song of the once stellar business.
  9. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    This is the first game I've played in the series, and even though I'm struggling to understand the story as a whole, I am still in love with it. I'm playing this game January of 2012, and I can say that this is a 10/10 for today's standards. Although some dialogue and scenes are incredible cheese, the amount of cinematic flair is unbelievable. I can't believe I have not played this game earlier.
  10. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is an absolutely phenomenal game! This along with Bioshock Infinite and The Last of Us should be the measuring stick to which all other games compare not only their quality but their stories as well!
  11. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    An exquisitely crafted title that has as much stealth or action as you want.The story is very well told,but quite laughable unless you've invested the years to follow it (Sometimes even then).The very lengthy cutscenes are skippable,so no real drama there.The creator has a strange affiliation with cleavage,no matter the age of the woman,which annoys at times,as well as the action consistently interrupting itself with cut-scenes.Even cut-scenes get interrupted with more cut-scenes.That minor gripe aside,MGS4 is a superb title that doesn't really achieve a masterpiece level status,but is pretty awesome nonetheless. Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    i absolutly loved this game and yes the cutscenes are very long but if they shortened them then you would not have the same feeling of attachement to all the characters when they do it like this you actually find yourself worrying about the characters and wheather or not they will be alright or if they will face a tradgic end. also the game play is solid and the graphics are very good and even better than some of the games coming out today and some of the lines are genually funny. i am disapointed though that this is the last game they will make in this series but it is a good way to end a very succesful series Expand
  13. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    "Legends die hard and deserve a heroic story that lives on when they are gone. Metal Gear Solid 4 is such an ending for the legendary warrior Solid Snake. Not only does it sum up the full franchise of Metal Gear, its depth and its complexity, coupled with its technical prowess, make it one of the best games of the year and, indeed, one of the best games ever made. Get some well earned rest, Snake. You've earned it. We salute you." Expand
  14. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This has the most confusing storyline ever and i love it it makes you think the game is full of so many memorable bosses and areas when you beat the game youll be sad this is a stealth game but if you are good you can make it through certain things run and gun after you beat the game you can play the awesome multiplayer its one of the most tactical experiences ever buy this game its a masterpiece
  15. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    I have played Metal Gear Solid 2, Metal Gear Solid 3 and they are amazing, epic and both have epic stories and gameplay but i can't just compare them to Metal Gear Solid 4. This game is E.P.I.C. The cut screens may be huge but they are important to the story. Everything is perfect in this game, the characters, the gameplay, THE SONGS (Epic soundtrack). A huge amount of emotions is present in this game from the beginning to the end, this game won't disappoint long therm fans or newcomers. One of the best action/ stealth game ever and one of the best PS3 games. I could tell you 100 more things that make this game perfect, but i will just tell you the top reasons:
    1. Epic story.
    2. Great (Boss) fights.
    3. Epic soundtrack (the main menu music is so good).
    4. Great gameplay, great weapons and gadgets.
    5. Great war atmosphere.
    6. Great cut screens.
    7. Epic ending.
    8. I don't know if i forgot anything but i think that are the most important reasons.

    I like Konami games, especially Metal Gear Solid and Silent Hill but this is my favorite Konami game.
    Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Although I love the MG series and characters, I
  17. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and also I've grown as a gamer, since 2008 is 5 years back, I can firmly say that it deserves a perfect score since it ticked all of the boxes and even beyond as a great sequel and as a story ending.

    This is Kojima at his best. Both gameplaywise and storywise.
    Expand
  18. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    I can't describe this amazing game, i just started playing it again, this game is one of the best games i have ever played, if you think this game is any less than a 9 then sorry to say, but you have a bad taste in games, this game is almost perfect imo, scratch that, it IS perfect.
  19. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    It's a game. Yes it is but it feels much more than that. You immediatly get in the storyline which you have to pay attention and be familiarized with the MGS universe. The action feels absolutely brilliant and sometimes you forget you're playing a game but living an experience. That's MGS 4.
  20. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    The best Metal Gear Solid game to date and easily the best Playstation 3 exclusive (The Last of Us comes close though). Everything about this game is just perfect: the visuals are great, the soundtrack is awesome, the story is amazing and the characters are extremely memorable. I just love what they did to Raiden after how he was in Metal Gear Solid 2, they made him into an awesome cyborg and a character with a very interesting back story. This is one of best games ever made and one of my personal favorites of all time. Expand
  21. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = A Cinematic dream. A Work of art. This IS Metal Gear Solid 4!!
  22. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of The Patriots is the most fascinating game ever. The stealth gameplay is perfect, and the story is outstandingly written. The cutscenes are lengthy and perfect, and technically is amazing. Characters are perfect, and the voice acting is top notch. Not only the amazing, lengthy single player is here, even the addictive and fun multiplayer. If you have a PS3, you should buy this game, because It's just perfect. 100 out of 100 Expand
  23. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    I have to say this is an awesome game but I only recommend it to people who are fans and have followed the metal gear story. The story provides a fitting end to Solid Snake's final mission and answers a lot of unanswered questions and also gives lots of suspense. The game play is also very good everything has been improved and gives players lots of variety in choosing from lots of equipment and customizing weapons. Expand
  24. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Ratified I still play the game until today! And to whom I can never do without! The network also play a very awesome and sweet and beautiful and long. Means surprised at some of the public are selling the game on internet sites! ..? Important to the game must be preserved whatever be due to the strength and beauty of the game in the network and in the story. Thanks by / adil khojah - saudi arabia jeddah city Expand
  25. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also like Solid Snakes new suit that camoulflages automatically. I can't find any problems with this game, except the extremely long cut scenes like the last 3 game. But, the cutscenes are pretty cool anyway but too long. However, this is an amazing game. If your a fan of the MGS series and have a PS3, this is a MUST GET game in the collection. Expand
  26. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    I don't really know what to say about this one as I had played it back when it came out and got stuck on a level. By the time I decided I should try to play it again my PS3 died on me. So with a new PS3 and the HD collection underway I figured it was time for me to finish off the game. Turns out I had 15 minutes of gameplay left plus the final cutscenes. From what I remember playing I really enjoyed the game and all the gadgetry. I like the fact that you could shop anywhere you were and that there was no shortage of weaponry. The story is to blurry for me to comment on so I will just say that it had its moments, it was confusing, interesting to listen to, but confusing. Glad I played it and may return to it after I finish the HD Collection. Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    What all the complaining about? The worst things about this great gameare the cut scenes!while they are long its not like your forced to watch them just skip them & enjoy some of the best gameplay ever created! For me though I never skip the scenes their to well made to skip like when your fighting the gekko's while theirs a live cut scene of raiden vs vamp which is truly epic!! Now some people say its only for fans but not really...if you want to no the entire history of metal gear then yiy can download it from psn for free. Theirs also a huge list of assault rifles smg's,shotguns and snipers to choose from even nudy mags to slow the enemy plus lots of attachments for your weapon of choice! The best thing about enemy engagements is HOW you can engage the enemy, you can snipe them all,sneak by them,or directly assault them...hell you can even make them laugh/cry/eager uncontrollably and just walk past them like a boss!! This game is near perfection with great graphics its story and the way you engage the enemy people with short attention span's need not ally here Expand
  28. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game. Although there are too many cutscenes that are too long, the game is fun to play and due to the ammount of unlockables there is some good replay value in MGS4.

    I almost cried at the end......
  29. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    WOW! I am 4 years late on this one. That said the graphics look cutting edge. The atmosphere, storyline, game physics and attention to detail are beyind sublime. Play this game how you want. Whether it be stealth, blatant combat or a bit of both. The sheer depth of skills , items and weapons Snake can utilise (and customize) are mind boggling. MGS4 is the game of it's genre ever made. The last MG I had played was on the ps1 and that was some piece of work. Metal Gear online is defunct unfortunately but this is a purchase that doesn't need online , as a stand alone single player game it is pure class. Highly recommended. Expand
  30. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Need I say more about this game other than it being a complete masterpiece? Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is one of the few games that have a truly cinematic experience that works equally with the gameplay.

    Too many games nowadays take the cinematics for granted and they start to lose their charm when abused. When done right with games like Uncharted, Zelda, Mass Effect or
    Metal Gear Solid, the games are just absolutely gorgeous and are visual and playable treats.

    Solid Snake, even as an old guy, is still a badass.

    This was the first MGS game I ever played, and it is still the best, followed closely by MGS3.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.